(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

toe nails
i dont dare to let hubby cut my toe nails ah. he said when he cut his own finger nails, it hurts a bit but when i help him, it doesnt hurt... no skill one haha

mashy,

Just now on my way home, i saw this lady using a 'leash' on her boy. It reminds me of walking my dog but it seems to help her leh ... his son was walking in front of her, and she held on to the leash.

mashy

Actually I also think I wud prob "leash" my toddler haha. Like that easier to keep track when I bring it out. Esp for me, who can be very blur one.

reira
to begin with her weight gain is only 10kg.. so is not alot to begin with mah
my fren who tried MFB says they are very strict...

i tot of going too lar.. but dunno which company to go to.. some company jsut want u to sign expensive packages

mashy, have you trained him to play alone, but in a safe place. My ds play alot on his own from 3 onward so I could have time for housework.

For me, this pregnancy is tougher than when I have Kai so I sleep alot but he will come to check on me now and then. He loves to draw and read so he could read next to me on bed or draw at the table.

Also dh brings him for run and ball games during weekend and also sometimes to ikea ballroom and some indoor playground to release his energy.

jul,

That leash is very cute de ... they made it like a small backpack in the shape of a monkey, then the long tail is the leash where the mummy hold on to it. That boy seems to find it fun.

pegsfur

I got a little doggy backpack with a long 'tail'. But he refuses to even wear it.

My boy is very stubborn type. I think he will just sit down on the floor and don't move in protest or cry his heart out.

Just now I took away his lollipop for disobeying and he cried buckets. Even the nurses start to ask me why i take away his lollipop. sigh.

ya lor like london weight management. losing 10kg is like 10k liao. siao ah!

how much is MFB? they are very strict for food we consume is it?

mashy
keke... the kiddy store at my place sells these kiddy leashes.. which are very cute.. the leashes are in pattern of animals which is a bag while the child carries.. then the leash is the tail... v kawaii...

when the mum let go of the leash, the kid actually took the leash to the mum and ask her to hold the monkey's tail

My boy also super active now. Runs everywhere. Now his latest trick, learning how to do somersault. My goodness, he only 15.5 months. We hardly can leave him unattended now cos he learnt to climb up the sofa and try to do somersault there. Scary...

I used to use a leash on my boy when he was like 18 months since he liked to walk on his own in the mall. Think it is not common in Singapore, people will stare but here in Oz, it is very common to do that.

pris

can, he definitely can play alone. I also let him do that a lot at home. But once outside, it's all hell breaks loose. He's very odd. I also dunno whether to label him as an easy child or difficult child. Sometimes he's so easy, I really didn't need to do anything much. But when he's outside, he's like a wild boy. Only his daddy can manage him when he's outside. I hate to bring him out coz he'll just make me chase after him and touch everything he sees.

Oh, my boy doesn't care if i'm not even nearby. Last sat, we brought him to the mcdonald's for breakfast with our friends and their daughter. They went to the playground to play. My friends' daughter who's slightly younger, will come back and check on her parents every once a while. I think she came back prob 5-6 times during the entire period. My boy, none at all. And we were going to leave, he even cried and refused to leave. sigh. ANd this is despite us giving him ample warning that we're going home soon.

mashy,

Seems like your boy is those very energetic type .. have u tried sending to those play gym or go to playground with him to release his energy?

reira

my boy even did headstand and u know the army style? He will place his head on the mattress, lift up his bum and put his two hands behind his back. I think he's a born soldier.

mashy
hmmm u try coaxing him to bring the doggy out for walks?? i mean does he carry any bags? then for starters dun use the leash 1st.. let him be comfortable with the back le then start on the leashing part?

i think u got a very smart boy there... kids love to bully their mummies esp if mummies are SAHM...

pegsfur

Oh yes, it only lasted for that day. I put him in JWT Kids for 6mths before he turned 2 and after that i started him with playschool. SOmemore purposedly chose a school with a huge playground. He's still like that. Even with the new school, he also has outdoor time and he's still like that. Today is outdoor time, and he's still so active.

tas

yah, he carries a bag to school. I tried without a leash too, he also didn't like it. I think coz first time we tried it, he fell when we gave him a tug. He was racing with us to the escalator and he fell backwards when we tried to stop him. I think he remembers....

mashy, my boy is the type that will turn back to look to see whether we are there and we have always set a time limit for him so he knows his limit.

