(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

jermaine, wow 24 yrs old already going to be a mummy! Next time your kids all grown up, you'll still be very young

carefreelife, is your doc recommending the triple test or the OSCAR for down syndrome testing? Both are slightly different... think its up to you whether you want to do or not.

pris
Very good. I use pork rib & 菜干. But I was hungry so didn't let it boil long enough. Some of the rib still a bit tough.

Pris, I will be 31 this yr, but conceived last yr, so is it considered risky? Feeling very 'fan' over this issue. DH says take the test will give us a peace of mind, but there are so many 'what-ifs'...

carefreelife, he'll tell you what test soon I'm sure. The OSCAR is more accurate but almost 3 times more expensive than triple test.

babelee, don't worry too much. The results for most mummies above 30 are actually ok

Pink, that's good to know that you have good appetite. I have no appetite so I eat for the sake of eating and for baby. But I cannot resist fruits, so getting more fruits than anything.

Carefreelife, it is up to you to do. Like Mich has mentioned, the tests are slightly different.

Pris
Question. Previously both me & dh ever did blood test for chromosomal abnormalities. Both our results normal. Does that mean that I lower risk?

babelee, we went for the oscar test then NT scan was ok but blood test contradicted, so we do CVS and I was ordered to complete bedrest and results came out was ok.

pink, that have to ask Baby S, I can't answer that as both dh and I aslo have normal result for chromosomal abnormalities test. I supposed should be low risk lah.

Haha.. Coz i love kids so thinking of having it when i am young so that my mum can help me to take care..

Pink, dont worry too much! Everything will be fine =)

mich, thanks for the reassurance

pris, did your doc suggest taking the tests or did you request for it? At which week did you take these tests?

did someone mentioned abt me? hehee...

my appetite recently has been quite bad and woke up 1 night feeling really uncomfortable till I teared.. haikz...normally people 1st tri then got morning sicknes..mine only attack in my 2nd tri...

Hi Mich, I called and checked with the nurse asst., she told me mine was just scanning for d/s scan, no triple test. Does it mean its Oscar and very expensive test?

carefreelife, looks like the nurse is talking about the NT (nuchal translucency) scan where the gynae will measure the thickness of the baby's neck to guage for DS. If its just the scan done by gynae, think its quite cheap.

The triple test is a blood test (remember its about $100+). The OSCAR is around $300 and includes the NT scan + blood test, then they combine both factors to determine the risk factor.

babelee, no problem. I had my no 1 at about the same age as you and it was just fine

carefreelife, since its $250, it could be the OSCAR? Think you better clarify with the gynae during your next visit.

carefreelife, all our bb also Aug bb. That's y this thread is very good for sharing experiences. I am on another thread for my #1. Throughout pregnancy and up to now. My bb is almost 15 mths. A very good support group for babies at the same age.

sollie, i dunno pink.. i cannot answer anything right now, cos my dr's nurse suddenly call and say wanna explain results of blood test to us. Seeing him tmrw aftrnoon.... =(
Appreciate all prayers..

*worried*

Harlo gals..
i am back from my appt.. i am 12wk 1 day now. my baby is 56mm. did my NT scan my baby neck is 1mm now which is norm.. now waiting for my blood test result to conclude....
my gynae say the test took 1 wk to come out but they wun call me unless there is a prob so now hope tt i receive nothing from them the next few wk:p
i paid $260 for the BT the scan my gynae din charge me wor..

smurfy, your SBI card gives you discount on OSCAR and scan? I don't have the SBI card, so I'm paying full price, $298+GST, comes up to about $320 for OSCAR.

BabyS, will pray for you! Please dun think too much, I'm sure all will turn out ok.

but routine no need to make appointment to explain to my husband and i right.. i am just thinking lah, cos my dr quite chin chai one, if the results are ok, he will wait till my next appointment in one month's time to tell us, why make appointment for next few days to see us?
... but this is my own thinking lah..

mich, check liao is d/s scan and detailed scan $200 plus...

tinkabel...thanks for telling me..i blur blur forgot the thread is for Aug due babies...

mich
FBI or SBI card got 5 or 10% discount lar. i remembered the cashier said i am paying for both oscar and detailed leh (my detailed oso booked wya in advanced liao ). i tot i paid $398 onli???

smurfy, your no. 1 was born at TMC? I used Mt A hospital leh so dun have both the FBI or SBI card... I have to go to TMC for OSCAR cos Mt A don't offer such services. Think they charge me more since I'm not from the hospital. And my detailed scan will be done by my own gynae at his clinic.

mich
icic...yah yah my no1 is born at tmc.. i signed on SBI coz his or their PD's clinic is part of the program lor, so got 5 or 10% discount..

Just found out the last time i did the detailed scan, it was only $95.

Think won't sign up for SBI this time round since the discounts I'm getting aren't more than the subscription fees.

haha... haiyo, they leave me in such suspense, of course i worry lah...

wondering if the sugar is high cos i had a coke for dinner one hour b4 the blood test.. hmm... hee..

babys
now then i saw ur post.. good luck to ur visit tomorow hoR... meanwhile no coke just before the next checkup k? actually u could have ask the nurse what's the results first :p...