(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

hello mummies..

I also had my detailed scan today..

baby is 324gms at week 20, all is well (except the amniotic fluid levels.. slightly below boderline but my gynae says its sufficient for baby for now, will monitor.. (he says usually they dont monitor. maybe the sonographer just saw tat it was a bit low, so measure for me...)

baby's hand was everywhere except in places where we could see. so comfortable, one under head the other under chin.. gender wise, baby's legs were tightly together, the more we shake tummy, change position and coax, baby become more stubborn and even cross legs!
had to go out, eat something and walk for 10
mins and then go back..

when we went back, found out baby listen to me and flipped onto back (previously on tummy)... counted the fingers.. and baby opened up legs.. and we saw a line!! Its a baby girl!!

hubby and i were so shocked, we asked sonographer to confirm 3 times.. and then my church friend who was head of the dept came in and check over for us again. She also confirm its a girl!

Hasnt really sanked into us yet, cos everyone was so convinced i was having a boy.. even myself!! but yeah, baby girl means can buy pretty pretty clothing and accessories!!!

BabyS:congrats!!!!!!!!!!yup u can start buyign already bt not too much cos they grow super fast
but its good cos u hv some much choices compared to boys

babys, congrats on your princess! It also took me awhile to sink in the fact, but nw I am loving the fact that I am having a gal..hehe...can start shopping le! I think I bought enough clothes le...lol...

Actually when I had my #1 I also gain about 20kg in total …..

After given birth I only able to slim down about 12kg, still carrying 8kg with me. Most of them telling me that breastfeeding will slim down, but not for my case. My MIL said I am breastfeeding must eat more cannot on diet, this could be the reason I cannot slim down hahahaha

Re : circumsize

When I had my #1 (boy) I did plan to go for it, but my husband disagree to go with it, so now, we have to help to push back my boy foreskin and clean his ‘gu gu bird’.

PLEASE DO NOT DO TRY TO PUSH BACK BABY BOY FORESKIN HOR……….. we only started when my boy had his 12 mths assessment check up, the PD thought us to do it \b(only when he is 12 month or older ok after confirmed with your PD)

I told my husband if we circumsize our baby, we will not have to worry when he is older, will my boy clean it properly or not, because some of the boy very lazy to do that…. End up very smelly de….

morning ladies

wow - shirley, your calculator is quite accurate.

babyS - congrats!! (i m droooling!!!) wow..dint know for girls, can see a 'line' and pick it up as the correct gender. very happy for you.

Sharon - me too, have MIA for a while, totally caught up at work. 4kg is q alot (see the calculator that Shirley shared). so gotta manage a little. btw, i dont have the brown line at all..

some sharings.. yesterday, i went to Bugis Junction and a couple walked by. the girl was heavily pregnant, my best guess is that she was 8 mths pregnant. she wore the sleeveless blouse, alittle body-hugging and it revealed almost half of her tummy. i wonder if her bb felt cold and exposed inside..jokes aside - it really didnt look nice at all, esp when the shorts she was wearing hung way below her waistline beneath her tummy.

babys, congratz on your princess and also good to know your baby is doing well ^^.

During pregnancy, our body produces an increasing amount of amniotic fluid until about 28 to 32 weeks, so not too worry about it, but still have to continue to monitor the level ok :D.

shirley - how old is your baby boy now? my son is 2.5 years old, and startng to be aware of his environment and he is able to express and understand alot of things.. in a dilemma whether to do circumcision for him liao, heartpain.

congrats Cherrios! realise you also have come to know your bb gender!
so much for the suspense!

me on the 18th week..

<font color="0000ff">morning, anybody in yet?

shirley,
tks for the calculator, think i gained the minimum weight all credit to my terrible MS :p

donkeymami,
nvrmind hope your next appt with gynae,your bb will open his/her legs wide wide ok ;)

yen,
dun worry you can shed off the extra weight after give birth

babys,
congrats on your ger ger!</font>

fjm, my boy is 18 mths now, when we remove his diaper he hand will start to pull his 'gu gu bird' and telling us "bird bird"...
also cannot cirumcize liao..

Celine, no problem. Even I had terrible MS, but my weight already catching up..

i m looking fwd to knowing my bb's weight (other than length / height) as it will mark the start of the counting down process. wow, babyS's baby is >300g liao.. cool! it is very exciting.. sometimes, baby will experience growth spurt (esp nearer to delivery) and suddenly gain 500g..else at normal times, it may just be 100-200g...thereabout. hope i can start to know more details about my baby in 2 weeks' time!

<font color="0000ff">shirley,
dun care lah just eat, my MS gone so appetite improving so if got craving I will also eat :p</font>

thanks everyone!

the detailed scan really wuite amazing leh.. so clear..

but we spent almost 1.5 hrs doing it leh! cos baby was lying face down lor.. and cannot see hands cos baby playing with it, like praying like that..

