(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

why must dr show u ur placenta? to show that its taken out?

Eh they say no pain when placenta is being delivered, really ah?

talking about placenta, i know some pple bring it back to process it and consume it.. anyone intending on doing that?

babyS
it is true.. cannot control that feeling de... coz when contractions come hor, u really feel like pushing de... natural reaction...
what i felt was the nurse shld have told u to go n find the dr instead of leaving u a newbie there lor...

pegs
the weather is so hot u can bring dog for walk.. peifu siah.. y did not wait til evening time then bring..

BabyS
coz it is to prove that they have taken it out, if dun take out will tio infection mah...

i did not feel pain.. maybe too numb from contractions liao... hahaha...

re: placenta processing
it is said to be very good for the mummy to consume esp for 1st delivery.
there are several company who does it, one of which is MommyCozyhaven... ard $200 to get it done.
i tot of doing it, but hb was saying dunno if they will swop the placenta for some other powder.. and he was skeptical when i saw one company being able to process the placenta in a day.. coz this has to be wash, dried then ground into powder... normally shld take a few days mah

SL
mine also move the whole day.. sometimes i wake up coz he kick/punch too hard..

babyS, ur experience is so funny! but u can look at it another way.. u have actually managed to deliver a baby b4!

dr must show u placenta so u can see its taken out, and that it's in one whole pc. but of cos layman wont know how to see if the placenta is intact or has missing pieces or not la.

no pain during delivery of placenta.. just feel something coming out only. nothing compared to baby's head coming out :p

btw, are u a practising nurse now? how come need to go bank etc?

SL, my baby is still squirming nonstop. very unsettling leh.. usually not like this. wonder if he is trying to change position drastically!

piggytoh, i still believe walking helps lor.. so do more exercise! my poor friend went into labout abt 12 hrs b4 i did, and didnt pop till 9 hrs after i popped. damn cham.. epidural also needed to be topped up.

placenta processing - two mummies in my prev thread actually processed their placenta on their own. really DIY including drying it, then crushing it and packing into pills.

dun think i will ever try this.. so cannibalistic leh...

tas,

Cos even evening will still be as hot de ... i lazy to bathe another time so might as well bring her down the moment i come home, den can persipire for all i care, den come up, bathe and hide in room with aircon!

that company can process it in 1 day? I thought need few days kind one? and yeah i have same thoughts as ur husband, who knows if they put in other powder inside... chalk powder ala china milk scare.. ahah

Jules: was, now career switch to being social worker..

i remember the checking of placenta.. qutie fun actually.. u just wear glove, and feel around the whole thing and count for 21 pieces...

I also cannot imagine the thought of eating something that was part of me.. so cannabal like. hee...

pegs
haha oic.. i was wondering y so warm u wanna go walk walk... i m already hiding in aircon after i return from gynae visit.. beh tahan the heat, it makes breathing diff as well...

BabyS
y ur office send u to go bank... dun hv other pple ard meh? imagine have to stand n queue... aiyo...
if u wan to process ur placenta, must keep in ice box and freeze to keep it as "fresh" as possible
http://www.mommycozyhaven.com/

tot of asking my hb to do the processing of my own placenta coz i dun wan to eat others placenta or some dubious powder...

But the placenta acts as a liver for the bb and manages the waste and toxins rite? Wonder why someone wld want to go & eat it?

pegsfur, cos its supposed to be gd for complexion, keep one looking young, etc

babys, ahh... but social worker need to run to bank and do so much admin stuff also? cham man.. i hate doing admin work!

Regg: I saw the booties u made for my girl.... ITS SO SWEET SO NICE!!!!! EXACTLY how i envisioned it to be if i can knit!!!

thank u so much! i like it so much leh! can u make one adult size one for me, size 8 please... hahahah! Can i post the pic on my blog please... i'll def say its from u.... please please..

Jules: no choice leh, i am considered the 'next of kin" for those who have no family..

