(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

reira,
agree wif fjm,
if no milk...even with good pump also no use...

but to get more milk best to latch often...and use pump to clear extra milk...

but this method will not help increase milk supply after the supply is established liao...

kikilala,
wah u r so skinny
dun worry becos earlier on it could be the gases if u still v worry maybe go to ur gynae for a scan?

fjm

weird leh. I did OSCAR scan a month back. Only $283.50 (10% disc from $315). Did you calculate your SBI inside? I didn't leh. If add FBI inside, will be $238.50 + $148 = $386.50 =)

Same, never see FA. Guess we need to go book for appointment. :D Did your gynae book it for you one? I am changing my gynae to Dr Joycelyn Wong, first visit is 20th week... I wonder if I will make it in time or not.

I also heard big boobs doesn't mean sure got milk lor! I heard that if you use pump to help, like latch on every 2 hrs, then pump in between for 30 mins will help stabilise the milk flow de. No milk I also must find ways to make it got milk!!!
_________

piggytoh

do you mind telling me how much extra do u give him?

Haha, if he got extra, he also won't save and buy me gifts de. Surely spend all on food. But sometimes he buy breakfast/snacks for me lah.

He is not thrifty at all. >.< Willing to spend $20 on cab because he was tired. Plus, during the cab trip, most of the time the $$ is wasted cos of jam lor.

I don't mind if he spend on food, but on cigarette/cab, i will get mad de.

Reira,
hahah actually hor i dun quite remember cos in the first place i ask him how much he need den i add maybe $100+ to it? cos it has been yrs n over the yr with pay increase etc i dunno now he got how much extras.. but with the extras he use it on necessary n sometime he need go out with friend mah i dun wan him to look like such a poor thing wher his wiife dun gave him $$...

Can u pls share with me wat is ur baby's nuchal test/neck thickness? Did the gynae say what is the normal range?

piggy - yup, same sentiments as cloudme. the pump helps you to clear your milk ss. your friend was stressed cos she got milk but dint have enuff assistance getting it out.

reira - no leh. cos i just did 1.5 weeks ago. i paid $128 for SBI, then about $99 for BT, then went to fetal assessment and they got me to sign a ~$395 off my cr card for OSCAR leh.
they dint say include the 20th week detailed scan leh..

Mich
i was at tmc for my 1st delivery. the nurse asked my hb to bring the pump down then leh.. say to pump even after bb is latched on to stimulate milk flow..

latching immediately after birth.
mine was natural with epidural.. at the labour ward, i asked the midwife to teach me to latch onz baby...and she did while waiting to push me back to the normal ward... and really lor..newborn got the suckling instinct.. will search for the breasts and try to open their mouth.. ekkeke but successful latch onz or not is another story :p

fjm,
maybe but at least it show tt gettin a gd pump is impt
infact i got 1 kolig she dun have milk 1 but she is v determine she increase her supply by pumpin the BM more often n drink more water n milk when she is at home she let her baby to latch on n it helps her greatly n she did tt for over a yr...

me feel empty in the stomach, prob will make a lame attempt at munching biscuits. going off to fetch my little boy back from sch. hopefully i can down the Subway sandwich i intend to grab before i pick him up!

sian..today, hubby working overnight. me and boy boy only. hopefullly he is a good boy n dont turn the house upside down. haha

fjn
i got the SBI card oso... on 31st jan.. but sbi card, if u pay with posb atm, got further 10% discount... and at the level 4, i paid for oscar n FA together, total is $398 after discount (coz my gynae's clinic assistants oredi booked my oscar n FA in advance)

smurfy, wow, after latching still have to pump?? Already every 2-3 hours gotta latch, still got to pump think I will peng san.

BabyS

Wa lao, they buay zi dong. D= What seminar is that wor? Did they purposely changed it to that date de? >_< Oh well, maybe can ask one of the MTB who is going there to teach you what was taught on the last class bah. =)

Oh good! I must go to OG and vivo to check them out!

piggytoh

I also heard that it does make a diff depends on brand/ quality of the pump.

Haha yah, I also dont want to make my hubby looks so poor thing that I never let him have enough $$ to spend. T_T

Mich

Oh ya, I totally forgot first few days only got colostrum. But I think most of natural birth mom is gonna stay there only 2 days right? What else to bring incase breasts is swollen? Do I need to put like warm cloth before latch on to help with the milk flow or first few days dont need since only got colostrum?

kikilala

So good! only 44.5kg!! I am only 1.5m but weigh 68.7kg now. >_< But I read from this topic that some mommies said in the morning tummy is flatter, by evening/night, tummy will be slightly bigger.

