(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

reira:
coz i remember that it is S$400 all along.. coz learnt thru the hard way when my fren org a birkenstock spree n we happily order n exceed S$400...n paid dearly for GST..
but so long as u package it to be lesser than S$400 thru vpost, GST will not be charged as explained in Vpost webbie.
i org sprees b4 but not items form USA.. mainly from taiwan n hk.. so never hit the s$400 barrier hehe..

Taslyn
Thanks Taslyn for the custom gst link. *headache* so spree organizers normally dont go over $400 sgd?

piggytoh
Thanks piggy. =) Yeah, I am trying find mommies here who are interested to buy from the site together to atleast save some shipping cost.

fat Bobo
Yes, baby is still our precious even if born during 7th month. =) Young people like us here wont be so superstitious like some old folks (like my MIL!!).

zen
OMG!! neear pioneer mrt is where I wanted also. At first wanted tiong bahru area but... very expensive. haiz... donno worth the investment or not to buy near central.

reira:
yup.. per parcel dun exceed the S$400 can liao. exceed S$400, ask shipper to separate parcel..

JW:
alot o nice food.. hehe.. n big shopping mall..
my only complaint is: air craft + chocolate factory smell... else it is nice to be there

re: jackfruit

see u all talking bout it...i v gian to eat now but not all fruit stalls sell it

suddenly got craving for fried jackfuit...like goreng pisang but not banana inside, its jackfruit!!

sharon,
i like tat a lot too! it's called chempedak or something. jackfruit's cousin. haha! it's veri difficult to find tat.

JW
my DH dun really like jurong area. cos he's an 'Eastern' boy. he thinks there's nothing in the west. no beach, no place to hang out at night, far frm the city. and the food & drinks in jurong is more ex than other areas. chocolate smell is stronger near boon lay mrt area. other parts won't smell tat. aircraft sound will be heard in old jurong west side and ave 3 side, near jalan bahar. i've been living in different parts of jurong west. frm st.42 to st.93 to st.61. hahahahah!

we viewed a 5rm in bedok. cost $500+K. $100+k more than jurong. and most of bedok flats are bet. 20-30 yrs old. so we decided to get a cheaper, newer(5-6yr old) place.

zen:
wow.. u are really a JW gal.. haha
i started off in west.. then east.. now north.. sigh.. i miss the east most.. lol.. but easterners will find it hard to adapt to the west. coz got siglap, changi, simpang bedok, geylang.

west is okay mah... got west coast mac, fong seng nasi lemak. my JW memories were that when i went school more than 10yrs ago.

now me at north is worst: nothing to eat at night.. sigh

taslyn,
ya, i live my life mostly in jurong west. except when i was really young, i lived in dover. but i've been shuttling between bedok and jurong for the past few years and i'm getting sick of it. and i'm definitely not going to do tat now tat i'm pregnant. i hate the jams in the morning & evenings along PIE. i work in the west so it's really a dread for me. DH's workplace in central so i told him it's easier for him be it we live in the east or west.

the worst thing is my driving sucks. i panic when i see a lot of cars or big trucks on the road. and it's a manual car. so when stuck in jam, it's first gear, 2nd gear. faint. raining worst. i can't see the road clearly and i wanna cry.

zen:
hey.. i lived in dover too! haha..
i hate to travel when i work. esp hate jams on PIE which happens for no reason esp from bedok north exit til paya lebar. jams can take 20min when it is just 2 exits away. (this was when i stayed in tampines and work in paya lebar area)
then i work in central.. headache also.. coz trains are always full, ERP and carpark charges too high for me to drive in but it is really much more convenient.
now i stay north i totally hate the ERP.. CTE is very expensive to travel on regardless day or night. sigh

re:rain
yeah seems like it is gonna rain again. it was raining ard 10+ n i cannot go out again.. seems like it is gonna start again. v hard to bring baby out when it rains. Adults get drenched is okay but not for babies..

zen:
mi not working liao since i preggy with #1 coz of v bad ms and my boss bu shuang.. lol
my #1 is turning 6mths this mth.. keke
tats y i pei fu mtbs who can tahan and work throughout.

some people think that it is wasteful to stay home n look after bb but to me, i feel happy to grow with my baby lor. the other day she called out "ma ma" i was so happy. hehe.. n i really dun trust anyone to look after my ger.. haha

taslyn,
i also hope to be a SAHM. but it's going to be very tough on my hubby. so i decided to work part-time. at least hv some income coming in & i can still spend time wif baby. the onli headache now is to look for a part-time nanny in my area.

i veri peifu u. yr #1 onli 6mths? and #2 coming in aug. wow... i dunno if i can handle tat. but tats my ideal age gap for 2 kids also. either 1 or 2 yr gap.