CPF lah, so many protocols, always changing some more... want to give money also make it so hard for us to get...

babys
yeah lor.. the booties which regg made so pretty.. too bad my #2 is not ger ger..

u wan adult size one for wat??? as socks to wear n matching with ur ger ger ar?? hehehe

CPf is sticky coz it is GOVT $$$ mah... n they v scared when old pple withdraw $$$ coz worry their $$ get conned :p

weisy
told him to contact andrew liao. in future ask andrew to contact him directly instead of passing msg here coz i may miss ur msg :p

Anybody want to share the purchase of Angel wipes? Prefer to meet in Queenstown/Redhill mrt.
I'm planning to spend $23. The balance for free delivery ($37) perhaps can be shared by few mummies here. Email me at [email protected] if you're interested.

Hi hi
Finally read through the threads. Today on MC after ytd's check up. Managed to gain only 0.1kg from last month. Quite proud of myself. Hope I can keep up with it. Previous month gain close to 2kg. Before that was over 2kg. Got scolding from doc twice. So glad this time round didn't gain much.

Doc said I'm abt 28 weeks 5days. Baby is abt 1.7kg. Healthy and normal. But I feel she's more active than no 1. Worried abt over hyper activity and doc says eat more salmon and cod fish + DHA. Supposedly not reduce hyper activity. So from now onwards I shall diligently eat more of these fish weekly.

Re: Confinement Food

Decided to cater one meal and cook my own for dinner. cos not having confinement lady. Dun want to tax my maid too much. Dunno how I'm going to cope with no 1 and a new baby man!

Re: Mattress for post-natal massage

No need to get a new mattress. Just put lots of thick towel on your mattress can already. But after that much wash all bedsheets as the oil smell is very strong.

RE: Water Retention

I heard that you u wanna test for water retention, just press your leg. If you see a white patch after you press, means you have water retention.

phy
wah u slowly answering the thread one topic by one topic... so cute.. lol...

ntw, anyone feeling nauseous? i dunno y i m feeling nauseous @ 3rd tri ley... v sian

For ladies having c-section

How to Take Care of your wound after a Caesarean Delivery
Watch out for some warning signals

•Heavy vaginal Bleeding
•Incision that last for weeks
•Increasing Redness or if it spreads more than half and inch from around your wound

•Pus that appear on your wound

What you should not do for at least 6 weeks

•No using of tampons , Use only sanitary pads
•No douching
•No Intercourse
•No Driving
•Do not use a Bath Tub
•Do not rub the incision while showering
•Avoid any forms of exercise , especially abdominal and high impact exercises
•Avoid lifting of any heavy things
•Try not to bend too often
•No eating of seafood
What you should do

•While showering , let the water run over and use an antibacterial soap and gently wash the area
•Be use to Pat the area dry . Do not rub it. You may use tissue as it is more gentle than using towel
•You may use Bacitracin or Neosporin ointment and apply to reduce scarring. (Make sure that your wound is completely healed and make sure you are not allergic to the products)
•Take the painkillers if you need to feel better
•Hold your tummy up if you need to cough or laugh loudly, this will prevent any pain on your wound
•If you are breastfeeding, try laying on your side ( baby is on your bed) when latching, this prevents any pressure on your wound
•Use a sanitary pad to cover and protect your wound against rubbing with your clothes
•If you suspect you have an infection, see you droc and ask for an antibiotics
•To prevent blood clots, wriggles your toes to encourage blood circulation especially after delivery. You are encourage to get down from bed after 6-8 hours after delivery
•Have a postnatal massage to help to recover faster. This can only be done at least 3 weeks after delivery
For caesarean delivery, the road to recovery take slightly longer and may also be a bit tougher with many "You cant do this" to follow. Read and get advice from mummies who has been through it. When you are better equip what to expect and what you should do. I am sure you will be able to take things in your hand.

weishy

For the cleaning part, tHe wound is all bandaged up (waterproof), so no need to do anything. When the gynae cut the threads 6weeks later, it's already healed.

mashy:this one i just copy and paste la

hummm in 07 i did mine no need even to cut thread liao loooo.jus remove the waterproof bandage

mashy
how come urs need to cut thread de? i tot they use self dissolving thread liao?
or 2006 still using those that need to remove stitches de? :p

Mashy/Taslyn
These 3 days, my girl is so well-behaved.
Never ask me to carry her at all,
after I told her
"Mama's tummy is getting very big now, if I carry you, my tummy will feel painful, and if I feel painful then I can't play with you".
IT WORKS!
Now whenever I am sitting, I take the chance to put her on my lap then gives her a big big hug.

