(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Lawshe,
FA scan is kinda like a detailed scan, they check on a whole list of things like heart, kidneys, bladder, bone structure, nose, mouth, etc

i also research abit...seems like cordlife better n more popular
but then in the end we decided not to store cord blood...maybe will donate

hi mummies ,

im selling off some items, do PM me if interested:

1) MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC (single breast pump)
-only bought in mid FEB, only used once, sterilised and back on box. giving baby FM so no longer need pump
selling at $150

2)PIGEON - Breastmilk cooler bag (brand new)
selling at $48

3)PIGEON - nursing pads 36s (unopened)
selling at $8

4) Huggies ultra newborn size 24s pack (opened), used 2 pc baby outgrow lia.

left 22pc selling at $5

5) MIM Sling- brand new, opened, sateen. Color-2 shades of purple
Selling at $40
-

self collection at mrt station (sembwg, admiralty, woodlands)

hi Flower4:
Banking of cord blood is like insurance for baby
I'm also planning to do with Cordlife.

There is currently a promo til 18 Apri. If sign up with a fren, they will give discount of $350 for the upfront fees.

reira,
finally my dentist mananged to fix my wisdom tooth with temp fillings...

that previous dentist...wanna earn money wan..dun even try to fill the hole for my tooth...

Tas,
good that u r moving out...how's ur trip?
vinegar pig trotter...remember to jio me too...keke...
but i think i am going to having it soon cos my sil will be having it next wkend(for her confinement)...

Currently my no.1 i use cord life. This bb i will also use cordlife.

Pegsfur n Kikila , most MIl are like this. Even I have issues with my MIL when I am having my no.1. Cos I feel that she is quite lonely and stay outside with my bro in law. So i "hao sin" or kaypoh to invite them over. After that I got hell from her. She also kick my dog. Moreover i have 2 dogs walking ard the whole house. So I try to hint her that my dogs are very important to me. So anything wrong with my dogs she can report directly to me so that i can whack or scold them. She trying to find trouble. Then after my maid home which was a mth away fr my delivery. She without hesitation move out asap Worry that she will have to pick the poo n pee for my dogs. While she is staying over atmy place, she constantly called another bil and cried to him that she will go crazy if she continue to stay at my place. She also told my maid the same thing. In my house, practically both my MIL n BIL can have the whole living rm and kitchen cos i pratcically stay inside my room whole day. I still try to accomodate till one day I am so piss that I asked my hb when are they leaving, since she keeps complaining that she is going nuts in my place. Worst after she left,my hb said to me that I was having hidden agenda when i asked her to come over and stay cos i want her to look after my bb. I was shocked! Cos i purposely chose my place near to my parents so that i cam bring my boy back and moreover I have a maid at home. I don't need her. MIL .... Haiz.. Last and final. No more being nice DIL.....

Now is my grandma that is doing the conbstant nagging of getting rid of my dog. Cos I only balance 1 at home. The other hasskin problem so instead of putting him to slepp. I left him in boarding house which cost me $200 every mth. My dogs are 10 years old so of cos they hv probs liao. But can't bcos of that i put them to sleep rite. But the constant nagging canmkills. So irritating and feel like telling my granny off. But what to do. Just let her nag lo.

FYI

Re: Diarrhoea

With recent case on the Gelyang Serai food poisoning out break.. would like to share the info received from a friend pls read on it may be of help...

When someone gets diarrhoea, sometimes the solution is so easy, we wonder why anyone has to suffer.

The secret is in rice water.

This is already known in this region. Ask your maids -- Sri Lankan, Indonesian, Filipina and they would know about it.

(My mother) knew about it. When Dr Albert Winsemius came to Singapore for a farewell and thank you dinner in his honour, he brought along his
wife Aly and his granddaughter, Jolijn. Both women came down with very bad gastroenteritis. They saw the doctor who gave them medication. It
was slow to work.

Mother boiled some rice in lots of water and went to their hotel with two 1.5L bottles of rice water.

I cringed in shame at the offer of this folk remedy, which seemed so primitive to me. Never heard of this cure before. To my surprise, it
worked, and they were even able to go out for dinner the next day. Both were exclaiming how the rice water did the trick of making them well
again. Well, lucky it worked, I thought to myself.

I was discussing this some years back with Kim Ng, the ex-matron of KK Hospital. She said, yes, that is what Professor Wong Hock Boon, the
notable paediatrician teaches. I was shocked and made some comment how could he? It was common knowledge so what had he to do with it?