PJPJ

Mine is around 1.6mm but the DR at TMC said if below 2.5mm then normal liao. Wa.. confused how come piggytoh and BabyS's said below 2mm then is normal.

fjm

Hmm... maybe it include FA? Call and ask?

My bb's NT is 1.3mm
My dr printed a d/s report for me which shows a graph plotted with NT and Crown-rump length to give the d/s results.

mich
kekeke after latch onz, still have to pump 5minutes to stimulate the breasts, let the breasts think bb needs more milk, so will produce more milk during the next round.... supply = demand... kekek that's why i oso give up on manual after 2 days and got PIS then.

reira, chances of engorgement in 1st few days not as likely... but if you need warm cloth, the hospital/nurses can certainly help u with that. The consultant always ask me to "massage" to stimulate supply, can get the lac consultant to teach you the way to massage.

smurfy / reira - i think i will check again. hopefully include the detailed scan else gotta pay again in 20th week..

reira - dont gan chiong.. actually, i was also at TMC, they dint ask me to bring pump. suppose good to have.
but if breasts really swollen, you will be 'rushed' to Parentcraft Centre whereby the lactation consultant will really handle you like a cow! haha.. i recalled i consulted them when i engorged the last time.. i had a shock! they shook my breasts like they were going to break my breasts away from me..till the milk started jetting out!

smurfy - mich is right, engorgement typically starts after at least 4-5 days. some say can use cold cabbage to cover breasts..soothing, if it happens.

smurfy, that pumping after feed method using breast pump is too tiring. So I gave up and did some hand pumping instead... for a few weeks, each time before I feed, I would "hand pump" out about 30ml of milk so that baby can reach the hind milk faster... that also helped me up supply.

fjm, ha ha, that happened to me too. The lac consultant squeeze here and there to "demo" to me there is milk supply till it squirt all over her office...

reira
my milk onli came on 5th day.. worse right? by 4th day onwards, bb forever hungry and demanding for milk, i latch him onz and he's never satisfied.. until i visit parentcraft and realised my milk has not kicked in.

yeah! get the professional help while u can in the hospitals... try not to get the nurses,they might not be well equipped with breastfedding knowledge... call for the LC or drop down to parentcraft directly

Reira,
i tink end of the day ur HB mus know how to handle his own $$ if not how much u gave also not enough 1:p

Fjm,
hahah the way u describe how they handle ur breast is funnie:p

smurfy I agree, the nurses really dun know what they are talking about at times. Think some give me sala advice, best is to talk to the LC... so did you supplement baby before your ss kicked in??

reira, work one lor... i am suppose to be one of the trainers also (it doesnt sound as grand as it is.. all my other colleagues all trained also.. and we're all involved)

its becos the original dates class with some event, so have to change...

if only i can ask my co to reimburse me for the class i missed... hahaha...

bobo, must teach me what i missed on 23rd may hor..

piggytoh
tat's the way how they really handle our breasts
... but watever lor, so long as got milk for bb.. who cares whether the breasts were mishandled.. tell u hor, massaging by those ppl in parentcraft really hurts..n painful hahaha

mich
:p.. i got the cl to wash the pump later mah kekkee :p.. not i wash, my job just to produce enough or more milk

mich
parentcraft group taught my hb to dripple FM onto my breasts while the bb latch onz.. so there will not be nipple confusion.. and bb still got to work hard (suck hard) for milk kekeke.. i always hear the parentcraft group saying then nurses in the wards giving wrong advises... ;)

Re: swimsuits

U can try this website which i bought from for my #1 preg:

http://www.motherhood.com/maternity/swimsuits.asp

Re: Bringing breastpump to hospital
Some ladies will need that. During my hospital stay, my neighbour was very badly engorged and she was pumping the whole night thru with her rented pump from the hospital. Gosh! I couldn't sleep a wink coz it was just so noisy.

piggy - it is true..ask mich, she had similar experience, it seemed. i used to tell my gal friends who delivered after me that i dont charge lactation consultation. told them could ask me and i demo - needed no skills, just needed alot of strength!!!

babyS - no fear - i think prob after that, we could still go out on our own to practise aqua aerobics, we can show you what you miss then.

gals - i puked the 4th time. all the a&amp;w root beer came out. legs turned swobbly, panties became wet (gross, hor..) and this time, body in cold sweat. i want my mummy...

