(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pegsfur
i got some crocs shoes from jj leh.. she not very efficient like that.. order oredi.. onli when delivery arrives then ells me my shoes out of stock.. so fustrating.. mtdt..she's inside a same punggol mummy gang with me... i always tompang her... buy items first then later pay money, the items i just leave in her place until we happened to meet up.... :p..

kilala: still thinkg abt the baby plus, cos hvg #2 now. Might close shop after this. But when u order, please let me know. i will confirm agian. but hor, pls keep ur orders below S$400 (including shipping cost), else u will kena GST. Otherwise, see if u can get seller to und* declare the total cost. ooops... hahaa

tinkabel
I didnt know that there's a S$400 limit... Thanks for the info. Looks like we can have 3 sets per address to share the shipment cost.

Re : Babyplus,

anyone know whether the player is 'too loud" mean, it i am wearing during working hour, can my colleague hear the heartbeat sound also??

smurfy,
Oh is it? It was ok when i joined jj's spree the other time.

Mtdt .. hahaa .. ya, know her since during s'porebrides time ... but haven't been chatting with her for very long le. Just joined her ON spree cos like u, collection at punggol mah

Ladies..

Thanks for your advice on the spree. Heehee I find myself so suaku, having nvr taken part in such things b4.

pink, do you mind to tell me your age? i am born in year 1972, during the OScar test, it is before my this year DOB, so the result for my background is based on 36 yr old. which is 1: 262

Hmm.. I'm also inteersted in Bayplus. At first I tot I must on a player, then I was thinking how to listen to it twice a day, esp in the am? Then all my colls wud also be listening to heartbeat sounds? Then I realised that there's a player & strap to strap to the tummy haha.

zen
Thanks for reply! I heard COV have to be paid by cash, right? Yeah, better to buy a flat which yo u dont need to renovate so much. Anyway, which street/ave did your purchase? I am currently living in ave 3 and it sucks cos airbase right behind. so noisy in the afternoon if I am home. *faint* hubby always complains cos he work nightshift, somemore this room we rented no air-con. *faintz*

kikilala
Just to check with you, if you will be ordering more than 1 set, will the overall shipment of the item become cheaper or same?

Oh my, I hope chinese parents won't opt for 20/09/2009 to give birth without knowing it is the first day of hungry ghost festival this yr... so scary!

weishy
There is surcharge if you c-section on national day!?!? My baby's initial EDD was 07/08/09. My hubby liked it. lol But now became 10/08/09 liao. 08/08/09 is good date also! My birthday is 09/09/85 :D While hubby's bday is in Oct. For us will be Aug,Sep,Oct eat birthday cakes! Just nice...

Btw, what is the reason that u wanted to give birth via c-section? I am planning for natural and hope my baby wont be so big that I will need c-section (to save on bill).

smurfy
Yes, I am getting swimsuit from motherhood.com and sure about getting the tops but what do you mean by opt for delivery? *confused* you mean when it reach my place, i go to singpost and post to u via registered mail?

Jul
Yep Jul, I am going to buy swimsuit from motherhood.com. Give up on local shops liao. Bikini too revealing for me but maternity tankini is so expensive! $150 sgd for maternity exchange tankini *faint* I can buy 2 swimsuit include delivery from motherhood.com!!!! mothercare tankini is like cannot cover tummy one (like those normal tankini), half show half hidden.

Cheryl
I think detailed scan is worth it. Like you pay $100 or so for the scan and know all the details of your baby in your womb. Instead of paying for $50 for ultrasound scan, only can see baby and some infomation like length ect. I heard detailed scan need to spend 1hr.

I have good result for my OSCAR but will go to detailed scan also because I simply can't wait to know baby's gender!! If I don't go for detailed scan, donno when will baby cooperate to let us see the gender.

Did you check with the person that organise the spree? Did she went MIA? Wa, now I am very worried if I should join medela spree. haiz...

pegsfur
Ask your hubby to go with you! Last Sat I saw a bikini I like but my hubby don't like. After some thoughts, I also find it super revealing. haha Like middle of chests can see de. aiyo >_< but i like the color (purple, pink). Altho I only got fats for ppl to see, but my hubby still dont like. maybe he scared others see the fats and faint. hahaha

tinkabel
Anything above will kenna GST ah? Even if dont go through vpost?

