(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

regg... hmm, feel like u are dropping/ on roller coaster kinda feeling? hmm.. no leh.. i've only been experiencing those irritating asleep interupptions where i wake up at exactly 4am and cannot sleep for one hour..

what are u doing when u get those feelings?

I went for the Mt A tour on saturday..

i realise now, that Mt A parking quite bad also... at least TMC got those 190 over basement lots (valet parking) but mt a parking really very limited..

and the renovated wards, suprisingly, didnt look very renovated to us, and TMC looks much nicer..

But i like the team at Mt A. all very encouraging, experienced midwives.. but the team at TMC look very...clinical...

so now stuck between mt A and TMC.. hmm...

piggy
U also have funny dreams ah? U know I dreamt abt things or people that I am not even close to. For eg I got one friend invite me to her open house this coming sat. Then in my dream, I dreamt that she make me organize & pay for everything. So funny!

pink,
i cant tell leh cos i only see the face u know new born 1 all look alike keke..
actually wk12 can see liao... like my sis all her 3 child can see prior wk12 but ur baby mus turn over la... i tink some of the gals here alr know...

Piggy, Pink and Baby S,
That feeling will appear a few times aday, when i sit or lying down...

BabyS,
Mt A got 2 places to park wor, one at after the entrance turn left going up hill abit.. another one is after entrance turn right the shelter parking lots.

I am also a MTB in August 2009, EDD 13 August… Have been reading the threads and realise the postings are very active!

I’m currently 12 weeks pregnant and just went for my 2nd visit to the gynae on Saturday… baby now 5.59cm and very active. Gynae measured the neck and mine was below 2… hence considered normal.. so glad to know that.

I’ll be going for my blood test 4 weeks later.. and gynae told me we can choose to also test for D/S… anyone know how much roughly would it cost to include the report for D/S?

Seems like there’ll be a lot of august baby ox this year! :D

hi MTB,

Sorry to interrupt, me from 2009 June thread. i gt Similac Mum to sell.Reason being, my hubby bought 1 dozen for me which i cant even finish.. Gosh. Retail Price: $21. Now me selling at a great loss of $16. Buy more will give further discounts. Price nego. Please help me to clear stock! Expiry date: Sept'09.

Also accept either Mothercare receipts or NTUC vouchurs of the equivalent value.

Self collection at clementi mrt during weekdays & at redhill mrt during weekends.

Email me at [email protected].

Thanks thanks!

i have weird dreams too.. really really weird..

regg, yeah, all packed... and the middle deck is reserved for dr's car and valet parking..

fptt, welcome... did ur dr tell u which test was that, to test for d/s? Cos the oscar test is just the scanning of the neck area and a blood test... which sounds like what u did during baby's 2nd visit.. or he wanted u to go for a more detailed scan?

piggy, talking about gender.. my husband thought he saw something between the legs when we went for the oscar scan.. but i told him i cannot trust him cos he is 'boy crazy'.. haha..

regg, i think i had that feeling about the lack of carparks, cos our tour was 12pm, and we were in the carpark for 15 mins, and couldnt find any lots!! think kan cheong liao.. haha

BabyS,
mayb next time if u really take up Mt A, hb can alight u at the entrance door first, then he go park the car, thats wat we r planing to do after 4th mth, cos when tum tum bigger, abit hard to walk down from the carpark lot.

BabyS,
hahah i tink dun rely on him better cos hor we not expert in lookin the scan keke..

PInk,
i been tellin my baby to open leg big big n show me lately hahah..

smurfy, the reason i am doing the test is bcoz i did it for my #1 and also for my #2, i want to know my risk to have a down baby.

Thanks for the warm welcome! :D

Actually I’m quite confused with all the various scan… at first I tot I understand but when I stepped out of the clinic and try to recall what was said, I get all confused!!!

Luckily I saw this thread.. haha.. the one I did on Saturday was to measure the neck –is this NT scan test? Then 4 weeks later is normal blood test, but if we want we can choose to include additional test for D/S that will tell us the probability of having D/S baby.. (like some mummies mentioned – 1 out of xxxx probability)…

fptt, the additional test he referring to is amniocentesis or cvs sampling is it? those are invasive procedures,my dr only recommend those tests only if oscar test results not favourable.. cos these tests have high risk of miscarriage.. or was he referring to the triple (something) test? (sorry cannot remember exact name).. thats a blood test..

regg, if we choose to take mt a, then the next time i go is prob to deliver liao.. cos my dr is not stationed there. he got his own clinic elsewhere.. by then dont think my husband will want me screaming in the car while he looks for car park.. haha..

piggy, hee.. yah.. i tell friends cannot rely on what i feel too.. i feel its a boy, but i dream its a girl. so cannot believe me.. haha

