(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

update on Tampines 1:
reached there ard 2+.. met my mum n we went to 3 floor where the jap gourmet was... gotta queue but heng it was quite fast.. waited ard 5 min..

they hv the jap pizza thingy, hokkaido ramen, udon, ice cream, sashimi (even hv uni still in the shell!), omu rice

evthing have to queue.. prices not v cheap.. i paid $10.80 for Kimchi buta udon soup and 11.80 for tempura udon (cold)...
then took macha parfait (5.80) and my mum took sesame parfait (5.80) total damage was slgihtly less than $40... no bad lar...
the udon was al dente, v nice n springy... my mum loved her udon.. we slurped all the soup.. hehehe

but the drink are damn ex! 2.50 for a can of coke.. 6.50 for Tiger beer.. DUH....

other shops ard... alot of pple in the mall... some bb stalls but stuff is ex.. (maybe coz of taobao cheap pricing.. i find the stuff ex!)
basement has a few cakery n bakery...

din not walk ard much coz my ger is still cranky... then she diarrhea when i was having my ice cream in jap gourmet

brought her see dr.. then he says she tio virus... thus the LS...

Michelle

My collegue brought a dress at 1 of the maternity shop at Vivo. Quite nice.... Maybe u can go n take a look.

Tas

Thks for the update. Will be going this sun. Think sure a lot of ppl 1.....

Oh no.... Hope yr gal get well soon.....

Michelle

For dresses, you can try Suntec (same flr as Toyrys). There are 2 shops there selling maternity. Perfect Mum & Spring. But spring more ex.

SL:
yesh my mum said she tried with my bro to go to the Jap gourmet on 2 separate occasions but the queue was always very long so they gave up n went to other places to eat...

other times, my mum there after work, reaching ard 5.30-6pm also super long queue... hehehe

she say the crowd on weekends are terrible and she will avoid the place... hahaha

tulips
i suspected it to be stomach flu but dr mentioned it is not...
i m terrified of stomach flu virus coz i am very prone to them.. somehow i feel that my resistance towards virus has increase with each pregnancy... hehe...

i also hope she gets well coz her poo poo leaks all over when her diarrhea comes.. sigh

weishy
So good! Your gynae does 3D/4D scan everytime!? Mine is only black and white. Baby looks like skeleton! Yay so fast 1 more week to go till my next gynae visit! 5 weeks apart from my last visit =(

Ya lor, I was quite shock when I got all my loots and was like "wow! I have so many milk bottles o_O".

But then for medela ones, I can use them as EBM storage also. Since it only cost me S$7.30 each, its like use 14 times to store EBM already equals to how much I will spend for 14 medela BM storage bag! Somehow I think using these is more "hua" than using storage bag! Provided I don't have a lots of extra milk.

Those Luvable friends one, I just bought for fun de. Kepoh went to spree section and saw this thread http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2293590.html?1237328533 buying only their bottles from babymallonline. The spree organizer said can use other brands treats, so I hand itchy and ordered it along with my other babymall stuffs.

Do I need to dry the bottle before next feed? Cannot just sterilized and use? Somehow I think dry in the air is more dirty leh... like got dust & bacteria flying around.

BPA Free
How do I tell if a bottle is BPA Free or not? Or just base on what the package says? Till now somehow I couldn't find Pigeon BPA Free bottles. John Little, NTUC dont have.

tas, maybe she also teething & together with the virus so become watery stool?

Got to stop her milk leh, best to give soya milk or those milk powder meant for lactose intolerant 1.

RAeira:hw come 5 weeks apart le tot 4 weeks????
ya i guess he has the machine so he uses it looooo :p

BABy bottles"are they of diff brands???if ye sstill oki...if not erm ...too much liao le.....u intend not to was bottles till night time mah?????then u hv to use so much bottles :p

just joking har :p

FOr EBM storage u can use alot of other bottles or those bags....b4 u chk out formn the hospital ask form the nurses those glass bottles ( sample sizes for diff brands of FM ,empty ones,u can wash at home an dbuy the caps from kiddy palace,think more cost effective le....if not......u not working now and bb really can use up alot of our money

Drying of bottles;for my 1st born i did wait till they dry looooo...think 2nd one i lax liao :p

BFA free bottles"i saw those PIGeon ones at kiddy palace ( not cheap though....think abut $15 each ??? )

Reira: where u get medela BPA-free bottles? $7.30 is cheap leh. I also wan to buy.
So far, i got myself 2 small Pigeon BPA-free bottles, and the freestyle set comes with 4 bottles, but without the teats, juz the bottles and bottle caps nia..

