(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

I just went for my detailed scan on saturday and gynae told me that baby is normal & fine and I am having a girl!

Here are the details of me and baby to be added into the list:

Nick: fptt
EDD: 15 August 09
Gynae: Dr Christopher Chong
Hospital: Mount Alvernia
# of Child: 1
Gender of current: -

Went for detailed scan in MtA last Friday.

The bill goes to my gynae office directly, so I dont have to pay when I'm in MtA
My doctor charge me $85 for it though. (I thought most mums here paid $100+)
The scan report comes with many pics printed on a X-ray type of film which the dr allow us to keep

the strange thing though is that the Sonography at MtA asked my dh to wait outside the room until she finish taking the measurements. She say she will show us after taking the measurement.
My dh blur blur thought that I'm changing, so he cannot go in, until 15 minutes later he realised that this IS THE detailed scan already and knocked the door to go it.
My dh flew back to SG specially to see the scan and he missed half of it.

BB was moving too much during the scan and cannot really count the fingers or toes. Manage to capture his nose and mouth though. Big nose and thick lips like dh.

RE: Baby movements

I just went to the gynae a few hours ago cos I suddenly noticed a drop in movements. :p Like what Jul has mentioned if not for the fact that I had experienced lots of movements before, I will not be so concerned lah. But in any case, baby is fine.

ANyway gynae shared with me that baby inside can have a longer "day" e.g. they might be sleeping for 15 hours and awake for 15 hours - not the 24 hour day that we experience so sometimes you might notice there is a prolonged period where there is lesser actions. But don't worry, there is no cause for alarm at our stage.

He also reassured me that I am still early in hy pregnancy 19-20 weeks so movements can be very sporadic. Aiyah I got concerned because he was very active on saturday - kicked me literally the whole day then suddenly very little movements yesterday and today. But then when I see him move on the ultrasound machine, actually I also cannot feel it.

So wanted to share this timely experience with the other mommies, don't need to worry unnecessarily. :) I paid $$$ to have a peace of mind. Gynae also said I am the very anxious type - I corrected him and said that I am the paranoid type! hahhahaa

PJPJ
I went to show my hubby her pic hor... guess what he said? He was like "neh neh looks like hers ah?". wa kao!!!

BabyS
Haha I dont dare to show you my pic leh. i looks like panda more than scarlett johansson! she too pretty liao i must hide at one corner with my panda eyes!

fptt
congrats on baby girl!!!! princess is really precious in aug thread!! :D

adeline
congrats on knowing your baby's gender!!! =) I also need to watch my diet too cos last last check up I had quite high blood pressure as well as high sugar level. but last check up was fine *phew* lets work hard together!

mikko
thanks for sharing with us ur experience!! There are times i wanted to go to gynae just to see baby too. Then once i said out loud to my hubby that i am worried cos cant feel him and wonder if baby is still alive. then the same morning at work, baby made me vomit like hell!!!! whole day had fish oil smell in my mouth (even tho i went to brush teeth at work). now i very scared liao. even if i worried, i wont say it out loud. lol

Now, I just need to wait till the day when i can finally feel my baby's kick! till now i am still blur blur cant feel =(

Adeline & fptt

Congrats on knowing the gender.

kikilala

Er... Mt A charges is so cheap. Thomson charge $110+. Strange why they ask yr hubby to stay outside but not thomson leh.

Hey Mikko, thanks for sharing. I'm new here and I wish I had logged onto this Forum earlier then I wouldn't have been so panicked about baby movements either! Last week I was so scared because I hadn't felt the baby move for more than 1 day. Went back emergency to see my gynae at TMC- luckily she was around to see another patient. She said the same thing as your gynae. She also said that sometimes when we're too tired, we can't feel the baby so well either. We can lie down and give the baby more space to move - and poke your belly a bit to see if it responds within 30 mins or so. She said only after 28 weeks, we're supposed to feel the baby move at least 10 times a day. Paid so much money for peace of mind - we're going to deduct from baby's pocket money. Haha! :p But we found out we're going to have a boy!

hi Julia & Reira,

Glad it helps.