ok, i got to go. chat again.

ya zen.. nw i do agree the more ur superstitious, the more tings will happen de!

i used to be super superstitious de.. (well, actually nw still quite la.. hahaha) like last yr was a bad yr for me (horse).. den i kept tinking tings will be bad n all.. [oh..tink i mentioned this in much earlier post before..haha].. then really happened de lor.. so arh.. smtimes dun go n tink so much.. happy go lucky can le. heee~

re: jackfruit
im oso one... read abt all your jackfruit posting.. i juz bought some jackfruits to eat.. so sweet n tasty.. yummy!!

zen:
yeah it is hard on hb. i also wanna look for a part-time job to earn from extra pocket money and to socialise so that my brain dun rust.

actually we did plan to hv #2 when my ger is 1yr.. but did not expect it to come so fast.. after all people say when u bf, wun get preggy so easily but my body proved otherwise. but preggy liao cannot say dun want right? so bo bian lor. anyway also good lar. easier to take care coz memories still fresh.. lol

re: superstition
i m not really pantang on this. it is my hb who is more pantang. i just try to think in a positive way. only superstition which sounds logical to me then i accept bah

btw: do u guys really think that cutting n sewing in bed can cause cleft palates/lips? coz i doing a cross stich bib for my ger halfway and i realised i preggy so now my project kena KIV. sigh

re:durians
i am terrified of them.. i dare not eat.. haha
but they say durians are good and v BU.. help bb gain weight v fast.. esp in 3rd tri

taslyn,
dun sew while ur in bed lor.. sit at the living hall or somewhere? i oso duno. haha..i mean..ya although not scientifically proven.. but try to avoid lor.

re: durians
i used to love durians alot.. but found that i now hate the smell of it le!

taslyn

I think i told u guys before, I cut & sewed on the bed when i was preg with #1 (actually, i did that too with this #2). My boy didn't have cleft lips/palate. Instead he got dimples which my hb and I didn't have.
Cleft lip is hereditary. If your family has anyone with this condition, then there's a chance your bb will get it.

fat bobo
Me too! Used to love durians, now hate them.

yes zen, yup...chempedak...i only know can find it at the changi village hawker centre

i stay north too...but used to stay at bedok for awhile with in-laws but decided to move out...hehee

taslyn, really envy u....i also hope to be a SAHM but its not possible...no amt of $ or job satisfaction can beat seeing ur baby's first smile, first crawl, first walk, etc

aiyo.. all this talk abt jackfruit/chempedak make mi have craving liao.. later i go see if i can get it.. must wait for my ger to wake up

sharon:
to be SAHM is a difficult decision to make. $$ will be tighter. also must see hb face coz take $ from him. but u r right. it cannot beat seeing bb 1st smile, crawl, etc. n of course the fact that bb will look for you 1st. my hb always says my ger looks for me for milk, sleep, shower time. he is only for play time.
but sometimes can go crazy when bb is cranky or naughty plus it is a 24hr job.. no slacking. also no one to blame is something goes wrong to the baby. hahah

reira n other mummies interested in the motherhood spree:
my 2 cents/suggestions lar
other than swim suit, can actually collate order for other items. then keep items to be below USD280 per package.
then shipping can be divided into units eg:
swimsuit/tops/accessories: 1 unit
pants/jackets/small bags: 2 units
jeans/big bag: 3 units

this is the practise which is commonly used in sprees.

Hi Pink

Congrat on the gd news.

Hi Jul

I used to order Old Navy from prettycloud. So far quite ok....

Hi Mashy

So fast u can feel the movement of the baby hah...

Hi Riera

I also can't wake to know the gender of the baby. Hehehe. My nxt appt is nxt thur.

Hi Fatbobo

7th mth will start from 20 Aug. My daughter was also born during the 7th mth. Also an Aug baby. It all depend on the baby one. Don't have to worry so much.....

I asked my mum before, she say as long as we cut & sew facing light source, its ok. (meaning the object cannot be covered with your own shadow).
on the bed is no-no lah. I'm more worried that if I drop the needle on the bed then jialat lor

tinklebel
yes, I'm dreaming of durians now... those selling in China's from Thailand, very lousy one and been sitting in the shops for who knows how many weeks already!