During my 10 min interval, we went to eat (i think baby hungry wor..haha), i told baby to turn over.. and baby listen to mummy! really turn over!

and so cute to see the legs tightly closed and crossed.. so what they say is true, baby girls are indeed shy! hahaha.. good, modesty is good... hahaha

fjm, yeah, amazing to see their growth.. but now baby is 300 plus grams, imagine baby has 5 months more to grow to times 10 that weight..

anything i can do to increase amniotic fluids? its not baby's kidneys, blood flow is ok and i am not leaking fluids..

hahaha Celine ya dun care, yesterday i bought 3 packet of durian from carrefour, i ate two packet, and left 1 packet for my family members :p

<font color="0000ff">babys,
maybe you can call up yr gynae to ask how to increase amniotic fluid or is it any serious concern?

shirley,
i would like to eat Cat Mountain durians too but now "speechless" so got to wait till recovery

Morning Ladies

So much post to catch up. Was on urgent leave yesterday as my gal was sick.

Congrats to those mummies who know the gender of the baby....

And those who are sick. Take care. Weather is terrible recently making so many ppl falling sick.

Hi Tas

Regarding to the DOG BOARDING, my hb is in Pet industry. He has one to recommend at Yio Chu Kang. Interested pls PM me and provide u with the contact.

Jul
Calling out for jul!!!!! Your email have exceeded its quota!!!

SL
Hi SL! Does your hubby happen to know a good and affordable cat boarding for 2 cats? Possibly in the west/central area.

I need to board 2 cats in Aug lol *now research first* hopefully 2 cats for 2 months will be roughly $1000 or lower (thats the price I got from "Pet Hotel")

Thanks! =)

babyS / Celine - yes, should check w gynae see how one can potentially increase the amniotic fluids. i just heard from my mother a friend of hers due on 22 May 09 already ordered on bedrest cos amniotic fluids is low/not enough and to expect premature baby..err, it is 2 mths early lo. though possible, preferably not, cos baby has to be hospitalised generally. we have got to be careful.

during my #1, my amniotic fluids hit about 4.4 (i think) and did not increase further. my gynae told me that even if baby remains in me, there is unlikely to be any further growth, so suggested that i could choose a 'date' already for delivery. thanks goodness i was already full term, due 9 Sep and when she told me about it, i was about less than a week before that. fyi.

my eye-lid is swollen like dun know wat...haiz

and sucks...i swallow a bit of the eye-drop yesterday

today just went down to clinic to get a second opinion on the ey-drop if it's harmful to bb...
and the doc said she dun prescibe eye-drop to preggis cos of the potential of swallowing the eye-drop when it flow back to the throat...
so she said i just use the eye-cream instead...

wonder if any harm done to bb?

saw PIS at JL, was $749.

have 2 gals, #1 just turned 3, #2 abt 16mths. age gap between the 3 is abt 22mths each

Still dunno what the gender is for #3...but for my 1st 2, they were quite cooperative, open legs wide and can see "hamburger" :p

<font color="0000ff">cloudme,
alittle bit should be ok...

claire,
wow, you same as mich got 3 kids first 2 are gals too!

<font color="0000ff">shirley,

ya shirley, i started with a bad cough, then become bronchitis now cough until my voice become coarse.

weishy
about circumsize. Yeah, I also told my hubby that muslims boys all done that. But then... my hubby reply me w ith "is our boy muslim?" *faints* Then he donno read from where that it is not good cos donno what veins gets cut off (veins that attach with the foreskin).

If we go and ask gynae, she should be able to tell us hor? or PD?

BabyS
Congrats!!!! I guess girl girl tends to be more shy!! Unlike my boy open so wide... I was very shock too when I learned that baby is a boy (still upset cos cant buy lace lace clothes ;_;) But ok lah, can always aim for #2. :D

Shirley
Totally agree!!! My hubby is a good real life example wakaka... so smelly... *faints* the thing is my MIL or whoever took care of my hubby when he was small, never taught him to pull back and wash leh... then ended up he was always in pain when we do "it" (for about a year). But I guess if you teach your boy since young, it will be his routine bah (like brush teeth, shower).

Reira,

My hubby also told me that my MIL also never teach him to push back and clean it. He said he realised it when he was in Sec sch some of the boy can see the head, so from that day onwards, he start to slowly push back and clean it. He said the initial stage hor very very pain and also very smelly....

<font color="0000ff">reira,
you need to ask PD

you damn funny leh say your hb smelly! haha...but i also faced similar experience when we "do" it initially. But I think I will teach my boy to push back and clean when bigger...</font>

re: circumcision

Parents sometimes want their son circumcised because they think that the uncircumcised penis is too hard to take care of and keep clean. This is not true. The uncircumcised or intact penis is relatively easy to take care. In fact, until the foreskin begins to retract, no special care is required. Once the foreskin does retract, you, or your child once he is old enough, can just gently retract the foreskin, clean the head of the penis with soap and water, rinse, and then pull the foreskin back over the head of the penis.

