(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

babys
My tcm said the pao shen buy the 60 to 80 per liang one can already. No need the 100+ type. The bird nest should buy the better quality ones.

Mich & Baby S, I know bak chang, my gran, mum and aunt, cut the pork into cubes but the nonya chang one is finely chop but not minced, also don't know why. I love the winter melon inside haahaa, it is those preserved one who sugar.

hi carefreelife..

the scan will proceed like normal ultrasound, just that the image is much much clearer...

They say need 3/4 full bladder b4 the scan, but i didnt have a full bladder and still can do.. haha.

pris, i love nonya chang becos of the preserved winter melons!!! heee...

my friend's mum bought the bird's enst that casued about $200 per liang (what is one liang anyway? gm or what?)... her mother bought 2 liang!! and quantity after cooking so little.. haha..

pris
No, only 1 time at wk 14. I think jermaine also same but she not doing the scan. Hehe...cos she very young ( so envious

RE. pao shen
dunno whether u girls believe this or not.. but my previous CL told me dun drink too much Pao shen during ur pregnancy... otherwise u will have a very active bb... coz pao shen is supposed to boost energy right? something like "ti -shen".. anyway, my mum's used to brew my bird's nest and cordepys with pao shen... and i got a monkey... so i will tell her to put lesser this time round :/

pinkmama,
Yup, will be going for NT scan, it's been scheduled next week

pris,
Ooh .. i like bak chang more cos i like to eat the sam cham bah
Last time when my mum made bak chang, we always customised to our own taste de .. like for me & my sis, we will always stuff alot of sam cham bah in it, and make markings on the strings so tat we know those are ours with all the meat fillings

baby s,
Hahaha .. ok, next time i can help u to wrap oso ..

Baby S, I am not so sure how much my mum bought, she got me xue yan and there is about 6 pieces inside. I usually soak a piece in hot boiling water till it soften and open up then doubled boil with hot water, red dates or pao shen, then towards the end of boiling about 1h 45 minutes, add rock sugar boil for another 15 minutes. It is about a big rice bowl.

Pink, haahaa, below 30, no history, no need to do.

Hi carefreelife

I also didn't have a good CNY, infact this was the worst CNY I had because of the morning sickness, which made me so sick and didn't have any energy and appetite at all.

Don't worry, the ms will go away soon. This week will be my 12th week, and the symptoms are starting to lessen.

Btw which gynae are you seeing? I'll be doing the tests next week.

the tcm, we go to told us, cordyceps cannot be wash, so don't cook with birds' nest. Was advise to boil it with meat but do drink the bottom as there will be some soil. Told us wash, will wash away the nutrients.

hey I heard xue yan not so good, cos got the "blood" involved. Should get some other versions of bird nest...

I thought 1 liang is 30+ grams. Forgot already. I used to take care of the audit for Eu Yan Sang back in Singapore. Hahaha...

I am going off to pick up my boy, think Dh is having a meeting, he will not be in time to pick up my boy. Chat later.

pris, i saw ur facebook pic about the red bean pancake hor, now i got this urge to just rush to takashimaya's basement 1 and buy the red bean fish pancake!!!!

tinkabel, xue yan really got xue? i thought is just the colour only leh.. (i never see xue yan before).. i always just think xue yan is more reddish than normal birdnests...

tinkabel, not sure, but I remember i was told it is 22.5g. The TCM asked us to get xue yan, it is the yellowish birds' nest.

dunno leh, that's what I heard. That's why tell us cannot take xue yan... But hor, the correct way to eat bird nest is to take 1 spoon in the morning and 1 at night every day. Not eat huge portion at one shot...

xue-yan is the most expensive range if i am not wrong.. but i oso recall reading frm some threads that it is not that good for preggie mummies...more feathers or blood like that (this portion cannot remmeber)

Shirley
i'm also doing accounts but i have not arrange for our auditors to come yet.

how come you all talking about bak chang, is the duan wu jie coming? i very blur with these festivals one.

pris
i heard that pregnant cannot eat xue yan, but cannot remember why. i think is something got to do with what the swallows eat that is not healthy.

jermaine very young? how young ah...hehehe kpokpo...

my tcm say no need to buy xue yan....buy the odd shape looking ones can already. The nicely shaped ones has been processed before. Also better buy from reputable source.

babys
haha you tempt us with your breakfast. but now better dun eat too much bak chang cos scared later indigestion. last time i always like to eat glutinous rice for breakfast and my colleagues always scold me

I also had some bird nest during past 1 month. I ate 3 types of them, two are ready-made, one white color, one red color, very easy to use, one spoon every morning together with honey water. The other I have to cooked it myself. I found the one I cooked had some taste of plain egg, not nice to me especially I am still have MS. I prefer the ready-made one, white color.

how about those ready to eat ones? my MIL bought me the swallow's nest from eu yan san (the small bottle kind)

Price differeces can be quite big for bottle kind of bird nest, depending on the density of the bird nest in the bottle. it could range from a few dollars to 50-60 dollors per bottle. I bought the expensive one, which can last for 7-10 days. For cheaper and small bottle one, one bottle one day I think. Quality wise, cannot tell, should not be very big difference.

by the way, I didn't buy the eu yan san one, i bought xu zheng pin and kang fu (or fu kang, cannot remember clearly)

thanks babyS and priscilla for ur comments..im a first time mum and very blur abt it..

hi babelee, this is my 11th week, next week will be doing the down syndrome scan..heard fm others that there will be a blood test with the down syndrome scan issit true? im very scared of blood test..will faint those type...

im seeing dr. adrian woodsworth at his cck clinic...hw abt u?

when is ur baby due?

I just read someone had mi-tai-bak this morning. Suddenly think of that with fish balls and chilli, served dried. Sigh, cant find that in Shanghai...

lily. mum bought me the birds' nest to doubled boil myself, it is the same one that she doubled boil when I was pregnant with #1.

pink, i ate lots of nectarine, it is in season, Au$1.99 for 1kg and now eating ice-pop after taking ice-frenzy with my boy, weather is a killer.

Baby S, haahaa, dh saw it and thot it is nice for ds.

pink, the one I have is odd shape but yellow in colour. I soak it to check for feather, hair or dust but find that it is very clean.

pink, yep, the ones from Canada is much bigger also very sweet and juicy. I am going to get more fruits this weekend during grocery shopping, weather so hot, I am eating lots of fruits, finds that take fruits 30 min to 1 hour before meals helps to prevent constipation.

hi carefreelife, I'm also a first time mum, so still learning about many stuff. This forum is really informative.

Yes the d/s test includes blood test, think is called the Triple test. Maybe other mommies here will be able to give more details. Actually I'm having 2 minds about taking the test, cos if the results turn out not good, will I have the heart to end the pregnancy. Sigh...dilemna.

My doc is Clifton Chan at Clementi, edd is 22nd Aug.