Many months later, I regretted laughing at it. Dr Christina Shanta Emmanuel, who is the CEO of...uh, which group I have forgotten. Either
National Health Group, or Polyclinics, or whatever.. regarded me seriously when I brought up the topic like it was good fun. She said
that Prof Wong Hock Boon had presented a paper on it. At some conference. After he had done clinical trials.

Then his results were published in the Lancet, the Medical Journal all doctors read. In fact, said Shanta, he was credited for saving the lives
of 2 million African babies by this method.

Ah, so! I am impressed.

It is rice water and not rice, that does the trick. I have found it effective again and again. You take a handful of rice and boil it in a
large saucepan with lots of water. Like three or four large glasses. Then you cool that and drink the water. If you are in a hurry to relieve
the ailing person, take the saucepan off the fire and dunk it in a frying pan or basin of cool water with ice cubes if necessary.

This gives the patient a chance to drink the rice water sooner and cure himself or herself sooner.

When drinking the rice water, make sure there is lots of it. You have to tell the patient that enough water must go in to line your guts from
throat to other end, all 10 to 12 metres of it. If you take rice, it stays in the stomach. If you take broth, some of it may go into the
small intestine.

But if you take rice water, it will carry rice grains to every inch of your small and large intestine to the end where the problem is.

How does it work? Even Prof Wong Hock Boon doesn't know. Read the attached file. Or go to

*http://rehydrate.org/dd/dd06.htm#page2*

It is good to pass on the news to everyone you know because the complaint is so common and people suffer unnecessarily. You would be
doing your friends a great favour to relieve them of their misery when the occasion arises.

morning All..

Joia/BabyS/Reira,
For capella both S705 n S228 have the same function the diff is in the weight S705-8.5kg(till 4yr old)$369 n S228-6.3kg(till 3yr old)$289..
i jus bott the S228 2009 version becos i find it v value for $$ n with all the wheel able to turn in 4 direction make it easier to move n the 2009 version design is so much better than the 08 version... n also after folding up it is less bulky than S705 which is easier for me to load onto my car..

Morning tas,

My name appeared twice. 34 & 79

Please update my particulars :
EDD : 14 Aug 09
Gynae : Dr Adrian Woodworth
Hosp : Mount A

morning gals

got one question to ask - hubby got craving for this chinese hot dessert - some sort of red/black bean paste - usually served with coconut milk on top. It's not the usual red bean soup - it's quite thick and mashed up. anyone has any idea what is it?

Joia, i'm using capella model no 228. quite stable. very easily movable coz it's "4 wheels drive". But after using 4 wheels drive for a long time. not used to "2 wheels drive " liao.. hee... UP is 299. But i bought it at $275 i think at Kakibukit.

pinkmama
cordlife is better. the main point is they are AABB accredited. I've "worked" with the staffs there for 2 days and learned that their company is very customer service oriented and they really put in the money to educate their staffs. ofcourse their service is really good.

if you want, i can recommend to you one of their staff there. she is very detail about the contract and knowlegable of her company/cordblood banking. not to mention she is nice and very patience :D whatever questions u asks her, she will reply in detail and with no rush or any sign of irritation.

Also, she is pretty and young!! hahaha

flower4
For me, my family have history of cancer. so banking my baby's cord blood is just for a safe guard. so far cord blood stem cell transplant can cure about 70 diseases.

i found a educational site about cordblood: http://www.savethecordfoundation.org

yoko noriko
where do u board your dog for just $200 every month?

wow... ur MIL is really bad and i think she brainwashed ur hubby thats why that time he said to you u were having hidden agenda...

well, ur lesson teaches us there no matter how NICE MIL treat us (when we live seperately). do NOT give her house key, invite her to live with us ect. haha cos she will show her "true face" sooner or later. not that all MIL are like that but to be safe than sorry!

piggytoh
thanks for the information regarding capella S228. may i know where did u buy the 2009 version? how do i differentiate it from 2008 version?

babymaking
:D it is black glutinous rice (hei1 nuo4 mi3). i love it the most!!

but very hard to find in singapore good hei nuo mi =( the last time i had really good ones was when i was below 10 and live in JB. but i guess the one from Bukit merah view dessert stall (besides carpark) is acceptable.

Mrs Ng,
u went to the Baby Kingdom to buy huh?
i went ther to buy also now selling $289 but not v cheap cos the nex day i wen to kids mall at IMM only $269 n for S-705 only cost $329 instead of $369.

