(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pegsfur,

original price is $89.90 after 20% disc was $71.92. their bedding set is 6-in-one.

piggy,yes incld one fitted bedsheet. fitted sheet is meant for cot size 54"..cos my cot length cannot more than 52" due to space constraint. meaning my mattress size will be slightly smaller given smaller cot size...hopefully no prob for me.

donkeymami,
Oh, ok .. tks
If the fitted sheet is 54", den i can buy le since the cot that i wanted to buy is abt that size too.

bear,
I have numb hands too!

Anyone has the wat-to-buy for bb list? I remembered someone posted it long time ago ... tat time was thinking still have along way to go dats why din bother to save it.

hihi good morning gals

donkeymani,
do you have the measurements of the jersey fitted sheets you bought? $10 is a good buy for jersey sheets - will pop by if the size fits.

There's usually 2 sizes of matresses in the market - think i did post here before.

re: bringing your own gowns during hospital stay

I found some sweet cotton/t shirt PJs in Metro under the brand Karmy. 2pc set with either short sleeve/long sleeve open front & long pants at $29. they also have long /short gowns that open in front type.

anyone has any idea where to get those silky wrap open in front type of night gowns?

re: Glen Doman teaching methods
Anyone here read GD" How smart is your baby?" book yet? looking to exchange some views.

Pegsfur/BabyS, yours is due to water retention ah? As in your fingers are swollen? Mine not leh...just ma ma...not swollen.

babymaking,
for the mattress i tink it depend on the cot some i tink even gotta custom make 1...
for the PJs hor try not to buy those with pants 1 better to buy those dress type PJ easier to wear also esp ur wound still hurt the 1st 2 day...

Same as most of u, i can take afternoon naps, but when it comes to night somehow cannot sleep.
Just now went to lie down for a while and feel much better. Later will go again. Not cooking lunch today coz just too tired to do it. Anyway my boy was asking for McDonald's yesterday. Think i'll just fulfil his wish today.

bear,
No leh, mine not water retention. I think same as you, just ma ma like dat. And it always happen in the middle of the nite de.

Re: hospital stay
Is it necessary to get PJs? I'm not a PJ person .... just any open front shirt will do rite? Was wondering if i can wear my hubby's shirt instead .. hahaha ..

Pegsfur,
i also not a PJ person but it better to buy la cos if u wear ur HB 1 hor u still gotta wear a short or wat leh.. i jus bott 2 short sleeves button type PJ at bugis for $7/pcs :p

bbmaking
i oso bought the karmy front buttons sleepwear last time.. actually just get one is enough oredi... for hospital stay, easier to latch onz. anyway when u go home... a normal t-shirt will do.. just remove the t-shirt or pull up the t-shirt to latch onz lor :p... thinking back.. all these r just xtras :p...

glenn doman flashcards.
i got used it for a short short while lar... err useful if:
1) u r a committed mum
2) u dun have a wild notti boy who runs off and laffs the moment u bring out the cards..

but it actually works lar.. he recognise some words he can associated with lor, when the daddy re-introduce the program (mother, father, brother, his name... etc)

eh.. my fingers are numb due to water retention, but u cannot see the swelling one. I used to assume that must see swelling (like leg) to be considered water retention, but i got 3 colleagues (1 PT and 2 OTs) check for me and all say its water retention, they say u dont see to see it swelling up to be water retention. It affects the circulation in ur hands, thats why a bit numb.

What they taught me is to do pumping exercises with ur hands, to faciliate the fluids moving away from ur hands.. Squeeze ur fingers in and let go, do this a few times,esp in the morning, after a whole night of inactivity for ur hands and got chance for the fluids to accumulate.

To better increase the drainage, i lift my hands up in the air when doing the pumping and let gravity help a bit too.

smurfy

yah, my boy will snatch the card from me and wanna do it his way. So i think it's best to use only when bb is still 'gong gong', don't know how to snatch or runa ard yet.

about PJs, i was telling my mum, i already button down to feed, and my boobs is exposed, already no modesty what.. i am not going to let my visitors see me breastfeeding in that way too, so might as well wear t shirt and lift it up right?

i have a hand me down PJ (front opening), guess this is enough for hospital lah hor? at least the first night and first few tries at BFing..

BabyS

Don't worry. When u breastfeed, can pull curtains, then no one will see. Usually first night still in hospital gown unless u deliver early in the morning.

piggy,
oh .. but i really not used to sleeping in dress leh .. i have this feeling the dress will flip up to my buttock when i sleep .. haha ... But your pj at $7 is cheap!

smurfy,
Your comment No(2) is funny ... U mean your boy started laughing the moment u bring out the cards?
So cute leh .. he's trying to be funny is it?

pegsfur

one of the reasons why u should prepare a dress is just in case u kenna c-section. Coz the wound is down there and u can't bend over to wear your shorts...

piggy, i hope so cos i alr bot liao..so die die must fit lor..anyway i hvnt buy cot yet la..but i intend to buy length within 52' due to space constrain.

babymaking, pai seh i dun hv the measurement wif me now.