Tinkabel, wow, my boy only does somersault at gym or under his dad's supervision. Even when he goes to the playgroup like trying the fireman pole, he will ask for supervision, he is worried about hurting himself.

mashy,

My sis-in-law has 3 kids who are similar to your boy. They are ok at home, but once outside, the 3 of them went berserk and wld run around, touch this, touch that, inspite of the fact that sis-in-law is a very strict disciplinarian at home. My hubby said it was due to the fact tat sis-in-law seldom bring them out, making them abit like sua-gu ... everything outside is like new to them.

Er ... dun get offended hor .. i'm not saying your boy is sua-gu ah
Just happened tat my sis-in-law had the same prob as you, so i share it here.

pegsfur

Yes, I've seen thos animal leashes. I think they are very cute too. But I notice that in Spore, mostly Caucasians are using. Guess locals find it like walking a dog lor haha.

Hey next time u can walk ur dog & ur boy at the same time. So cute!

pris

that's why i say your boy very guai lor. My boy won't care if we're not within his sight. We tried to 'get rid' of him once and see how he reacts. He just continued playing by himself at the shopping mall. Didn't even bother looking up for us. We even said bye bye to him and went to a corner to hide. He just went on, bo chap.

mashy
i think he remember carrying the bag n u ugys tug thus he hates that bag liao

mb u can find the books/video by Super Nanny to find remedy for ur prob?

re:leashes
actually i think that it is a good idea to leash kids, this way, the kid cannot anyhow run and u dun need to go hunting..

pegsfur

We make it a point to bring him out every weekend. During the weekdays, he'll be in school anyway.

At this rate he's going, i don't even feel like wanting to bring him out coz it's just too tiring. sigh. But when my hb is home, we'll def take him out. Somehow, my hb tends to be able to cope with his enormous energy better when we're out.

Hi, saw the Isetan sale leaflet..got a medela mini elect pump, $ 198.90.
Is this considered cheap?
Mini means wat huh? less power = take longer time, isit?

mashy, my boy loves the water playground like the one at IMM and also west coast park. So I usually bring him to IMM water playground, let him play 1st then after that we go shop shop. He usually keeps his hands by his sides and asks before touching anything.

I bring him out straight after 1 month. But boys tends to have more free spirit, so we used sports to work with him haahaa.

Is it ok to get a hand down breast pump ?
My SIL had one which she say she hardly use it and now she has closed factory so she can can pass it to me, save $$
But my mum say these are all hygience stuff, better dun share and ask me to buy a new one myself...hmmm..
What shall I do ?

yen
it is a single pump lor.. mini = more compact. coz its suction power is not good and also the pumping actions is not rhythmic thus letdown may be slow. and coz it is a single pump, one side will leak when u pump the other.. to me, it is v mafan

imo, it is not really effective lar..

if got budget, aim for medela PISA or freestyle.

Dolce
u can get it from her.. just change the parts eg valves n stuff.. anyway u will be sterilising the pump components eg breastshields, bottles, tubes, and stands.. the expensive part is actually the motor..

u can get the stuff at sprees from mybreastfriend.com

yen,

I've bot the mini electric plus, it's the same as mini electric but its a double pump instead of single pump. For me, as i really do not know if i can breast feed for how long, so i dun mind not getting those powerful de. If i really wanna perservere, den will decide whether to get PIS or freestlye.

Oh ya, for isetan private sale, do cardmembers need to get the coupon for entry? Or just show card can enter le? Am asking cos they've given us 2 entry coupons ... sis & mum might wanna go.

pegsfur

U dun bully ur dog lah! She's so small, u want her to walk ur boy? hahaha I can umagine the funny sight liao