(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pris, adopting is a good idea, cos that guarantees you get a girl, and you give a chance of life to a baby who needs it
My hb says if he wants more kids, he will adopt them, cos I dun wanna give birth anymore ha ha ha

Yup, same thing happened to me. I brought my younger one to the GP. Then when I showed the PD the med, she was saying the med is alittle too strong already. But now that my elder one is 4 yrs old, I do send her to the GP already.

Ya! I told hubby that also...LOL...then he kept quiet..hehe..I used to mind the sex of the baby, but now I feel a healthy and full term baby is more important than the sex of the baby. Cos at the end of the day, the character of the child is more important then whether is a boy or girl...

hehe..do you mind me asking, why you/dh wants a girl so much to the extend of adopting? Just curious..

pris:wahhhhhh if my PILs ask to hv boy then i wll ask them to do it themselves kakakkakaka.
me no bb making machine le

pris, wah I really pity your friend cos there's no guarantee that her #3 will be a boy. If my in laws dare to tell me they want me to have more kids just to try for a boy, I will tell them to fly a kite.

mich, celine
actually cannot guarantee #2 will be a girl leh lol but my hubby said can try calculate donno what and what. also something like "shoot" not so deep will help also. *ahem* things like woman doesnt climax also will help. my hubby say he read from donno where that male sperm swim faster and die faster but female spem swim slow and die slower. also donno what hormone will "aid" the male sperm if the woman climax ect ect.

haha thats why i was so surprised my baby is a boy!!!!! thought 100% girl cos of those conditions wahahaha opps... dont let my hubby see this else i die till very cham

cherrios
wa kao!! 4 seeds for 4 usd!! I was staring at the fruit stall for their mango and durian everytime I go there (for a while now) lol but in the end still didnt buy any (read from here that mango is "du" and durian will gain weight fast).

celine
aiyo... how did it felt? like fever? flu? or everything combined?

i never get bronchitis before leh. cos i dont remember suffering a lot cos of illness at all when i was a kid. if i suffer due to illness, i sure remember de. lol

1. I got cough once. my dad and mom chased me whole flat to get me to drink the medicine but i just run and run, hide in room/ toilet die also dont wanna drink cos i thought it was bitter... but it turned out sweet cos some spilled on my blanket and i used to love biting clothes/blanket/bolster cover. lol Thats when i was 6 years old.

2. chicken pox (mild). I fell asleep in the bath tub when i was bathing and my mom was screaming outside the bathroom for me to unlock the door. lol then she realised i got fever and took me to GP. 8 or 9 years old.

3. ear infection cos of ear hole. T_T not really sick but it was yucky!! got green green substance coming from the earhole ewww...

4. fever (a few times) - never see doctor, always sleep through it and i will be fine the next morning :D got once when i was in Primary 6, i didnt study for spelling and hope that i have fever. i pray and think real hard and seriously really gets fever and skipped the test!!!

Weishy

Are you gg for the hospital tour also?
My hubby and I planning to go MAH first this sat. but must call right?

==========================

For baby girl

I heard from my colleague saying at odd days are for makin bb..for even days its for making boy.. she said quite true la but I don kw.

Cos I just make. Haha

Cheerios, I always wanted 4 kids, 2 boys and 2 girls haahaa. I thot that is nice and having 2 boys, next time, they have the boys hours together with dad and I want the girl hours too haahaa. And gals can always doll them up haahaa.

Mich, yea, I pity my friend too. Like when Kai was young, her dh will always come to carry Kai and left the wife to handle to little girls.

Weishy & Mich, I think adoption is good too and at the same time we can have a little girl to love and the little life have a complete friend and grows up well and hopefully does not have the psychological or emotional problems of feeling left out.

Reira, me still eating mangoes! didn't know no good till the ladies here mentioned about it..but so far I have been sharing 1 with dh on most of the occasions I had them...

