(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pegsfur,
u haven book ur CL? tink need book soon
i also haven book my massage too, alot already fully booked!

donkeymami,
i tink shld b able to use for both? as long as can fit in

re: avent bottles trade in
got trade in any old bottles to buy new avent bottles as discount at KP

sharon

hehe, i just traded loads of my old avent bottles for bfree plus bottles. :p Now i know why i shouldn't throw away my old bottles. It's to keep for such events. :p

pegsfur

poor u. Lucky i don't have to stay with my MIL. She's not a nut case, but just simply overbearing and the matriach of the hse.

donkeymani
think can. SO long as can fit in.

mashy,
im still tinking if i shld buy more avent bottles or try NUK bottles...dilemma
my frends pass me quite a few of old avent bottles...now dunno wat to do wif them!

is bfree plus bottles good?

mashy,
Hiaz .. wat to do .. i think nobody else has got such extreme MIL. Just my luck lor.

sharon,
When shld we have our post-natal massage after giving birth? A week or after confinement?

sharon

i dunno if they're good, but they're bpa free. Nuk bottles aren't unless u get the glass ones. They work the same way as Dr Brown's bottles.

I will start with Pigeon bpa free small bottles, then progress to the bfree plus bottles. If my gal doesn't like the change, then i resell them lor.

http://www.bfreeplus.com/

pegsfur:
post natal massage is done they day u discharge from hospital if u are under natural or epi...
and 1week later for c-section.. cause of the stiches..
all massage for 1week.. but if u wan long oso can..

**this is base on wad my massage lady told me..

dollie,

Oh, the massage is done so early one ah? I thot at least a week or a few days after giving birth leh.

There's a spa/massage ctr near my home and they are doing post-natal massage oso. Wldn't want a home service and was thinking of going over to their shop for the massage instead. But if it's to be done immediately, maybe i'll think abt it.

Pegsfur,
usu the post natal the earlier u do the more effective. unless u opt for C-sect usu immediately after u discharge mus inform the massage lady liao..

pegsfur:
but if u travel ard for the massage... ur mil will make noise ma? cause for me my mum say cannot go out for that one month lei.. cause wind will go in the body.. plus the post natal massage is to remove wind and push the womb up when when giving birth we push till the womb go down....

pegsfur,
depends if is natural delivery or c-section...
if normal delivery within 3-5days can do liao...if c-section need wait 1 mth...dats wat the massage lady told me...tink different ppl got different preference

dollie/piggy/sharon,

Oh, i c ... but i'm quite reluctant to do it at my hse cos i dun have a spare mattress, plus just discharge from hosp i'm sure there'll be alot of distraction and things to do in the house (assuming i can't get a CL). How to enjoy and concentrate ah?

And ya, dollie, if i travel to their shop instead, MIL will nag & nag & nag & nag. Hiaz ... maybe i'll decide only when i give birth bah since their shop offers home service as welll, just nid to top up $$.

pegsfur,
my frend's massage lady provide home service n will bring her own mattress one....so u dun need to haf ur own mattress...im still considering if i wan use her...not malay one, chinese lady...but $70 per session
my frend only did 3 sessions cos she says its enuff for my frend cos she din put on much weight..only push the uterus up
main reason my frend choose her cos she bring mattress...hahaa

www.shalompostnatalmassage.com

jul
haha yah lor. the changing pad tag very kua zhang. anyway, the bag itself is soft pink. haha maybe i get another design bah. when u receive ur pooh bear diaper bag, let me know of the quality! like if got a hard cardboard underneath to support the base mah. but isnt it risky to not opt for registered mail? since the bag should be quite big?

actually how to tell if i am heaty or not? i think a few days ago my nose bleed a little, then today realised gum bleed a little too... aiyo @_@

cordlife
those who signed up for cordlife, have you gotten your cord blood collection kit? i got it yesterday (signed up in feb). so many things to bring to hospital.

post natal massage
i asked mdm ida what if i dont have those normal mattress. she told me can use comforter too and fold it in half. i forgot if she will be bringing something to protect it from oil stains or not.

reira,
i jus had massage with mdm ida she told me post natal if no use mattress the support might not be there leh.. also usu we will put a towel on top of the mattress to prevent oil stain...

Pegsfur,
for me i jus bott a mattress for $20 i tink quite ok la nex time can still put baby on it for him to learn crawlin n flip ard hahah..

good evening mummies

For those who r still working, do u feel totally drain of energy at the end of the day ? I am feeling super tired + body aches all over.....really looking forward to ML.

piggytoh
huh... then how come she told me can use comforter de? where did you purchased your mattress? Actually $20 for mattress is quite good and it is so true that can put baby on it for him to crawl and flip! =)

pinkmama
T_T I am not working and I feel so sian and no energy cos too nuah at home!!! sleep/lie until here pain there pain haha.

today, i wash clothes (using machine) and actually hang them out to sun dry cos nothing to do! in the evening take them all in and fold. normally, my lazy method is just hang them on hanger on those bamboos at the service yard and then take them back in a few days later.

i am thinking of ironing all the clothes tomorrow. i haven't iron clothes for maybe about a year!

still got about 55 days to tahan.

Reira
A lot of hdb furniture shops sells the 20+ matteress. I bought one for my maid from beauty world.
I also counting down to my leave. Will start to clear my annual leave followed by ML starting from the 13th July. Cannot tahan any longer..... My heart already not at my work , can only think abt bb arrival all the time

pinkMaMa,
me too...feel the same as u
im starting my annual leave followed by ML form 6th july!! hehee...looking forward to it
no energy to work, afternoon always feel sleepy...juz wish i can rest at home

pink and sharon,
you all so good, can start leave so soon.
I have totally no mood to work also and but I wont start my leave until 01Aug. Those angmoh at my company are going for their summer holidays so I got to backup for them.

