(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

morning gals

Janice,
Cod Liver oil is made from the liver of the cod fish which may contains high levels of Vit A which is unsafe for pregnant women.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cod_liver_oil
"It should be noted that cod liver oil contains unsafe amounts of vitamin A for pregnant women"

pinkmama,
me also not showing much - find that tummy & hips grow sideways instead..how i envy those with rounded/pointed tummies - look so pregnant and not FAT.

Have you gotten yr maid yet?

reira
fruits are also high in sugars which can cause GD, so must watch intake also. I got to do this OGTT in 4 weeks time, now also researching what to eat to prevent GD, esp since got family history of diabetes and on top of that, I have severe PCOS.

looks like you had a fruitful weekend.

personal update:
went for FA scan on Friday, little biscuit wasn't cooperative, had to do the scan three times before all organs can be screened. everything normal and biscuit measurments are on upper side of normal.

BTW gals,
just wondering, do you gynae measure bb's weight at every visit? and how do they determine when to bring forward EDD due to bb's growth?

babymaking

My gynae told me to ignore the EDD dates on the scans. Said the earliest EDD given is the most accurate. Coz now bb is in awkward position, so difficult to get accurate readings on EDD.

babymaking,
my gynae will fix the date at 1st scan(1st visit) and after that...
she will just tell us to expect either -/+ about a few wks from there...

morning mashy,cloudme & babymaking!

mashy,
congrats on the GD test result, and how's your boy now?

pegsfur,
my tummy same size as you leh...big hor..so tiring :p

mashy
ehh u went to TLC clinic on sat? u called ivy? think i bumped into u.. seems familar frm the blog pics u posted up a few mths back.. but me not too sure hahaha... me is with a red shirt boy who ran here and there in the clinic.

RE: vinegar pig trotters...

finally got some to settle my cravings...kekeke

mil told me to get some from SIL's pot of pig trotter vinegar...
mil asked a neighbour to cook for sil for confinement and the pot is huge...

had the vinegar to go with plain rice...so yummy...
only thing mil told me is to drink lot's of water cos scare bb too heaty...

morning all!

just finished eating a home madeteriyaki chicken sandwich on wholemeal bread for breakie.. why do yummy things always seem to be finished so fast? hahaha..

reira: zach is big... i seeing my dr this wed, hope he can measure weight of my girl..

Morning ladies

Celine,
Ya lor ... when i wore that dress to my company dinner, those dat din know i'm preggy till now even asked me if i'm carrying twins ... aiyoh ...

Oh, forgot to share something with u ladies..

My mum made barley, gingko and beancurd dessert for me to eat on Friday night. one cup one.. next day my leg got water retention and swelling liao.

THen my mum told me, when she went to ask the shop about what type of barley to buy, the uncle advised, that pple who have swelling extremities, cannot take barley.. i had a bit ony, but after drinking got worse..

eh, my fingers also got retention liao! cannot wear wedding band liao and my slim fingers (the only part of me that was slim on my fat body) is also fat liao!!!

mashy
u posted link of ur blog on the toddler bed from spotlight a few mths back right? that's when i think i saw ur pics.. but after that did not visit the site again.. so can only "agar-agar'.. yah lar.. the boy who ran and fell a few times.. i think he aspires to be a marathon runner -_-'

went for mt checkup on Sat, BB is 732g at 24w1d.
My stomach is huge! 33in now for my 150cm frame. Waist already increased by 8in since pre-preggie. Dr said its mostly fluid inside, in fact the fluid is on the high limit. She said that this might be caused by GD and too much fluid means that the pressure will be too great inside, so no good for bb.

cloudme
haha my hubby paid the medela stuffs via paypal. kenna charged 1.56 rate this morning donno why lol but ok lah only $20 more. :D

babymaking
i get confused regarding fruits and GD. From what i know, soluble fibre helps to regulate blood sugar. but guess i will need to wait for 5 weeks to ask my gynae haha

http://www.healthcastle.com/fiber-solubleinsoluble.shtml

yeah! this weekend was the best! finally get to buy something for my boy!!

BabyS
haha yeah my boy is big! but gynae said his head's size is still average so it is ok to push out.

Just checking, if i were to organize a Medela BP / Spree, how many mommies will be interested? lobang must share mah oho~

pegsfur/kikilala,
my belly also big, and I dun dare to eat full meal coz the feeling of my stomach stretching feel sooo TERRIBLE.

and if I eat too much I vomit too...

reria
i would be interested.. but when r u going to organise the bp? nearer our delivery mth? sounds weird to tell hb i need a 3rd pump when i am onli 5mths preggie? and i spent too much on her clothese these days

babymaking: re edd, my gyane also says ignore the edd on subsequent scans.. 1st one more accurate.. guess so also, cos the later scans, baby more active liao, harder to get accurate scan also.. besides, all baby's diff body shape etc....

reira
i will be interested...spree cheaper mah...
saw the price at MUM & BABES (tampines 1 branch)...
freestyle is 988 or 998...forgot which one...
and they state original price is abv $1k...

altho i got their member card but still expensive...
wonder if got further discount for pumps...

smurfy
i will organize once i get my Freestyle breast pump bah. need to check if it is good in condition and not give me any headache like faulty set mah before i help others to buy. hehe. i should receive it prolly by next friday.

cloudme
yeah so true. For my freestyle (without adding other 2 items which i bought), it is only:

Medela Freestyle Breastpump $285.00
UPS Ground Shipping $5.00
UPS Insurance (loss/damage prevention) $3.00
1% Fee for non US card usage $3

Total: USD$296

If exchange rate is 1.6.
$295 x 1.6 = S$472!

