(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Morning ladies

Hiaz .. i'm having pain & uncomfortable feeling every now & then in the groin area .... dunno wat's wrong
Wonder if it's bb resting really low in my tummy?

when is bb suppose to turn head downwards? cos i think this little fellow is still feet downwards.

with medical conditions like GD, PE, amnontic fluid low, bb in distress - all these are conditions for emergency c sect where we can't choose the date.

what other reasons are there that gynae will schedule a elective c sect?

hmm if can deliver at week 38, means this little fellow will be on 11th Aug...yippee. i can't wait to have him safely in my arms.

been having recurring nightmares and thoughts abt bb being strangled by the umblicical cord, or the cord got knotted cos of his vigorous movements.

babymaking

my gal's feet are up, but so's her head. Only her butt is sitting down there.

I also have this fear, that's why i rather bb come out quickly when it's safe for her to do so.

mashy,

It's like the weight pressing on my groin area ... it's ok when i'm seated. I only feel it when i'm walking or standing or leaning forward.

shirley, ur #1 is it boy? what about #2?

many experienced mummies told me that baby girl would come out earlier while baby boy like to take his own sweet time, and stay all the way til 40 weeks. what's your thought for this ladies?

true enough my girl came out at 38 weeks.

morning!

so tired also.. cant sleep well and got back ache day after day..

er its more likely that induction wont be successful if done when bb's head is not even engaged.. but by term, most bb are engaged already(just to varying extents).. so no need to think so much! ur gyne will know the best!

babymaking, your summary list of caterers is very comprehensive!

one more :

Goodluck kitchen
Pros : food quality gd, portions decent too. price average at $12 for 9 courses.
cons : none that i remember - piggytoh?? anything to contribute?

pegsfur

maybe your bb's head is engaged... that's why.

chintz
my boy came out at 35 weeks. So not true at all. I've a feeling that my gal will come out punctually on 18 Jul.

mashy
ehh ur last checkup was when? bb still breech? mine was 27wks, bb in breech position.. and i think still in that position..

bbmaking
add on that if u have low lying placenta that blocks the birth canal.. oso needs to do scheduled c.

why u girls so excited about having the bb pop out soo fast? for me, i feel more depressed with each passing day.. tummy getting bigger, no more energy with my #1.. harder to do things witih my #1, and i really have no confidence how my #1 will cope with this additional member... feel like crying everytime i think of it.

Pegsfur, could be baby's head is low. Coz I have that machiam someone punch me down there feeling all the time. And Dr Wong says baby is head down. The soreness will get worse as baby gets lower.

mashy,

Huh??? So fast ah .... i was thinking maybe bb's head start to be down liao but i never thot it's engaged wor, cos I'm only 30wks leh ... Abit scary huh..

CHintz,
not true alot of the baby gal i know r near EDD or overdue.

Jules,
hmm for me no cons for Goodluck kitchen la keke..

Babymaking,
baby no specific time to head down 1 my baby head down few mths back whereas some of my friend headdown only after wk32.. so it depends on ur baby...

Pris,
icic thanks..

smurfy

at 32 weeks, still breeched.

I can't wait for my gal to come out. hahaa. I don't enjoy preg. Rather suffer when bb is out. :p Somehow it feels better with bb in my arms than in my tummy. True enough no freedom after that, but feel more 'ta shi'. I can't imagine how things will be with #1 but just hope & pray that things will be alright. No pt worrying abt it now.

I do quiet stuff with my #1 now, like read books, do arts & crafts. Yesterday, i drew some lines for him to cut. Practise his scissors skills. Wonder what i should do today. Maybe continue with the scissors practice.

U having prenatal depression ah?

chintz, my girl came out at 37+ wks.. but i had preterm labour and was on meds until wk 37 to stop the contractions. bb pop out within days of stopping the meds.. so i think mine not counted :p

pegsfur, might be a ligamental pain thing.. from bb pressing downwards on the pelvic area causing expansion of the pelvic girdle.

babymaking, i am as paranoid as u.. was worse with #1.. worried the whole day abt cord strangulation, stillbirth, etc etc. might be because my first pregnancy was also quite stormy.. threatened miscarriage and bleeding till wk 14, then had v early contractions at wk 19, after that preterm labour, and low amniotic fluid level.

other reasons for elective c-section - abnormal lie (eg bb not head down and lying horizontally, diagonally), unstable lie (bb keeps switching positions even late into the pregnancy - sometimes head down, sometimes lie diagonally), or other medical conditions which the mother has which make it safer for a scheduled c-section, big baby/baby not proportionate to mummy's size (eg mummy's pelvis is too small for bb's head to pass thru), etc etc..

Finally have found the EDD aug 09 group in FB.

Smurfy, you are rite. My company also pro-rated the child care leave for my coming no. 2.
Even 1st kid child care leave also divide into 2 qtr. 1st 6 mths can only take 3 days then follow another 3 days.

I have been telling my baby no.2 to come out on 14 Aug 09 (fri) or 18 Aug 09... easily to rememeber. EDD is 26 Aug 09.

