(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

babymaking,
yes i worry abt the cord strangulation also i got 1 colig her baby was dead jus 1 day be4 she admitt hosp becos of cord strangulation
so sad... i tink as long as the baby is out we cant help worryin.. usu once baby head down v little possibility they will shift position again cos the space etc is gettin smaller for them to move... tt wat i heard..
my gynae also told me once engage means going into labour soon.... but i do know cases baby engage for 2wk be4 labour...

Pegsfur, hahaha..I also dunno how to dong. Quite xinku with a tummy and cannot do anything much. So bored at home but dare not go out with my boy as scared cannot tahan him running around.

pris

wow, your boy is also one active child. My hb and i are very laid back type, so wonder where he got that genes from. Probably from my bro.

babymaking, ya lor.. so i understand why u just wanna get bb out asap.. and prob that's why ur gyne also recommended an elective c-section for u, esp since u had problems conceiving in the 1st place, and had a complicated pregnancy too.

i also counted down and am counting down like u.. was relieved when passed 24 wks cos bb viable.. then next hurdle is wk 34, cos that's when bb's lungs are matured and its still relatively safe even if he is born then.

think not common to engage at wk 30 leh.. but most babies stay in the same position by wk 34-36 cos by then too big to have much space to move. unless the amniotic fluid level is high.

smurfy, my maid arrived abt 10 days ago. MIL doing my confinement like she did for #1. not hiring CL. no diff having CL leh, cos i intend to latch on even at night. i'm also more worried abt #1's reaction.. and how to find time to play/entertain her/and minimize changes to her life and routine as much as possible. think i will go mad with worry
was telling hb that i will just chuck #2 to the maid in between feeds and concentrate on #1. #2 still small.. dunno anything. so bad hor..

irene

me too! I hardly go out except to fetch/send my boy from/to sch. Once he's home, we don't go out unless it's to meet his daddy. Cannot run after him now. Too tiring.

bear,

Ya lor .. and the worse part is sometimes hubby is not helping lor. U know last time during 1st trimester, he so kan cheong forbid me to things like vacuum or bathing my dog. But i told him no problem, i'm ok .. i can manage.

Now with a big tummy and aching back, he instead is turning a blind eye, and sits there like the dua pek gong, eyes glued to tv.

Mashy, yes lor!!! I also won't go out unless its to meet his daddy. Feel so guilty lor. I still bring him to playground before preggie but now really no energy.
Then when we go out for dinner, you can see him so happy running around. Really damn guilty!

irene

don't feel guilty lah. it won't get u anywhere... u can't do it now, so can't be helped lor. It's only temporary anyway.

oh no, eyelids closing...

going to lie down already.

pris, ur boy will be a very loving kor kor
anyway, by the time we deliver, maybe the whole H1N1 hoohaa wont be such a big deal anymore? keep fingers crossed..

maternity pads,
i hate using those. i think this time im just going to finish what the hospital supplies, then back home use my normal pads.

mashy, haahaa, the zzz monster always come in the day but at nite sometimes I cannot get the rite position to zzz.

Pegsfur, just ask him to help.

irene, same here.. no energy to bring my girl out.. even when in laws are ard cos she keep sticking to me and dragging me ard. nvmm dun feel guilty.. i tell myself they wont remember this short time when they were neglected. :p

mashy,

Ya ... i try to tell him if i remembered but alot of things it's habit lor. Like after i cooked for my dog, i will automatically put her bowl down for her to eat. Then at the point of putting her bowl down, den i remembered i shld tell hubby to do it cos it's breaking my back, pressure on my tummy and pain down there. Hiaz ...

Jules, WHO is planning to rise the level to the 6th level. So I think it is still too early to think that H1N1 might not be a good deal then. Heard TMC is very strict about visitors now.

pris, i was just telling hb that its good that visiting hrs/no of visitors are limited now. that way we will get to rest more in hosp, instead of having to entertain relatives and friends!

Jules, haahaa, I agreed, best is in-laws dun come. Especially my mil who always pretend to be nice.

