(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

reira, besides Avent, I also use Playtex too. No lah, cannot be re-used. To warm up, put the bag into warm water or the baby bottle heater.

Jul, yup frozen BM smells funny... only babies will be willing to drink kekeke

pegsfur, because I have to tie a knot on top of the bag, so can't fill to the brim, so normally 1 bag can only hold 120ml of milk. To pump 120ml doesn't take very long with the PIS. Usually I pump 4 times/day, each pump 30 mins, each round 200ml.

MICH

Wow..your milk a lot wor.

===========

Hey, ppl, do you husband try your BM?

haha..i got friends who their husband does that. haha..

====================

jasmine, no lah, its considered average... I know some mums who can do more than 1 litre a day... my hb refuse to drink BM, he says its gross.

Jasmine,

I have a feeling my hubby will try to be kinky and lick/suck the milk directly from my breast!!

mich,
means last time you carried your Medela PIS back and forth from home to office and then after work bring it home again?

the freezer for putting BM can't be mixed with other stuff (meat, poultry etc) is it?

Mich

Is it? Cos I see like a lot..i don kw if I will have lots of it. haha..

=============================

Pegsfur / Mich

Trying to negotiate with my husband to drink it. haha..
Cos he's afraid of milk wor.. but I don think I dare to try also. Haha.

NICI, I didn't work for those pumping months, so didn't have to carry PIS back and forth. But yes my colleagues now carr the PIS back and forth daily.

You'll need to separate the BM from the other stuff like meat and poultry for hygiene purpose.

jasmine, when the supply is established, there should be enough to meet baby's demand. But have to work hard to establish the supply in the 1st month. I was latching direct 8-10 times a day the 1st 2 months. So when I turned to pumping, the supply was already there.

Why you want your hb to drink BM? Think better to save all that liquid gold for your baby

mich,
yah i was very diligently pumping. And I believe if we persist sure can. You know I even set alarm clock to wake up wee hours to pump milk. :p
my peak output is 1.5L heehee...

Celine, wow that's a lot. I only hv 1.2L max a day at my very peak... haha... Hopefully this time I can breastfeed equally long. I bf my #1 for abt 13.5 mths.

tinkabel,
i think becoz i drank alot of water hence i got so much supply :p But actually i abit lazy then i cut down my no. of pumping after i resumed work. Maybe for my #2 I will not cut down so fast so I can bf for 1.5years :p

it's been a long week. So glad the sch hols is ending soon.

mich
wow, u've a good supply. Hope i can be this diligent with my #1 running abt.

During the earlier stages of bf, I thought my EBM turned bad coz it smells funny. Hahaha. Actually threw it away. So wasted. Later than found out frozen EBM will smell like that.

and last time i was only using medela single thru out my 1 year of pumping becoz i keep thinking i will be stopping soon else I think my supply will be more.

this round my SIL will be passing her Medela PIS to me, hopefully I will yield more.

mashy, would be best to latch direct rather than pump esp if you are at home. Its very mah fan to pump I find, so much easier to stick baby on the boobs

mashy,
i am sad the sch hols ending leh...coz i cannot take leave early this week but will be taking a day off tmr to bring my boy out.

where did you bring your kid this week? I am thinking of brining him to the zoo or marina barrage.

celine, I went to the Marina Barrage and I really don't think there's anything interesting to see there... just a reservoir with a green roof.

mich

i just scared i kenna a lazy bb like C. He didn't even bother sucking. So have to pump to complement the latching. I was latching all the time with C, but he's just too lazy to suck and didn't bother crying for milk. sigh.

celine
nowhere actually. I kept asking him wanna go out to cycle, wanna go library. He refused. Preferred to stay at home to read books and play ball. His timing is very fixed, so can only go in the morn till lunch. He will take a nap for 3hrs. In the evening, his daddy will be back, so unless we go out to meet him, else difficult to bring him out too.

I don't dare bring him to marina barrage now coz heard there's a pool there. Don't think i wanna chase after him in water.

And he doesn't like the zoo. Weird boy. He prefers Underwater World but it's so crowded.

mashy, perhaps a lactation consultant could have helped "train" the baby to suck. The LC I saw said babies have to be taught.

prefer to stay at home is so much easier ha ha.

mich

I went to Mrs Wong initially at 2mths and she told me to give up, said i can bf again for my next bb.

i went to Yen Leng from KKH at 3mths to help me. By then, already too late to train him. I needed to express my milk. At least she was positive and taught me how to express manually, clear my ducts and increase my milk flow. Altho i didn't manage to bf him totally, but my bm increased gradually and i was still able to partially bf him till 8mths when i started work.

mich,
marina barrage - nothing much ar? then maybe i can try zoo since it has new facilities for kids.

mashy,
your kid very easy to handle leh. Mine hor wow if i am home he will want me to do this and that with him. Or sometimes will ask me to bring him out. Yday night, he insist i make cupcakes together with him so now I abit panda eyes :p

celine

mine is easy to handle at home. but once outside, he's a wild kid. Run all over the place.

