(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

babymaking
hey.. that leggy maternity shot is really nice.. but i wun be able to pull it off.. i got stumps for legs.. haha

i like the idea of this one:
http://pro.corbis.com/images/42-17343202.jpg?size=572&uid={6cc93045-b36f-43aa-ad4b-3ddbf6aa7be1}
putting an ultrasound pic of bb in front of tummy

sharon
a steriliser is worth buying coz u can sterilise many bottle at a time. unless u wan to do it the conventional method of boilign the bottles urself or use tablets kind. so in a way, it saves time and v convenient.

thanks taslyn,

so many kinds of steriliser....anyone has any recommendations?
tink alot of ppl using the philips avent one?
pigeon can be a steamer too?

mashy:
lol.. that is a smart way. 1 item 2 uses.
coz i use diff size bottles for diff things so i stick to the conventional bottle steriliser lor.
if mine kaput on me.. i know what to buy next time le

sharon..

ooops.. mine is philips one.. no pigeon.. lol.. think i not enuff sleep..

i think alot of pple use philips de coz people buy it when there is philips warehouse sales.. lol

i think most impt is to buy one which u think is the easier to use.
also to note some sterlisers can only hold the bottles of their brand. so must check this part out b4 u buy

taslyn

i think the boiling way is not good for the plastic bottles cause it cause some chemicals to leech to the contents.

sterliser works by steaming so the same doesn't happen.

babymaking:
tell mi abt it... my mil thinks boiling is good.. say steriliser waste electricity.. anyway i put in rm to use.. coz dun wan her to use for that kid..
last time i use glass bottles, she say we dunno how to think.. sigh..
now i use 3 bottles so that my ger can have "seasoned" teats to use.. she say i am wasteful use so many bottles when 1 is good enuff

tas

haha, then your MIL will prob kill me if i am her DIL. I used 6 bottles at one time for my boy. Coz i was too lazy to wash so freq. Hahha.

just went to the overseas spree thread...

happen to see a thread on medela pumps...

wonder if it is worth to get it at S$500++...??

mashy, when my Avent steriliser dies, I'm also gonna get the Tefal steamer ha ha

taslyn, I am also a bottle queen... my girl rotates 8 bottle as a baby... where got so much time like ur MIL to boil the same bottle after every feed?

bottles
i oso got tons of bottles.. to store the EBM and later for feeding.. :p... somemore got to bring those bottles of EBM to my mum's place. never counted at one time how many bottles in fridge or in sterilizer.. :p

mich
yeah lor i thought i am very good to use only 3.. lol...
she does not boil at each feed.. she boil once.. then just wash n rinse after each feed..(yikes).. that is the reason i use 3.. prior to that, when my ger smaller.. i used 6

cloudme:
which model u looking at..
PIS advanced is selling ard low 500+,
freestyle cost more ard 600+..

Mumsfairy is selling PISA at 739 with breast shield and the pump holder. which i am considering coz i worry abt warranty.. coz this thing is so ex.. skali repairs cost alot then bo hua

taslyn, oh man, boil only once a day?? er, that is ok when they are older, but not for infant stage rite? The older generation really got their own set of rules.

mich..
lol.. precisely.. she do things thinking of that kid niah.. never abt my ger..
my hb just came home for short break.. now mil grilling him dunno wat again.. zzZZZz

mich

hehe, at least it doesn't go to waste when the kids' bottles don't need anymore sterilising. That time i got mine for free somemore. Exchanged for it at a Caltex station. See how poor we are. sigh. Have to think of ways to save all the time.

mashy:
lol.. bed n breakfast.. though i did think of it..
now i think of cleaning the new house i headache liao lor.. then u guys mentioned kids playing hide n seek.. pengz ar

tas

well, u just need to have the gates installed at each level so that u can keep them at one level each time. But maybe u might need to get a walkie talkie. Haha. And plenty of baby monitors.

the boiling method is good in a way, save electricty... but must keep a watch on it lor, and cannot fall asleep... if got someone else in the house to watchis better.. cos mummy will be tired or baby may cry and want attention... and the boiling pot of water and stuff may be neglected..

tas, oh yah I agree with mashy u can start a B&B and earn some extra money ha ha

mashy, i understand, when i wasn't working, i was also counting every cent. I even have a table to compute all my expenses every month and then find ways to cut here and there. I told my hb he cannot buy his Sarawak pineapple cos its $4, that's too expensive, please eat the honey one for $1 ha ha ha

BabyS

Boiling mtd now no good already coz of the BPA bottles.

Mich
wah, u really strict, even a more expensive pineapple also cannot eat. hahaha.