Congrats, Julia on your baby boy.

Btw, seems that there are a lot of baby boys for the month of August.

babyjon,

This is the Singapore Childhood Immunization Schedule.

<table border=1><tr><td> Child age</TD><TD> Vaccine (protects against) </TD></TR><TR><TD>At birth</TD><TD>BCG (Tuberculosis) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Hepatitis B - 1st dose (Hepatitis B) </TD></TR><TR><TD>1 month</TD><TD>Hepatitis B - 2nd dose (Hepatitis B) </TD></TR><TR><TD>3 months</TD><TD>DPT - 1st dose (Diphtheria, pertussis and tetanus) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Polio vaccine - 1st dose (Poliomyelitis) </TD></TR><TR><TD>4 months</TD><TD>DPT - 2nd dose (Diphtheria, pertussis and tetanus) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Polio vaccine - 2nd dose (Poliomyelitis) </TD></TR><TR><TD>5 months</TD><TD>DPT - 3rd dose (Diphtheria, pertussis and tetanus) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Polio vaccine - 3rd dose (Poliomyelitis) </TD></TR><TR><TD>5 - 6 months</TD><TD>Hepatitis B - 3rd dose (Hepatitis B) </TD></TR><TR><TD>18 months</TD><TD>DPT - 1st booster (Diphtheria, pertussis and tetanus) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Polio vaccine - 1st booster (Poliomyelitis) </TD></TR><TR><TD>1 - 2 years</TD><TD>MMR - primary dose (Measles, mumps and rubella) </TD></TR><TR><TD>6 - 7 years</TD><TD>DPT/DT - 2nd booster (Diphtheria and tetanus) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Polio vaccine - 2nd booster (Poliomyelitis) </TD></TR><TR><TD>11 - 12 years</TD><TD>DPT/DT - 3rd booster (Diphtheria and tetanus) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Polio vaccine - 3rd booster (Poliomyelitis) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>MMR - booster dose (Measles, mumps and rubella)</td></tr></table>

Last mth, i brought my 18 mths old son to PD, she told me it is his last injection already, the rest have to wait until he is P1.

wow..it seems that there are a lot of boys in Aug..

yah..i agree that it is very xian to look into my wardrobe nowadays...nothing nice to wear...now still wearing clothes from previous preg...cannot wear pre-preg clothes liao..tummy really big..

kikilala,

You are in Shanghai now? Don't worry too much about babay movement, maybe the baby jerks and jolts not strong enough for you to feel.

Also at certain time baby could be less active.

Fat bobo,

Re : Baby Movement

Maybe you are not sure that what you are feeling is actually your baby. As your baby grows, you'll be able to better distinguish his or her movements.

kikilala,

Just read your post, and you are in Beijing now.

Can i check with you, until which week we are not allowed to take plane?

kikilala,

To what i know also, in TMC the bb first jab (Hep-B) also given outside delivery room, but in RH, they given immediately in the delivery room.

adeline, why do u have to watch ur diet?

PJPJ: Hee.. yeah maybe.. i've booked my classes and they start 1st week of may, on tuesday evenings..

Mich: yeah i know.. i booked 2 bedder, didnt want to book 1 bedder justin case suay suay got complications (but of course praying against that).. and i have a church friend working in Mt A, hopefully he can upgrade me! hahaha...

seem like so many mummies here are worri about bb movements, i m one of them ,i already 20 weeks already yet still cannot feel bb movements yet,tho last wed detail scan show my princess is very active in my tum tum,but now aday the gynae said everything look good so need to see him only once a mth,which seem like very long to me...

Morning Mummies

Re : Baby Movement

Think I have another active baby. Yesterday night and midnite she has been v active. Keep kicking exactly the same as #1.....

Julia

Welcome and congrats on knowing the gender. Wow so many boys in this thread.

Mashy

Same same. Heard gal will be more active in the tummy compare to boy. Don't know is it true.