Anyway, just Sunday, she and unmarried bil were giving hell to dh. Dh was so upset by them and he was the most filial among her 3 sons and she is so heartless to him.

hihi mummies> can i ask if you all have start buying the red dates, dry logan already.
oh ya and the herds use for bathing??
does anyone have a list out there?? can share with me ma??
ytd went checkup.. bb is 1.1kg at 28 weeks.. is it small?? gynea say is normal.. hee but i tell hubby like that still can eat durian..

shizuka gal, haha. my #1 is girl hehe
she looks like her papa a lot. maybe thats why looks like boy hehehe :D

ya we have just decided to name our #2 Bosco

jules/irene
yesterday i reached mum's place, was watching my #1 play by himself theni tell him... mummy's tired.. mummy wants to rest... his reply came with teary eyes "mummy dun rest.. mummy dun go ah-yi's bed to rest, u want to make QY cry?"

argghhh how to rest? and he's getting manipulative... if he can't get what he wants.. he will say "u want to make QY cry?".. "i want to cry" etc
.. i oso want to cry.. i oso dunno how much longer i can dong.. getting more useless as the tummy grows bigger.

Smurfy, it is usual, I give my boy alternative like let's read in the bed instead and talk about wat he does for the day as he is attending VBS now haahaa.

Chintz, Oops... paisay.

Priscilla, Same... rarely updated but will still update. I have yet to update my girl's 2nd birthday too, just over. 8 Jun.

Jac, my hubby will start buying the tonic like longan, red dates & tang sheng etc. next mth bah.

smurfy

for me, i will just tell him, 'ok, then go and cry'. And put him in a naughty corner.

I don't give in to my boy's whims. Like when he wanna watch his tv for longer periods, when i said it's time to off, he better do it. If he cries, i just let him be. And all the more i'll switch it off. I don't tolerate tantrums.

Now, all it takes is for me to say 'Enough, i don't wanna hear anymore sound from u' and he'll stop crying.

As i always tell my hb, u must remember who is the adult here and who should be the one controlling the situation. U should never let your child manipulate u into submission.

hi all mommies. Im quite pissed off this morn. A few days ago, I went to submit my maternity leave for 14 weeks, followed by my balance annual leave (Since cant carry forward to next yr, whereas maternity leave bal can be used for a yr). Then boss aft discussion with HR and my manager, requested me to take only 8 weeks of maternity leave. I nego with him and took 10 wks of maternity leave only. And the rest of the annual leave after I come back then see how is the situation.

Wa feel very cat abt him not giving me enuff rest for a pregnant lady and MTB. Doesn't he know how hard for a mother to take care of a baby as a first time mum.

I feel so sian, not sure will be able to take my balance annual leave and my childcare leave by end of the year.

If he so cat, I am also going to extend my leave and say im unwell or whatsoever. Any suggestions?

smurfy

ci mu duo bai er. Remember that. It's for his own good. If he can manipulate u even as a young boy, what will he do when he's older? Are u still going to give in? It's easier to teach him from young rather than wait till he's older coz by then his ways are set and there's no turning back.

Unless u don't mind having him becoming a wayward kid, becoming a gangster, sniff glue (like the young man who just killed himself after incurring debts & sniffing glue), then continue to be a 'good' mother. A good mother doesn't mean giving in to every needs and wants. It also means knowing when to discipline and to lay down the rules. Children needs boundaries and u need to set that for him.

regg

U can, but u can't use the confinement period as notice period. Meaning you will still need to go back office to serve your 1mth notice. That's MOM regulations.

So might as well submit it when you're back in office after your maternity leave.

mashy, think are you are staying with in laws ba...

i did that to my son, my FIL or MIL will come over and sayang my son .... kek sim....

smurfy

I've heard of cases of teenagers threatening suicide with their parents to get what they want. Now your boy just say u wanna make me cry. Next time he could be saying, 'u want me to go and jump down'?

shirley

no, i'm staying with my parents. My parents don't interfere when i'm teaching my kid now coz they kenna scolded by me. hehe. When they come and sayang him the first few times, i told them to back off as i'm disciplining my son now. They got the message and now when i'm disciplining him, they don't bother me anymore.

U need to be firm with your ILs too. Sometimes if the issue isn't too serious can let them comfort. After all, u still need the good guy/bad guy thing sometimes. But if the issue is a very big matter, then don't let them interfere.

That day my part time maid wanted to interfere when i was trying to get my boy to sleep, so fed up and told her to just go and do her own job.

mashy
no lar. i think this period is just coz he want my attention.. minus the attention seeking part. he's growing up well.... e.g he will pick up his toys after playing coz i told him "what if mama trips over the toys n fall down?".

joyful_Mtb,
ur wedding anniversary is same as my ROM date

regg,
i tink if u resign during confinment...then u wont be entitled to maternity leave
can take ur paid ML then resign after dat?

carefreelife, all you have to say is but I don't have a babysitter until week 12 or something. Then he will bo bian let u go for 2 more weeks.

Regg, u very sian of your job ah? MOM says cannot resign within the month you return from ML. So the earliest you can tender is 1 month after you come back from ML.