(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

reira

haha, like after giving birth, the nipples are not longer the sweet young thing type anymore. Even when i don't stimulate it, it's still hard.

piggy/jules,
Same here .. i oso have this pain at the right buttock. I wonder what caused this ... today actually wanted to go for massage after brunch with mum, but tummy felt very tight and hard ... i think i'd better postpone going

reira,
Ya, the link u posted on the carseat is the one i got. Can sit from 0mths to 4yrs.

mashy/baby s,
The aussino baby bedding does not have discount now except for only 1 design, at 40% off. The rest are all at $79.90. I just came back from there

Ooooh .. just bought bb's hankies at $3.50 for 12 at ntuc ... bb's items getting more & more complete

re: post natal massage
haf u all booked ur post natal massage package??
i dunno which one to get...its bout time we book rite?

mashy
O_O so our nipples will forever be hard hard!?!? aiyo now i donno if i got short nipples or not liao!

pegsfur
the carseat u got looks good! i like the design but then did the sales person told u about how many points is the harness? this carseat got says it is 5 points. i think 5 points is the maximum it can get. http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?main_page=product&cPath=2&products_id=381&manufacturers_id=

sharon
i booked with Mdm Ida liao! must book early imo. haha i think most of us in this thread all book Mdm Ida de!

mashy, ya lor.. my SM from 1st pregnancy also disappeared after abt 1 yr.. then i got preg again! i'm pretty sure i will kena SM again this time though.. just waiting for them to appear

reira, sometimes the nose shit really blocks up the nose and bb has problems breathing.. so it does help if u cld remove the obstruction. but of cos, be v v careful! dont dig where u cant see.. that's the 'moral of the story'. :p

reira,
Er .. no leh, the sales person din mention how many points is the harness and i didn't know abt this, so never find out from her oso :p

Re: cleaning ears
I know docs say dun clean the inside of our ears but my ear wax is the wet type, so have to clean with cotton bud every 2 days after bathing, if not very uncomfortable cos it's wet ... yucks.

Sianz ... mil in the house .... yawnz ..

Pegsfur,
tt a gd buy for ur carseat cos those i saw $100+ 1 all European brand but make in china so i dun dare to buy hee... gd tt u got almost all the thing liao i tink i left with the herbs for bathin nia.... but tt 1 can buy later..

i have another 2 massage ladies to recommend.

1) Mimi (tel: 91958952) - i've tried her for prenatal massage n found her to be quite good. the strong traditional Malay type.

for prenatal massage, she charged $70 for 90 mins, but i think it went past 90 mins...

2) Arline (pronounced as Arleen) (tel: 93374316)

she's Filipino and her technique is slightly gentler. if u don't like the painful type, she's the one.

for prenatal massage, she charged me $40 for 60 mins. but rates vary according to the distance she has to travel.

she stays in yishun n i stay in boon keng.

i haven't booked my post-natal yet, but am trying Mdm Ida's pre-natal this Thursday...

can't wait! these swollen feet n aching back really need help!

mashy,
my frend do c-section too...waited 1 mth before she did her massage

reira,
how much u pay for ur massage? how many days?

piggy,

Ya lor .. at least it's a load off my mind
Think only left bathtub need to buy.

Hiaz .. i just told my mum over brunch just now abt hubby's decision to have confinement at own house .. can see my mum is a little disappointed ...
And even though disappointed, she still encouraged me to be positive, see how the whole thing goes ... cos i was telling her i'm so NOT looking fwd to confinement.

Pegsfur,
nvm la she can still drop by as often as she wan to see her grandson mah.. anyway confinement only 1 mth v fast 1... be +ve.. so u settle the CL alr? i tink some agency got early bird discount 1 leh..

pegsfur

at least you've someone to turn to for support. That time when my ILs gave me hell during confinement, i could only cry to myself. The relatives & friends all say my ILs very good, pay for a lot things etc, but they don't realise they come with a price. Can only smile smile even though i was feeling totally miserable.

