(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

BabyS,

According to my gynae it is not a compulsory test for Gestational Diabetes, only when your weight and your baby weight increase too much and also based on your family history they will request you to go for the test.

GDM is common from wk 28 onwards.

babymaking, wah having a sip of plain water is still better then nothing from nidnight till next morning 8.30am.

mashy
it's very ex for me as well.. just that that both me and hb r working whereas ur hb is the onli one providing the ricebowls.. and we had scouted the ccs in our areas.. and saw the differences the quality of teachers make.. hey ur boy is in marymount kindy? i like that place very much oso.. got ample running space kekeke

Mashy
I did mine at gleneagles. Anyway I going for my 27 wk chkup later. Will chk again with gynae.

Re: tummy size
I am still worried abt my tummy size. Almost 3rd trimester but tummy still looks small. Anyone with the same problem?

mashy
hehehe... oic... mi dunno mah... i m worried loo... else another way is to change my address to my mum's place n put my kids in poi ching..

my new place is v far from nan hua woh... that y must buy a house in clementi.. else the distance can kill me evday.

bbmaking
i also think it is a kind of misconception.. but pple believe that in the event there is not place to go in, n if u appeal or what, going to a more atas pte school helps.. to me, PCF/ntuc is actually okay.. but if hb wanna pay, then let him loo... i will monitor and see what my ger really likes... now i want to send her for some enrichment classes liao.. so that she can interact with more people and when time comes for her to go school, she wun be scared

but since mashy says that my kids can auto get into nan hua, then i m not so scared... i dun think i have the time/energy to volunteer... dun wish to go into a school by donating $$$ either..

i heard that for schools like RGPS, Nanyang, for volunteering, the school is also elective, not any tom, dick or harry can jsut do volunteering!
terrible.. tsk tsk..

when a fren mentioned that she signed up for her ger for some preschool as early when her ger is 2 mths, i thought she was kiasu. now i know the reason why... coz those atas school have super long queue...

regg

Okie, I will think hard & tell u soon ok?

babys

Wow.. So fast gonna be 3rd tri for me liao. 4 more weeks! But hor, I am feeling the "strain" liao. Need to pee so often, feel tired after standing/walking too much etc etc. Hiaz, cannot wait for this to be over.

RE: primary school...

yap...old schoolmates from the schools can have their kiddos enrolled under phase 2A...
provided that the parents did get their leaving cert from there...

my kids luckily can enrol to "red swatiska pri" cos hubby from there and we stay nearby...

haiz too bad my pri school closed down...haha

pinkMaMa09,

Diff reading is because it is depands on you are using mg/dL or mmol/L.

Less than 140 mg = Normal glucose tolerance (7.8 mmol/L)
From 140 to 200 mg = Impaired glucose tolerance (7.8 to 11.1 mmol/L)
Over 200 mg = Diabetes (11.1 mmol/L)

cloud
ur sil... she really wanna wait til somethine happen to her kids then she wake up ar?

hankie is personal hygiene de ley...
think u go n buy a fabric marker and mark all the stuff that belong to ur kids... then say they got sensitive skin... so dun wan them affect others or get affected... that is what one of my fren did with her undies when her mum cannot distinguish which undie belongs to her or her sisters.

oh....if the weight gain from last time is too much lah..

i'm praying i dont get GDB, cos i overweight b4 preggie, and got family history.. so far weight ok, no other signs of GDM (thirst, etc) also...

and the part where u have to watch ur diet is terrible lah.. cannot remember what can eat/ cannot eat.

cloud
lol... red swastika... tat is a good school too... hehehe.. that time buy the house near there, then the agent was saying it is good coz got red swastika there.. but sold liao.. too bad.. hehehe

re:3rd tri
this pregnancy is fast... so many of us coming to 3rd tri liao... WOOHOO

TASLyn
yes it's horrible.. the queuing at those branded pre-schools.. last yr's papers reported queues when mothers in maternity for schools like st james church kindy.. nanyang kindys...

smurfy:
faintz... i cannot imagine myself with a big tummy n with a baby in tow queueing looo...

that is why people pull string loo.. envy those who have direct connections... save alot of footwork!
my fren who dad's is the chairman of nanyang school alumni say she dun have to worry of her kids not getting a place in nanyang..

it is so difficult in SG... where all parents are so kiasu.. aiyo! even shicida de queue is 6mths!