mickey
hahaha that is good... my ger too young to understand... all she says is mamamamamamama... lol
even hb is jealous.. then he says "coz u r preggy now mah... hmmph"

so late u not sleeping..

my boy is naughty.. kicking me.. sigh now cannot sleep after he woke me up

Taslyn
Did you get any books for her?
2503981.jpg

My daughter has a better understanding of 'babies" after I read these to her.
The titles: "New baby" & "Where do babies come from?'

mickey
haha.. yeah lor they always kicking... best is my boy kick at all timing...

i borrow books from library for her.. now she like to look at the pictures... she is still too young to understand the books... but i think she understands when i tell her didi in mummy tummy, hug hug didi.. n she will place her hands over tummy

Morning all

RE: Bak chang
i had 1 nynoya and 1 bak chang for dinner yesterday...

wow,
all topics yesterday is hot...

RE: EPI...
i won't take it for sure...
cos i got a high treshold for pain...
my #1 i only use thigh injection and laughing gas...
think this round i won't ask for laughing gas...cos will make me high...
thigh inject will be in consideration too...
like tas too...i also forgotten the contraction/labour pain...maybe to me not that painful?
hope this round bb will face the correct direction otherwise will need vaccuum again...

morning

cloudme, i had a bak chang for dinner last night too! then topped it up with a green apple and a chocolate bar to feel full.. *guilty*

whoohoo.. ur pain threshold v v high leh.. even after vacuum delivery u still report that you cant really remember the pain of labour! pei fu lor..

mickey, ur girl is sooo gd!! how old is she? my 2 yr old will tell me that she will sayang my tummy whenever i say my tummy hurts from carrying her. after sayanging, will ask me to carry her again. *faint* i think i gotta try to reason using ur tactic.

phy*o, hi! are u a june 2007 mummy? i think i chatted with u b4 in june 07 thread.. but i am not v active there cos i mainly chat in july thread. ur baby is quite big at 28wks right?? cos i thot 28wks usually abt 1kg..

re hyperactive baby - u mean taking more salmon/cod fish/DHA supplements will help reduce risk of hyperactivity? waaa i must try man.. this baby was kicking/moving nonstop from 7am yesterday until abt 1am this morning...

BabyS, ohhh i understand liao...

morning mummies...

since yesterday my tummy dont feel well leh.. like got stomach ache all the time and have the urge to go toilet... but i got nothing to remove liao wor..

phy: yeah ur baby is very big compared to mine. mine was 1.2kg at 28 weeks... urs boy or girl?

Morning Mums

Wow so many posts just in a day....

Today papers got so many sales... the Taka sales is worth going cos I think most products are 20% & Taka members & DBS Black card holders get additional 10%, which is quite good.....Think i will go down these few days to get all my bb stuffs

babyS, ur stomach ache symptoms sound like what i had when i was going into labour... not trying to scare u!! was in and out of toilet for abt 1-2 hrs with that kinda stomach ache b4 i got show and waterbag burst.. so weird cos it felt nothing like BH or the contractions i had before.

piggytoh, *blush* i got big big appetite now.. 1 bak chang is not filling leh... but trying to cut down on intake now eg no snacks in between meals cos wt gain was 1.5kg from wk 23-26! luckily last check on tues only put on 700gm for past 3 wks... phew...

Morning ladies

Speaking of huge appetite, i had 2 plates of duck rice for lunch yesterday
2504429.gif
. But then, the rice is very little for 1 plate mah, so i got another helping

baby s,
Ya, i had the same symptoms when my Owen was induced ... also had the urge to go toilet but nothing came out. I remembered the nurse told me, the bb is coming out soon. So u must monitor your situation leh.

Btw ladies, anyone experiencing your bb having hiccups in your tummy? I experienced dat yesterday!

jules,
actually ur weight gain not a lot also leh i din eat much but my weight gain can be 2kg/mth keke... i tink it not how much we eat bah
but for lunch i am like u after a bowl of mee i dun feel filling at alll keke..

Jules, yah, think Taka sale quite often. Think now get better cos i get tired easily liao so duno when is the next sales coming.

Mashy, it should be 20% (at least for Avent) cos i called n asked the nursery dept yday liao. hehehe.... (dun wan make a wasted trip down ma)