(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Tinkabel
Less selections for boys, so save $ but harder to choose and buy... hee hee!
Each time I go shopping (objective is to buy bb clothings n stuff), then in the end buy more for my daughter again.

Joann S
I experience the kicks since 18 weeks onwards. Knew the gender at 14 weeks.

Reira
Drinking too much coffee might cause yellow discharge ( a sign of high sugar intake). Something I'm trying to avoid.
And if I have a headache, max is 3 panadols per day.

Re: Having twins
Someone in the family must start 1st, maybe this generation or from our ancient. God is so amazing!

Pinkmama
Apply some lavender oil would be great!

Yen2008
My no.1, she did not like to sleep at all when she was a baby. So difficult to take care of her and she is very active.

precious: wow...ur baby so guai let u see...mine's a girl n when i go scanning, it notti...doc haf to shake my tummy n tell mi to turn left n right in order to get the measurements... hee

Jasmine:cos i work in hk

u can go GENTLE FLOW and RESTORATIVE YOGA too both oki for preggie ladies but may find that u maybe the only one....wherelse pre natal yoga of cos its all preggie ladies loooo

but dun be shy though nothing abonormal about

u can ask them if they hv those 10 sessions type etc.....me not too sure le but if member recommendation will fetch u a cheaper price i can help u looo
if u work near raffles then can go there cos they hv the 1215 class

Hi to All...Nice to meet all of u..
I am new to this thread. I have not been following up for a long time. I am also into my 18 weeks. This pregnancy is terrible.. I am getting very very lazy to dress up and go out.... Hehe...

Joann S
It is ok lah. babycenter says "maternal caffeine consumption equal to three cups of coffee per day and an increased risk of having a son born with undescended testes". I only drank once every 2 days so should be quite alright. My gynae also said 1 cup of coffee (drink that contains caffeine) a day is ok.

mashy
i am glad that everything is fine!

pinkmama
i always use babyplus when i am watching tv lol else very boring leh!!!! then in the morning, i wake up 6:30am to use babyplus and go back to sleep till 7:45am haha

yoko
welcome to the thread!! for me is the opposite, i am more concious about my weight and looks now lol scared hubby thinks i look like auntie T_T

yoko:heee u're in this thread too kakakkakakka wat a coincident
,so wats ur bb's gender this time????

mashy:at least only painful bum
take care

fjm,
i dare not to have maid & caregiver already after watching the clip.
sickening maid, the kid jus wana go toilet and pee mah!!! why mus kick til like tis.

Hi mummies...

Just to share...

I am a March09 MTB and gave birth to my little bundle of joy recently..

I have engaged the services of Mdm Ida and would like to share my wonderful experience with u ladies...

Per session with Mdm Ida is $50/- and it includes the following
-baby's massage
-bathing of baby if you dont have confinement lady
-showing of charcoal down south so that the epi stitches will heal faster and v tightens
-massage of mummy with home made oil
-wrapping of the tummy after applying jamu herbs
-she also provides free body scrub,feminine wash and baby's massage oil.

So far it is gonna be a week and I have lost about four kg so far. She is really patient and everything that she does, she explains it. She also taught me how to massage my baby with the massage oil provided by her. My baby truly enjoys the massage. The oil also prevents the stomach from being bloated and even if baby does not burp, the oil will cause the baby to fart out the air instead..

As for the charcoal, it really helped me to heal my stitches and she will teach us how to do it by ourselves as it is encouraged to be done once a month after our menses..

She is really very good and understanding and you could neva feel more comfortable with a massage lady..

She also very strict when it comes to committing to her customers.. If she is available she will confirm with you and if she is not she will tell u upfront.

She does not take any deposit and just have to pay her on every visit..

I am truly enjoying her massage and so is my baby...

Good things are meant to be shared..

So if u ladies are interested you can contact Mdm Ida @ 94249829..

= )

Some interesting facts about identical twins:
The causes of monozygotic twinning are generally unknown and unidentified. No one really knows why an egg splits; technically it's a malfunction of the normal development process.

There's no hereditary trait that influences a predisposition to having identical twins.