________

<font color="0000ff">re:jackfruits</font>
I love jackfruits!! I also like to cook the seed and then eat the seed! But got once I forgot that I was cooking... then my pot became charcoal D=

<font color="0000ff">re:detailed scan &amp; tummy</font>
18 days to go for me! I can't wait to know baby's gender also. wait until neck long long. =( I am also very worried that I might gain tons of weight. Heard from someone online that she gained 30kg ah!!! If I gain 30kg... I will be 100kg man... so must start swimming soon. then maybe can maintain once my appetite is back.

<font color="0000ff">re:BabyPlus</font>
what time do I need to let baby listen to it? Can I do it like 7-8 am and 7-8pm? And can ppl around talk mah? Or it will affect the effect? sorry for so many weird questions!

<font color="0000ff">puchasing clothes from</font> <font color="ff6000">motherhood.com</font>
Goodnews for us! I just checked vpost that they are having promotion for vPOSTUSA shipping service. 10% off shipping charge with any payment method till april!

Shirley
I didn't do oscar. My initial risk was calculated by the triple test which was very skewed cos I was having the hcg injections 3 x a week which cos my hcg level to be very high. Hence the horrible triple test results. The new risk level that he calculated took into acct the triple test result ad well as the genectic scan results. I am the same age as you but born in jan.

Anyway the risk level is just a probability. What put my mind at ease was that he actually scan for all the physical charecteristics of down &amp; told me that my bb didn't hv any of the symptoms. He was really very detailed in his explanation. For e.g he told me that down bbs have slanting eyes, then he took measurement of my bb eyes and draw a line on screen to show me that it's normal.
Dun worry, I am sure your bb is fine too.

Mornin gals...

Reira,
u dun have to worry abt the EDD cos it wun be so zhun 1.. also our EDD will keep changin due to the size of baby.. so far none of my friend gave birth zhun zhun on EDD 1... i got 1 aunt her EDD abt 19/21Aug but she gave birth to her boy on 9 Aug so heng

Pink,
congrats on ur gd result

Reira, ya my hubby said to go for the detailed scan so as not to 夜长梦短lor...

Re Spree, must really join trusted one.. i usually spree at beautifullife or ST701.. but for maternity wears first time joined the motherhood spree and so unhappy liao...

reira:
GSt will be incurred for $400 coz the stuff will go thru customs n this is the limit they allow. thus exceed $400, they tax lor. so most pple try to ask for the supplier to declare a lesser amt or separate the shipments. this is provided u so heng tio check. but if items hit abv $400, they sure check n charge GST.

re:weight gain
aiya.. dun think so much.. still too early to think of that. the more u think of weight gain, the more u dun wanna eat..
there were ladies who put on 25-30kg, there are those who put on 10kg. a good indication is to check with ur mum to see how much weight she put on.

Re: Purchase > S$400
Ya I think that is the rule. of course, i am not sure how they can charge you. But I presumed the invoice is already on the box. Unless, the other way is to say these are all gifts or somethg. I guess depends on which way we will save more. But GST will be on entire amount of purchase. So the savings in shipping costs may not cover that.

shirley:
probably u play it when u wake up and when u reach home?
if i understand correctly, u just need to play the gadget twice a day and each time it is ard 1hr.

cheryl:
go for detailed scan not jsut coz v. but it is very interesting. u wun regret paying that 100+ for it.

oh.. detailed scan at tmc cost ard 126+. the nurse at my gynae clinic said the price went up slightly.

Reira
The shipping is about S$22 to ship from AU and it should be the same if we 1 or 3 sets. So can share the shipment. But with GST, then if we order more than 4 sets, the savings on shipment is not enough to cover GST!

kikilala:
i tot the shipping is normally calculated by weight? u better check to make sure. from past experience, normally the heavier the parcel, the shipping charges comes down. it also depends if the seller are willing to absorb some of the shipping charges.

re:jackfruit
hehe... we used to boil the seeds to eat... quite nice actually..

I tried to pay with 3 sets and the price of the shipment is still the same... hmm... maybe I just try only and didnt really completed the transaction.

Taslyn, ya maybe i can play it during the way to office.

I told my husband i want to buy this,he said it is not fair to my #1. Bcoz #1 didn't use it! @.@

Reira:wow nice birthdate u hv and so young

ya got surcharge le....dunno about natural though ,can try askign the hospital first at least u guys are prepared mah.

