(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

fjm,
me i am prone to get "blue-black" very easily...

even a slight brush again the door...i will have blue-black loh...

RE:CL
now...having headache on how to settle my own confinement...cos my mum is look after my nephew and my mil will be looking after 2 new bb and 2 kiddos...so thinking if i should get my own CL but will be staying at in-laws...
"head big big now"

cloudme

Yes! Get a CL! Your MIL will be too busy to take care of u and your newborn. Like I said before, if you've probs getting a sleeping place for the CL, get one that doesn't need to stay overnight.

cloudme
if u r going to be handling bb on ur own, think may be better to get CL leh...very tiring one leh. but of coz u may have to arrange with ur PIL on how the CL will stay or at the very least get a daytime one?

Good morning gals

erm...a lot of gd CLs taken up already? oh no...i need to look for one but do not how to go abt it. wat shd i look out for? my #1 was without CL so no exp in finding leh.

cloudme - you kenna blue black easily before preggie or since preggie?

re CL - whose bbs and kiddos are your mil looking after? one more (yours) also can?
if you scare she cannot manage, get a maid to help her? can your mil prepare (or does she know how to) confinement food?

wah, kelly chen preggie liao ah? I remember she was telling reporters during ehr wedding that she wants a baby as soon as possible.. wah, so fast strike liao ah..

mashy, miaon,

but got day CL meh?
so far i only know that most CL need to stay over as they need not shuttle betwn their own place and our house...

fjm,
i got it easily after i get preggi during the last time...and now it's still the same...

well...my mil will be handling mine and my sil's bb and 1 kiddo each from me and my sil...

but my mil know how to cook confinement food...but real heaty with all sesame oil and ginger...but i have no effects loh..bcos my body type is the cooling type...

pink

Thanks for the tip! No wonder.. I aws eat the fish oil after breakfast so aws kena the fish oil smell *yucks*

reira

I dunno what's the rband of my fish oil.. but it's golden yellow in colour. Shaped like a rugby ball. Almost 2cm in length. It smells like fish oil lor! hahaha where got choc smell one?

zen

Yeah lor! I also like u. No prob taking the pills. But see so many spread on the table, darned sian.

The first day I blur.. ate 1 pink pill, 1 fish oil, 3 calcium altogether. After that, so full of water & pills that I wanted to puke hahaha.

kikilala

Why do u need to take 2 eggs a day? Isn't that a lot?

bobo, pink

Haha ur gynaes KS ah? Mine started me on all these supplements after 1st tri, & I must say I m very thankful. I was already sian from having to take flica acid & duphaston every day, now got all these charpalang to take

zen, pegsfur, reira

I think I took 4 vials of blood b/c 1 for OSCAR, 2 for the std blood test (HIV, rubella etc), then prob I got 1 additional vial b/c I decided to test for chkn pox.

I a bit worried abt chkn pox b/c I kena it twice. Guess I'm just wasting $$ lah, but I just wanted to check if I have the immunity lor.

pink

I think the pink one contains many things one... eg folic acid also right? Coz gynae told me to stop my folic acid since the pink pill has.

cloudme
yes, got day confinement... some agencies do provide and tmc as well.. problem is they are singaporeans...so their day confinement pay might be more ex. than malaysians stay-in CLs.

Re : weight gain

I think my weighing time not so accurate. The last time I weighed 56.7kg, then on Sat I was only 54.7kg, like lost 2 kg over 3 weeks!

I think prob b/c the prev time I went after lunch & this time I was there in the am, after my breakfast was all digested.

hmmm, interesting. how come the supplements you gals take are the same? the ones i have are calcium carbonate (for calcium) and neurogainPB (for natural DHA, EPA, AA, OA concentrated). iron (havent started) but it is going tobe what neoglobin..

cloudme - if you are cautious of costs, then go for part-time helpers during this interim periods you are down. if you deem the need to be longer term, then a maid may be useful.. else your mil will flip. seems that your mil is q capable, not those mil who cannot even take care of one... (haha, like mine).

Re: Oscar test
Got back my results. Says 1 in 2488, gynae says it's a good ratio. So my risk of d/s is very low. But just curious how come some mummies shared last time got 24000 type of count.

emilyxiu

I am interested in knowing how much you paid for the service? At the end of the confinement, how much did you spent in total for herbs,ingredients? You will have to give money to the CL and the CL will buy those ingredients? What I am worried is, what if the CL "eats" our money lol

Irene

Do you experience anything like tireness/headache/backaches ect since you didnt rest well during your confinement after giving birth to your son?

Haha ya, if it was me, I will sure have post-natal blues!

When your MIL visited you during your confinement last time, how long did she bothers you for those 3 days?