Identical twins do not run in families. Although there are families with a high incidence of identical twins, it is due to chance, coincidence or plain good luck.

Identical twins represent about a third of all twins. Dizygotic twins are twice as common as monozygotic.

Birth rate statistics for identical twinning have remained stable over the years, despite the overall increase in twins and multiples since the late 1980's. The odds of having identical twins is about 3 in 1,000, whereas the birthrate for all twins is about 32.2 in 1,000.

Identical twinning is not generally influenced by fertility-enhancing treatments like drugs or in vitro, although monozygotic twins have been produced in pregnancies that were the result of such treatments.

Birth rates for identical twins are consistent across populations; it is the same regardless of race, geography or maternal age.

=================================================
DAMN THE MAID IN THE VIDEO IS FARKING HORRIBLE!!! I FEEL LIKE KICKING N JUMPUING ON HER NOW!!!!! IN HUMANE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sighz.. but sadly, i would still need to depend on one soon.. i cant afford to be a SAHM with my hubby alone to support the entire family. yanwz~

reira: in that case, will nt deprive my self from LATTE~! haha

Dianajs: how mani sessions u do b4 u lost 4kg? u took special care in ur diet? Wat's the recommended sessions like?

hi weishy.. actually at this moment... which im oso quite worried abt.. i oni put on like 3kgs (most) frm pre-pregnancy.. at 18wks.

nw... i juz hope my right upper twin will grow more.. n not hv too big a size n weight difference with my left lower. (although i know twins usually one bigger..one smaller.. but pls dun hv too big a difference!)

i dun mind putting abit more weight for this pregnancy, i dun mind being bigger n hvg more inconvenience for this pregnancy.. juz hope n pray both of them are well-grown..size n weight n all.

the prof mentioned that a female's womb is oni sufficient (in terms of size n supply of blood, food, oxygen or whatever) to one or most one na half bb... so ya.. since such a miracle of hvg twins already happened to me... hope i can hv both healthy n omoz equal in size too!

wow.. i really wonder how n admire those carrying triplets n more!! cos hvg multiples also means higher chances of hvg pre-termed bbs, not fully or properly developed fetus, etc.. juz higher risk in short la. so..... ya, hfta be prepared to fork out more $$ on more check-ups n all.

Dianajs
Thank you for sharing. How long is the duration per session? Is she a Malay?

Fatbobo
Getting a maid is like a gamble. I am glad to have one who has good attitude, can cook well. And the maid agency is a responsible one, and the fee is reasonable.

yep precious, i agree with u... sometimes it's like luck. some really is a big help to the family de.

i oso heard of ex-colleague's helper been with the family like more than 6-8yrs kind.. den even bcm the families' 'accountant'..n she will supervise n assist the newer helper on hsehold chores n looking aft the kids (youngest oso already in pri sch le lar)...

i mean.. some can really be of great help n even build a very close bond with the family de.

oh, my hb's ex-neighbour's previous helper, even got hitched with the family's uncle, n now bcm taitai there lor! haha! (but..im not too keen such r/s to happen la..heee..well, this is more of the helper's luck.. not ours le rite. bahaha)

tinkabel: where can i get this book by Gina Ford?

Precious/jasmine: hope next time, our bb can sleep longer ( both day & nite), then we can have more free time of our own..heehee

fjm: i saw the videoclip, that maid is too much, how can she step on the little gal's back? The police shd come in and arrest her.

fatbobo

Anyone in the family helping u to jaga? Coz u having twins, there's no way 1 maid can handle 2 babies. If u do that, chances of your maid torturing your babies will be very high coz of the high stress. u need at least 2 person to take care of 2 babies.

fatBobo:helper hiring all boils down to luck and how u treat them.....diff culture and agency cant do much too......can train cannot tell them not to this and that......

there's one employer where she abused her helper.....(or rather alot out there) helper cn only sleep at 1am and hv to wake up at 3 am again...one day she works 22 hours..........so maybe some times this type of minor cases of abuse be it verbal or physical......effects their emotions which dunno why these helper were being sent to sin to work again.....

in hkg i hardly hear employers abuses their helper or vice versa....hkg supposed to be more hectic and stressful to live in le.....

yen2008:u can borrow from library which now they hv more copies compared to 2007 or buy it at kinokuniya...which i think its not cheap
......borrow and read thru first if u like it cna buy loooo

how bb can sleep longer depends on parents too.....full stomach in the day bb will sleep thru in the night.....hum more info on GIna"s books
all of them are helpful

weishy: thanks..i will hunt for this book at library nearby.