At home i've to think of games to play with him and activities to do. TOday we used the spoon to carry his little balls from 1 basket to the other. So tiring for me. But he enjoyed it very much.

whahah u all talking abt peak BM output.. cannot remember how much is the peak per day.... is a lot but horrible to think of those days..

mashy
u have tried lor, can see.. frm the way u say u seen to LCs...Yan Ping frm KKH recommended me to see their Breast specialist... luckily my super hard breasts with mastitis then did not develop to breast abcess otherwise i supersad.. hahaha but the breast specialist gave me 1wk mc to rest and concentrate on massaging and clearing the breast

actually too much milk oso got a lot of problems leh... clogged ducts, engorgement..mastitis... etc

mashy,
mine even at home can behave like wild kid leh jump up and down! *sigh* He can only sit down quietly when he is playing computer games or his handheld game.

mashy, hopefully this round you can latch successfully! Pumping is really alot of work.

When your #2 is older, you won't have to be the one playing with C. Now my 2 girls will hide in 1 corner and play their own stuff. I only have to step in to break up fights.

smurfy

oh yes. Definitely tried my best. It was tough expressing the milk day in day out, and manually somemore. But managed to persevere till i started working. So very happy already. Altho i wish i could have bf him longer, but i guess that was the best i could go for him then. Now for this #2, I hope that i can bf longer now that i'm more experienced and knows what to do.

celine
u can try birdpark oso.. just went there last wk, like it more than zoo,a lot of places with fans underneath while u can view the birds.

celine

i don't allow my boy to play handheld game. I think it's very anti-social. He will also jump up and down and run abt, but at least at home, it's a controlled environment so i feel safer and just let him be so long as it's not too wild.

mich
can't wait for that to happen. just hope they don't fight too much.

RE: BM
wow! u ladies really have a lot of BM leh... heh. my max per day for my boy then was only 700+ml...haha not even enough to cover his day's feed. but then again...looks like having a lot of milk oso comes with its set of probs. =P

mich
i just saw the pics of ur Frozen EBM.. kekeke i even more kiasu... enclosed the bags in lock-lock box.. 12 bags to one lock-lock box.. not enough space, bring lock-lock boxes to my mil's house to store in their frezzer. :p

oh i remembered my peak output liao.. double than boy's intake... so was like 1.8l to 2l something like that.. but iwas very miserable then.. dunno how to stoppppp...

mashy..
u can do it this time round, coz u oredi so hardworking during ur #1's time.. for me, i am going reaaaaaaaaaalllllllllll easy... thinking of introducing FM once per day from 2nd month onwards :p

smurfy ha ha the boxes take up so much space. Think this round, you gotta buy a bigger fridge! So too much milk also another set of problem.

smurfy,
we went birdpark b4 nothing much leh the most intersting part will be the bird shows and the open area where the birds are free to land on you which freak me out coz too many! haha..

mashy,
i not too worry about my boy anti social coz he is too talkative and sociable :p so now i am training him to calm down and increase concentration. Anyone got any activities to share besides fixing puzzles?

re: BM
dun worry about too much milk, the prob that comes with it is just part and parcel of the process. I have plenty of engorgement and a severe mastitis but i think all worthwhile to persist.

re: latching
i failed in latching too, i hope this round i can latch on... but dunno my nipples ok or not leh.

mich
*whisper* tis time round, will not have problem ;).. me determined to intro some FM into her diet hahhhahahahhahaa..

oh i read abt u getting playtex. is it that good? i used lanionish (cannot remember spelling oredi). tot it is good enough.. and it can be zip-up lor (looks more compacted and easily stored)... like medela or baby1st or babysafe that are sold in sg departmental stall?

smurfy, ha ha, one feed of FM a day would make things easier for you

Yup, playtex is very sturdy, but of course its not as good as the ones with zip lock top. But I think those with the zip tops are super expensive.

jul
u never receive email ah? whats ur email? i sent 2 emails today wor...

breast milk storage
how much is playtex? sounds expensive wor... gotta go and research which is good and cheap liao. @_@

celine

err dunno where else u can bring ur boy (did not read the archive).. how old is ur boy?

1)science center (air-con and cheap, dun need to be afraid of sun or rain)
2)discovery center (aircon oso, but onli if ur boy is older.otherwise no point, dun understand)
3)Wildwildwet. escape theme park (WWW, kids r free tis week, i heard so)
4) jacobs ballas children garden (nothing exciting if u been there before)
5) farm visit... hay dairy goat farm, Qianhu fish farm, bollywood veggies)
6) the children's playground at pasir ris park
7) bukit timah hill (to waste his energy)
8) sungei buloh wetland reserves (i quite like this place)
9) kids kampong at pasir ris
10) animal resort at jalan kayu

mich
the lanonish is from the sprees here.. quite cheap and sturdy oso.. oh i remembered the sg departmental shops selling with zip lock is gerber brand. i think lanonish is equivalent to that.. muchhhhhhhh cheaperrrrrrrrrrrr

celine

hort park is a great place to go too. The playground is fantastic. my boy loves it there.

And my boy loves Ikea Tampines. Hahah. He loves to go there to climb the furniture, open and close the cupboards/drawers.

celine

hey, same as my boy! 05 or 06 kid?

I got those worksheets for him to do. Like trace the lines, mazes, colouring etc coz his fine motor skill is very weak.

For my boy, if he loves to do something, he can do it the whole day. can u imagine he can play with his trains whole day? When he wakes up from his nap, first thing he goes to is his trains. Now a bit better already. At least he'll play other stuff.

mashyyyyyyyyyyy
whahhaaha just been to ikea tampines last sun again... yeah... great place for kids coz they can do all the things disallowed by their parents at home.. hahahahahhaa

celine
farm visits, i dun call them leh.. these few places i went, i think dun need prior calls but u must be okie with the idea lor.... hot... smelly... hay dairy is specially smelly hor. they got milking session in the mornings.