(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

my hb side also has a vegetarian relative. what we did for our wedding was we told the caterer to prepare a separate vegetarian bento set... n of course paid separately for that...

Mashy,she is like that, so I dun give her face either. I cant stand her and my unmarried bil, only person that is nice is my fil but after strokes, he is also abit off liao haahaa.

irene: only give cake to pple who din come ar?

My mum still wan me to go order 20 boxes of cake for her relatives who are coming to eat as well. Sharks, wat if my frenz and colleagues who come and eat realise that they dun have cakes? Then , not consistent, rgt?

Like that how huh??

I am thinking whether I can skip doing 1st month haahaa. Held one for church but dun let my in-laws know and treat my relatives to a meal haahaa.

mashy/bear,
Ok .. noted, so the cakes are for those who's not attending the bb shower. So how many cakes did both of u ordered for the 1st time?

yen,
Yes!!!!! That's my thinking ... u really know me ... hahaha ..

Ok, i'll just remind him again abt finding CL. I'm just afraid that he will go ask his mum for recommendation ... den i peng san ...!

mashy, dh gave her house key, and also for the sake of fil, we used to let them come over twice a week to play with Kai. But more damage my mil coz like anything, teach kai who is learning to crawl to climb up stairs etc. Then throw colour pencils.

Mashy, when I am back for good, I am changing the locks so I am not giving them keys since they dont give me their house key and will let dh know that since I am at home all the time, they dun need my housekey.

Pegsfur, that time I only give to a few relative who cannot make it for the bb shower, then my neighbours who I know but didn't invite and another 2 boxes for my ex-colleagues who didn't come. Think about 12boxes.

yen, I dunno about most people but I don't understand why come and eat buffet already still must tabao cake lah.

U know, for a moment, i thot i'd like to skip the bb full-month party as well ... cos MIL sure add in alot of stupid unheard-of customs that she will insist she wants it done.

pris,
Oh, so i guess it's up to us to see who we wanna give huh ... So in the end how many boxes did u ordered?

Pegsfur, yes..baby shower is like one more round of wedding dinner!!! Coz MIL will give you the same problem as your wedding dinner and wants to invite someone whom your hb dunno too.

Coz my relatives is by family which takes up like 10 boxes, then close friends of dh and myself the rest. In the end no enough to give to my colleagues in school coz mil took their shares.

bear,

I c .... but for me, most prob i'll get for my relatives as well since i dun have alot of them. The ones i'm afraid of are mil's side de ... i think she'll insist on giving to every one, even relatives which we are not even close to.

pegsfur

We bought vouchers from Bengawan solo. Can't remember also... So long ago. Don't worry abt that now. Maybe during the confinement, after u send out the invites, rsvp then get a rough idea lor. Or if not, u can decide who are those that you aren't inviting for the shower but will give cake and count the nos. Have to standby some extras in case some pp give u presents so have to return the cake gift. I got presents from the most unexpected pp - Pp that i don't talk to much, nor close to. Some even gave me very old stuff (obviously it's a re-gift). But out of courtesy, we give them the cake cards lor.

pris
oic. haha, we'll never give away our hse key. Then again, my parents are staying with us, so my ILs won't dare anyhow come up my place without letting us know.

Mashy, dh has a third round of buffet at his workplace coz his colleagues all give big ang pow so no choice, I have to bring Kai down to his office.

Mil pestered dh to give her the key.

This time round, I am either holding it at SAFRA club or at a friend's function room.

Pris, that's why I don't do it at home. If you have a maid to help you clean up after that still ok. If not after the baby shower so tired still need to clean up the whole house.

Irene, dh does the cleaning haahaa. The worst part is, some of Kai's musical toys were spoilt on that day and also some gifts in the room were opened by dun know who.

Mashy, I am thankful I am staying in double storeys if not mil sure always come to stay. I already told dh, no mj at my place, no idols at my place, no staying long term at my places. And dun come and disturb when I am coaching my children if not I will throw them out and also I dun answer calls when I am coaching my children.

pris,
i was tinking safra too...called up to check but v ex lei

re: 1st mth celebration
i will also do 3 separate session...one for my relatives...one for hubby's relatives n one for our frends...cos dun wan mix...later my MIL alot of things to say n compare...irritating

re: cakes
i also dunno how many to order and who to give to too

Pegsfur,
yup i am holdin it on 2 separate day cos my IL side relatives n friends alr 100+ pax too many pp alr so i will hold a separate day for my own friend n relatives at least i can still entertain my own friend:p

u mus be firm becos i alr gave in so mus tell him if no CL u goin to ur mother house full stop. so if he wan u to do confinement at home he gotta make sure he arrange properly..

Yen,
y not? cos my IL stay at private housin so parkin is extremely hard n most of my friend drives so my friend i will invite them to my house instead.

Re: Cakes
I will only gave to my koligs becos i alr invite friends n relative for buffet so no need to gave another round of cake i wun even gave to friends who cant attend if not i v busy must still count who not here n deliver the cake to them.. but it is actually individual preference la...

omg...the thread moves really fast here...cannot keep up.

hi reira,
you can check out http://www.askdrsears.com/html/2/T022400.asp on nipple confusion. Very informative.

