(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pris:har me dunno le......hv to google and chk on the map me also nto familiar

joeey,
i abit kiasu..yest went to check out the aussino bedding near my workplace after work. =P

For those who are keen to buy aussino bedding for the cot, there's a 15% discount for members for items not on sale. Before discount was $79 UOB credit card got 10% discount. It's good if you have either card. Think as long as the mattress is smaller than the fitted sheet, the salesperson advised definitely can fit in although the bedding comes in 1 size only.

morning everyone!

this 1st month celebration n cakes issue sounds tough... prior to u mummies discussing it, i hadn't given it much thought. now i'm not sure what to do...

Pris

Try mothercare at Marina Square. Saw a few under the Spring Maternity brand. But when i went to Spring, they say don't have nursing wear.

RE: 1st mth
I've a headache on this. Our relatives abt 100 already.
Even minus off those who don't come, maybe still have 80... Really can't afford to spend so much on the celebrations.

Vomitted out my entire dinner last night and had excruciating tummy pains. Sigh. My gal doesn't like the tempura.... So no more home made tempura. Too much washing and hassle.

re: 1st month celebration

i book the SAF chalet already.. jus any how hum tam 1st cos hb have to ballot early for the slot.. FIL wans to invite like all the relatives from his siblings to all his 姨妈s.. so total invitation grp wld be bout 150-200 pax.. machiam wedding.. no choice habe to split into 3 grps~

told him no need invite so many ppl den he start to rattle on bout after u give birth they come give presents how.. nvr invite them so paiseh..

re: confinement month
told PIL that after i give birth dun announce to the whole world that bb is out jus tone down and dun go ard making calls.. they call and ask then tell. otherwise from wat PIL told me they'll start the visiting 14days after i give birth... how to rest~~~~

janice

wow, that's fast.

I'm thinking perhaps i'll book the HDB function hall just down my place. Only $50. Just scared it might be a little hot...

mashy,

cos that weekend is the start of sch holidays.. and SAF chalet is damn hard to book.. bungalow style; bigger area.. more space for the crowd..
jus worried that bb comes out too late.. jus keeping my fingers cross he comes out b4 10.. cos my edd is 14th.. i also think i abit kiasu at the same time must plan the stuffs well then i can have my confinement in peace. the rest let hb settle..

i'm quite keen in the mum's kitchen catering.. saw an interesting dish - thai seafood salad as appetiser.. den habe bbq delivery also..

Morning ladies

Mashy,
I oso thot of using the multi purpose hall just below my flat ... but dun think i'll do it there cos it's small and dirty. The last time it rained, the rooftop was leaking as well. Plus, the hall is rite at the start of the passage way where reisidents need to walk past to their flats ... not much privacy.

Hiaz .. the search goes on ...

pegsfur

My place's MPH is very big and spacious. Pretty clean and there's a playground/garden just next to it. So i suppose it'll be able to help entertain the kids who come too.

Now have to look for cheap and good buffets since i've a huge guest list. I saw YLS catering starts from $6 per pax. Anyone tried their catering before?

Janice
Wow, what if bb comes out earlier than that? Is it ok to celebrate the 1st mth late? One thing abt chalets that i dislike is the mosquitoes. And bb too young to put any insect repellant. The patches don't work too.

mashy,

Ooh ... i printed our pics for the mini cakes for my wedding to be given to my colleagues ... Very cute leh

morning mummies..

SL: yeah Lavish dining is nice, tried it b4.. if anyone is ordering it and beef is not an issue, order the beef... very nice.

As for man yues, we intend to have one sat for family, next sat for friends/ colleagues.

as for cakes, will only be given to immediate family memebers..

my skin is itching again, i think its stretching agani, maybe another round of stretchmarks coming again..

mashy,
I dunno leh ... cos we din bear to eat our 'faces' on the cakes ...
But i think according to my sis, it's ok lah.

just sharing, for mummies looking for cheap mattress protectors, Ikea has, selling at $9.90.... (i bought my pigeon one for $20plus... darn should have gone tio ikea first. haha)

morning gals
besides the cakes, also need to prepare red eggs and AKK right?

Janice,
are your PIL cantonese as well? - cos i think for cantonese there's a tradition that on or after 12th day, the aunties will come visit. eh that's what my MIL told me.

babymaking

nay, not preparing red eggs & AKK. I've not received red eggs & AKK for the longest time when i visit other pp's first mth celebrations. Think not popular anymore. Even for those who did prepare, they ended up with loads of leftovers coz no one wanted them.

sunshine
yeah, another alternative is let PIL/MIL/hubby take charge and decide and you just sit back and relax. anyways by the time bb is born, this willbe yr last thing in yr mind cos u will be busy with bb..so if u want to arrange, discuss with them now.