Reira,
most of the places tt carry Capella is selling the 2009 version but u can alway double check with the sales gal..
the main diff for model S-228 is the colour range n for 2008 version the side of the stroller is not cover up 1 so baby may stick their hands out (u remember tt time taslyn got post a pic?) but 2009 it cover up... the other difference diff to describe here but u can alway check with the sales person for the differences. actually the main function not much diff lar...

Mrs Ng,
ya i tink urs 2008 version cos i tink the 09 1 recently jus launch but it as gd la jus tt for 2009 they sort of improved the design n material

Reira,
now ther is a spree on capella stroller u may wan to consider... but for me i prefer to go down test n try n buy.... cos 1 thing abt baby kingdom they provide free servicing if there is anything wrong with the stroller..

Got a cold scare just now when i woke up and my tummy feels uncomfortable. It feels bloated, very tight and heavy and bb was kicking vigorously ... bb has never kicked this way. Quickly got hubby to send me to gynae. After checking, gynae said everything's ok, it's probably just muscular spasms or cramp, which is pretty common. She told me to monitor if it happens again .... Phew!

Reira , I board him at a kennel near CCK or Lim Chu Kang. Permanently board. I will pay $200 every mth and every 3 mths extra $90 for grooming. SOmetimes is really a dilema whether to put him to sleep. I find that is very cruel. And moreover after all these years my 2 dogs really good life. Now their lives are so terrible. I felt so guilty at times.

Never invite MIL even she is very nice on surface. Recently my gf also invited her MIL then problems occurs already....

Recently after looking at the child abuse video, sometimes is good to have a MIL or mom at home. My granny also knew what type of charactor that my MIL has. But she said look upon ur 2 kids lo. Don't calculate with her. I almost very tempted to. Heng.. I still able to control with a no-no I rather spend additional $$ with 2 maids and try to stay home more often. Chinese belief "Qing shen rong yi, song shen nan" Just like u invite them is easy, but asking them to go is very difficult.

Pinkmama: There is a seminar organised by Cordlife, 25 April 09, 12pm to 5pm, Hotel Intercontinental, Bugis.
Details is here :
http://www.cordlife.com/sg/event/babytalk_25apr09.html

But too bad, I can't attend this time round, becoz my ParentCraft lessons start on that actual day, 4.30pm.

Most prob, I will sign up with Cordlife, but i wan to wait until June Motherhood fair ex Sgp Expo to see any further promotions/discount they have.

Taslyn: Pls update my details too.. thank you!
EDD : 09 Aug 09
Gynae : Dr Adelina Wong
Hosp : TMC

Just had my regular gynae chkup on Monday afternoon, gained 8 kg in 23 weeks

bb is 500grams liao.

morning all,
went for fa scan yesterday.

Doc say bb weight 366g,is to smaller side.
also say mayb edd will need push to 1 week later,
but will confirm again lor.

Cant see anything bwt the legs, so most pro is galgal.

mashy, clould me piggy, reira

thks for the name...now do anyone has the recipe? is it difficult to make?

my hubby has more cravings than i do, 1st tri when i was puking away, he had nausea too!!! His tummy bigger than mine, i was telling him that mine will go away after delivery and his leh? will be his legacy to baby. :p

taslyn: pls update my details too. thanks

EDD: 10 Aug 09
Gynae: Dr Choo WL
Hosp: Mt E
# of child: 2nd
Gender of 1st: F
Gender of 2nd/ current in tummy: M

babymaking,
it not difficult to make but some pp like it sticky some like it watery... for me i like it but my HB dun really like so usu i jus buy from outside safe time n nice keke but if u wan to cook urself here u go:

Method:
1. Wash glutinous rice thoroughly and soak in water for 4 hours.
2. Put rice and water into a pot and cook until the rice is soft and almost mushy.
3. Add sugar, palm sugar, salt and pandan leaves.
4. Simmer over low heat for 10 minutes or until sugar dissolves.
5. Add the thick coconut milk and corn flour solution.
6. Bring to boil for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and discard pandan leaves.
7. To serve, top bubur pulot hitam with 1-2 tbsp of coconut cream.

babymaking, the black glutinous rice takes a lot of stiring or it'll stick to the pot. If u have a thermal cooker, you can use that, and its easier to make as it won't stick to the pot.

Does anybody have any prob with clothes? I've limited clothes to wear now that tummy is growing speedily esp during the past few weeks. Maternity clothes are expensive. Think it would be quite strange to shop in shops selling normal clothes with a big tummy too.