Having a running nose and sore throat now...think too heaty liao. Yesterday, i took afew sips of sugar cane juice. Duuno is sugar cane juice is allowed for preg women? I guess, afew sips is ok bah.

yen..im owas craving n hvg ice cold sugar cane juice since 1-2mths back... cos weather too hot bah...n there r few occassions, i juz ta 1-2 ice-cold sugarcane at a go! but then..tink sugarcane is quite liang.. dun drink too much lor. i oso trying to cut down on it.

yep..i tink smtimes hw the employer treat the helper oso a major issue. i feel..(i dun hv helper myself before..but previously when i stayed with my in-laws, they do hv..) i feel sometimes small little tings like hvg meals n going out tog oso will affect the e'yer-e'yee r/s de hor. smtimes i c those families bring helper out, but then, aft they finish their meal le, the helper then can eat...i tink smtimes like that not so nice lor. of cos if say hv young children to take care, they hfta help with the kids first..den eat.. but.....some really to the extend very kua zhang de.. whole family eat finish, den helper oni eat rice..not much dish left oso... (at least u dish out for the helper first?) i duno.

yawnz... hungry le.. i go lunch first... brb.

yesterday night have a tummy pain and this morning went to my gynae...
luckily the bb's ok...so now 18wks..
is growing very healthy and triple confirm to be a boy...

my gynae..ask me to watch out for contraction pains...
she only concerned if the tummy pain is like contraction pain...

but my triple test results not very good...
cos low iron...so sucks ...
have to resume my iron pills again...haiz...

RE:Sugar cane juice...
can drink...
but both my bbs dislike sugar cane juice...
sure will vomit if i drink...

mashy,
glad that's everythings ok...with u and bb...

Have been coughing my lungs out for more than a week le ... hubby told me he'll go down to gynae's to collect another cough mixture for me. Sianz ... i've been waking up at least 4 times a nite for the past week due to the cough and haven't been sleeping enough
And this cough is very irritating, will start acting up as soon as u lie down and about to drift to sleep.

fatBObo:ya loooo cos they whole day workign also wil get more hungry than us.....so i always let her eat first and make sure she eats better than me....cos if she falls sick...i;m in trouble...not only medical bills bt noone take care of my girl
so better she stay healthy and happy working.so far she gained weight kakakkakak my target for her is 50kgs :p now she's 48 liao kakakakkakakakakka

pegsfur:harrr cough is no joke le.....stomach will be quite painful

take care ar \

weishy,

Hiaz ... ya lor .. cough until my stomach muscles very pain. Hate to get coughs .. dunno why but when i get coughs, it's always very hard to recover de ... always have to drag for more than 2 weeks de.

Pegsfur
Take care ya. Me is down with a very stuffy & blocked nose. So uncomfortable. Just collected medicine from gynae too.

pegsfur:ya usually takes 1 or 2 weeks......need to rest more and drink those cough syrup loooo can drink or not????

pinkmama,
Huh .. u r sick too? Seems like alot of pple are down with flu.

weishy,
I'm taking the cough syrup from gynae, and she said it's safe for pregnancy. Just taken the medicine and antibiotics.

pegsfur,
i got flu(running nose) since the day i got preggie, according to my gynea its pregnancy related cuz i got sinus argh.. my nose skin crack & bleed, cant get to heal, as i constantly running nose :p

hello mummies
kakakaka.... so many post to read
thanks for the congrats for my boy boy... hahaha... can close factory... but i dunno y i want another ger

re:sugar cane
when i was vain last time and went to see my dr to lose weight. he advised mi not to take too much sugar cane juice coz it contains very high sugar levels... so may cause GD if drink too much?