Baby s,
Haha ... just cut out all sweet stuff, the main culprits being deserts, soft drinks, cakes and DURIANS!!! Hiaz ... i've already more or less ren4 ming4 liao, and have come to terms with it (sort of lah

cloudme,
Yr hubby from red swastika? I was from his neighbour school, Bedok north pri, but now no more le. We used to dislike pupils from RS, cos they look abit yaya de ... hahaha ... i guess we were just jealous lah

tas,
well...nothing to said ...
me just go buy some cheapo hankies and label the names loh..

sil never bother to get handkies for her kids one loh...
those handkies so far she using are all bought by my mil when she goes market...

taslyn
but nanhua is quite a good sch oredi right? so what's ur worry? is there any "shortlisted" pri schools that u have in mind? u go pull some strings oso lor.. :p.. i got no strings to pull... no money to contribute..no clan association...no alma mater frm well known school (except Hong wen) no energy to volunteer.. so i guess my poor boy just gotta go to a neibgourhood sch. hey anyone heard about "HONG Wen?"

pegsfur,
haha...
my hb is the product of good character but stick in the mud/mind when come to certain things...

eg, handkies complain...
he think i am just making a mountain out of a mole...
told him it's hygeine but he said been to army ppl won't bother with such things...

smurfy
yesh i have heard of hongwen.. hehe.. seems to be hearing quite abit of it.. prolly it appears on Tv alot?

i dunno if nan hua is still considered a good school.. how to check? lol...

dun have any pri schools in mind.. that is y nan hua is my contigency plan lor but it is so far from sembawang. n i really dun like the schools ard here... i look at my neighbour's kids and the way the kids behave after school.. aiyo! (my PIL place is just next to a so called better primary school here liao)

smurfy, i think Hong Wen is ok right...

Pegsfur: those sweet stuff no problem.. i dont usually like.. its the carbo that might have problem.. i love my noodles, how to go without them!!! soup noodles everyday?? Sounds like my dieting days! heee..

I had durian 2 weeks ago (after i gained 1 kg dare not eat liao) then on sat, i had 3/4 hot fudge sundae from macs, cos it was way too hot! soft drinks i can sacrifice... haiya, shall just pray that my pancreas can deal with the increase for insulin demand...

i was telling my dh, that we both methodist members, maybe can get into ACS and MGS.. but dh also remind me, many pple become members of methodist chruch or transfer membership jus cos of the schools.. when they get in, they transfer membership back out.. and there are alot of methodist memebrs..

Volunteer work... my MIL quite free, can i send her to do volutneer work on my behalf? hee.. or can i promise the school, if they let my kid in, i help them with getting CIP chances at my workplace? ahhaha

cloudme,
Hahha .. good character, yes! RS is a good school ... during our time, we saw how the pupils bow and greet the teachers when they see one. Not sure if that's the practice now oso?

smurfy,
Yeah ... my cousin used to study at Hong Wen too

Tas,
i guess school is 1 thing, the person(kid) him/herslf also important.
we r intent to put our kid to Ahmad Ihrahim at Yishun, my Hb was from there and I am very proud of him wor! altho is a neighbourhood shool

taslyn/babys.
what u all meant by Hong wen is okie? just a normal neigbourhood school or ??? something betteR? i really heard nothing abt this sch.. except hb is frm there.. and they r frm the same dialect grp?

baybs..
err acs n mgs.. think u need to be alma mater to have a better chance... yah.. methodist members... sooo many out there.... I DUN THINK GRANDPARENTS can do voluntary work leh :p and these days hor.. voluntary work is no longer like road wardens for the sch.. a lot of time will be taken up and as mentioned by tasyln.. it's selective whether the school wanna u to be part of their VP somemore.

baby s,

Although the nurse told me to keep off yellow noodles, i ate & tested my blood and it's ok leh. No need to eat soup noodles every time lah, dry one oso can, but just skip the sweet sauce and chilli. U r still ok, still can eat noodles, for me, my fav is white rice. U know when i go to food court, i literally very gian peng when i saw the economy rice stall! But can only droolz lor.