Thanks for the explanation, BabyS. I don’t think it’s any invasive procedures… so I guess it’s probably the triple test (only blood test)…. Will check with my gynae again.. :p

Also, can I ask… as of now, I don’t really feel that my breasts are getting bigger.. I know some mummies here have already felt the increase in size… is it still early? =S

I also want to breastfeed, anything I can do now to “increase” the supply?

i dont feel mine are getting bigger although they were terribly sore in the beginning.. even my tummy doesnt look much bigger..

i only heard to take papaya and fish soup.. but i dunno when can consume that.. dunno if can consume now or not leh..

shirley
i can imagine it's not easy for u now, though the probability is still within range (anything less than 1:300 is more worrying)... perhaps u can start reading on NT scans, oscar scans results and what to do next.. and talk with ur gynae..

BabyS/FPtt,
no every1 will increase a lot in size 1...
fish soup i heard is after delivered when u Bfeedin.. now i heard is fish oil.. u can also try anmum (milk powder for MTB)

Re: breastfeeding
Not sure if there is anything we can do now during the pregnancy to stimulate. After birth, you can:
1) Drink fish and papaya soup
2) Fenugreek supplements
3) Drink hot drink or place hot towel on breasts to stimulate milk before latching or pumping

Hmmm… it’s a relief to hear that it’s normal not to grow much in size.. will try anmum milk powder first, see if it can help… :D

I’ve found some information on DS and the tests available (attached)… am much clearer now..!

mime_msword.gif
What is Down Syndrome?
What is Down Syndrome.doc (43.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

fptt
that's good information ..

bfing
oso dunno what supplment helps.. but constant latching onz, pumping definitely helps.. and hor. drink plenty of water

pegsfur, really ah? I just look fatter, not preggie..

i have many many samples of milk leh, and havent taken any. My friend sign up with TMC's FBI and got one tin of similac, i got 3 pkts of anmum milk when i signed my dr's package, and my church friend just gave me a tin of enfamum.... so many!!

baby s,

Yah lor ... it's getting increasingly difficult to hide my tummy as hubby dun want to announce the pregnancy until 1st trim over. Now i can't even wear loose babydoll tops cos it just enhances the tummy's shape. My front still can hide abit but my side view totally cannot make it. It's clear that i'm 5-mths pregnant!!!

shirley: Your results are from the blood test or the NT scan? You just had your #1 abt 2 years ago, I am not sure if I understand how come the ratio drop so much (paiseh, me no doctor. But just very curious the ratio moved so much). I read quite a bit on the thread about unsatisfactory results from Oscar test and had to do CVS or amnio in the end. Then actually found out that the baby is ok. Don't worry too much... I am also going to have my test in 2 weeks. Cross fingers that everything will be ok...

Hi tinkable, my result is Oscar result, which is the conbined result from blood test and NT Scan, when i had my #1 was 2 years ago. but i compared the result from my #1 &amp; #2 i realised that the neck measurement for both are the same, just the diff is my age (i am above 35 now), and blood test result is not that good.

Bcoz i am old, i cannot take to risk to have a down baby, bcoz i worried no body will take care of the baby if i am not around.

Altho the doc doing the scanning told me 1:327 is still consider low risk, bcoz in other country the cut off is 1:250. But in RH they are using 1:300, it is so close to the boarder line and the my gynae told me sometime it could be a false positive result.

hey, for those who went for the Oscar test, still dun know the sex of the baby yet? normally during the 1st trimester test can see liao, but my bb too shy, he/she close leg leh...

Shirley, my blood test contradicts too though NT scan was ok. So we did the CVS scan, and everything is fine by God's grace, no one can tell me what went wrong. As Oscar is just statistics and not a definite diagnostic test.

tinkabel, some friend swear by pig knuckles in vinegar during confinement also helps to increase milk supply. I know lots of papaya fish soup here and persistence in latching on and pumping here (Need a good pump).

Shirley, as long as family has no history of D/S or genetic problem, should be safe unless you plan for test.

For us, we want to be sure as my mil is an adopted child, she has no ideas about her own biological family, so to play safe we go for testing.

Shirley, the dr can tell but tell me it is to early to confirm anyway by week 20 will know liao. I know my #1 by week 12 as he opened his legs super wide haahaa.

pegsfur

me too. I also look 5mths preg altho i'm only 14 weeks now. Anyway, my whole family knows abt it already. There's no keeping the mouths shut esp with 'radio broadcasters' like my MIL and my grandmother.

Tell u gals something funny at a birthday party i went over the weekend. My cousin in law's 2 yr old son came up to me and pat my tummy, then said baby. No one told him that there's a baby. He just kaki came up and said that. Then he said 'baby girl'. Hehe, hope his predictions are true.