(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

talking abt that..

do ur kids really sit down and watch those shows???????? mine's running in the living room most of the time when we onz the show leh? he will stop n look whenever the music interests him, otherwise he's off running with his stroller/shopping cart oredi.. the onli time he sat down was when he's confined to highchair during mealtime.

mashy
errr mine started with bb einstein.. promoted to wheels on the bus (tried other stuffs like brainy bb.. dun like much... lil einstein, thomas.. too much talking for him... elmo.. dun like alot oso...), i just bought mickey mouse clubhouse dvds.. dunno whether he will like

mashy
abt thomas hor, i dun think my boy knows thomas the engine as what it is leh... he seems to know thomas coz of its wheels (round)

smurfy, it is perfectly normal for a 2 yr old not to sit down and watch shows. My girl only started sitting down and watching intently closer to 3 yrs old.

Just came back from Dr and shopping.

Baby is growing well and active.

Mich, when the playtex sale is on, let me know. Need to pump in the 1st 2 weeks to establish milk supply, dun think I can latch on all the time now with my older boy.

Reira, have you find out the total cost of PIS Advanced and Freestyle when we do bulk purchase from US? DH is comparing price, if PIS Advanced is much cheaper here, he is going to get it here and bring it back for me when he is in Singapore for my delivery and I will still have the Australia Warranty for a year.

Hi mummies, once again trying to catch up the conversations... a very hectic week for me as boss away and fellow colleague on MC and poor me covering for all...siaznzzz....

Reira, the sonographer took alotta pics on different parts of my gal and every hands and legs etc and yes all pics will be given to us according to her...on the spot she printed 2 pics for me..very nice lady and i din note down her name...*blur*

~ still reading 18 Mar archive~*

pris, congrats that all is well! Yup, I'll keep you guys posted on the playtex spree. Gonna look out for it these few weeks.

mich

oh yeh, they're so expensive. i think i've at least $1k worth of Thomas & shinkansen toys at home.

smurfy
maye your boy still young. My boy also started watching when he's abt 2.5.

I bought leapfrog dvds from towers.com. Maybe u can try. He learnt his alphabets & phonics from there. Great learning tool and he still loves watching them.

My boy started off not knowing what thomas is too coz he plays with THomas & shinkasens together. But later i was surprised that he even knew Percy! He pointed to Percy on my picnic mat and said 'Percy'.

Re: boys toys
my boy like thomas and bob when he was 1yo plus. Thou he also like watching Little Einstein and Diego now but he prefer those Ben10, spiderman more :p

smurfy,
my boy will only sit still if he like the cartoon. But surprisingly he can watch a complete movie. We brought him to watch afew in cinemas b4.

mashy
i got that leapfrog dvds leh, but he dun seems interested... somehow he's still in his baby einstein shows? and the wheels on the bus onli?

celine

wow, all the big boys' shows. My boy is still a little bb.

pris
Great news!

mashy,
my boy also love leapfrog letter factory even till now.

you are right, I think I also have at least spent afortune on my boy's toys such as thomas, ben10, transformer, bob at home. If #2 is a boy is definitely a advantage to me haha..

But nowadays gals & boys toys are all not cheap lah.

smurfy

maybe can reintroduce after a few mths when he's older.

I tried introducing bb einstein to my boy when he was younger, but he wasn't interested in it at all. He looks at it a while, gets bored and runs off.

Just came back from Dr and shopping.

Baby is growing well and active.

Mich, when the playtex sale is on, let me know. Need to pump in the 1st 2 weeks to establish milk supply, dun think I can latch on all the time now with my older boy.

Reira, have you find out the total cost of PIS Advanced and Freestyle when we do bulk purchase from US? DH is comparing price, if PIS Advanced is much cheaper here, he is going to get it here and bring it back for me when he is in Singapore for my delivery and I will still have the Australia Warranty for a year.

reira

Thanks! Got them liao. Hmm.. so I just tranfer to you the balance? Er.. but I forgot ur acct no. Lemme go try to find..

Pris

That's gd news. Dunno why I'm aws v happy when I hear gd news from the other MTBs. Somehow got collective "good vibes" or something haha. Silly hor?

Mashy, haahaa, thomas and shinkansen is a fortunate. Now I am making him save for his own miniature trains, model planes. He is into remode control choppers, racing cars and he can control better than his dad and me.

Celine, as they grow bigger, they are more interested in adult movies, my boy started on spiderman and some other movies when he was like 2.5 yrs old and watch through them. Now he is watching documentaries on Hilters, mystery of the pyramids and just asked dh earlier when can he visit Egypt and Israel. Hard to predict boys haahaa.

celine/mashy
at what age ur kids like leapfrod dvds ar? i got bring them out to let him see occasionally when in my mil's place.. but he onli ask for bb einstein there again.. sianz..

celine
if u say ur boy is chao lao.. then mine's really a silly boy

mashy/celine
u girls spent a fortune on their toys. but at least they play them right?? mine's left to collect dust leh?? everyday cheong stroller/shopping cart onli. then go take some real plates n cups to play.. he even take my mum's cans of food (abalone, clams, soups bases) and put inside his stroller... all the toys is like soooo wasted on him.. even thomas the engine train tracks right? he dun run them on the track, he just take the train and runs besides the sofa or our bed.

pris,
I am soooo GLAD to hear your boy also like watching the same stuffs as my boy. For a moment I thot he is weird leh :p Yes he watched spiderman, Meet the Robinsons, etc when he was 2.5 yrs old. Wow I cannot imagine my boy ask me to watch Hilters haha..now once a while he watched those documentaries on animals/insects

smurfy

hahah, then u can save money... Just open up the kitchen for him to play. My boy also runs his trains off the trains. They'll move from room to room.