I just restrict him from buying big toys but he sometimes he still sneakily went to buy them behind my back. After that, then he come and tell me why it's so important that he must have it. sigh.

I don't compute my expenses like u lah. I'm a ball park figure person. So long as we're not in negative equity, it's good enough. And of course we don't buy a lot of unnecc stuff lor.

Need your helps, I am planning to return to SG for delivery. Can I have your gynae package pricing and also the hospital pricing.

Dh feels safer for me to return back to SG for delivery. So probably be back in Week 24.

Tas, can I stay at your place if I return to SG for delivery haahaa.

BabyS:
yesh n she destroyed the kid's bottle.. heng tat tiem i was using glass bottle.. haha
i will only use boiling method on glass bottles not the plastic ones.

mashy:
i will install the gates.. but hor.. the house got lift.. when they older they will know how to press.. lol..

pris

Then your son and hb leh? Are they staying in Aussie? My gynae doesn't have a package. After detailed scan, they just give u a card and u get discounted rates from then on. There's 3 to choose from in the clinic, TLC - Paul Tseng, Phyllis Liauw & Eunice Chua. Mine is Eunice Chua. A lot of foreigners like to go to Paul Tseng.

my ds is coming back with me since we will apply for leaves for him and bring his work back for him to do. Dh will have to fly between two places and do lots of conference calls.

yeah, its good for glass bottles, not plastic.

this method is an old hospital method lah.. cos last time all medical equipment all boiled to be sterilized.. and its glass... so parents started using that to sterilize bottles... but as the bottles became plastic, no one stopped using the boiling method.

pris

ai yoh, poor thing leh. Why safer to deliver here then? Isn't it better to just send your mom over to you over there? It'll be so convenient for your MIL to pop by if you're here.

mashy, come to think of it, my hb quite poor thing but he is ok with the cheaper pineapple kekeke. What big toys does A buy??? ipod? camera?

Pris, where will u be staying? Not with ur MIL I hope!

Mt Alvernia charges are here: http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/hbs_maternity.html

Most gynaes will charge between 1-2k for delivery depending on what kind of delivery.

Probably someone else can give u the TMC charges?

haha..

pris:
if my house is done by then, why not.. but my house v ulu.. at sembawang park.. oppo the beach u can see Malaysia.. hahhaa

my gynae package is $500. good for 60visits. multivit, blood test.
hospital bills u can go to :
for normal birth
http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/billsizeDetails.aspx?cId=10
for csec
http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/billsizeDetails.aspx?cId=9

oh, if u still have $$ in medisave, can use it to offset the pre-natal charges.

piggy:
i think it is 6-7rms coz 1st floor 1 rm
2nd floor 2-3rm
3rd floor also. n comes with attached bathroom for each bedroom.
i also cannot remember the layout.

Taslyn,
ya many pte housin now come with lift cater for home 1 but high maintenance i hope the maintenance cost is cover by the developer..

Pris,
my Gynae package is $650 from wk 12. i know dr Adrian charge $550 from the nex wk.

maybe u can advice which area u prefer?

I told dh, go back can back I stay at my mum and make sure I have peace. I do not want anyone to pop by and disturb my peace. So he will make sure haahaa.

I want the glass bottle haahaa

tas

if all landed have their own lifts, i won't mind staying in one. I find too tiring to climb up & down. Told my hb when changing hse, must be all 1 level only. But having probs finding a 4 bedroom apt with a tight budget. sigh

Taslyn,
tt really alot cos my IL previously stay in those old semi D so it v big but only 4 bedroom.. now they change to 3 storey terrace also 4-rm nia.. wat is ur house type???

piggy;
yeah.. i dunno how long will the provide foc maintenance for.. maybe i will just turn it off.. waste electricity..

pris
yeah where is ur mum place.. then maybe we can advise better and ur preference for lady or guy gynae

mashy, wow, didn't remember that he was so techie... yup yup these things are seriously costly. U should give him a budget and tell him cannot exceed ha ha

piggytoh, I was thinking of going to either TMC or MT E.

If TMC, I can get Dr Ong E K as paed and easier from my mum's place.

If MT E, I will go back to Dr Kek but clinic is always very busy, and parking is tougher than TMC, then will need to get DrSimon Ng to be paed then transfer to Dr Ong E K.

Any1 with Wong Mun Tat, how is he?

pris,

my gynae is Dr Heng TL(lady doc)

she delivers at East Shore Hospital...

$1k for natural delivery...
$200 - 400 extra for assisted delivery tools...

rest...errh forgotten...

mashy, my block all the 5I units have 4 bedrooms each, no need to buy condo :p But that time ur hb told me he wants to move to bishan or something?? Bishan quite expensive...