Pris, wow! 4 kids! Hehehe...I can imagine myself having 3kids....but not 4...I also hope to have 2 of the same gender(either boys or gals)..hehee...but not to the extend of having 4 kids...hmm...usually kids up for adoption are from which country? sg?

Pris: You are good. I can never think of hvg more than 2 kids. I am definitely stopping after this. Unless {touch wood} kena accident. hahaha... Mummy need to get back her life and figure. Life is kinda interrupted when u are pregnant.

lucky that my veins are visible and blood flow out easily.

Pris
Dr Ong sounds like a very good PD!! Where is his clinic loacated? (in SG right?)

preggie milk
actually why is preggie milk fattening? one serving is like 150kcal only tho.

i also think that my hubby is the kind of guy who "zhong nan qin nu" lor!! Whoa after knowing baby is a boy, his face was like TOTALLY changed!! from "bored" (cos baby playful dont cooperate) became "smile till his eyes and lips became 3 lines".

lol for me was "happy happy" became "sigh... no cute lace clothes to buy" and i was slightly upset about it for a couple of days haha.

but come to think of it, i will be happy if my baby zachary can stay in my womb till he is full term and be a healthy baby when he is born. gender doesn't matter anymore.

since tuesday, i think i could feel his movement. but whenever i concentrate to feel if thats his movements and not my imagination, he stopped. as if he was playing hide and seek with me T_T

reira,
when i had brochitis the airways very narrow cannot breath easily, and when cough especially when continue to cough the airways tighen. Hence the chest always feel very tight, yet the throat so itchy always want to cough.... the main problem is the difficult to breath normally.

reira, ha ha, we won't tell ur hb.

pris, like u, my MIL also wanted a daughter after 2 sons. But when she asked the fortune teller, he told her she is destined to only have daughters in law, so that put her off trying for #3 cos she says sure turn out to be a boy. But for us, we can pray to God to grant our heart's desires.

cherrios, Singapore parents normally adopt from China, Philippines, Indonesia etc... think China is most popular next to Philippines for adoption.

last time i dun like kids i think maximum i will have 2 kids (coz both side family have 2 children), but when i have #1 I think having more is good for us and him. Big and cozy family is a blessing when we get older.

But I am very worried the upbringing of the kiddos when they grow up. If boys, scare they go bluff ppl. If girls, scare they kena bluff by ppl...*sigh*

mich,
ya leh... i got a distant relative's son get a girl pregnant when they are 16/17 years old then forced to marry. 1 year later after bb borned divorced... and the boy disputed the bb not his wor... I pity their baby.

Mich, we have been praying too haahaa. In fact, we have been trying since Kai turned 1 but all in God's timing and plan. Anyway, children are God's inheritance to us and a blessing to us. So if God's willing, I am praying for a healthy bb gal next round haahaa.

Celine, upbringing is important. As long as we are parents do our parts in imparting the right values and discipline from young, they should turn out ok.

pris,
of coz we will try our best to impart the right values and discipline to our children. But hor dunno why nowadays kids soooo DIFFERENt and DIFFICULT.

yesterday, i was on a bus and there were 2 secondary boys sitting behind me, i heard their conversation i really shivered. Obviously they are sec 2 but they are already smoking...blah blah who help him to buy that packet...then next topic is "not happy with who..want to take him to one corner to fight it out..", next topic shift to gals "want to date her blah blah"

Adoption can also be from M'sia, vietnam but mostly chinese couples go to china especially due to their 1 child policy, they wanted boys, so think lots of baby girls for adoption but heard the rules and regulations are very strict now.

I have a friend adopted a girl from M'sia that looks like her after many miscarriages.

Pris
hehe thanks =) must note down!

air-con
why is it bad for baby?

celine
i also got the same concern lol before i knew the gender of my boy, i thought i am expecting a girl. so i kiasu went to collect all those news articles about girl kenna raped or molest that kind of news lol

now i knew baby is a boy so i a bit relax liao. but still a bit worried (like today's news) that he get cheated by older woman and have sex with the woman... HAIZ.... so now i am trying to brain wash him by saying "cannot piak piak till u are 25 years old". though I doubt he understand me.