Besides my hb, there's really no one else i can turn to already.

mashy, why are you doing massage after 1mth confinement ? i thought it works best few days after we deliver ? my sil said massage is supposed to push the womb up ? is it true ?

for my first one, i didnt have postnatal massage.

hi happymrskoh, i think the aussino bedding only comes in 1 size. my bb cot mattress lengh is 48 inch one.

I thinking to use Ida's service as well but heard she quite packed liao due to fasting & hari raya.

Pls share your feedback after u used her as i can only engage her 1 mth after delivery

piggy,
The CL thing still haven't settle .. i'm leaving it to hubby since it is wat he wants. If last min i still can't get anyone, my mum said that she's able to help out in the day time. But she can probably come around 10+ in the morning since she needs to settle things in her house 1st, and leave at abt 4 or 5 as she needs to cook for my dad. Hiaz .. abit siong on my mum leh.

mashy,
Really? Wat did your mil do to u? Sounds bad leh.

pegsfur

it was horrible lah. Not just my MIL, my FIL as well. Screamed at me coz my hb didn't go to church. There wasn't anyone at home to help me then (no CL, my aunt could only help me in the weekdays) and my hb was helping me bathe my boy. Then the 1st mth celebration thing. And then complain said we didn't order cakes for the whole church after they helped to pray for my boy when he was hospitalised for jaundice. And plenty more lah. sigh. Decided to change church after that to get away from them. They kept complaining & scolding us etc, so decided to just leave that place once and for all. Now so much better when we're not in the same church.

pegsfur

yah, maybe u should tell your hb if he doesn't settle it fast, u'll go to your mum's place, else no one to help u with confinement.

mashy: DONT SAY THAT! i was talking to my friend and saying i didnt have stretchmarks too.. 2 days later i discovered a big fat huge stretchmark! heee...

why i thought of getting more breast pads now is since taka is selling at $8.90 now and i got taka vouchers.. but if no use then i suppose really no point of buying more now since i dunno if i need or not..

joeey: yeah lor, i have a bumper set that coems with the cot.. but very thin wor... maybe when baby is bigger than i buy one more to add on...

Pegsfur: thanks!! shall go check out aussino soon..

piggy,
I dun think he'll let me go to my mum's place even if he can't get CL in time. His idea is that i stay put, so that he can see & carry his precious son as & when he like. I guess he thinks that i can cope even without help, or worse, that he can rope in his mum for help.

mashy,
That sounds horrible ... i dun understand why the in laws must always insist on doing things that way when it inconvenienced us so much. Wedding is like dat, bb 1st month oso like dat.

Just now when i went to the kitchen to prepare some sandwiches, mil took the chance to talk to me again. I hate it when she does that cos i really dun wish to talk to her.

She told me she's gonna give me $300 to buy an anklet for bb. I shook my head and said no need. She pretended not to hear me & continued to say must buy those anklet with a 八卦 pendant. I told her again no need. And she said 'wat no need, it is a must in our family for bb to wear anklet.' I shook my head again and said no. Then she said, "or if not u go and buy a chain & pendant lah .. er .. i dunno can or not, but let me go check with my friends den i let u know which to buy."

Piangz ... i just dun want anything from her!

Well, pegsfur and mashy, that's our in-laws. Mine will said no need cakes then when cakes comes they took and distribute, leaving me no enough to distribute

haha...speaking of cakes, I told my husb..u go settle your side and I go settle my side.
But my husb is that type of bo-chap one, so when that day comes, if my side of relatives & frenz got cakes vouchers or cakes, my MIL better dun stare at me, becoz i m not collating for their side. Who knows how many ah-yi, ah-gor, ah-peh they have. Only her previous son will know.

pris,

Exactly!!!! During wedding oso like dat! At first say she's very chin chye de, she doesn't need anything for customary. Den last min drew up a list of ridiculous things and insisted my mum has to buy.