Also good lah, this means I dont have to work for the rest of this year as I will take all 4 months together + annual leave.

Sales of BB clothes / Nursing clothes at Raffles Place MRT

Anyone works near there? I'll be there in the evening 2moro, so wondering if there's any sale gog on? Since I'm in the area, might as well take advantage of the offers heehee

pinkmama
haha ok. will look out for those. i think those mattress is cheaper than a comforter hor? better dont use the comforter incase it got stain from the oil or something then my hubby will kenna from MIL.

guess most of u will not know me coz i seldom post in this thread.. but i do read the thread a lot..

hope i'm welcome to join in the discussions..

my edd is 25th aug and gynae is dr joycelyn wong.. seems like quite a few of us has got the same gynae..

regarding mil+bfing:
for my #1, i was really mad at my mil coz she was totally not pro bfing.. she'll always say i got no milk thats why bb cry, or i eat not healthy so my bm not healthy.. end up 1 day i was so pissed that i hand squeeze the milk in a bottle and ask her to feed.. then when she stuff the bottle into my girl's mouth.. my girl refused to drink and cry even louder.. then i told her that she was not hungry and that i had enough milk.. heng my dh was on my side and also told his mum that i had more than enough milk for my girl.. end up i bf my #1 till she was 15mths.. my mil also shut her mouth liao..

now #2 coming out.. i hope she will not say the same things again and make me stressed out..

regarding postnatal massage:
do remember to use old towels and an old pillow case for your massages coz the stains are hard to come out.. and the smell can be quite strong also..

any mummies started to pack their hospital bags already?

Hi Petrina,

Welcome!!

Whoa, your MIL is really too much. I hope mine won't be like that also else I will surely throw temper! A bit worried baby will be scared by me when I throw temper haha.

We got the same gynae! =) And, I started packing my hospital bag already cos my EDD is 11 Aug. But so far I only put clothes for baby to wear home inside, disposable breast pad & panties. Other stuffs like nursing bra & pajamas, I still need to wear.

I plan to bring breastpump too. I wonder when should I start to sterilize it? Also have to clean the sterilizer before using! do i need to do something special to milk bottle before using for the first time too? like the sterilizer have to use lemon or something to clean it (pigeon website taught de).

Petrina, my MIL also said 'wow...so poor thing...your mummy got no milk for you' when she came to visit me during my 1st confinment. I was so fedup but didn't say anything as I didn't have milk yet then.

When she saw me feeding my son when he was few mths old, she asked me what FM am I feeding and I told her its my bm and she said 'wow...got such much milk one ah?' I really feel like asking her to come my place and take out all the frozen EBM and throw at her!

If she were to say I got no milk again this time, I will definitely retaliate!

Reira, so fast you pack your hospital bag already ah? Hahaha...I only intend to pack when I am about 37 weeks.

kikilala,
yes..finally can take a break...luckily i neva take leave for the first 6mths, dats y can start leave early

petrina,
hi, welcome
i haf same gynae too n my EDD is 24th aug

Petrina
Welcome!

I havent packed my hospital bag as most of my things are not with me now. My EDD is 07Aug. Very likely will pop end of Jul.

morning gals..

Reira,
oh cos mdm Ida say if u take epidural u might have backache n it better to use a mattress to support.. maybe she thot u not usin epi.. i bott the mattress at jurong east there is a shop specialise in sellin mattress n it cheaper than furniture shop u can go take a look i bott the $24 1 got cheaper 1 also.. it some where opp the carpark entrance of the jurong east sports complex...

morn gals!

reira
i've also packed my hospital bag. :p Just wash the bottles and pumps normally using the baby bottle detergent. After that sterilise and seal them (assemble the bottles, close any gaps for the pumps). The lemon is for cleaning your steriliser. No need to use it now until later when u need to descale it.

morning mummies!!

mashy, that means the pumps all these can use onli bb btl detergent to wash no need sterilise huh?

i got a pass down pigeon rapid steriliser.. with no instructiion manual.. any mummies know where i can get a copy of the instruction?? cos i duno how to use...

Morning all

heng ah...today is mid wk liao...

me given up reading all those archives liao

updates from gynae visit @30wks+2days
been to the gynae on Mon and she told me that my boy's head is down...
weight is 1.4+kg... @30wks +2days...
she commented that bb's abit small in size cos she expected bb to be at least 1.5kg

my next appt will be in 3wks time, following in 2wks times and then wkly from 38/39wks.

RE:hosp bag..
half pack my things liao...
bought new front button gown on mon, so need to wash them b4 packing into my bag...

RE:bean sprout case pillow...
i was given a big bag of bean sprout head case...
now getting them to dry out...
so i can make a bean sprout pillow for both my #1 and #2...

Janice,
to descale...just get a lemon and squeeze the juice into the metal plate(where u place the water)...
and leave it for 1hr or longer depending on how rusty/dirty the metal plate is...

for details u can browse thru the pigeon web site...

janice

the heating element of your steriliser will look kind of rusty after a while. It's actually a chemical process after heating repeatedly. So u need to remove the layer of calcium deposits on it by adding lemon juice/vinegar after a few uses. Of course when you're descaling, u can't be sterilising at the same time. Just pour the juice/vinegar with water at the area where u usually add water to and start the steriliser. After that, pour out and wash.

Morning ladies

I was also thinking of starting to pack my hospital bag in case bb comes out early

kiki,
I'm also will only be starting my ML in early Aug, unless i get too tired or anything ... cos these few days have been feeling very tired, both physically and mentally. And the heartburn and nausea feeling is coming back .. sian.