Well, actually my hubby also don't like his mom de. On Sat, he suddenly say to me that he dont want to let her see baby at all forever. Cos she is very busybody, like to bother and cause trouble to others. Often he say something like "how come his mom is like that one... others mom atleast sensitive enough to not bother others to this extend". When we were still living at his parents place, his mom did a lots of things we dont like. Like in the middle of the night 3 - 4am, she will use the room key she have to unlock our room door and see. Donno see what also... Then when we were out, she will search through our room to see what we have in our room... Totally NO privacy! If we go out and bought things, she will want to know exactly what we bought. Wa lao, not as if we took allowance from her and spend her money to buy things lor. Even my parents never ask what I bought with the allowance they gave me, when I was still a student.

He also don't want the relative to come and help me during my confinement. Because he knows that this relative is very money minded, want to "help" because of money only, also donno if she knows how to cook confinement food or not. So best is hire confinement nanny through agency.

BabyS

Which shop in bugis did you went? Haha I also like Patch's clothes. Got one blue/black stripes top and the material is stretchable, should be able wear throughout my pregnancy.

So far, I only spent $149 on clothes. 4 baby doll top (3 same design different color. only $20 each!! Can wear as nursing wear after giving birth cos can put one side down easily cos of the stretchable material), 1 long jacket and 1 maternity skirt.

I must buy 1 maternity pants so that I can "bao" myself until tight tight when I go back to TMC to do checkup after giving birth during confinement month. Elders said cannot blow wind, so must cover myself :D How much is the pants after discount and do you know how long will the promotion last?

Omg, I always drink milk in the morning, then 1 hr later eat my supplements that contains iron. Will that be ok?

fat Bobo

Similar mum milk is really vanilla + super sweet taste! lol I have been drinking it for a month le. Got one can free from signing up FBI @ TMc. After I finish this can, I am going to start my annum mum chocolate milk! Got some free sample packages from my ex-gynae and love it! Haven't compare their nutrients yet but I love annum mum chocolate flavour more!

I only took folic acid during first trimester, then 2 more pills (pink & brown) start of 2nd trimester. T_T Now I am like refuse to eat those pills leh... My brain won't cooperate lol

pinkMaMa09

is it $20 for dinner a day for 2 person?

babymaking

Hope you will be fine soon!

thks pink, will check them out.

Thanks gals for the concern, bleeding stop, contractions also stop. have to bedrest and see how it goes.

reira,
yes, its about there. the px is more expensive that other caterer, but the food is a lot better. actually the portion for 2 is enough for 3 if you guys are small eaters.

Hi Reira,

I've the same concerns too. But soon the CL helps me to trust her faster by showing me more initiative and results.. Hence, it was all smooth sailing for me.

The cost spent during confinement...
CL
- $2000 (stay-in 28days)
- $530 (herbs package fr Bliss Confinement)
- $500 (Grocery)
- $28 (angbao when the CL arrives)
- $300 (angbao when she left) it's optional as she was a real great help when soothing my bb's tantrums... we (my hubby & i feels she's worth rewarding)

The cost of spending during 2nd confinement
CL
-$2000 (stay-in 28days)
-$530 (herbs package)
-$600 (grocery)
-$28 (angbao when the CL arrives)
-$80 (angbao when she's gng back - need to save up now) no doubt she is equally good... no choice.. hee... hee...

fjm,
well...just shoot at hb that if he want me to do confinement at my mil(yes she is experience)...
he better do something to the room's opening at the top at the door...cos i dun want to be disturb by my sil's bb cries...after my sil's new bb come home (by then i will be in my 5th mth)

that time i do my confinement at in-laws...my sil also given birth and sucks loh...
my mil keep all her mind on that 1st grandchild(even thot that time my niece is already 4mth plus)...and she even carried my newborn to my room saying that that my niece need to sleep in the day...and scare that my bb will wake my niece up...

and so "sway" it's the same again...a difference of 4mths again and her's going to be a bb boy...
so guess the same treatment again...haiz...
wonder if mine is a boi will treatment be different...

jul,
i already did BT last wed. But they told me the result will only be out 5 working days....I tried to call clinic just now, but result not out yet, maybe tomorrow.

ya, yours is fast. TMC is like faster than Gleneagles.

pink

Oic. I think TMC is fast b/c it's like a factory production line lor - specialised so they are very very fast. When I was there, I saw so many other mummies doing OSCAR too.

jul,

I got my results the next day oso
They din tell me the exact results, the nurse just called and say i've cleared my oscar & blood test.