Btw, is there a need to buy big bottles now? or wait until bb is 3-4 mths, then buy huh?? i am clueless..

<font size="+1">UPDATED LIST</font>
Mummies interested in Cheeky Bon Bon NURSING PILLOW
Collection at Toa Payoh.
(Hope my friend is able to make it this mth, as this mth is her son's 1st birthday)

1) Mickey
2) Kikilala
3) babymaking (blue colour)
4) Tulips
5) BBnGG
6) joy_cie (blue colour if possible)
7) mystifiedjan
8) ryufer
9)
10)
11)
12)

Michelle
Local website which you can rent maternity dresses.
http://www.maternityexchange.sg/
Alternatively is to wear a black dress and go with accessories?

Dolliepollie
Saw WTS thread, some selling Haenim playyard at $120. There is one shop at Chinatown, selling slightly cheaper than Kiddy Palace. Maybe you can share with some interested mummies, as some need 6 panels instead of 8 panels, one box consists of 4 panels.

Reira
Wow! You bought so many feeding bottles!

Weishy
Pregnant can do foot reflex?

Daph
Oh ya, I love to go City Plaza to shop too!

Morning ladies
another sat enjoy ...think not much of u would be online :p

MIckey:
pregnant ladies can do alot of stuffs le
my first born i do reflex and pre natal almost weekly/twice weekly,its helps for my tiredness and water retention,therefore till 38 weeks my feet were never swollen b4......me nto a water drinkker either so....so far so good.

good for bb;s health too cos by 2 weks she can turn from RHS to LHS while facing down sleeping,her neck was super strong

this time round....mommy's lazy to go out totally so.....no yoga no massage for me

AS long as u inform them u;re pregnant they can avoid those important pressure pts on uterus

ANd for post delivery...i do my foot relfex int he hospital already
its helps me to walk the very day itself(me c0section) and no engorement too till 30 days
then i do my malay post natal wrapping

Morning all

going to see my bb later...

RE: BPA free bottles,
i also bot pigeon one but is standard -neck ones...
4 small(160ml) and 4 large(240ml) during the 20% sale...
and 2 pkt(3pc/pkt) of their milk storge bottles which is also BPA free...

i also have the medela bottles 4 small ones(150ml) + 4 storage bottles (come with swing) which i used for espressing my milk during work for #1...

Reira,
the pigeon starter kit for new borns(those bottles are definately not BPA free)...

yen
it actually depends but it is better to get bigger bottles on standby...

for my ger, at 2.5mths she was guzzling 120ml.. by 3 mths she was taking 150ml, coz sometimes due to growth spurts, they drink alot... cry when not enough... there are instances where 3mth old bb can drink 180ml during those growth spurts...

morning!

anyone working today? or am i the only sad one?

Pigeon BPA bottles - so far i've only seen them at Taka and BHG. A friend told me robinsons carries also, but v v limited stock.

I prefer to get the bigger bottles cos can last longer. the smaller bottles only lasted me till bb was abt 3-4 mths.. when bb smaller, just use the medela bottles, and glass bottles from hospital.

Reira, u really have more than enough bottles! no need to buy anymore

weishy, foot reflex so powerful? i a bit hesitant to try this cos scared they accidentally press on some acupoints relating to the uterus or something :p of cos its also got to do w my lousy pain threshold...

bb position - anyone's bb still not head down? my bb has permanently been in transverse lie (ie lying horizontally) so far.. kinda worried have to go for c-section if bb still doesnt turn.

jules
i think cloud and regg working today bah

i dunno if my bb turned coz hv not seen gynae.. but i think bb is starting to turn downwards liao..coz v area starting to feel sng sng and tight.. bb punches are getting lower and kick getting higher

but it is normal if baby is still lying in transverse position, can take til wk 30 for them to turn..

Jules:me lagi low threshold of pain tats why choose c-sec kakkakaka ...bt oki la after the bit of pain.......feet was relieved and can walk faster too :p

Michelle:
There are 2 maternity wear shops in Paragon - Swell and 9mois which are having closing down sales, till end of May. Limited sizes but worth taking a look.

A cheap alternative is This Fashion - bought 2 maxi-dresses from there recently and they cost less than $30 each after member's discount - but u need to check out their larger shops.

morning ladies!

