(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

baby s,

I've used the herbs before ... but i didn't have the herbs smell after bathing with it. In fact, i find it smells nice though

morning gals

anyone knows where to get a diaper stacker? I'm organising nursery now and realise that don't have surface to put diapers & stuff like wipes, cream, anti bacteria lotion etc?..besides dispaer stacker, how you gals organise yr changing needs stuff?

bbmaking, I use those plastic cabinets with 3-4 drawers... one drawer clothes, 1 diapers, 1 hankies/mittens etc... then I place a basket on top and put all the wipes, lotions etc.

Wah so fast u all talking abt Pri school. We intend to shift to clementi as my mum is staying there and she is looking after my kids. So the best school there is of course Nan Hua. But doing voluntery job is not confirmed that my gal will get a place into the school. Sian.....

Mickey

U really v hardworking leh. My gal also turning 3 yrs old in Aug but I'm a lazy mummy. Never teach her much. Cos wkday reach home already so late and wkend alway full of programs.

Do u mind to share where u print those worksheet online? My gal is v impatient ask her to write she refuse. Find it quite hard to teach her.

RE: dry shampoo

If I'm not wrong there is 2 type. 1 is powder form the other 1 is spray form. But I never use for #1 cos I find it v messy. During confinement, I went to wash my hair at the salon every wk.

bbmaking,
i use same method as Mich, but i store diapers separately cos too many( in future) dont think can put in drawer.
I also put separater inside the drawer so that can separate booties, mittens,hankies etc.

Wah ... i dun have space to put all the bb stuff ... we have not bot the extra drawers and cupboards yet. NOw the things are all lying around in my walk-in wardrobe ...

Btw, i can feel sore throat coming up ... i can drink those chrysanthemum/ barley drink from medicine hall rite?

pegsfur

Think chrysanthemum is too liang leh. U can drink those barley that is not so liang 1. Can't remember is chinese or english barley or u can drink yang sheng xu.

Pegsfur,
my room also messy now, i am using toyogo 4 drawers, think is pretty good leh, cos so far i only need 3 drawer for bb's stuff, last drawer i store my own things hehe.

sore throat - i do drink chrysanthemum once a week cos not too 'liang' and can prevent sore throat, infact i am going to drink tonite.. if u worry, dont drink whole bottle( if u get from medicne hall), i norm share with HB.

babymaking
err i got ikea MLAM chest of drawers (3 drawers).. to put bb's clothes.. one is bb diapers... 1 is bb homewear n bathing towels.. 1 is bb outdoor wear.. yes use those ikea small lil separators to put mittens, socks, hand towels..

but for quick changing of diapers right? i got the big sized ikea separator and put the diaper cream, a tissue box, a few nappies and the changing mat there.. so anytime need to change diaper, i just take this box out...

regg
i oso used the toyogo chest of drawers before.. but as bb grows.. i really that the toyogo chest of drawers not wide enough... so i got the ikea's.. the toyogo ones ends up for maids and for me to put some sundries..

regg
then u make do with that first until u move out.. that's what used to do when i rent a flat.. :p.. but then wow.. u win oredi... 1 rm onli and ur bb oredi occupy 3 out of the 4 toyogo drawers :p.. hey when r u moving out?

re:shampoo
oh.. okok! I'll take note of that.. probably I'll just buy 12 packs too. Hehe... thanks gals!

oh yes, i also drink chrysanthemum, but it's those packet/can types :p

mich: haha.. maybe urs factor in liao.. mine not ex one. haha

pegsfur: the only herbal bath i used b4 is when i had hives. mum got a packet of herbs for me to bath with.. wah lau, after the bath i smell like i bathe in a river man..

is the Mlam Ikea drawers the white one $89 one? going to get that one too..

but i never thought of the seperator idea just for the changing stuff... shall consider that...

Reira: i also plan to b-feed for 6 mths, if more than 6mths, bb will grow teeth, i dun wan bb to bite me...haha

Just to share: I rec'd Jurong Point mailer, they having some anniversary promotion, KIddy Place having storewide 20% sale. Until end of May or mid of June, can buy more things since got sale

Regg,
i use toyogo as well but i bott a wardrobe at the same time becos i find it more convenience with the toyogo cabinet but of cos u dun have the room now so for the time bein is ok 1 la..

Smurfy,
my sis bott the chest of drawer (3 drawer) from ikea as well n it is v lousy wor.. but may be diff from urs la...

cloudme
i oso got this "suan-suan" feeling at the v area leh. but i never associate with bb's pressing head down (coz my bb still head up) nor with air-con arrangement.. i tot it is just coz sitting for prolonged period?

regg,
Those toyogo drawers enough ah? So many stuff to put in ... have been psycho-ing hubby to buy a 2 or 3 door wardrobe and put in next room to store bb's stuff.

There are several nice ikea drawers we liked, but the thot that we have to install it ourselves just made us refrain from buying.

michelle,
Those can/packet types no use for heatiness de. In any case, those are very sweet, and i have to stay off such sweet drinks.