Cos I have a few friends pregnant with boy, their movement not so much compare to me.

Imagine my no 1 kick almost 200 over times in 8 hrs. Faint....

Thanks for all the well wishes ladies..

Doc told me based on my height and my weight before BB... i should only put on 10kg.. and I am almost there already.. and i have not even reach my 3rd tri...
He told me to cut back on Carbo...
i think i will be very grouchy .. cos i cannot eat what i want..

BB Boys - i went to look at some baby clothes yesterday and noticed that not much selection for boys.. girls got so much more accessories..
But it think i will some baby stuff online.. they seem to have a better variety..

SL : waa 200 times he inside disco , heehee

I now also dunno it kick or dun kick as sometime can hv a little feeling but dunno is it the kicking feeling

adeline

u can try eating brown rice, and wholemeal bread instead of normal white rice &amp; white bread.

When i had my boy, I was also eating a lot of carbo. Somehow he only wanted carbo. Same now that he's 3, he's still on a mainly carbo diet coz he doesn't like meat or vege.

bean

haha, i think you're still at the very initial stages. When the bb kicks, u will know for sure. It's not really fun. The only enjoyment is at the beginning when we see the bb move for the first time. After that, it's just a painful experience for me.

Bean

Ya lor dancing in my tummy. She is also v active now. So u can imagine.

I agreed with mashy.... Sometime they can kick till we are breathless.

Shirley: It depends on the airline u are travelling with. From what I understand, SQ allows u to fly up to 35 weeks. For my last preg, I took my last flight from SH back to Singapore in my 34 weeks. But I understand for MAS, I think it is 32 weeks. So u need to check with the airline u are travelling with. Of course, always carry ur gynae's letter to prove which week of preg u are in.

Shirley :
Thanks so much for the Singapore Childhood Immunization Schedule.
======
I also every time panic when cant feel baby movement, n0w can rest my mind.
=====
congrats all mummies who already know the gender.

tinkabel,

Thanks for the info, i am thinking to go to KL to eat the 'black hok kien mee" before i give birth my #2 hahahaha 贪吃

babyjon,

No problem, after your bb had all the jab, the clinic will issue to a "certificate" to your son. The copy is important when you need to send your child to sch in future.

adeline: oh...

my colleague is 17 weeks preggie now, but her tummy is flat leh!! she says she hasnt put on any weight and her tummy is still flat...

then she see me, 21 weeks and tummy so bad she panick..

any one's tummy flat still at 17 weeks?

Mashy

Thanks for the advise..

But i like heavier flavoured food... cos my taste butt seems to have lost its sense of tast.. so i have cravings for Wanton mee.. chicken rice...
dun know how to cut back...

adeline: i know how u feel.....

i am already overweight b4 preggie.. i havent put on too much weight yet, but i also have to watch my diet.. but I also tend to eat more strong flavoured food, esp fast food... need to make stronger attempts to cut back...

adeline

haha, i also have craving for chicken rice. So u just eat more meat and less rice/noodles. It's the carbo that makes us put on weight.

morning ladies

Shirley, some airlines forbid expectant mothers to take from week 32 and other at week 36 without insurance.

bean

Your baby wana give u a surprise that why don't let u know 1st.

Babys

I have a friend pregnant at 20 wks the tummy still flat leh. Can't even tell she is pregnant.

To avoid putting on weight, take more proteins, vegetables and fruits. Also avoid too much milk, dairy products and sweet stuff, all these will make you gain more weight.

Talking abt bumps ... i just found out my tummy is growing again
Today was wearing this shirt &amp; skirt which i haven't been wearing since 2 wks ago ... when i look in the mirror sideway, the bump is bigger!

mashy,
me also, hungry all the time. I put on like 3kg in the last week *shocked*, finally tummy showing a bit - was worried over the past few weeks that only FATS showing :p

BTW gals,
do you know where sells cheap cot bedding set - i'm looking for matching set that contains fitted sheets, bumper, pillow &amp; bolster case. no need comforter set though.