(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

question:
what's the consequences of GD ar? cannot remember oredi... then how abt a woman with high blood pressure during delivery? what r the possible consequences?

mashy
ggeezz.. thanks.. coz 2 out of 3 visits, the clinic assist. was telling me my blood pressure slightly on the high side but still alright.. (commented could be that i was nervous during the visit)

Hi mashy,
Pardon my ignorance...the detailed scan is the one at 20weeks which is mandatory for all mothers rite? Wat other blood tests need to be done?

Smurfy,

before you take a blood pressure test, always rest for a while first. from my understanding..walking rapidly also will affect the readings.

smurfy, mashy, Pris

Hmm.. I guess my SIL's BBs are small. She said she put on only 5kg for the 2nd one!

smurfy, pinkmama

I'm also gog to do the scan, take blood & see gynae for my 12th week check up on the same day (assuming I do go for OSCAR). Hubby even said if can squeeze in, we'll do the hosp tour as well, if not, seems like we're aws wasting a lot of time waiting ard at the clinic haha.

bubblymommy

I only did V scan at my first visit bcoz I wanted to see the heartbeat at 6 weeks. After that, its aws tummy scan liao, bcoz the BB is big enough to see by tummy scan. I heard the heartbeat via tummy scan too, but that's at 8 weeks lah.

Pris, mashy

I haven't done any blood test, & when I asked abt the blood test yest, my gynae told me it's done ard 4mths. But if I wanna do OSCAR, might as well take blood one time & do blood test for those hep, rubella etc together instead of drawing blood twice.

Am I supposed to do the blood test immed after preggie? So confused. And is the detailed scan & blood test for hep, rubella etc compulsory?

smurfy, my no 1 and 2 are both girls. Some pple ask me whether I'm trying for a boy, that's why have #3. But actually that's not the case. #1 was assisted, vacuumed out. #2 was natural. Oh gosh 18 hours!! Mine was 12 hours, already cannot tahan...

Pris, 4 kids?? wow... I cannot imagine managing 4 kids. So you're closing shop after #2?

bubblymommy, my scans have all been V scans, last scan was at 10.5 weeks.

Yen

I called NUH and they told me its $190+ for NT test. Why your bill so much?

Maid
My maid auto told me that she will extend another 2yrs cause she cant bear to leave my #1 which is going to be 1yrs old next mth. She sees my daughter from birth till now. She have been working with me for 4yrs now.

Morning Sickness
I dont have MS even with #1 only breathless at times. Sometimes really thinking if my bb is ok or not. Silly me.

bubblymommy

I think most gynaes dun do V scan if the BB is big enough. I suspect it's bcoz most of us are uncomf with V scan. And they need to take longer to prepare the V probe, reassure us, slowly put it in, etc, that's why they just do the tummy scan.

Jul,

I am in my 10 weeks during the last scan...but still use v scan....

actually the v probe quite fast... no pain juz weird feeling.. haha

bubblymommy

Maybe it's the gynae's skill? Or whether the patient is relaxed or tense? I also dun find V scan uncomf at all, but many pple tell me they hate it.

Hmm why ah? issit bcoz V scan more accurate?

Jul04: It depends. If u will not abort the bb no matter what, then to some, no pt doing oscar. but of course, it can also serve a gd purpose as it can prepare you. As for weight gain, i think might need to control a bit. Cos 2nd trimester onwards, will put on even faster. That's based on my experience for #1. I guess dun purposely dun eat, but eat with moderation.

Re: # of babies
I will definitely close shop after this, regardless of whether boy or gal. Of course, I hope it's a gal. haha...

tinkabel

Very hard to control leh. I'm aws so hungry, like a hungry ghost *sob sob*

Maybe I can start on some walking exercise soon after babylet more stablelised. Think the exercise ban has contributed to the weight gain.

Im at Week 12, going to week 13 and yet to gain 1kg despite me eating more. Seen my friend now in her 2nd trimester gain more weight, find it abit scary. But will still continue to eat if hungry but in moderation

Plus I do take slow walks to make up for the exercise...

Jul04: Haha I can understand. I am also trying hard to keep weight down. Dun want to put on more weight than the last time (ie 12kg), since I am older this time and I heard stories that after #1 shrink, but after #2, cannot shrink,cos older. I loved it after I had my #1. He was on total breast milk until 10 months. So I just ate whatever I want, and still not put on weight. My menses also never came back until abt 9 months after I give birth. Just that I have to deal with the hassle of expressing milk at work. Haha... But hor, not sure if other mummies have the same experience. I stopped breastfeeding the moment I realised I am pregnant with #2. Then I realise hor, my breasts shrink. I remember for my #1, my breasts started becoming bigger from 2nd month onwards.

bubblymommy

Hmm maybe I shd. I cannot keep gaining weight like this.

dolcevita

U shd be happy lor. Can eat & still not gain. Pple here struggling u know muahaha.

tinkabel

U only gained 12kg? That's not a lot. I have this sinking feeling I might be those gain 20kg type.

Heehee my breast also bigger. In fact they started growing once I missed my period too haha.