I can't remember exactly when he started watch leapfrog. I think when he was abt 1yr old, i got a free leapfrog dvd from buying the word whammer. He wasn't very keen at first. THink maybe abt 18mths? Then i decided to get a whole set of leapfrog dvds for him. He's been watching them ever since.

Celine, I am having another prince. Kai is happy with it but he still wants 2 more meimei.

Smurfy, kai started on Leapfrog DVDs at 2 yr old.

Pris

Not yet leh. Hope her BT is ok.

smurfy

Couple of days back she was posting that she was gog out on wheelchair to min walking right? Guess she can't sit up & use the computer for so long also.

smurfy,
i bought the leapfrog dvd for him since he was 2 and he watch it occasionally. So i guess you just have to play to him once a while.

yours silly boy? no lah yours still young 25 months only.

nope...the thomas sets are all left to collect dust too, he once a blue moon open the store room see the box then will request to bring out to play again. Now he is intersted with his transformer and handheld game.

Re: PLaytex milk bags

Saw from the link that these are bottle liners. What does it mean? I tot they were milk storage bags?

pris,
same as me! I think I am having another prince but my boy want another meimei. See first... dunno will be shacked out by two of them by then and I am not young anymore.

Pris
Roughly this is the price

In USD:
Freestyle --- $285 (SGD $530 +/- depends on exchange rate & vPOST charge)
Pump In Style Advanced (either backpack or shoulder bag model) --- $215 (SGD $420 +/-)
Pump In Style Advanced Metro --- $245 (SGD $470 +/-)

I will only be buying maybe around June/ July bah. Now too early already. Dont wanna buy it and collect dust hehe

mashy/pris/celine
thanks..let me try the leapfrog again this weekend. i got the words whammer oso... he oso not interested.
.. i even bought him a little tikes playkitchen for his birthday thinking he will like it... he onli occasionally cooks up some dishes n wash the plates before dashing off with his shopping cart again.
.. i just hope all these toys can be of full use for #2.

pris
congrats on having a boy. can save on clothes kekekee

Actually now toys are the least of my concerns.. I am trying to figure out what is wipes, pumps, etc etc...

I figure the relatives will be buying the toys. But I'm quite wary of ending up with useless toys too. They take up all the space & gather dust in the hse.

JAsmine,
hahah so now u know who i am keke.. i find ur nick familiar took me so long be4 i remember keke..
so coincident we both havin an Aug baby
ur EDD v near mine also if not wrong mine is 19 Aug:p

re: BF

I was told that BM will start coming after only 2 or 3 days after birth hor? In the meantime, what do BBs live on?

Smurfy, everything that is preowned from my #1 has been given away from mil. So nothing left, including my old PIS.

Anyway, my neighbour here just gave me 7 big bags of bb clothing from 0 months to 1 yr old. And a friend is passing me her baby cot and playpen when I am back in Singapore till year end before I leave, I return so not too bad. Dun have to bring baby cot for both sides.

reira,
actually now i trying to cut down on buying him toys. I dun want to spoil him so I discuss with my hb that if he want any toys now it will be on reward system, he got to achieve something b4 we buy for him :p

Jul,
you are very right, you must be a 1st time mummy!
Regarding the playtex liner bags it is similar to milk bags but another name because usually the liner bag is insert into milk bottle kinda of lining.

Jul, milk supply will start to come in on day 1, but need to pump to establish. So at the hospital I loan their pump to pump when bb is not with me.

pris
wat happeend to ur PIS????????? given away by ur mil as well? kekeke i need to do re-opening ceremony at least 2mths prior birth to make sure it's still functioning.. but i tempted to get freestyle oso.. 1 pump for work.. the other put at home

Pris, from the day we deliver till week 2? If got bad pump or no pump at all (latch on) then milk might not have a lot?

Atfirst I thought to buy after delivery leh... cos first few months will be home taking care of baby.

Jul, same! I am research about which wipes is cheapest, pump i will definately get freestyle *wants the bag* and today got another new on the list - breast milk storage bag!

For toys still dont really need to buy till baby is 1 year ++? Once baby reach the age then headache liao. My colleague told me, if you dont wanna buy any toys = dont bring kid out to shopping center. if you want to bring kid to shopping malls = will have to buy toy...

my colleague got a boy and girl... 5 and 9 yrs old... every month she spend like $200 ++ on toys/DVD ect leh... *faint ah*