fjm:
aiyo... ur maid story makes mi scared siah... now hb says we go bkk to source for a maid liao...
sigh the maid which weishy mentioned work from 3.30am til 1am each day was actually in the newspapers 2-3days ago.. v sad for the maid.. dunno y such people exist ley...

pegs/pink
my gynae says that preggy with boys fall sick easier during 2nd tri.. kekeke...
remember to take more vit C bah...
for me, my gynae prescribed some flu med to me n i took kiddy cough syrup...

cloud/bobo
congrats on ur boy boy and twin gers!

kristine
i went FA scan when i was 18wks 5 days... bb was already 300g n most of his measurements are above 90percentile so gynae bring forward EDD... so for urs.. 23 weeks n 400g. think it is quite okay

mashy
heard abt ur fall... hope u are okay now... better take care! i also nearly slipped when coming out of the bathroom just now~!

reira
mi ar.... got no option ley... confirm will be going for natural birth w/o epi since #1 already liddat.. hope bb wun be in breech position lar...(choi!) - my gynae is pro-natural w/o epidural de lor...
unless the prev preggy was Csec, which he does not advise on VBACs....

BabyS
for bb movements, just make sure u feel ard 10kicks over 12hr period...
when bb dun move, talk to bb more and let bb get used to your voice...

my hb started telling bedtime stories to my ger when she was 20wks and she is super sticky to him now looooo...

weishy
damn sian lar... u see eviana... always so sweaty... today thnose stupid parents at united sq kept looking at my ger coz of her holey tee.. machiam i ill treat her.. sigh...
if she is like hayley, i not so headache liao loooooo

pris
hmmm... i do wat ur fren;s maid do with my ger ley... but fan is not at full blast lar...
i got no choice.. my room is ultra stuffy... then my ger sweat buckets... so have to on the fan so that she wun perspire so much...

lol.. u also into crabs ar? when u come back, join weishy n me to eat crabs lar... lol...

re: bb clothes
i already started to stock... kakaka... gotten some gymboree/carters for my #2 liao...
gonna go get more... for me, i start from 3mths.. coz nb clothes v small n bb will outgrow v fast... at most my boy boy wear his jie jie pink clothes at home lor...

my ger cannot even fit into her 12m ralph lauren polo tee when she is not even 7mths now... fedup... waste $$$... now can only pass to didi to wear... sigh

BabyS
warrau... Hanabi owned by ur aunt??? lol organise a makan there!.... their prices is okay for the buffet lar... kekeke... i used to have training at odeon towers n go for their buffet all the time.. love the sashimi

re: japanese food
sakae.. not really there.. but will do if really wan jap food...
i like hanabi, ikoi... hehehe... but my hb does not take raw food.. so v sian n now preggy so he also limit my intake...

welcome to the new mtbs in this thread too....

will try to post an update of the EDD listing later...

Hi Mummies....

Thread running very fast...

Reira: DOn't worry about putting on weight and look like Auntie. I put on 20kg during my 1st preg. Manage to slim within 2 mths.
I am like king kong size and just like u getting worried that my husband will be scared. But now i couldn't be bothered. Haha. But this time round i didn't put on alot. Maybe is just the 2nd trimester. Perhaps will increase slowly.... Not to worry too much. I had c section and did my massage on the 7th day already for 2 weeks. hehe. Very Kiasu.

RE: sugarcane and watermelon - I simply just eat but moderately. Nobody ask u to eat one whole watermelon. I have check with doctor and read that water melon actually is good. Check out this.
http://www.fitpregnancy.com/yourpregnancy/food_nutrition/watermelon-wonders-40726172.html

I just eat what i wanted to eat. I also drink sugarcane during my 1st pregnancy. But everything turns out to be ok. So as long as u don't over do it. I think is fine.