+ vPOST shipping maybe S$78.
It will only cost S$550!!

kikilala,
U r only 33in ... i'm already 38in and i'm only in my 22wks leh. I'm not big oso, only 1.56m :p

celine,
Same here, if i eat too full, my stomach turns very hard & heavy, and i have to rest for quite a while b4 i can walk. And the strange thing is, i'm not eating alot leh, just a normal noodles or rice meal. Even now i just finished my 2 slices of bread with egg & ham, i'm starting to feel my hardened tummy le.

oh babyS,
thks for that info, now then realised why i have water retention in the legs. wonder how to get rid of it? i tried drinking more water and less salt, lifting legs when sleeping but still there after drinking MIL ginko, beancurd and barley drink.

heard some old wives's tale that if water retention in legs come and goes 3 times, means delivery is near - dun know how true this is.

reira,
will update you after i research the GD & fruits thingy..me also very afraid of getting GD, cos gynae mentioned that those predisposed to diabetes, will have full blown type 2 diabetes even after GD is resolved after pregnancy.

kikilala,
bb is of good weight, did doc mention how to reduce pressure?

re: bb's measurement of weight & EDD
i thought gynaes predict EDD based on weight of bb, no longer based on length? cos my friends had their EDD moved forwards/backwards based on the weight of the baby - or is it a case of differnt gynae - differnt practice?

celine
morning, try taking smaller meals. as tummy grow bigger will have smaller stomach, as everything inside is compressed.

babymaking,
I forgot didnt ask her how to reduce the pressure! Dr did ask me if I feel any contractions or not... I also dont know how contraction feel like leh.

Usually at night, I will feel that my tummy will tighten and stomach is very hard, is that contractions?

babymaking
actually for me after i start to eat fruits at night, for 2 months urine test never tested high sugar level. previously there was twice it tested high sugar level.

cloudme
i think pampers is. my flyer is at home so cant check it now.

pegsur,
exactly! I did not eat alot just a single meal did not add more rice/meat/noodle but the tummy will feel soooo stretched out that I feel like bursting.

i must go home to measure my waist now...see how big :p

reira,
thanks...
will be waiting for ur full list of participating brands...

me want to get a new steriliser for the milk bottles...
now using pigeon 2 bottle steriliser...so definately not enough for 2 bbs and my breast pump parts once my bb arrive...

see if pigeon got promo/sp offer(if they r participating)...

* .. sulks ...*

Today is my bday and my hubby din really remember until this morning ... sent me happy bday sms but no present or nice meal.

hi reira

came across a comprehensive article online
link as follows:
http://www.ucsfhealth.org/childrens/medical_services/preg/highrisk/diabetes.html

Limit fruit portions:
Fruit is a healthy food, but it is high in natural sugars. You may eat one to three portions of fruit per day, but only eat one at a time. A portion of fruit is either one very small piece of fruit, or half of a large piece of fruit, or about one-half cup of mixed fruit. Do not eat fruit that has been canned in syrup.

Avoid fruit juice:
It takes several fruits to make a glass of juice. Juice is a concentrated source of carbohydrate. Because it is liquid, juice can raise the blood sugar quickly.

Yup, since i've got GD, gynae told me to stay off durians, bananas, mangoes cos these are considered very high in sugar content even though they r natural sugars. Told me to eat apples or guava instead. She oso told me not to eat fruits at nite cos it's harder to break down the sugar since our metabolic rate drops at nite.

regg,

Boh leh ... he just called and asked me wat i wanna eat. I told him too late liao lah, i'm already booked by my sis for lunch le. Super mei2 xin1 gan1 .....

morning mummies
the forum was down since sunday.. aiyooo!

anyway the monobo shoes have arrived!! haha.. so pretty! i told my hb i wan a pair for each color. hehehe...
red n pink still pending shipment coz OOS. but shld get by next week.
they also gotten jelly and slim.. also very comfy n nice
2367129.png
jelly 619
2367130.png
slim

cloudme,

regg,
Hahaha .. no lah, flowers abit waste money ... Actually, i dun really mind lah, just tat he's always like dat de lor, no surprise de. Hiaz .. men!

babymaking: 3 times and time for delivery? I got it 3 times liao. no signs of delivery. ahah...

For me, i took out one spare pillow (the kind to sleep on, not a small pillow) and i elevate my feet on it, 20 mins later the retention will disappear.. but if i walk for about 20 mins it will appear again lor.

now at work, i put my feet up on my CPU that is below my desk.. but its not higher enough.. but dont care lah, better than nothing.