Btw, have all of you name your baby? My baby no. 2 is called KARIS.

smurfy,
I think those that are excited abt bb coming out fast are 1st time mummies like me

bear,
Oh, it cld be bb's head is low huh ... and it cld get worse???? Oh my .... dat day i was trying to squat cos need to clear my dog's newspaper aft she poo, but i cldn't do it cos it was too much pain.

Pegsfur,
if ur bb engaged liao u will feel pressure down ther 1 n most likely u will walk like a penguine with leg wide apart... my boy lately kicks become harder manz make me so uncomfortable...

piggy,

I do feel the pressure down there and i find that walking like a penguin feels better ... but .. but .. it's very ugly and i remembered wat mrs wong said ...hahaha .. so i try not to walk like tat lah

pegsfur

no leh, i'm #2 mummy leh. Not extremely excited but want the preg to be over quickly.
I'm counting down already. Last night packed my hospital bag. Still short of maternity pads & some toiletries only.

Pris, I am with Dr Joycelyn Wong.

Pegsfur, yes..it will get worse. I just need to carry heavy things or squat down and I can feel alot of pressure below. Machiam got something coming out.
When bb's head is engaged, its sore all the way.

I also hope my girl can come out earlier instead of full term like gor gor.

smurfy, i am also not really looking forward to having #2 out..
cos v worried abt how to find time to take care of 2, and that #1 will feel neglected. not to mention the whole struggle with a new baby, breastfeeding, sleepless nights again, etc.. sigh.. things seem more controllable with him still inside.

but i think my boy will pop out at wk 37+ like his sister too..

shizuka,
Ya, i'm trying my best not to squat but sometimes cannot help it, like clearing my dog's pee/ poo. I've even learnt how to pick up things with my toes ok ...

pris

perhaps. he's playing with real tennis balls now. ouch. He started picking up tennis after playing Wii tennis. Maybe will send him for tennis lessons next time... He's more a sports boy than a studious quiet boy.

bear,
Yes ...! I oso have that something gonna come out feeling! Aiyoh ....

mashy,
Ya lor .. dats the diff
U want it to be over quickly while i guess 1st time mummies like us are excited abt the whole thing, how we gonna give birth, wat happens when bb come out to finally having our #1 in our arms

smurfy
you seem to have symptoms of PND?

jules,
exactly what i am going thru now except for the low amnointic fluid. It's emotionally and mentally very tiring esp since I am on bedrest and home alone most of the time, it's hard to remain positive and stop scaring myself with "worst case scenarios".

I am so very glad that already pass 28 weeks, the assurance i have now is that bb is viable even if give birth now.

then came in the scare of cord strangulation, knotted etc...arghs. i can't wait to carry this little one in my arms, and i can't believe that i'm craxy enuff to plan for #2 now. what an irony.

my gynae was saying that even if bb turns downwards now, there's a chance that will shift position again...unless bb is engaged.

it's too early to be engaged at 30 weeks isn't? cos once bb is engaged means going to deliver soon?

jules
my #1 came out at 38wks plus. somehow i feel #2 will come out early or earlier. u have maid/CL or anyone helping out after birth? i have.. but it's the emotions of #1 that i fear.

smurfy

haven't bought it yet. Think maybe abt 2-3 packs extra long night sofy then the rest use normal ones... In hospital, will use their kotex pads, then when discharge, wear my own pad.

pegsfur, i also v excited like u when expecting #1. then within a day of her popping out, i was wishing i cld put her back inside liao.. lol :p

Pegsfur, dun swat but I think they should have taught you how to go on your knee on one side to pick up stuff.

Smurfy, I got one pack for hospital, need some more will get dh to go and buy more.

Jules, haahaa, I am waiting for my baby to be borned, my #1 is so eager to see the little one. Was telling him, he might not be able to come to see the baby at the hospital due to H1N1, he was like so sad and kept saying but that bb is my didi, why cannot see him at hospital.

on a sidepoint, anyone going to the PC show? I'm kinda interested to get the phone specially designed for the elderly. it's showcased in today's ST.

Mashy, Kai play real tennis too but I told him I cannot play that with him now haahaa. He is also into really basketball and soccer. Haahaa, just recently went for his 2nd Cold Storage Kids' Run. Now he can't wait to return to Syndey for more races as the distance in Sydney is longer haahaa.

i'm looking fwd to the arrival of my boy too! i'm currently on my 28 weeks only. cos my EDD is actually 1 Sep.

glad to meet so many 2nd time mummies here! anybody writes blog here? care to share?

Hahhaa .. ya, bear ... dat's wat she's gonna say but i'm already walking very little leh. The only longer walk is when i bring my dog for her 15 min slow walk downstairs.

Wah .. i still have abt 10wks to dong leh ... how to survive ah?

smurfy

don't worry. By worrying, it still won't help u in anyway. Just spend more time with him now, talk to him abt your #2 coming lor.

Last night my boy said good night to everyone (his usual pattern). He'll say 'good night, see u tomorrow, i love u'. And he said that to mei mei without us prompting too. He stroked my tummy while he said that. So sweet of him.