(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Jul, you have a pro BF MIL, that is good!

Bcoz sometime the milk only flow in the 3rd days, if bb cry, MIL will sure said "poor baby, your mummy no neh neh for you to eat!"

shirley

I dunno if she's pro-BF or she doesn't care lor. SIL's 2 kids she din say anything. But hor.. My mum scaring me & saying this one diff, is grandson.. dunno will have diff std???

Yeah dunno why MIL aws like that. My SIL's MIL also kept asking her whether BB hungry, got milk or not, why is the BB crying, blah blah

mashy, the last time i asked the nurse (cos I felt lazy and didn't feel like bf), she told me to bf at 1am, then the 4am feed let them feed with FM, then I can feed again 7am
Sounded like a nice compromise to me.

Jul

Maybe this the power of MIL ba! hahaha...

not only asking got milk or not, sometime If bb got wind in their stomach and if we BF our baby they will also pointing finger on us saying must be the food we are eating.

Since yours is son, maybe you could have diff treatment from your MIL :p

Jul

My MIL said i didn't have enough milk for my boy coz i didn't eat well during my preg days! As if she knows what i ate. Then my boy got asthma also becoz of what i ate during my preg days. Anyway, she blames me for everything lah.

donkeymani/mich
coz of c-section, dun even know whether they'll bring bb over to me during the first night or not coz maybe need observation. sigh... But good thing i've CL now, so don't have to worry abt cleaning bb's black poo. :p

shirley, mashy

Haha everything also can be blamed on DIL hor? If like that, everything also can link one lor. I'm sure if Babylet gets cough, she will blame it on me taking cold drinks during pregnancy.

mashy, aiyoh, just one ear in one ear out. My 2 girls, 1 got asthma, 1 dun have, and I ate the same things when preggy cos I always have the same kind of cravings.

Yes a CL is a life saver. Cleaning poo at 2am is really no joke!!

I'm back walking my dog

Ok, i'm going to leave the poo cleaning to hubby at nite since he doesn't want me to go back to mum's hse for confinement

mashy
u gotta bf bb at nite... :p... to stimulate ur breasts... and oso not to introduce teats to the newborn sooo early (avoid nipple confusion)

jul/mich

yah lor. Even my SIL does that too. She actually said my boy got asthma becoz i drank cold drinks during my preg days. Actually for my #1, i abstained from all cold drinks. But find that it's useless. So this time round, i don't care liao. Just drink and eat whatever i want.

donkeymami,
yup...last yr i din take much leave...heng! so can clear one shot now...plus end yr i got the 6 days child care leave...n i still carry forward leave to next yr!

mashy,
MIL always conveniently blame DIL one...if they wan boy n its a ger then they blame DIL...in fact its their son who determine the sex of the baby mah

pegsfur

yes! Make sure he does night duty. That should wake him up.

smurfy
maybe i should do 1 night feed then. Anyway, i've learnt to bf lying down and i can actually fall asleep with bb next to me. Hopefully i didn't forget how to do it. :p

mashy, as far as I am concerned, asthma is a genetic allergy and my hb has it, so its got nothing to do with me :p and after seeing my 2 girls, I don't think cold drinks are related to whether bb has cough/asthma or not.

A good friend of mine breastfed her girl for 2 years cos her hb's family has a lot of allergies and she was hoping that bf would tone it down. In the end, her girl still had alot of allergies too, so she concluded that its all genetic.

sharon

yah, that time i took a long time to conceive, she kept asking me, until i fed up said it's all her son's probs. Before we got married, she tried to dissuade my hb (coz i'm older than him), said i may have probs conceiving coz i'm older. And i'm only 1 yr older than him!

pegsfur, oh yes, the reason why he wants u to be at home is so he can see bb anytime. So anytime would include 2 am changing diaper :p

mich

yah, it's definitely genetic. Both my hb and i had various allergics. But my MIL conveniently forgot abt them and said it's coz of my allergy. Until i fed up, i reminded her that her son was allergic to this and that then she was like 'oh is it?' Fed up. She was there when her son kenna hives after taking alcohol. And she herself has sinus. Then when i said that, she shooed me and said cannot curse my son by saying his allergies are caused by this and that. We're affirming the devil's deeds by doing that! Gosh!