SL

Fast meh? I think I'm like 18 weeks already. Bb is so active.

kikilala
I even pricked my finger leh coz i was sewing the school badge for my boy. :p

mashy, can i chk something abt bb's movement?
Is bb's movement will caused slightly discomfort to mother? cos i feel some puking feeling ard my tummy & my belly button will also become harder if i pressed on it can feel a little bit painful but not severe. I was wondering is my bb's kicking me? cos i has been feeling this for few times in the past 2 wks but not everyday will feel it la.

donkey
dun think bb's movement can cause discomfort to mummy sooo early leh.. coz they r around 1-15cm now? but definitely for last the last few weeks before giving birth.... when they dun have much space to move ard..

waking up to pee.
hey hey.. do u girls wake up in the middle of the nite to pee oredi? duhz.. me woke up average of 2x to pee.. and another few times "just happen to wake up".. in 6hrs of sleep, i wake up on average 4-5 times
so sickening..

smurfy, ya i thk bb still vy tiny now hor..cos i has the same feeling for few times so i jz wonder is it bb's movement.

I usually wake up once to pee in the middle of the nite.

donkeymani

No pukey feeling from the bb. Belly button can harden depending on where the bb is kicking. I think last week, my belly button 'swell' up with a triangle tip, then it went back down. Think it's prob the bb moving the elbows or something. hehe. Right now it's still not very painful, just a little nudge. Later it can be quite painful.

donkey
i dun think at this stage u shld feel discomfort by bb movement coz bb still very tiny. the discomfort will come prolly at the end of 2nd tri n continue til u give birth coz bb is bigger and space constraints in the tummy.

re: pee
i pee more often now. i try not to drink too much water at night. then wake up early ard 6+ to pee when my ger wakes up for her milk.

Hi kikilala

My mum don't even allow me to sew. Whenever i want to do that she will say she do it...

Hi Mashy

Oh ok u are in 18 wks now hah. When i was pregnant with my gal also have the same problem with u. Imagine 1 day she can sick more than 300 times. can't even sleep as well.

Hi pink and smurfy

I also wake up at least 1 time to pee during the midnite around 4am+. After that can't sleep liao. Haiz.... Morning wake up will be super tired.

maids again..
i think i kena played out by the maid... initially when we asked her whether wanna renew or not.. she happily said yes and say she wanna a lump sum in exchange of 2 weeks of homeleave... a few days later, she said her family wants her to go home for home leave.. and she said she is going back in apr.. last nite she told me she dun wanna extend liao... coz her son is getting rebellious on knowing she want to continue working in sg.. darnz... i felt that i am being taken for a ride now...on purpose.. funny thing even my hb felt exactly the same way (which is very usual of him)... now i am back in search of one in 1mths time..

tasyln
i oredi stop drinking water after dinner.. but somehow my body accumulates the water and releases them only when i sleep
.. 4-5x per nite is really disruptive to sleep.. and i fear for the last trimester... i recalled i telling hb i just want to camp out in the toilet then

As part of Singapore push to create a more compassionate society, The Singapore Kindness Council is producing a series of photography adverts to promote kindness in our everyday life. One of the adverts shows that we can help by giving up our seats in the trains and buses to mothers who are expecting.

As such, we are calling all expecting mothers to come forward and be part of our photography shoot next Tues 10th or Wed 11th March. the photography shoot will take 4 hours long and selected mothers will be reimbursed with S$1000 for their contribution. Interested parties pls call our casting director Delvin Lee at 8233 7533 to make an appointment.

smurfy

I've been doing that ever since I had my #1. Dunno why also just cannot hold the bladder anymore. Now preg worse, so i sleep closest to the toilet.

some taboos - sewing/cutting
for my boy, i oso did some cutting on my bed before i knw my pregnnacy, and he turns out fine.. i guess it's "bu zhi zhe wu zhui" ?

pinkmama,
I checked with my mobile phone lunar calender. Yes, there are lap 5th lunar month this year.
1st one on 24thMay and 2nd one starts on 23Jun.
7th month will start on 20Aug, not 07Sept leh... strange

mashy
hey mashy but u dun have urinary leaks when u sneeze or cough or laugh right? yah, some times our body especially the bladder becomes weak after birth... my mum basically have Urinary leaks and cannot hold urine for long after delivering my younger sis..

kikilala/pinkmama
kekeke does tht means we get to eat dumpling 2x tis year?:p... in 06, it was even more suai.. 2 lunar 7mth that time... and i got to do my customary after the 2nd lunar ghost month.. by then i was oredi 20wks preggie -_-'

was rushed to a & E on sunday night as had sudden bleeding, thought that we were going to lose baby as was bleeding profusely, even the doctor told us there was nothing else they can do and just said to pray hard. It was a horrific night.

fortunately after increasing the progesterone jabs/meds, the bleeding clotted yesterday. Another scan showed the baby heartbeat to be strong.

Today's scan showed that the bleed came from the placenta, and that there's nothing else we can do except lots of rest(CRIB) + progesterone jabs/pills.

hubby now ration my online time to 5 min a day so can only scan thru the messages here.

pink,
glad that yr results are fine. wishing you a safe and happy pregnancy.