(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

I share this in the TTCing thread, thot I share with all of you too.

If you are having trouble conceiving, try making a few minor changes to your diets. Here is a rundown of 5 Fertility-boosting foods that you should definitely add to your meals.

Oily fish

Oily fish such as herring, mackerel and salmon are great sources of essential fatty acids which are involved in the synthesis of prostaglandins. Prostaglandins are responsible for promoting healthy sperm count as well as sperm mobility.

Garlic

Garlic has selenium in it, a mineral that may help to reduce the chances of miscarriage in women and that is said to enhance male fertility. It also contains vitamin B6 which regulates hormones and builds your immune system.

Honey

Honey has been used for centuries to boost fertility. It increases amino acids which feed the reproductive system.

Spinach

Spinach, and other leafy vegetables, provides your body with folic acid. Folic acid is an essential ingredient for healthy sperm and ovaries and for preventing neural tube defects during the early stages of pregnancy. It also has iron and vitamin C, two items that enhance the quality of sperms.

Avocado

Avocados are full of vitamin E, which has been shown to boost both male and female fertility. They're also rich in antioxidants, which can help slow down ageing and so reduce age-related ovulation decline. In men, they can improve the fertility of sperm.

regg, which week u in now? i had a period where my MS peak then it went away..

jia you regg, hope all the discomforts go away soon!!!

Dont feel pressured to eat just for baby.. if u really cannot eat any more liao, dont force urself ok..

my mum was sharing with me about her colleague.. 3rd kid liao. ON the last day of school she said she was already dilated, but no contractions.. after she went back, she went into labour and from onset of labour to birth is only 1 hour!!! wah!!!

I'm turning into a big panda soon.. Been having sleepless night 2 days in a row.. ZzzZ!

Regg, u feeling better today?

Regg, you feeling better?

Jermaine, are you feeling better too from your fall? I also have weird dreams for this couple of days, so did not really sleep well too.

Pink, have you started to make birds' nest. I am making birds' nest now. Think will get spring chicken to make chicken essence soon.

Jermaine, just be careful, try not to walk too much, if possible ask your colleague to help you buy lunch back.

pris,
I drank chicken essence on tues. so I thought maybe wait till sat to make the bird nest.

R u using a electric double boiler ?

Priscilla, i'm walking slowly.. Cannot stay in office during lunch as i will get very sleepy

Pink, don't worry.. the scan will be ok... U doing the scan at Dr Chew's clinic?

thks gals.....I am praying & trying to stay positive.

on a lighter side, I am trying out a new recipe for lunch today. Pork rib & Dried Cabbage porridge.

pink, I know how to make the ingredients but I can not wrap properly. So still must go and learn the skill. My gran used to make alot having the help of my aunts and mum when dragon festival.

hi all, good morning.

These two weeks i will be busy with our external auditors, it is our audit period! anyone here in accounting line?

Pris, yes, we have decided to go for the amnio test, haven't book for the date yet, will let my gynae know first during our coming check up.

pris,

I can wrap, but i dunno how to cook the ingredients for bah chang ... used to help my mum wrap during the duan wu jie
Next time u back in s'pore i can help u lah
But must treat me alot of bah chang ok?

pris
There is this stall at Amoy hawker centre that sells better tasting bak chang. The one with salted egg yolk, chestnut & mushroom is super delicious !

pink, my gran used to make to give to relatives. I love eating the different changs.

Pegsfur, haahaa, Will treat you lah. Bah chang is the soy meat one with chestnut and mushroom. I love nonya chang the one with winter melon & meat, also bean chang.

i am nonya, but sadly, never got to pick up granny's nonya recipes and secrets..

i dont think i can bao bak chang, dunno how to hold properly..

pegsfur, i know how to cook the ingredients, but i dunno how to wrap.. we make a good team. haha

pris, yeah got many kim choo.. but i bought one from the kim choo restaurant at east coast there, it wasnt nice. hard, and some parts rice not cooked. but the ones selling at the franchise are niceer i feel... (and more accessible.. no need to go all the way to joo chiat just to buy)

my friend went to buy bird's nest.. the guy selling said cos too much bird's nest will casue phlegm in baby, so the pao seng will counter that..

We dont know if he said it cos its true or to make my friend buy the $65 pao seng... but just sharing.. haha...

pris, bah chang is made of soy meat? I always thought its minced pork... so blur ha ha

babyS, then can your mum cook nonya dishes?

can only cook a bit.. my dad's side is the peranakan side one..

my granny passed away when i was.... sec 2. so that time i havent cultivated my interest in cooking yet.. only after she pass away then i regret not learning cos what i ate outside didnt taste like what granny cooked. oo.. her lor bak and ngor hiang and hae bee hiam!!! yummy!

mich, its finely chopped meat..

pris
My gynae said he old school type. He believes that blood test done at wk 14 yields a more accurate result. So for me it's scan tomorrow & blood test 2 wks later.

BabyS
Last time my mum got a shop opp the joo chiat kim joo. Apparently they "outsource" some of the cooking process to the housewives around that area.

Bah chang is the brown rice one. Nonya chang is the white rice one.

Baby S, I learn from my mum and aunts, my gran passed on when I was 5 yr old but I remember her kueh kueh as we are always at her place.

pinkmama,really ah... but oh man, rice so hard, make me dare not buy from them again..

after watching little nonya and all the food, made me miss my granny and all the yummy food man.. haah

hi all, im new to this forum...also feeling nauseous, giddy, gastric and bloated...esp. during lunch and dinner...since xmas week till now...gg to 2nd trimster soon, hopefully it all goes away...

all my friends do not have these symptoms...am so glad to see in this forum that so many of u are in the same situation as me...

during cny, got no mood at all...ever since my pregnancy, my tastebuds changed and my mood changes...nothing seems to appeal to me at all...

im gg for my down syndrome scan soon, any one knows hw the scan is done ?