Kikilala:think can but dunno how to make :p

Taslyn, ya lor i also wanna know my bb gender also...hopefully my clinic can secure a slot for me at TMC dunno if will be long queue bo..
I also ever eaten the boiled jackfruit seeds..yum yum...

kilala, well we can try to negotiate for seller to absorb part of the shipping costs. When I ordered the BECO baby carrier, I ordered 3 and got them sent to SH. I negotiated with the seller and she agreed to absorb 50% of the shipping costs.

shirley:
yeah lor.. tat y i hesitate to buy.. coz for #1, i didn't use it on her. so it is like not fair to her. i think it is the guilt in me which makes mi hesitate.. haha.. must discuss with hb when he gets back.

weishy
i think the surcharge is for elective csec on such "special" dates. i saw this notice plastered in my gynae's office which states extra charges on the hospital side. However if it is natural birth and u so heng kena these dates, the hospital wun charge u for it.

cheryl:
choose weekdays coz weekends will most prob be filled to the brim unless u wanna go to the clinic n camp early morning.

Taslyn, ya the clinic is checking if can get a friday slot tis week for me..she said the scan will take half day leh...so long de ah?

pink:
omg... that is so funny!! i wonder what will the reaction of the health minister be siah.

tat y my mum always say she dun wanna depend on us, dun wan to stay with me or my brother. she rather choose her own lifestyle n not be the "eye sore" to her kids and spouses.

Re: babyplus

anyone keen to buy from spore? if buy online in case unit spoilt how to do exchange or send to repair? will the local dealer handle for us?

fatbobo:
yeah my hb said if my #2 edd is really on 21 Aug then it will hit 7th mth liao.
at 1st edd was 26th aug, then he say it was 7th day of 7th mth...
i know of people who do selective csec to siam &amp;th mth... but i dunno if there is an superstition abt having bb born on 7th mth ley.. any one got any idea?

cheryl:
yup ard half day.. coz u go there to register.. then hv to wait for ur turn. depending what time id ur appt, then see if there are pple in front of u...
then scanning process takes ard an hour... then the sonographer will write a short report on the findings and then u wait a while for her to do that, then they will print the report n pass to u.
eg my appt is at 11.45 and my gynae appt is at 3pm.
normally the gynae will like to see u right after u did the scanning so that they can explain to u. n in case of any abnormalities, they can plan the next course of action.

cheryl
There was a motherhood spree from where wor?

Taslyn
But I read that vPost charge gst no matter what, so we don't have to worry about it right?
Perhaps your mom went through the hardship of living with MIL? Next time I also don't wanna depend on my kid, must save money for my retirement myself. Nowadays kids might not even earn enough to give allowance for their parents. Like my hubby, only son but earns so little have to pay for house, baby and expenses... dont even have any extra to give to his parents (thing is, his parents earns 2x my hubby's pay combined) But it all depends bah. I am just kiasu and worry too much.

kikilala
Yeah true! In this case if got more than 3 ppl want to get, let say 6, have to have 2 ppl to purchase. I don't mind helping and I live in Jurong west area. So many 2 mommy who wanna get can get it with me bah.

fat Bobo
Sorry I dont really know which day is the start of hungry ghost festival this year. Saw kikilala said that previous. Maybe I read wrongly. >_<

weishy
Haha thanks :D I wonder if last min i buay tahan to give birth via natural hor, donno if there will be extra charge...
_________

<font color="0000ff">jackfruit seeds</font>
Yes, can eat! A bit tasteless lah but still nice to eat once in awhile. like snack. Donno where I learn from de. Prolly from my mom when I was small bah.

<font color="ff6000">motherhood swimsuit/clothes</font>
Let me list out mommies who are interest:

» smurfy
» Jul

Once you girls confirm what to buy, I will check how much it is and the shipping charge.

But hor, how to divide the shipment charge? According to no. of people or how heavy the goods each person purchase?

PS: I just realised I received some emails regarding swimsuits. but havent check yet. haha spent too much time reading and replying to this thread. Should be going to lunch soon le. must do some work now. whole morning i did nothing cept replying. *slow*

Reira,
the vpost GST is for the shippin charges but the 1 if u exceed USD 400 is charge by custom 1.. n it base on the order amt if i not wrong..