Another reason is that there 'are medical benefits for being circumcised', including a lower risk of urinary tract infections, penile cancer and sexually transmitted diseases. Most studies do show that uncircumcised male infants have about a 10 fold increase in UTIs, but the overall risk of an uncircumcised male infant getting a UTI is relatively low, only about 1%. Penile cancer is also more common in uncircumcised men, but this type of cancer is very rare anyway. And there is also a "small correlation between the uncircumcised male and risk for STDs".1

While these medical conditions seem to support circumcision, the American Academy of Pediatrics states that "almost all uncircumcised boys can be taught proper hygiene that can lower their chances of getting infections, cancer of the penis, and sexually transmitted diseases".2

Other conditions that only occur in uncircumcised males and which can sometimes require a later circumcision include infections of the foreskin, phimosis (inability to retract the foreskin) and paraphimosis (inability to pull the foreskin back over the head of the penis after it has been retracted).

It is also important to look at the reasons not to have a circumcision, including the risk of bleeding, pain from the procedure, infection, injury to the head of the penis, and penile sensation deficits. Children who are circumcised are also at increased risk of meatitis, or inflammation of the urethral opening.

so conclusion, it depends on the parents, medically, it's not necessary.

hmm the other thing is when the foreskin is removed, the head become less sensitive as it always rub against underwear, so may be more difficult to arouse.

on the other hand, over sensitive will be more likely to have premature ejaculation (at least for the first few times)

hubby refuse the idea of circumcision - he was like going OUCH at the thought of a knife near the private parts. think most men will feel that way :p

<font color="0000ff">babymaking,
how are you?

dun say yr hb...at the thot of a knife near my darling son's private part I will go OUCH OUCH OUCH</font>

Ladies:tats why doing it earlier would be better cos they wont know the pain yet.....the later it is the more painful for them....had firends doing it when adults....its "ouch ouch ouch "
all men will feel uneasy about it cos they already know the pain....but its relaly individual la...cos hubby's foreskin abit to the long side so....i decided to do it for bb.....

hi celine
better nowadays but flucatuates from day to day. today is a very wet morning, nice and cooling.

weishy
yeah, the jews do it within 8 days of baby's birth as it's proven that baby do not know the concept of pain and his immune system is the strongest then.

bbmaking &amp; weishy, are you all sure that bb does not know the pain. When I saw then draw blood from Kai on day 2 to test for jaundice level, Kai was crying when they poke him with the needle. So I think they can still feel the pain.

shirley
waa atleast ur hubby "zi dong" leh. mine hor... didnt know about it till like 24 years old lol wa kaoz!!! then when we first did "it" he finally realised weird that it was painful hahaha... ok not to mention he never pull back to clean until last year i started making him to clean when he shower lol but hor, donno why even if wash daily... still smelly leh (like during wash can smell....)

celine
haha true mah! oh! so my hubby is not the only one! :D funny hor... before they were virgin and use their hands... how come they never realised it is painful *shrug*

babymaking
Just wondering why is there higher risk of STD if boy is uncircumcised? o_o

weishy
how do we know hubby's foreskin is to the long side ah? =x like can measure one?
when i told my hubby that i want boy boy to be circumsized hor, he said he also wanna do it lol else boy boy might find it weird how come daddy's is different. but then he said will be in pain for 1 month for adult o-o

Haiz... My gynae's clinic staff just called me to let me know of the blood test result. Quite heartbreaking that she said I got minor thalassemia. luckily that my hubby is normal since even if baby got minor thalassemia from me, it wont be life threatening. But still makes me cry... Gotta go and research what is the A &amp; B type.

Totally didnt expect that since I've always been healthy girl who don't get sick easily!

shirley
hahaha. sorry ah if i am too direct >_<

reira
that's the research study done by some american society, taken from 1 Lerman, Steven E, MD, Neonatal Circumcision: The Pediatric Clinics of North America: Vol 48 No 6 December 2001

the link is here http://pediatrics.about.com/cs/weeklyquestion/a/022002_ask.htm

pris,
during circumsision, they will still use a local anast. actually in the US, most doc used a local or numbing agent before they draw blood from babies, but not so in singapore. wonder why? too leh cheh?

weishy

Thanks hor. Ask ur PD abt the circumcision liao share with us ah?

babymaking

Feeling better? Hope u have been taking care not to move ard too much.

Wah ur explanation so cheem. But it doesn't say exactly what circumcision does. I know it cuts, but cut what? Cut the whole foreskin?