kikilala
u r another one laffing away.. but it's really happening lor.. the squirting milk all over the place hahaa... those were the funny moments... despite of the pain

akoyo

I donno my baby's gender yet. Need to wait one more month till my appointment with gynae. T_T

fjm

OMG scary lol I must mentally prepare to let others see private part (during labour) and breasts sia...

smurfy

Do i have to request for LC the first time i try to latch on? Even tho i read on books about it but i scared i donno how to do the real thing.

what is FM?

piggytoh

Ya lor, if give my hubby more money, he will use more. The other day kenna scolded by me cos he came and like asked me "where did my money go?", then i was like "remember you spent $20 on cab the other day, thats why not enough for food!!".

kikilala, ya lor, now thinking back its really comical. The LC took a look at the breasts and say got, you got alot of milk, I show you. Then the milk really sprays out in jets like the way you see on TV when they milk cows!! After that the LC took her cloth and wipe her sofa, cupboard and table...

smurfy, hmmm... I never thot of asking the CL to wash my pump... cos dun want someone to touch the stuff that is hooked to my breasts ha ha ha

reria
FM is formuale milk

fjn
hahaha i doubt we got the strength of those staffs in parentcraft leh, those few times i got engorgement at home, and made the hb massage for me, he uses onli 1/5 of the strength and gets sooo tired sooo fast... i rather a quick and fast solution at parentcraft..

smurfy

Wa lao lol must not let my hubby know that milk can squirt all over place. Else he get turn on. I let him watch too much of those japanese anime hentai liao lol

mashy

Thanks for the website! But you cant try the swimsuit before you buy right? Since it is online store.

reira

Re the FA &amp; OSCAR together. My gynae also din tell me got package. She just auto tick the package for me, so luckily I managed to get. Or maybe the package is same price as individually? Maybe u shd call the TMS clinic &amp; ask.

What I do know is that norm price for OSCAR alone at TMC is $298+gst.

reira
err the nurse in the ward will show u how to latch bb... but not all mummies/bbs will do it right the first time round.. n some mummies got inverted nipples or short nipples.... so u can ask the nurse in the ward to call for the LC if u have problems latching onz... so just go down to their parcentcraft directly, coz they busy.. but if i am not wrong, a LC or relevant nurse will make a visit to u during ur stay to ensure u know how to properly latch onz...watever it is... got problems, go and find them direct while u r in hospital while it is still free. :p

smurfy

you mean must drip FM so baby will think still got milk and continue to suck ah? good idea!!!

does pump helps with engorgement?

and bad news! I got short nipples i think. aiyo lol now scared liao

fjm

Haha dun worry lah. I die die will get electric pump one. JUst a matter of high end, middle end or lowe end only hee.

reira,
FM is formula milk...

fjm,
oh gosh...
think u need to see a doc for the anti-vomit pills...
and maybe take some salty stuff...
a&amp;w root beer is sweet loh...maybe ur bb dun like sweet stuff...??

reira - yes, you must be prepared. the reason why i can remember so vividly is cos i started off feeling embarrassed, then helpless, then i told myself, ' bo chap la.. all the women here same problem! ...'

reira

yah, u can't try. But it fits well for those of us who bought then. I'm pretty small size (156cm only) and I could wear their S for swimsuits. So u just need to follow their measurement table to est which size to get.

Heheh, I was still wearing it even after i deliver coz i couldn't fit into my pre-preg swimsuit. hehe. But it looks so nice that it doesn't look like a maternity swimsuit.

reria
the dripping of FM and bb latching onz at the same time was taught by the LC...hard work for hb lor.. hahaha must be there whenever u latchz on..but if ur milk is late to kick in, and u r serious abt breastfeeding, worth a try.. i never felt turn onz throughout those months of breastfeeding issues leh... more like a task needing to be done.. dun think hb is as well, especially if he's helping me massaging the breasts..

i oso got short nipples..so bb always fell out of his latch.. very fustrating for an impatient and hungry newborn..

reira

If u intend to change gynae to Dr Wong, maybe u can call &amp; ask them to book FA appt for u at TMC also. Coz I think the scan needs to be done at ard 20weeks, then TMC v crowded, better to have appt in hand.

My gynae, Dr Khi, bk-ed OSCAR appt for me 3 weeks in adn=vance, then told me to go home &amp; think abt it. If dun wanna do, she can cancel.

reira, nvm lah.. by then u'll either be focused on the delivery/ breastfeeding, u may not feel the embarassement.. besides, those staff have seen so many other private parts and breast liao.. see urs is just another day of work to them.. hee..

mich, wah!! must wipe the sofa, etc etc some more ah??? hahaha!!