Weishy

I haven book leh.
I go website check no and than let you know again???

What is DH means?

===========

Prisicallia

Actually I also want 4 kids wor..but the fortune teller said I only will have 2. I think the next one I will have is a girl.. a very strong feeling.. don't know why leh...

Celine, some of these kids are spoilt brats, they are the trouble-makers in primary schools and parents sided their kids when school tried to help and that how they turned out.

Usually those with supportive parents who cooperate with teachers, most of them turned out well.

One principle that dh and I have is that we agreed with each other's discipline, love but not dote on the child and never spoilt the child. We are very strict and firm with Kai from the start, he is mischievous and wild at time but he is under control. We never give in to whining or crying.

weishy

i jst called MAH - THE NO. IS 63476636
I have book for this sat 12pm slot.
the lady knock off at 6pm so call her before that ya..

pris,
yes i am learning not to give in to my boy whining and crying when he throw his tantrum nowadays. But i want to explain to him instead of giving him a beating to make him stop which is the difficult part

Cooperate with teachers I will do it when reasonable coz not their demands are valid. :p

Celine, I dont beat to stop Kai for whining, crying or throwing tantrum, I send him off to his cool down corner or his room till he is ready to talk. So far, it has paid off with Kai, now we just reason with him unless it is serious cases, we will use the cane, over here it is a wooden spoon,

For me, I talk to Kai's teachers be it in the different countries very frequently and I do spot check on Kai, so I know whether the feedback I get is true or false, so far, we have good relationships with his teachers. And Kai knew we take education very seriously so we check his work daily and we really discipline him about untidy work.

So it helps to not just listen to the child but do a spot-check. Like going back to Sg, Kai will be heading back to his previous kindy as I have email the principal to check for vacancy and she reserved a place for him.

And likewise, his kindy teacher here will let me know the curriculum for each terms so that I can work with him besides doing all our homeschooling modules.

celine
for this kind of cases of young kids getting preggie... i think best solution will be abortion. if not when the baby is born, the baby will be the one suffering lor. unless the young girl is mature enough (which i doubt so at that age) and will take good care for the baby and bring the baby up to be a person with the right values/ discipline.

nowadays kids are different and difficult... sometimes can be due to influence from the internet!

wahaha for the 25 years old hor, can take his daddy out for example mah. lol i am very bad and honest hor. i hope my hubby never come to this thread else i die liao.

cherrios
ya lor! but actually different gender have different worries. like for girl, i will worry she get pregnant by a guy. for boy, i will worry if he go and get girl pregnant... sian!!!

actually it all depends... if my boy and the girl been dating for years and plan to get married (and old enough, got stable income) but shotgun, then still acceptable (=x like my case lor). but if he is still studying, no job, i have to feed him and he go and get a teenage girl preggie, i think i will die from heart attack!!!

Celine, I was from the teaching professional so I could tell you if a primary school teacher call you, it is mostly out of concern and she/he cares for your child to make the phone call as we do not have time at all in the school. The curriculum, cca, marking and lots of stuff that is behind the scene that is not known to parents.

If the teachers do not bother, they will not even make the phone call. As a educator, I wish I have 48 hours each day, most of my day ends like at 1 to 1.30am and the next day, Iwas in school like 6.30am. And the long holiday is basically for the students, we dun have the luxury of long holiday due to camp, cca, planning, meeting, seminars etc. Alot of teachers are burnt out and those of us could afford, we choose to be sahm, as an educator, we teach other's children but hardly have time for our own or neglect our own.

I think hard to think so far ahead and worry so much. But I guess what we can do, is to give our kids a proper and gd upbringing, so that they grow up to be responsible adults who know what they are doing. And if they still choose the wrong way, then they will have to bear the responsibilities for taking that step.