mich/mashy,

Hahaha ... exactly!!! I'm still abit sore abt not going back to my mum's home for confinement ... i'm gonna make sure he gets real involved in taking care of bb by clearing his poo!

pegsfur

Oh so in the end, u're staying at ur place for confinement?

mashy

That's why we follow everything also no use one. Sure find some way to be pointed finger at. I'm sure if anything goes on with Babylet, the reno will be blamed too!

jul,

Ya ... the man is very insistent ... so boh bian lor
If MIL comes and interfere with the stupid 'mummy no milk, never feed bb' comments, both she & hubby gonna get it.

pegsfur, your hb found the CL for you already? Tell ur hb his duty is to bring bb to you for breastfeeding at nites, followed by changing diaper and putting bb back to sleep!

mashy, from the sounds of it, its best to stay far away from your MIL! can't believe she used such strong words.

mashy,
ur MIL is so bad! but i rem u not stayin wif her one rite? at least dun need face her everyday

pegsfur,
ur hubby still refuse give in?
i stay wif my own mum now...dat day my MIL suggested i go her house do confinement! i nearly fainted lor...i will neva do dat!

pegsfur

Actually what I learned is that if someone wants to find fault with me, no matter what I do, sure got something to blame one. Just bobian, ignore her lor. U know she is unreasonable, tell urself u dun stoop to her level.

Actually must qualify that my MIL is ok one lah. Just that I prefer to do cofinement in my own hse, with someone that I pay, so that I have the "upper hand", u know what I mean?

mich/sharon

thank God i'm not staying with her else i'll go crazy. Also thank God that my hb understood and stood by me all this while.

at least i'm being tolerant and don't talk back to her. I just grumble to my hb after that. hahah.

jul

agree with u. U can tell your CL that u don't like things done this way and that. U can't do that to your MIL.

Then again, one of my friends was 'tortured' by her CL. When she went for the pd appt, the CL was complaining to the pp there that my friend was very hard on her.

mashy

Ur fren's CL very crazy leh.

But we dun need to see the CL ever again is if she's sucky lor. But MIL how to avoid for the rest of my life?

mich,
Not yet leh ... i think he has forgotten abt it, or that he thinks he still has plenty of time.

Oh yes, i think his sequence of duty shld be bring bb to me for bf -> change diapers -> burp bb -> put bb to sleep
Heh heh ...

sharon,
Ya lor ... it's quite settled that i'd be staying put for confinement. So good for u .. staying with mum now.

jul,
Yup, u r absolutely correct. The thing is i can't stand it now .. dunno why my blood will boil if she starts her nonsense. Last time i will just ignore her but now i seldom can tahan. Will quarrel with her de.

pegsfur

best part. Get him to heat up BM while u pump at night. I think it's more tiring to heat up BM than to bring bb to your side. Then get him to feed bb.

Pegsfur, your job is just to feed Ovann. So if after feeding him in the middle of the night and Ovann poo poo, wake your hb up and ask him to clean while you go back and sleep.

mashy, yes as the DIL, we can't appear to be disrespectful or it will invite more complains. If I am not happy with my MIL, I will tell my hb and tell him to go deal with it or talk to his mother.

jul, yes impt to stay amicable with MIL indeed. I don't want to become the bad DIL, let my hb be the bad guy ha ha

mashy,
i also dont talk back..in fact most the time i dun give comments...only complain to my hubby...then she told my hubby y i so rude, always keep quiet...faintz

pegsfur,
i had a hard time moving back to my mum's place..previously stayin wif MIL one...thank god i got a v understanding n accomodating hubby, dats y can stay at my mum's place

mashy, that kind of CL I will send packing immediately. Think she will be more stress than help!!

pegsfur, oh no, only 2 more months, almost all the CLs are taken... better chase your hb leh...