Jul,
My gynae told me to eat 2 eggs and 4 glasses of normal fresh milk or 2 glasses for maternity milk EVERYDAY.
Never ask why, I guess its for the protein and calcium. She also told me that I must eat alot of meat. So far its been very difficult to keep the quota. I only ate 2 eggs last week :p

cloudme - gosh, so desu. think the gals are right. get a CL, get yourself pampered and get an assurance that your bb is well taken care of. no nonsense!

btw, any ladies manage to find any outlets selling nice swimsuits?
must get ready for aqua fitness..

pegsfur

I cannot wait to get my photos back from the report leh. But that will be 4 weeks later when I see my gynae. Sian sian sian...

Hmm my FIL is so fascinated by the BB u/s scan photos. Tha leats time I showed him the accumulated ones, which are quite blur coz BB too small. This time, TMC gave me a print out of one photo to keep while waiting for the report. Then he was scrutinising the photo & was so excited when he cud see the head, arms & legs. Haha I think he missed out on all these with his own children.

fjm

You are not lousy, just that she is lucky not having morning sickness. But we also wouldnt know wor. Plus celebrities are too used to wearing high heels. I fell if i wear high heels even if i am not pregnant!!!

I also cant find where to buy good maternity swim suit. all those in kiddy palace and motherworld ones are so auntie. >_< but i dont dare to wear bikini lol cos too much fats (not baby fats, my 3-layer fats!!)

cloudme

I also gets blue-black easily now and took 2 weeks to heal. Got one time, I put my hand on a table (outside in coffeeshop) and donno why my wrist got a scar thats looks like kenna burned by something hot.

Read from one of the MTB that TMC have day CL.

Jul

Hahaha, maybe mine is not fish oil. But it does contains DHA and omega or something lah. A long list of neutrients. It is brown, smells like smelly chocolate (hey, chocolate smells nice but this one is just eww).

I think my weighing machine spoilt liao. Yesterday morning weighed 69.6kg, now 68.7kg. I always weigh in the morning right after my first small business.

tinkabel

Which result did you look at wor? Got one is maternity age, then 2nd one is adjusted. I took the adjusted one cos it is included the blood test result.

For the maternity age one, I dont remember now. But adjusted risk for Trisomy 21 is 1: 16578 and trisomy 13/18 os 1 : 36369.

pinkMaMa09

I took the test on thursday, then on monday my ex-gynae already ask nurse to call and scold me liao. lol cos he said go on friday but i never went. ofcourse when i visited, i kenna scolding for being naughty didnt visit him on time. T_T I think mine is "urgent" delivery for the result.

emilyxiu

WA!!! FAINT! Total rougly $3.2k... did she gave u receipt after buying groceries? lol

cloudme

Haiz, ofcourse lor, most MIL like that one. Care for their own daughter more than daughter-in-law de.

Pegsfur, haha..if your MIL says cannot do this and that then you ask her to serve you lor.

I was initially using Medela Mini...very noisy and I thought I keep hearing Joshua crying each time I pump. So after 2mths, I wanna give up so my hb bought the Medela PIS for me. Its definitely much better as its dual pump.

Piggytoh, out of curiousity, is your real name starting with 'C'?

kikilala

I wish I had ur "prob". I love eggs! I aws tend to eat more than I shd. Think limit is ard 5 eggs per week?

Maybe u're low in protein or something? Coz lean meat, eggs all these are for protein. Then the milk is for calcium bah?

jul,

Oh, can get the photos back? I wasn't given leh ... maybe they'll give me during my next appt with gynae, which is 2 days later.

I can understand why your fil is fascinated by those pics, cos last time they dun have scans de. Even gender they oso dunno until the bb pops out

reira

I guess there are many ways to get that DHA thing lah. The fish oil just happens to be one of the more gross ways. Eww.. I can still taste the fishy taste *faint*

Irene Is PIS noisy at all? I am thinking of buying Medela freestyle cos it looks more portable. In USA, example PIS cost USD $240, freestyle only USD $300 leh. lol I am gonna ask a male friend from USA to buy and mail to me.

hahaha... so funny when I told him must test the pump to check motor, then he was like "u want me to get beat up by the sales girl". he thought i want him to ask the sales girl to test it by pumping her own breast! lol!

pegsfur

I also didn't get print out at TMC. But the result consist of about 6 small printed pictures.

Pink
At TMC.

bear,
Pls lor ... she wants to serve me i oso dun want ah ... i can't stand the sight of her. Now at least i'm distracted by my bb, last time b4 preggy, the sight of her just makes me boil.

Alamak, i just bot the mini leh, but i bot the one with double pump ... cos it's on offer at kiddy's palace, so i bot it lor. How much u bot the PIS?

Wanted to eat my pills now but realised I forgot to bring the brown one. lol Not good to eat only the pink one so i guess today i skip! haha I skipped eating for last whole week le. Cos of wisdom tooth extraction so gave myself excuse not to eat. >_<

what time do u gals eat ur pills everyday in the morning?