I went suntec, marina sq &amp; vivo already. The dresses look alright but the prices are a little on the high side leh... se bu de.. :p tat's y checking out some online shops..

like you ladies suggested, i'll prob check out city plaza &amp; paragon ;P

btw, i heard there's a motherhood fair @ expo from 4th - 6th June. Can go check it out ;P

taslyn, ya i know i being a bit paranoid and kancheong.. cos #1 turned head down when she was 28 wks ma. everyday i will feel my tummy to see where bb's head is now, but still same position so a bit worried.

re horrible nanny - i saw the thread too.. so terrible! tats why if my ILs cant help me, i rather send to infant care and not use maid/nanny cos really no way to supervise them..

weishy, c-section recovery more painful leh!! i had normal delivery, but of cos got epidural.. and post delivery, the recovery of episiotomy also v fast leh..

Jules:my recovery of the wound is about 2 weeks
after the first day no pain loooooo.....except for occasionally pain due to uterus going back to shape.....other than tat no inflammation etc ..

jules
hehehe... ev bb is diff mah... how many weeks is #2 le? talk more to bb n tell him to turn looo...
i dunno how to feel for bb head, so i think i better leave him alone.. i also worry abt breech.. coz i dun wan to csec.. scared of the pain.. hahaha

re: nanny
yeah i was quite shocked to see that post.. i think she tie the bb prolly he can crawl le.. n perhaps since she has 5 other kids in her charge, she pretends as though there is only 1 at a time? disgusting.. imagine hor each one she charge $900(since it is a mon-fri staying overnight case)
900 X 6 = 5400.. wah good $$ ley!

weishy, oic.. so gd ah after 1st day no pain.. just dun like the idea of being cut up leh
now spending so much on clarins oil to prevent stretch marks.. then scali need c-section, no SM also end up got scar!!

taslyn, #2 is wk 28 liao.. thats why a bit worried. sometimes try to push push his head a little bit hahaha... but gently of cos.

nanny - wa liao ridiculous lor.. how can tie bb up??? she think its a pet ah?? siao one.. but actually i was wondering how come she can hide the fact that she has 5 other kids in her house when the mum drops off the child? surely they make some noise right??

jules
oh 28wks le.. no wonder u kan jiong lar.. hehe.. read some post which says that those experience pre-natal massage ladies or gynae does help to "push" bb head downwards.. but dunno safe anot lar.. give bb more time lar.. some bb dun turn even after 32 wks de!

yeah i was also wondering how the nanny can keep the fact that she looks after 5-6 kid?
maybe the parents are always in a rush to drop kid off to nanny or that nanny meets them below the block and pass the kid to them...
the post says that the bb mouth is being taped woh... thus the parents dun hear any noise?
imagine tied and taped, then place on a mattress or sth...

the victim is 9 mths old only ley... just 1 mth older than my ger.. poor thing...

tas, i also heard of massage ladies who claim to be able to push bb head downwards, but better not. cos not medically trained - they must know how to turn bb so that they wont overstretch bb's head, and got risk of the waterbag bursting etc also..

sigh.. i hear this kinda maid/nanny abuse cases always feel v sad.. dunno whether the kid will grow up to have psychological issues or not??

hi jules,

does clarins oil really work? my stretch marks from my no. 1 also quite bad...this one...still not so bad...mabbe "old tires" liao....my gynae recommended Buds to me tho for stretch marks

hi Tas,
How's ur gal now? My gal also kanna diarrhoea earlier in the week...don't know why..no other symptoms...but now ok already...din even bring her to see the doc , just self-medicated...

hi ino. jules, tas

RE : oil
just to share, i have clarins cream but i dont like the smell, in fact i have been using ginvera olive oil since i preg and result seems gd, so far ok, problem is my inner tight, i only apply lotion now i have s m there... so now i apply the ginvera oil on my tight too.

JUlkes:the scar is so small le......about 7 to 8cm only and wear bikini also cannot see :p
so oki
after i c-sec i;m glad cos no need to experience contractions etc kekekekkeke me really sacre of pain :p

those trained one with cert does my reflexology,can turn bb if breeched but tat time i went too late liao already 32 weeks ........so if u wan hv to do it earlier.if u need the contact i can PM u...she des house visits but if go tot her house its next to novena church

morning regg.. at work ar?

jules:
yeah i m weary of the massage too.. rather ask n seek dr advice?
waterbag bursting: hehe i dun mind that.. can shorten labour.. but after 37wk when bb is full term lar..

i dun think bb will remember coz they say below 1yo, bb cannot remember de.but i really wonder if the kid was tied n bounded.. how come no signs at all... the nanny also quite shen qi...

ino...
think her diarrhea is better liao bah.. still monitoring though... she had 2 episodes of diarrhea ydae and 1 this morning... already diluted her milk so have to see how.. she seems to be getting better though..
what u do u use when u self medicate for diarrhea? i brought her to dr coz she was having fever, diarrhea, vomitting and cough... brought her to dr coz i was worried it may be stomach flu

Tas,
Yalor.. working.