Weishy: Gender = girl - production close. haha ( whether is a girl or boy. My final... Haha

When I saw the clip of the child abuse, I cried immediately even though i saw only 22s and didn't even finish the whole clip. Emotional... Cos i depends alot on my maid. And I am going to engage another. Cos i am a lousy mama. I don't really know how to take care. Hehe. So my boy is very attached to the maid. I think taking a maid got pros n cons. Just treat them in humane manner also need not to treat them extremely well cos they will not appreciate what u have done for them at the end of the day. (Cos i have seen alot (used to own agency) so that just my little advice.

re: maid abuse clip
hmm.. dunno if there is anything wrong with me... i din feel anything for the kid woh...
sometimes we never see the whole picture so cannot comment looo... after all kids will be kids n will be naughty.. but the maid abit too much to kick n stomp on the kid lar...

see the clips liao even more sian to get a maid via the agencies here.. they all seem so irresponsible.. sigh... then get a siao ding dong maid even worse.. sigh...

Taslyn - It is always a risk. No choice. But usually i get from Phi rather fr Ind. Cos I find that usually whether maid abuse or child abuse or anything.. Usually maid are from Ind.

But the maid also don't have the right to kick the child. What happen if the child is hurt? Honestly what can the employer do except to report to police. ANd what happen? Charge the maid and jail. after 6 mths, the maid will be repatrated. Employers will be very troublesome and need to go and do the special pass and bring luggages and all the paper works. But the poor child will be traumatise liao.

Recently I had a friend whose maid went berserk after she went for her 6th mthly check up. WHen that maid came back she refuse to eat and drink. So she sent the maid back to the agency. The staff called and tell my friend that maid needs to be repatrated cos she is mentally ill. And her loan that my friend had paid will be forfeited. My gf never ill treat the maid. SHe said the maid is good but suddenly she become hysteria. Moreover if it is diagnose as hysteria, insurance don't cover hospitalization bills and it is very expensive to go to IMH. Well, now she still trying to nego with the agency to get back the outstanding loan that she had paid for the maid.

Taslyn wow u are still up at 3.54am.. For me i am having insomnia. I am on US timing I wont be able to sleep till like 8-9am. Wake up abt 2-3pm. SOmetimes kind of frustrating. Cos i am tired. but my mind just dun want to switch off...haha..

maid
one of my hubby friend's maid been with them for 18 years!! meaning that friend was only 3 when the maid joined them!

yoko
whoa! how did u manage to loss 20kg in 2 months?

Thanks to all who provide advice on sugar-cane juice.

I am having those dry coughs. Always have the urge to cough out hard, even though no phlegm or anything. I think my bb must have felt a straong earthquake whenever i cough..heehee.

Didn't buy anything. But was visiting the Ralph Lauren website, thinking of joining a spree and getting some items for my baby. Saw some nice stuff on the site.

Dear mothers or mothers-to-be, if you are looking for an experienced nanny, feel free to contact my mom by sending me a personal message.

My mom has a lot of experience taking care of children as well as newborn. willing to take care for day and night.

yen
did not get anything... i think i only looking at clothes and pram now... since other stuff can use #1's

waiting to see if there is any drugstore sprees coz wanna get teething tablets for my #1...

how is your weekend?
I went to marina square this weekend and saw pram and baby bed. my hubby and i planning to buy liao wor. hehe..

by the way..can i know how much nappy baby change a day? estimation?

Reira - I massage for 2 weeks after 8days of my c section. After i stopped my breast feed, I take doc prescribe slimming pills. Cheap and effective. But after i finish the course I stop. Then i control my diet... But this time round I think I will massage, pills and excercise (which I hated most) cos I find that after that I still have tyre around my waist. Hehe...

Jasmine - I think it depends. Cos my no 1 I use diapers till now. Never use nappy cos I find very troublesome.

Pram - Just personal feel.. At 1st I bought a pram. It is big and very comfy for baby. But just imagine if u are going out alone. It is very heavy. (Expensive and heavy) Later I bought a Japan made and that I can handle all by myself for opening and closing. Just imagine if u are alone, on one hand u need to carry baby and diaper bag. So another hand I can close the pram easily weigh abt 4kg. SO now I have 2 prams.