Pris
I must really learn more from you on how to bring up a boy! i assume Kai's room doesnt have anything like a compuater/laptop/toys that allows him to play when he is suppose to be thinking about what he had done wrong. right?

hmm... how do u start a convo with his teachers? like what do u ask first normally?

i am not very confident that i can bring up my boy to be a responsible person... is there any good books to read about it? T_T
________

generally, since during aug will be a hot month... what is ur plan about the hot weather? why is air-con bad for baby?

Reira, Kai only has books in the room, he has to reflect on his action. We dun believe in having pc/laptop/toys in the room except stuff toys that he sleep with.

I make it a point to meet all his teachers and have conversations with them and give them my hp and email for them to contact me and being positive when they feedback to me. Usually the teachers meant well and I will spotcheck on Kai too. When I was on bedrest, dh tends to go to pick up Kai, he will go slightly earlier and spotcheck on him so we know wat is up with him before the teacher even tell us. One thing is take it in our stride and not being defensive when they give us feedback and then work with the child. Kai is competitive, he tends to finish his work fast but it can be untidy and he would go around showing his friends the answers so we have to remind him that it is not who complete faster. It is to do it well with accuracy and being neat and tidy.

Tinkabel, I agreed with you. We have been teaching that to Kai. We talked to him about responsibility.

There are many good books out there, personally, I love Dr James Dobson's books:
1) Dare to discipline
2) Discipline is not for Cowards
3) Bringing up boys
4) The strong will child

I also practice 1-2-3, take 5 when Kai whine, cry or throw tantrum. He has his time-out, reward chart and of course we praise him for breaking his bad habits and for good habits. And after every punishment before bedtime, we reassure him how much we love him that's why we discipline. For Kai, we have daily devotion from the bible too.

Back from my FA scan ... bb is good and well and weighs 357g at 20wks

Bad news is, i kena diabetes again
Sianz ... gynae wants me to do self-check on my sugar level ... bought the machine and stuff, gonna poke my fingers and test the blood for the next 2 wks. No sweet stuff for me!

Pegsfur, you also went for checkup today ah? Me too..your boy's weight is good!
My girl only weighs 500g at week 23plus and Dr Wong ask me to eat eat eat. But hor, its my girl who don't want to eat lor as I did put on weight.

Tinkerbelle : Think abt it u will have it.

My hb also thinking abt girl all the time. Now I have a girl.

I thought DH = Domestic helper hehe.

Today detailed scan and confirm is a girl. 19weeks 5 days 312g. Also asked abt the ward cos need to nook already. My gynae only deliver at TMC. I hate TMC small, bad traffic, lousy parking, no facilities and shops, food is lousy but no choice. Felt so cramp inside.
i put on 2 kg for the past one month. Overall I tin is 5kg for the time being. Hopefully I wont put on more than 20kg just like my 1st preg.

Durian makes baby grows bigger. I experience that durng my boy. And i also put on alot more. Hehe. Luckily my this current preg my bb girl dont like durian. But she love western food.

Back from John little sale. I bought Pureen -orange flav milk bottles cleaners at $6, and just one piece of baby clothing.
I also bot Kodomo baby powder, $2.30 per bottle.
Wanted to look for Pigeon items, but dun have..strange.

Also, I saw some nice 'Carter' rompers selling at duuno $7.90 or 8.90 per piece.

Almost wanted to buy a waterproof changing mat which cost less than $10, but my SIL passed her mat to us liao.

Can I ask, do we need to put another waterproof mat between the bedsheet and the matress of the cot? in case the bb's diapers leaked overnite, and urine may dirty the mattress?
Wat is the chances of that happening huh? I dun mind the bedsheets being dirty , i can always change again. But if mattress beneath also damp from bb's urine, then like that how ar?

I took quite a while to slowly choose the one and only piece..my husb said I bot too many pieces liao, so he restrict one piece from one place, so i hit my quota for the day.