Pegsfur,
hahahi alr bott wardrobe lor all the goin out clothing i am hangin in there i find it easier to store those immediate stuff tt we would use to clean baby in the toyogo cabinet leh subsequently when baby no longer need those mitten etc can use it to store toys or VCD haha..

thks for the organising ideas, i already got a 4 drawers cupboard cum changing table, but realise that if i put bb on top of changing table then i got no space to put diapers/cream/wipes etc at the same time.

the problem is i dun have surface to put the separator type boxes on the table..so thinking if a diaper stacker will do the trick.

any other ideas how to make yr own to hang off the cot or chest of drawers?

oh, another thing, by the time i put the bb beddings..already occupy 1 1/2 drawers...any other ideas how to keep bb stuff?

Although bb has his own room, i have limited space in the room after factoring in a day bed with 3 large storage drawers(for MIL+maid), a cot, a chest of 4 drawers, an arm chair for night feedings + a full height open book shelf (for our misc stuff).

wondering if should install some hanging shelves above the daybed...will that be a good idea? or will it just be another way to accumulate dust?

smurfy,
IKEA Malm drawers pretty good qaulity but the other one..can't remember which model but pretty cheap ard 70 plus..don;t buy that one.

the backing is very flimsy and cupboard very light. when bb learn to walk, will be dangerous cos my SIL has one and almost fell over bb.

piggytoh
could be the same lar... coz my last drawer oso lil spoilt.. coz silly maid put the heaviesttttttttt items inside...

IKEa's MALM chest of drawers
2471847.jpg
2471848.jpg

ikea small storage compartments to organise mittens, socks, and for quick change of diapers.. (got bleach color :p)
2471849.jpg

eh... i remember now..

during my last visit to my gynae, i told him about this aching sensation, he says its due to baby's weight pressing on the blood vessels and nerves there. May not be baby's head, but in baby's whole weight in general..

pegsfur
err better not to install the cupboards during ur pregnancy lar... get ur hb and another person to help out while u go meet with ur friends.. quite easy to assemble..

bbmaking
sounds like u bought alot of stuffs for ur bb ;)what's a daybed?

I'm also using the toyogo to store my gal clothing and toys. That day when I was at Taka, saw those drawer similar to the toyogo but than the cupboard is wider leh. Is better to use that to store thing. 1 of this day will go and get one. They have the whole thing in plastic or the stand in wood one. Quite nice also.....

SL,
tt day i went Suntec Carrefour the toyogo cabinet big 1 r havin sales leh so much cheaper than NTUC 1 see liao heartpain maybe u can go ther to look look..

regg/sL
yah i oso bought from toyogo warehouse in TPY.. and when the child gets older.. i started getting the big boxes for him to keep his toys... and some small boxes for small toys

smurfy,
That's why we decided not to buy from ikea, cos need to assemble. I was planning to get those ready-made de, maybe from courts or v-hive.

piggy,
My close friend had that cabinet as well, but hor, she said it's flimsy leh. And the top of the cabinet sagged after sometime if u put things on top.

Pegsfur,
ya lor tt y my sis ask me not to buy .. in fact i find ikea furniture ex n not durable at all .. buti do love their utensil.. keke..

BabyS,

Thats what my gynae told me as well, bec im also having that achy feeling down there and Gynae says its the weight of baby pressing.

And also the numb/painful feeling that some of us get right below the breast area is bec everything else is pushed up to accomodate baby, thats y. But glad to know these are normal or related to preg n not something else.

cloudme
yah it is 88 cents a piece for my hankies. Where did you get 12 pieces for $4.50 de? But I think 88 cents is ok lah. If change brand new once a month only $20.

michelle
I went to TMC childbirth education class by Mrs Wong. She said can just wash your hair normally and use hair dryer to dry. Last time people said cannot wash is because they simply dont have the luxury to use hair dryer! Made the whole class laughed when we hear that.

Next week must ask Mrs Wong if really need to use those confinement herbs to bath or not. Somehow I think using normal showering gel and normal shampoo is ok since we'll be using warm water anyway. Just make sure to dry properly.

papaya fish soup
Start drinking it every week since 3rd trim will really help to increase milk? Then what about after giving birth? Once a week also or more often? Anyone have a good receipe for it? =) Maybe I can ask my MIL to teach me where to find those ingredients and then i "try" to cook it everyweek.

baby room
Currently I have this ikea's 3 chest of drawer http://www.ikea.com.sg/images/catalog/250/75305709_250.jpg inside baby's room, can put things inside but the other day i found a small spider in the drawer... maybe because it is untreated wood. So, I am also going to use toyogo 4 drawers to put baby stuffs instead (but not toyogo brand, bought from neighbourhood, plastic).

Now all baby items are inside my room. I plan to wash those 0 - 3 months clothing this week and then put them in vacuum-sealed storage bag. Take out only when we are back from hospital. I am a bit paranoid thinking the clothes might collect dust if I wash and put inside the drawer weeks before baby is born.

babymall bodysuit
Talking about baby clothes, any of you girls who purchased those 5-pack bodysuit find the cutting quite small compare to those "baby sayings" de? I realised those 5 pack bodysuit 3-6 months is slightly smaller than those "baby sayings" 0 - 3 months. *puzzled*