Janice

Is it a huge family? If so, then tiring, but if just a few, just close one eye and get it over and done with lah. If not, half way thru say need to bf bb, excuse yourself and lock yourself in the room. They'll prob decide to leave then....

ok last call for photcopying of these books:

GD How to teach your baby to read
GD How to teach your baby Maths
GD How smart is yr baby
GD How To Give Your Baby Encyclopedic Knowledge
GD How To Multiply Your Baby's Intelligence
Tracy Hoggs The baby whisperer solves all your problems.

Anyone interested, pls email me at [email protected].

ya big family.. some more very close 1 lo... i told my hb liaoz.. cannot bring bb out of the room.. otherwise i lock me and bb in the room..

yes, i think i'm going to let whoever wants a party to take charge. but i intend to buy some cakes to thank those who really care abt me n baby.

my FIL is cantonese n i think his sisters r expecting some kinda party...

sunshineG

Then u must remember that once u let others take charge, u will have little say over everything, and it can include your guest list.

My ILs took charge of my #1's celebrations while i was still semi comatose. They placed my relatives in a little corner far away and put their friends & relatives near where the main action is.

janice

If not, why don't u ask them to arrange a time to come together rather than come a few times separately? Since it's something that u can't avoid, might as well ask them to coordinate a bit to min disruptions to your bb's routine.

I had a few visitors during my confinement too. Expecting more this time since now with the H1N1 virus, they can't visit me in the hospital.

pris, have you tried momsinmind.com.sg? Think its cheaper than the outside boutiques.

bbS, the mattress protector from Ikea is cheap, but hor it tends to shift alot when bb moves around the cot... I have been using it but every morning have to readjust a bit cos its just 1 flat sheet of plastic. So think better to get those which are fully wrapped around the mattress kind.

sunshine, it is quite ma fan, and no i don't think its fun at all. But then again, delivering cakes to 30 relatives is even worse, so I would rather call them for buffet and if they cannot make it, then at least I have made the effort.

mich

hehe, i think it's your gal! :p I've no probs with it. Didn't shift a bit.

And it's not good to waterproof the whole mattress, coz makes the mattress not 'breathable'. Just do the body side, so that the head is not on the waterproof sheet.

mashy,

i would be arrangin IL's side to come ard 1-4 den my family ard 4-7 den friends 6 onwards. seperate better...

FIL still tell me they will stay leh.. den i told him even if they stay not all stay wat at most onli 20-30% stay easier to do crowd control ma..

janice

so tiring. I'm just going to do it once and for all. One session. if u can't make it, too bad. Coz if bb overstimulated, later will have probs putting bb to sleep. Bb will be very cranky...

hi mtb, I have a box of Dhaxtra softgel 430MG 30'S for sales, to be use by OCT 2011. Please PM me if you are interested.

thanks for the tip Mashy. think i will let each side plan their own thing if they want. n i just show up w baby.

how come u feel like puking? is it still from the tempura?

mashy ha ha maybe my girls are very active when sleeping??? Oh dear, are u having some kind of food poisoning from the ingredients of the tempura. Hope you feel better soon.

I also think 1 session for first month is the best, but then again I really want the special session where my pastor and my cell group comes and prays for the bb, so cannot run from having 2 sessions. DOn't think my relatives or non Christian friends would want to participate in the baby blessing?

sunshine/mich

don't think so, think it's prob from the heartburn.

mich
ya, may your gals are very active when sleeping. hahaa. Actually why not in 1 session? the catholics do their bb baptism and invite even their non-catholic friends/relatives... Maybe u should just get them to be ard to witness this.

Sorry for the interruption.

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for ex pectant mothers. A total of 4 mothers are required. So bring along your friends! A free CD with your baby's 3D images will be given after the scan.

Details:
1) Preference: 17-32 weeks pregnancy
2) Date: 10 Jun 2009 (Wednesday)
3) Time: 1500-1545 hrs, 1545-1630 hrs, 1630-1715 hrs & 1715-1800 hrs
4) Duration: 45 mins
5) Venue: The Siemens Center, 60 MacPherson Road, S'pore 348615
6) Contact: Jessie Wong, ofc 6490 8076 or hp 92959189

Please be assured that for the Siemens free scan, you are not guinea pigs, and Siemens is not testing the machines. They are selling these machines to OB doctors in the region, and worldwide.

Please refer to this thread for one of the earlier scan for Dec 2008 mommies.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/m essages/578191/1742857.html1222314404#POST5865189
Recently, we have also invited some 2009 mommies for scan early this year in Jan, March & Apr 2009