Then yr cakes how? She didn't leave any for u to distribute?

My mum also wan me to hold a separate full-month celebration , so that she need not face my MIL and eat in peace.
Ermm..gals, is there such a practice to hold 2 sessions on a day?

Pegsfur, I told her off on that day. We asked you and you said no need, why are you taking the cakes that we have ordered. She told me she thought got extra. I told her, we ordered just enough.

pegsfur: did u try to get those non-stay-in CL from TMC?

Better find a CL soon, and let ur husb pay, since he dun wan u to go back to ur mum's pl for confinement.

yen,

I think no problem to hold it seperately ... just that 2 sessions in a day, will u/bb be too tired?

I think piggy is holding seperately but on 2 days .. rite piggy?

Yen, that time I had 2 session for the baby shower. One in the early afternoon and one in the late afternoon. Too many people.

yen, if you can, it is better, one for your family and one for your in-laws.

I had two also, one for relatives and close friends and one for church friends.

irene, so if we do 2 rounds, means we order 2 rounds of buffet and the caterer will replenish?

pris, i also did 1 for church friends specially cos my pastor will come and do a baby blessing.

yen,
I'm leaving everything abt CL to hubby .. cos i simply dun want to chup. If anything happens during confinement, i'll just give him a call and ask him to come back to settle. He shld be prepared for such things since that is wat he wants. I've already told him the pros & cons le but he still insist .. ok lor ... leave it to him to settle.

pris,
How cld she just assumed it's extra ... even if it's extra, she shld ask first mah.

Btw, how is the giving out of full month cakes done? As in who do we give the cakes to? Only relatives and close friends or everyone who attended the full-month party?

Pegsfur: can hold it separately on 2 different days ar? if yes, then better for me. Or else, very sian to eat catering buffet food for both lunch and dinners.

Pris: my 2 sessions will be my husb's side ( relatives, frenz, and colleagues) and my side (my parents 's relatives, my frenz and colleagues)

Then if got vegetarian relatives, how?

pegsfur/pris

sama sama. Wedding also same thing. At first say, anything, they very chin chye. Then later insist must have wedding dinner. Then my MIL wanna invite her cousins. wah liao eh... fed up.

pris
Your MIL too much lah. How can she make such assumptions? She should at least ask.

pegsfur
I'm giving to those friends/colleagues/church friends who aren't coming/invited for the full mth party. Too many relatives already...

Mich, yes...the caterer will replenish with another tray of hot food.
But hor...I think its safer to do on 2 days. Coz that time my caterer replenish then the 1st round guest went to eat again then end up my 2nd round guest not enough food!

Pegsfur, I only give cakes to relatives/friends/ex-colleagues who didn't come to the bb shower. If come and eat and still give cake hor..I machiam santa clause leh.

pegsfur: i understd your mentality, u wan your way, but ur husb dun wan, end up, u bo-chap and let him settle. I also sometimes do that when my husb piss me off..

But warn him, good CLs are taken up already..so he better quickly go book a CL or watsoever.
If not, then ask him to be prepared take 1 month leave to stay home and be your CL.
Or else, he will come back home 1 day to find that u and bb not around, becoz u have brought your bb to your mum's house .

yen

I also have vege relatives. Just make sure there's a luo han zhai that sort of vege food for them can already lah. We can't go vegan becoz of them right?

Pegsfur, she always assumed, even my packed herbal chicken soup which I especially pack to make tonics for dh according to his body type after consulting TMC. She will take without asking after ransack my place and use it to make for 2nd bil thinking since it is effective for dh, it will be effective for 2nd bil and when it is not effective for 2nd bil, she put the blame on me then I knew when my herbs always go missing and I told her right in front of 2nd bil that the herbal tonics is especially packed for dh according to his body type not anyway can take coz it is after consulting TMC.

Yen, you can cater some vegetarian packed lunch.