pegsfur

I guess in the beginning we can "ren". Then as time progresses, our ntolerance gets worn down lor. Plus now we preggie, so mood swings a lot lah.

mich

Haha we will make HB do the dirty work!

mich

the worse thing is whatever my hb decides to do, they think it's all becoz i told him to. They think he's a henpecked hb and listens to whatever i say. Actually he makes a lot of decisions himself lor, so find it pretty unfair when they start to blame me for it.

mashy/bear,
Hahaha .. u gals are really giving me evil ideas to tekan hubby huh ... but i like!!!

sharon
Good lah ... at least u r now comfortably at yr mum's place. But do u mean to say at first your mil dun allow u to go back?

mich
Ya, will give him a reminder abt the CL tonite ... see wat he say. I'm just afraid he'll go to his mum for help, or get his mum to recommend CL. I dun want to have anything to do with his mum or his mum's frens!

jul
Partly oso becos me & her already buay gum in the 1st place. After so many fights and quarrels, i dun think we can ever make peace.

mashy,

Same!!!! MIL oso blame me for any little decision hubby made ... even things like not drinking the herbal soup she prepared. She thot i told hubby not to drink.

When my fren came to visit me, she can talk very nicely to my fren and even commented that last time his son used to like to drink the herbal soup she prepared. Now that he's married, he doesn't drink it anymore. Even my fren can tell that her words have a deeper meaning.

pegsfur

these crazy MILs... we'll never run out of stories to tell. I wonder what new stories i'll have this confinement. Prob not as much since during the last confinement we were at each others' throats. Hope they learnt their lesson.

pegsfur,
yes she was unhappy...but i also unhappy...then hubby say juz move n igore her...so we juz move back to my mum's place without her blessings lor

mashy,
yes! i agree...many things my hubby decide...then she will tink its me!

mashy, geeze, that is so totally unfair to you! Think your ILs jus can't let go of their son, and turns around to blame you for things instead.

pegsfur, to avoid him having his mum do the confinement, must make sure u get your own CL quick.

sharon/pegsfur

they think our hb got no brains. After get married become brainwashed by us. sigh...

mich
yah, they really can't let go of their son. Actually it's a lot better than the time when we just got married. They simply couldn't let go, esp my MIL. We had to slowly 'wean' her off. Tough time for us then too.

shirley,
She crazy de ... even her underwear she hanged outside dunno how kena blown away by the wind or wat, she said i threw it away. Then there was once she opened the main door and went back to her room. But becos the door stopper (magnectic type) is abit rusty, u have to push it properly for the door to stick. She didn't and the door closed. She yelled at me, asking me why i closed the door. Piangz ... I wasn't even anywhere near the door!

mich
I think the possibility of MIL doing confinement for me is not great lah ... but he might go & ask her for recommendation. Ok, to avoid this, i think i must really remember to remind him tonite.

pegsfur

haha, your MIL sounds just like my crazy neighbour. She just called the police the other day, again. I wonder what happened this time. Last time she complained another neighbour boxed her. I think this time gotta do with her son in law.

mashy: what!!! ur MIL can tell u not to say those about her son, but she can say that about u?? isnt that the same kind of affirming??? nonsense lah she...

pegsfur: wah, she say until liek that ah... so mean leh.. Maybe b4 he was married, always with her, no freedom, so no choice. now married liao, grown up liao he has a choice not to drink mah..

Mashy,

Hahaha .. ya, sounds like wat my mil will do

When we quarrelled, she will always say dun bully her just becos she's an old woman. Then she'll say she's gonna call her daughter (from her 1st marriage), her god-brother, her auntie to come to our house and be the judge.

At first i still abit scared cos dunno wat they will do to me cos her daughters are all like her de, very chor lor type. Den i got so fed-up with her, i told to get them ALL here, i'll wait for them .. we'll settle it once & for all.

Sekali, she just action-action only ... pretend to press the numbers when actually she dun even dare to call her daughters cos she knew they will not be bothered with her.