Pegsfur,
the 1 i bott is quite long leh it more like a longer shirt dress... cos with ur wound down there hor diff to wear bottom leh.. esp u need to change pad etc... but up to u la most impt u comfy...

pegsfur: same same... i dont want my guest to be greeted by my exposed bum when they come visiting and i am sleeping... heee..

if say the patient needs the dress kind cos of C sec but only got pants, hospital can let them wear the hosp gown right?

mashy/piggy,
Oooh .. ok, think i'd better prepare 1 just in case.

smurfy,
Hahaha .... i guess he thinks it's a funny game with you

Pegsfur,
ya lor jus bring 1 la cos the 1 i bott is so long dun tink it will flip n usu we cover the bott with blanket mah so wun expose 1 dun worry
afterall we only stay there for 1-2nite nia so v fast

re: Glen Doman teaching methods
babymaking, where can we get the book? i only bought flashcards fr msia which supposedly follows quite closely to GD flashcards

re: jersey fitted sheet
wat's jersey fitted sheet?

piggytoh,
where u buy ur PJ fr? which part of bugis?

smurfy, where u bought ur maths dot cards from?

Sharon,
i bott it at the first stall opp bugis village towards the temple direction... the PJ is all display there so v easy to spot
n they got lots of diff print quite cute la:p

sharon.

i got the whole set from GDbaby singapore.. i dunno whether the same or not... but maths dots cards the most tedious compared to english and chinese.. u gotta think of equations.. and find the cards... i think last time i spent 15mins preparing all the cards everyday..

anyway i guess if u follow the methods in the book, it will works lor.. most importantly is still consistence frm the parents.. not the source of cards... coz they recognise the patterns and dots and chinese n english words.... not the brand name.

donkeymani,
no worries, will check it out if around any Aussino store, thks for the info abt the sale.

re:pjs
I'm not a PJ person also, so that's my very first set of coordinated PJs - bought it because it's so sweet, t shirt material & cheap compared to Marks & Spencers.

yeah, come to think of it - those gowns may be better - easier to change and more comfy provided don't ride up when sleeping at night.

GD learning method
I just collected the GD books from the library last week - so am going thru it now. I'm reading "How smart is your baby" and wondering if any experienced mummies have done the development profile for your babies BEFORE you satrt on the program, and what are the changes/improvements AFTER you have done the exercises?

There's more to GD gentle revolution than flashing cards - there's a whole series of exercises to do/bond with baby from NB onwards. In fact, i find the developmental chart useful - as usual it's a matter of putting in effort and having to train baby.

Some of the aspects of the testing/exercises is similiar to Gymboree play system - which i'm also currently reading - how to use play methods to enhance the learning process.

Sharon,
the books can be borrowed from the library or bought from the GD local distributor, or from amazon.

smurfy/mashy,
At which age did you start the flashcards and what sort of cards did you use? GD NB, english, maths or BOI?

What i really like abt the GD process is that it's actually quite cheap if you DIY yrslf - cos baby learn from everyday/around the house activities. Whatever cards/equipment required can be self made, which beats other learning methods where u have to buy the whole package from the distributor.

the con side is GD method requires a lot of effort on the part of the parent - as got to read widely and understand why we do certain things at certain time and of course to put in effort to prepare the tools as well as effort and time to put in practice.

bbmaking
u try this site. this mummy uses GD method.. and most of her cards are self made..

http://www.sgparenting.com/

on the right side, u see the featured video and be amazed

i think somewhere she has her journal on her kids progress with the cards.

there's also a forum for exchange in this webbie as well, go read onz, if u r interested.

i bought the cards when bb is 3mths old (i lazy mum).. procastinate until bb is 1 yr plus old when he is able to walk then started on the english, chinese and maths dots cards.. initially he likes it alot.. but then he starts to think it as a game. and oso snatches my card. i gave up after 1.5mths.

i bought the BOI book, err i would say it's soooooooooo difficult to embark on this project lor :p

hi all the aug mommies.. few more mths to go.. do u noe whether we'l b having anymore scans ltr part? n hw much more frequent will checkups get?

smurfy
thks for the link, i got that bookmarked also. yeah the video is amazing. kudos to that parent - it's really a lot of effort.

actualy BOI is interesting - but a lot lot of work if you plan to DIY the cards.

Do you know which GD book is for BOI? I still can't figure the age to start on BOI -reading bits and pieces from online and from books.

so far from what i read, i plan to start on the GD NB - flash black & white pattern cards from NB onwards, will prob DIY some.

luckily we haven't pasted the wall decals we got earlier. lol.

bbmaking
and it's my hb's birthday tomorow kekeke...

tat mum seems to be a working mum somemore?

u can get more infor on BOI from GD's How to Give Your Baby Encyclopedic Knowledge ... it's crazy though.. i dunno how one manages to do that..

yah, u noticed in the books that some parents dun strictly follow GD methods, but their kids learn to read at young age as well..so words all over the house may work as wel.. just that GD's method should be the most efficent bah? again, most important is consistency, which i have failed kekeke :p

thanks piggytoh

babymaking/ smurfy,
seems like need alot of effort to use GD methods...tink i shld start reading up on it

yday nite i kpo, go read june MTBs thread...some of the mummies already popped! so fast...2 more mths its our turn liao...looking forward to it!!

babyS

Don't think you'll wanna wear the hospital gown. Coz it's open at the back, secured by a few ribbons only. So you'll be butt naked actually and it's quite diff to go toilet like that.

smurfy

I don't paste words all over the house. Just read books to my boy. He can still recog quite a fair bit of words and can now 'read' some books. So think it's not very essential.

so back to my question, where to get those gowns that open in front and got sash to wrap around? prfer cotton/t shirt material and of course must be bigger size type.

RE: PJs gown...

The PJ u all mentioned, does is have collar? Cos I saw a lot of PJ front button all have collar 1. Find it v hot with the collar. Somemore Aug will be a hot mth cos #1 also born in Aug.