For sure, i will introduce the bottle to the bb once a day ...perhaps after 2-3 weeks...i'm veri scared now...hee

hi mashy,
my stretch marks still stays lei after my 1st preg. it just lighten that's all. Hope the marks didn't increase this time round...but it starts to itch now liao...

hi jules,
i tink heat pack shld be quite safe (may wanna double check with your gynae)...as long as don't put cream...

pegsfur
i think your mom is very nice leh. If she does confinement for you, she will still want to cook for your dad! if it was me, my hubby can just go and eat outside if i have to do take care of my kid haha

wow... your hubby quite bad leh. let u be in this kind of stress just because he want to see & carry his son as & when he like... i hope he can engage a CL in time bah. you are looking for day time only or? I wonder if my CL's elder sister can do confinement for that month or not. If not can recommend to you but when is your due date?

If I deliver earlier than 1st Aug or something, my CL's elder sis will do confinement for me for a few days first then once my CL finish her job in Malaysia, she will come to SG and do confinement for me. Something like that haha.

baby's first month
this one i dont need to worry about cos MIL seems to want to settle this and pay for it. i dont really plan to do any celebration cos CL leaving soon = no help, dont wanna give myself more things to do. must do this do that... i dont think i can handle it!

btw, so if u are going to send cakes to friends, meaning u have to go to their house and deliver ah? then very time consuming leh! dont understand why need to do this. i think for close friends/relatives to come to my house can liao.

ino
thanks for the link! i went to bought the pigeon spoon feed bottle thingy just now. came back and poured some water inside to try. lol quite fun haha exactly like spoon feeding

piggy,
Yah, i remembered u said u have alot of relatives dats why must hold it seperately

pris,
That's really impolite of the relatives. Last time during our ROM, we had buffet at my parents house and becos my dog hates kids and was a little anti-social, i kept her in my room. But hubby's half-sis kids kept on opening & closing the door to irritate my dog, making her bark.

I told them not to do it cos my dog will bite, which is true, and i dun want them to go crying becos of that. Those kids went to tell their mum, who replied "dun worry, if the dog bite you, we'll beat the dog so that it won't bite again." She said tat in front of me. I felt like bitch-slapping her.

sharon,
How much does safra charge? I'm looking at holding it (if i'm going to celebrate it) at other places other than my home too. I was thinking of holding it at hotel .. of cos not those 5* hotel lah.

My sis had her bday at Quality Hotel during her 21st bday and it was $18++ per person. I thot it was quite reasonable for those who are not inviting alot of relatvies/friends .

Pegsfur,
ya lor their relative too much anyway will held it at their house for their relative so i no need to clean up n my own friend no kid so no worry kiddo runnin ard my house:p

Regg,
ya lor for me i dun see aneed to specially ggave cake to those not comin la cos like weddin dinner those not comin i dun have the need to treat them separately mah..

reira,

Hahaha .. cos my mum treats my papa like a king de

Ya, am looking for day-time CL cos we dun have space for her to stay over. My edd is 21 Aug

pegsfur,
i checked yishun safra...hold bout 100 pax...4 hrs ard $400-500 but muz use their caterer...so tink will cost bout $1k in total

pegsfur,
talk abt edd, my gynae also dint review my edd leh..was told edd on 17 aug when i first consult her.. but i have a feeling my small one will come out on 10/8!!!!

replied those who are keen about the books, anyone else interested?

Pls email me at [email protected]

Would like to consolidate orders by Tuesday 12noon so that I can get the books back in time to return to the library. :p

Evening mummies...

Only now that have time to login....

Re : Catering

I would recommend Lavish dine. Website is www.lavish.com.sg. The food is quite. Had been ordering their buffet for all the occasion. Somemore my sis know them so I get special food....

Re : Karmy PJ

I went to JL but can't find the Karmy PJ. Think will go to Robinson to take a look since a lot of mummies commented that the material is quite gd....

re:1st mth celebration & cakes
hmm i thought that it's either a celebration buffet or whatever OR got to send cakes - not both? - can anyone clarify?

babymaking

It depend on individual. For my #1, i cater buffet and give cakes only to relatives. U can give all the guest cake if u want too...

babymaking, there is no fixed rule to follow. It all depends on your PIL and your parents or even you and hb to decide.

JUles:yes its that book from Gina ford

library usually hv a few copies ( unless all kenna borrowed loooo )

SL:hey woman can sms me or go online?

SL & irene,
oh ok. that's interesting, cos MIL said it's either full mth celebration OR deliver cakes indiv to relatives. think delivering cakes indiv more time consuming & tiring.

Is it normal/common to have something like a BD cake during 1st mth celebration?

hi SL,

try OG for karmy PJ. my mum bot mine there. ;)

hi reira,
keke...heh heh...np...

hi sharon,
hv u checked out "sweetest moments" for 1st month giveaways? i planned to order from them....very nice packaging and the confectionary is quite nice too...

hi babymaking,
it depends on the family "culture". for my family, the "culture" was to invite the relatives and close frens for meal to celebrate 1st month, then give the cakes to relatives on the spot...(save the trouble of having to deliver)

happi
eh? no lah, ocean is cheaper cos cheong choon dont really sell toiletries! but i know for drapolene cream, they sell at $4.50 and Ocean sell at $5.20. not sure about other baby toiletries roducts.