(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

added the fb group and some of you!

morning ladies..

Pris,
hahah i tink the caterer part is quite individual leh becos every1 std diff n depend on how particular u r
but i tink Neo Garden n Mum kitchen got more +ve review

Reira,

To what i know childcare leave is 6 days based on the calender year. So if you given birth in Dec 2009, u still entitle 6 days in 2009.

pris,
yap...i think i am...
i am ch**** lai...

chintz,
yes u can...just post a wall note(on facebook) to tell us who u r...

i'm so disappointed. had booked Mdm Ida for prenatal massage tonight but last night she sms to say tt she can't make it cos she's having her period...

was really looking forward to it...

morning gals
had a bad night - was awake most of the time due to BH - regularly like half an hour - for those couple of hours from 1am to 3am, i really thought i was going into labour cos no matter how i shifted position, the contractions refuse to go away. then ard 4am, the tightenings stopped..phew!! and resume just now at 8am. luckily never call the gynae :p

Claire,
sorry to hear abt yr loss and it's indeed good news that this pregnancy is doing well. so there's some truth in tat the embryo can implant too near/on the c sect scar resulting in miscarriage. now i am more determined to go NVD. wish me luck on finding a gynae who's willing to go pro natural.

reira,
eh I am not too sure abt FB also, but i realise that FB have this chat function when you are log in, and also lots of games, in grp mode, can also set up specific threads, maybe someone can go put up recommendations made here abt caterers, CL, massage ladies, sales, arrange meet ups etc etc? that way no need to serach thru the archives - cos this thread move so fast that always lose track of stuff.

re: the pep bed
sounds interesting, any links or articles to read abt it? one pt to note is that jaundice is usually a short term thingy with newborns - shd recover within a few days. also need to take bb's blood every day to measure the level, so even if you have the bed, u still need to bring bb into hoapital for those blood tests, so having a pep bed may not be much use.

re: caterers
think that a few are shortlisted

YLS -
Pros: for cheap pricing, large portions and their very good KBB.
Cons: std seems to have drop, reported case of one of the trays of food being spoilt, although they did replace, took a long time to do so.

Neo garden
Pros: food standard seem to be quite uniform over the years, got quality.
Cons: food portion is small, more expensive

Mums' kitchen
Pros: food taste nice
Cons: so far dun think anyone posted any cons.

Lavish dining
Pros: food taste nice
cons: food portion smaller than Neo's garden

kikilala, your baby 2kg at 31w5d, does your gynae ask you to give birth earlier?

my baby is 1.85KG at 30w, but gynae say i have to give birth 2 weeks earlier leh....

2 weeks earlier my bb is Jul baby liao.

babymaking,
wah u still go n list out the recommendation tt was v nice

Shirley,
ur gynae say u goin to give birth earlier becos of the weight of ur baby?

Enhanced Government-Paid Maternity Leave (GPML) Scheme

A working mother will be eligible for 16 weeks of paid maternity leave

Government-Paid Childcare Leave Scheme
Under the GPCL scheme, eligible parents can take 6 days of paid childcare leave per year until the year the child turns 7 years old.

Unpaid Infant Care Leave Scheme
a working parent to take up to 6 days of unpaid leave every year so long as he/she has a child below 2 years of age.

criteria

a) she gave birth on or after 31 October 2008 (or with an EDD on or after 31 October 2008);
b) her child is a Singapore citizen*;
c) she is lawfully married to the child’s father*;
d) she has served the company for at least 90 days immediately preceding her delivery date.

Shirley,
from wat i know the weight is not the factor if u will deliver earlier leh.. if ur baby dun wan to engage early also no use mah.. n u could jus be havin a big baby nia...

shirley, are you going for C-section? I'm currently in my 32 weeks and baby weight 2.2kg but gynae never says I need to deliver early. Did you ask you Gynae why?

childcare leave
please dun be surprised if your company decides to prorate the 6 days childcare leave based on the month of ur delivery...see if we delivery in aug.. companies will lugi if they give 6 full days...they r not doing anything wrong if they pro-rate.. if i am not wrong when the enhanced childcare leave came effective last aug.. some companies oso gave prorated instead of the full.

shirley

it could be your gynae scared your bb too big and u can't give birth naturally if u drag too long. May end up c-section if your bb becomes too big. Anyway, 2 weeks earlier is just 38 weeks. Most pp give birth ard then anyway. I'm having my c-section at 38 weeks too.

piggytoh, i dun know also, i did asked my gynae what is my baby not head down yet if wanna to give birth 2 wks earlier, she said, she will induce, also i asked my gynae again how can you sure my bb will head down by that time, she said not to worry, she will ensure the baby head down @.@

Nicole, no my gynae is pro-natural deliver kind; she will not encourage C-section, unless anything happen last minute. She always tell me not to worry for everything, she will handle all issue.

Shirley,
huh so she will induced if ur baby no sign to come out ah? but head down not necessary mean engage leh.. hmm~~ cos urs not c-sect so quite rare to hear such case... maybe u can find out more in ur nex visit?

hmm..mashy, so correct me if i am wrong

if choosing c sect - can do at week 38
If baby is too big via NVD, gynae will also induce at week 38 or suggest c sect.

what other factors will gynae recommend scheduled c sect?

btw, you mentioned that yr #1 is premature, so how come you had to have c sect also?

Nicole, your bb is huge. Mine is 2kg at week 32, and due to #1 came at end of week 36 at 3kg, my gynae thought my #2 might come at week 38 too since he has been head down from week 30 liao.

mashy, ya i think becos i eat durians...my gynae says durians cause big babies..but i can't help it..i ate some again last night haha...

shirley, maybe you wanna check with your gynae, heard 1 story (can't rem if it's from the forum or from collegues) that some gynae wants their patient give birth earlier cos they are going away for holidays so they want to quick quick do the delivery. hope yours is not the case..

Nicole, I agreed with wat you said about some gynae.

My gynae told me he is not going to induce but give me time to get ready my hospital in case bb decides like my #1 came slightly early.

babymaking

The reason why i can choose to have c-section at 38 weeks is coz i know when i ovulated. For those who didn't know, it's safer to do it at least 39 weeks.

Gynae may also recommend C-section if bb is breech (which in my case is so and gynae said her position is diff to turn type). Some gynaes can help to manually turn the bb over.

They may also recommend c-section if mother has pre-eclampsia, GD etc pre-existing condition which may endanger her life if she does natural. Or if the bb is showing signs of distress, poo is out, etc.

Altho my boy is born 35 weeks, he's a huge bb (considering he's only 35 weeks). He came out 2.815kg, 50cm, the size of a full term baby. I was pretty tired after 18hrs labour and couldn't push him out. Plus, he inherited his daddy's big head...

pris

haha, i dunno if my boy still have perfect hearing score. Only know that now he has selective hearing. Only hears what he wanna hear. If he hears something that he doesn't like, he ignores and pretends that he didn't hear a thing.

chintz,

my first one stay inside for 40 wks, still don’t want to come out, until my gynae insert medicine to dilation me.

piggytoh,

Ya, I will check with my gynae.

nicole, gynae on holiday @.@
Actually during my last visit, i confirmed with my gynae whether she still want me to give birth earlier, she said yes. So I asked her whether I can choose a date or not, such as 4th Aug or 23rd Jul (my EDD is 12 Aug).

She said 4th Aug, possible, if I can control my weight gain (ie. my baby weight gain)