Aiyo faint! so if exceed USD 400 then will charge? not SGD 400 hor?

motherhood.com : mommies who showed interest via email
Can email me your forum nick also mah? Else I confused donno who is that. Thanks!!

Reira,
if can better to combine order with the rest so shippin will be cheaper.. cos the base charge is fix so the more u order the cheaper the shipping...

reira:
as wat piggyToh says, vpost will charge for shipping. customs will charge the gst based on the amt u spend if exceeds S$400. so most will keep to US$280 n below when shipping.

splitting of shipping charges:
most people split by weight.

my mum did not hv a monster-in-law. my granny was the nicest MIL ard.. just that my dad was not firm enuff to make his siblings share the responsibility of looking after my grandparents eg no allowance for looking after them, not bringing the old folks out, not visiting them.
so in the end, my mum look after my grandpa til he passed away n i was already 22yo then! the best part is my grandpa is very tall n big and sick with hypertension, heart problem and senile at the later stages. his other children will come visit him only during CNY, some dun even turn up. i only saw them at the funeral. kinda pathetic lor.
best part is when we were small, my mum had to prepare dinner for cny eve n cny for the whole family. (my grandpa has 10kids so it is a v big extended family)
so my mum having gone thru this kind of nonsense and she took it in her stride. so she has decided she does not want to put us thru the same ordeal, citing she does not know when will she fall sick or senile. she rather retain her pride n hv us remember her as a nice n caring mother than a sickly and irritating lady.

reira:
found this:

How do I calculate the Custom GST amount imposed on my online purchases?

Answer :

The calculation of the Custom GST amount is based on the Cost, Insurance and Freight (CIF) value of the item plus all duties payable.

Custom GST relief is granted on items (excluding intoxicating liquors and tobacco products) imported by a total value not exceeding S$400. Where the value exceeds S$400, the entire sum would be subject to Custom GST. The current Custom GST rate is 7% of CIF.

Total Custom GST Chargeable = 7% on [Total payment to merchant + {(Total payment to Merchant + vPOSTUSA Shipping Charge)} x 2%]

more info:
http://www.vpost.com.sg/vpostusa05/gstCom.html

HTHs

Reira.
Taslyn is rite all shippin is go by weight but since u r orderin swimsuit so the weight different for 2pcs n 10pcs will not be alot n if u spilt the total no. of swimsuit against the total shippin charges the savin is more

at first i was oso like.. har my EDD 23/08 (very first EDD).. den was like.. during 7th mth?

some some ppl say 7th mth bb might get abit cranky, difficult to take care or wat lar..

but after that i tot.. sigh.. dun bother abt all these wether 7th mth or not lar.. to hv a bb is a very big blessing le.. so, no matter 7th mth or not.. juz.. ya... still our precious rite?

hi ladies!
quickly drop in for a while...

reira,
my new place is at st.61 near to the new pioneer mrt.
yes, COV must be paid in cash.

kikilala,
do u want to order 3 sets first then if there'a any additional orders, then order 2nd round? so at least it'll be split into 2 orders then won't ganna GST.

Taslyn
D= EHH?? Now it became S$400 not usd ah? Haiz...

I feel so sad about it that your dad's siblings dont care for their parents... but atleast it is good that your dad cares for their parents. I wonder how will his siblings children turn out to be next time? Will they also not care for them? They will get "bao ying" de lor. I salute to your mom!

Sometimes I am worried, cos of how my PIL treats me, I dont like them. Donno next time will my baby be like me also. D= Haiz... but it is better to avoid my PIL than push myself into more suffering lor... Although ofcourse to them, they think we are no good. dont show concern. but they never wake up and think what they had done.

fatbobo,
i agree not to bother abt the 7th month thing. most impt is pray for a healthy baby. i feel tat the more pantang a person is, the more likely it'll happen. so dun bother so much or listen to too many old wives' tales.

Reira,
hmm i am not sure USD 400 or Sg$400 jus tt from wat i heard is USD400.. but to play safe jus keep it within Sg $400?

my EDD is 9th august. so far throughout all the scans, the date not yet change. we're keeping our fingers crossed tat it'll be national day baby. but we also know most of the times, baby won't come out exactly on the EDD.