Weishy,
Ya, i apply alot leh, now only second bottle only... cheap n gd. only my tight i have sm lor..

regg:
my thighs also alot of SM... even b4 preg already got plenty of celullite and SM on butt n thighs liao... now my concern is tummy dun get too many with #2...

ooo...for my gal's diarrhoea...i completely stop her milk intake for 3 days...hope ur gal gets well soon.
it muz be tough for our lil ones...

hi jules,
tink u betta consult your gynae if u are concerned abt the position of ur baby. i rem my first one was in a head down position in an early stage. this one hor...still horizontal and kicking away like nobody's biz...

regg
yeah.. got apply... but those on thighs are there so so long liao.. does not really matter.. in fact, seems to have lighten much after preggy with #2... weird loooo...

ino;
oic... mine cannot dun give milk ley.. coz still too small and coz she also teething at the same time, she completely reject solids.. even her fave ice cream she oso no mood to eat... tough for the lil ones, tougher for mummies!

morning ladies

Jules, bb usually turn head down from week 30 to 38, of course, some will turn early like week 28 or 29. I remember Kai turn head down about week 34 and could feel his head engage at week 35 to 36 week. He was a preterm bb born at end of week 36 close to week 37. Just read that they only called bb full term at week 38 to week 40 and after that is postterm bb.

Tas, there is the sachet of probiotic for infant and child for diarrhoea, just need to put it into plain porridge or solid to feed to bb. Usually for diarrhoea, give lots of plain porridge water instead of milk and after a couple of time should go off but give plain porridge for a couple of day before intro to solid again. No ice-cream for diarrhoea but you can get the pediatric ice pop from pharmacy to freeze them up and give to her if she is feeling uncomfortable when teething.

ino, i dunno if clarins oil is useful leh.. i did develop SM at ard wk 32 with #1 despite using clarins oil.. but this time still use cos maybe dun use will be worse?? hehe... anyway, my SM from #1 faded away after a yr plus.. hope same case this time lor.

weishy, hehe.. i dun wwear bikini one so no diff.. but just so sad to have scar! contractions no joke.. pain until i wanted to bite my hb's hand off.. but once epi in, BLISS.... dunno how some mummies can make it without epi.. pei fu pei fu..

tas, water bag bursting really shortens labour.. for #1, i had show/contractions at 4am, then 5am water bag burst. i still slowly tu here tu there.. went to bathe and wash hair, then slowly walk to main road (10min away) to take cab (cos contractions still manageable.. by the time i reached hosp, was dying of pain, cldnt even walk liao. then found out already abt 7cm dilated! hahaha... this time wont be so key kiang.. will go earlier so that i can have epidural inserted b4 the major contractions hit.

regg, my SIl also feedback clarins cream doesnt smell nice. but clarins oil smells v nice
anyway, its so ex..!!

morning pris
thats reassuring that kai turned only at wk 34! that means my bb still got chance to turn. now he's always either in oblique or transverse lie.. only once did he go properly head down. naughty boy! but still small i guess.. cos his movements are everywhere!

tas, actually i give milk even when my girl has diarrhea.. just water it down a bit. some mummies change to soy formula, but i too bochup already. basically no need to self medicate for diarrhea, only thing is to maintain hydration (via whatever means). rice water has been scientifically proven to help oddly... so might wanna try that too!

Jules, I was 7cm dilated when I reach hospital too, I still could walk to the delivery suite but the staff insisted to wheel me in using wheel chair. On the way, I heard some screaming and shouting before I enter my delivery suite. The contraction was bearable for me throughout and told the midwives I wanted epidural coz all the screaming and shouting I heard along the way. I was still able to sleep till my gynae came and check on me and told her I wanted epidural and it was like another hour before the dr came to give epidural then I sleep through till gynae came back to wake me up to push as I have fully dilated, it was really fast with 3 pushes for #1. Hope #2 will be as smooth and easy as well.

pris, ur pain threshold v v gd! cos at 7cm, i really cant talk anymore, not to mention walk. wanted to scream but too paiseh to so i bit into a towel with each contraction instead. was advised to just hang in there cos likely to deliver very soon cos i dilated v fast, but insisted on epidural cos i cldnt imagine facing another 5 min of the same pain, not to mention an hr! grrr...

the pushing bit was still ok though..