BabyS
i am eating ice cream every other day.. but still not putting much weight.. tummy still small also... tats y i m worried..

methodist member can affiliations ar? but like u said alot of transfering membership here n there.. thus they will be stricter? or u start to change ur membership to theirs first.. hehehe

not sure on volunteer work, think must be done by parents ley

pegsfur,
hmm not sure if that's the practise now
cos his side niece and nephews are in "Yu Neng pri"...*pretty good school now*
think hb's side only hb and his youngest sis went to RS...
but his younger sis change school halfway...

smurfy:
refer to this webbie: http://www.elite.com.sg/
for hong wen, it is quite popular these days too...
balloting has to be carried out for phase 2C...

hehehe

pegs:
i think skip carbos at night better lar... coz dun get digested mah... eat rice during daytime loooo

cloudme,

Yu Neng!!! My hubby's pri school ... but he transferred to another school when he was in pri 6, cos he failed his psle ... hahaha .. and Yu Neng dun have Pri 7 or Pri 8 de, so he transferred to Bedok south pri. Dat time Yu Neng was still considered a chinese school

BabyS,

yes, must cut on during, i been thinking it is becuase of the during i had eaten made my sugar level going so high.

i had during on Tue, Wed & Thu and then Fri go for the OGTT.

tas,

Very hard leh ... get hungry very easily de. I eat at 8+, and by 12mn if i dun sleep yet, i'll get hungry again.

pegsfur, what do u snack on at 8 and 12 at night?

re volunteer work for pri school... now its very sophisticated one. One of my friends is teaching social studies, another one is doing a video editing project and I heard of others who give dietary advice or talks or teach IT... wah... now like must have special skill to be parent volunteer not just anyone can do.

mashy, Marymount Convent very easy to get in these days... no need ballot already.

mich,

Actually i dun snack. My only snack time is my tea-break at 4+. Den wait till 8+ for my hubby to ta-bao dinner, which is normally noodles. Den watch tv & go to sleep le.

hehe, yeah nowadays..not every tom, dick, harry can volunteer, schools want parents with specialised skill sets.

hiaks, sg really is so competitive. sometimes really wonder, how are our kids going to cope? esp for us ordinary singaporeans - no special contacts, no alumini, not rich type.

tas,
you are from NH? Me too leh... ;) And am looking to shift to west in future becoz my current plc also damn far from NH.

babymaking
that's when the parents play an important role in nurturing the kids' character... much as every parent's wish to have a clever child... these few weeks of very hands-on in caregiving for my toddler (i used to be very laid back and depends on my high class maid)... i realised that all that i wanna now is my boy with good values and characters...just a day with him not kicking up a fuss or behaving like a pampered spoilt brat makes my day...

wa...so fast talk abt pri sch.
My husb and I chaim liao...our Pri schools have closed down. And now we staying at Bukit batok , no good schools ard.
I think Punggol or Sengkeng area got a gd pri sch, rgt? Hopefully, next time we move to Punggol in 2012, still got time to do some volunteer work in that sch.

yen,

I am from punggol leh...i want to shift out becoz dun think there got really very good schools. Otherwise, I really like punggol alot.

Yen,

The only good or better schools i have heard of is Mee Toh at Punggol and Nan Chiau at Sengkang. I haven't thot that far yet ... probably will start with better nursery/pre-school 1st

pegsfur: my weakness is yellow noodles and rice.. though i dont always finish my rice, i still need my white rice. I dont like brown rice..

smurfy: i dunno leh, as in i thought it was ok.. but i asked my mum 9(teacher) she say dunno if good or not but its belongs to hokkien huay kwang, like ai tonh and tao nan...

Mich: must have special skill ah.... does juggling count as special skill? hahaahhaahaha....

my church friend volunteers at his daughter's school as lawyer but he is sure school doesnt wanna encourage his services, cos he specializes in divorce matters. ahhahaha...

shirley: i had my durians 2 weeks ago, and ice cream on sat... seeing dr on wed, shall not indulge in anysweet stuff liao. hee...

Taslyn: u ok lah, u werent overweight b4 preggie.... Yeah i transferred membership b4 marriage. dh member way b4 me.. and if we let baby be baptised as infant, will be considered as methodist member too.. but so many methodist members liao,think got nothing special. hahaah...

i dont quite like the schools around my area...

babys/tasyln
yeah! hong wen is a SAP sch.. so shld be not that badddddddddddddddddddd right? okie.. good.. my problem oso settled.. hb is frm that sch last time.. top student that year somemore... then that school actally belongs to heng hwa dialect grp or clan...hb frm that dialect grp....they r strong in chinese which is oso wat we wanna... ohhh my problem solved.. but i must shift nearer to city area next time kekee