Weight gain
It sure is not easy to keep the weight in check if we cannot exercise rite? So Jul,I m like u,i like carbo but told myself since baby is not exactly needing too much nutrients from me and tat i cannot exercise now,i started to cut down on my food intake.When hungry,i munch on nuts.
Cannot wait til 2dt trimester to go swimming...

Breasts
Tinkabel,dunno abt the shrinkage part but the enlargement is really something..when i sleep on my sides and the two "sisters" get squashed agst each other,,wah pain man...hee hope the size remains even aft birth!

PJ

Munch on nuts will be full? I am the need to eat rive type of person. I love bread too. Maybe that's why I'm really gaining weight *sigh* But hor, if I'm hungry & cannot eat, I will become depressed leh. I can cry if I'm hungry one

Can't wait for the day when I can feel my sisters being squashed...

PJPJ: Haha I also wished my breastsize remained after birth when I was expecting #1. But hor, sadly, for me, it didn't. In fact, I tink it has shrunk. My massage lady says cos I have been breastfeeding for too long. Don't know true anot. But the Chinese here dun seem to breastfeed very long. Cos every time, I go for facial, she ask me when i am going to stop breastfeeding. So strange... Sianz man, I was still hoping to breastfeed my #2. but now I am thinkg, what if my breasts shrink even smaller?!!!? Cham...

Jul04: Ya, I only put on 12kg. But hor I am petite la, at 1.57m only. I remember just before I delivered, I was about 62kg. Lost more than 1/2 the weight I put on immediately after birth. Then the rest, mostly with the 1st month. I siao, even brought my levi's jeans from shanghai back to Singapore as a gauge. I was so happy when I managed to squeeze back in. Then I lost more weight after that cos I went back to work and doing total breastfeeding. So I am darn determined to see myself lose everything this time too... But dun worry la, I have seen pple put on 18-20kg but manage to lose most of it. Key is breastfeeding, healthy meals and some exercise... Definitely need a malay massage lady to bind ur tummy...

Jac: Really??!!!! my goodness, I have been overcharged.....the bill does not show explictly " NT test - $x".
Instead the bill shows a few breakdown of 4-5 items. I removed the doc's consultation and medication..and the remaining amt is indeed more than $250.
I am going to call them up and ask tmw morning, since I dun have the bill with me. They probably need me to quote the invoice reference number.

i also need to eat rice or noodles when im hungry, otherwise will feel as if ive not eaten anything.
If i dont eat when im hungry, i will start to feel naueous and start to have throwing up symptoms....

Jul: I am constantly hungry too. and I have gained 3kg as at Week 12. So sad

Btw, the ladies here all underwired bra or non-wired bra? I wear under-wired bra everyday due to better support. But now, it's cutting against my flesh that kinda thing...(not real cutting..but causing a mark).
Can preg women wear non-wired bras? Will it cause our 'assets' to droop and head downwards? since it's getting bigger and worse still, no support from wire.
Any advice?

Hi Jul,
Ur posting makes me laugh.."Can't wait for the day when I can feel my sisters being squashed..." Heh it is painful lei..not fun u know. Have u noticed tat ur breasts has increased in size?

Tinkabel,
I dun think they are talkin sense..i am sure some increased n some who have decreased in size..the most impt is not to sag!LOL

Hi dolcevita & jul,
Try eating a handful of nuts,it is very filling man,if still not enuf,pair it with a hot drink like milo. yum

Hi yen,
I also have the same prob with the under wire causing a mark on my breasts..wah aft i take off the bra,i can see clearly on my chest the two red round circles and underlines..macham drawing!

Re: Bras
Actually I think I read somewhr that they recommend wearing no wire bra, so that it will be more comfortable and most impt, dun cause the milk ducts to be blocked. But I am not comfortable wearing no wire bra when outside, so I still stick with the wired bras throughout pregnancy and even when I am breastfeeding. I tink it is up to individual preferences. As for those who are hvg marks, I have ur breast size have increased, such that the size or cup is no longer suitable. So i think need to get new bras...

I am also one of those who love rice & noodle.
I am constantly feeling hungry, esp around 3pm or so. Anyone got suggestion for a low fat, low sugar, low carb & low salt snack?
I just blew all my carbs allowance on my tea time snack today. Had 6 pieces of nian gao fried with egg...yummy!

Wah did someone say nian gao fried with eggs.....o o o o loved those!! Nuts or fruits are a safe choice pinkmama,my mum got those non salted,non sugared nuts like almonds,pecans,walnuts from the wholesale mkt at victoria,toast then lightly n then pass to me to enjoy. Yum.

pj
Thks but I am not really a nuts person. But r nuts filling for you? Just now I was thinking maybe I should make some chicken & veg soup to standby, at least it's healthy.
Ya men the nian gao very shiok but feel super guilty after eating so many pcs.

PJPJ: I think nuts are ok if u eat moderately. Here's an article to say it might increase the chances of asthma for Bb if u hv them daily. And also, nuts has very high oil content. I am a nut lover myself, but had to give up and not take so much.

http://www.babycenter.com/204_does-eating-nuts-in-pregnancy-boost-childs-asthma-risk_5234605.bc

Pink: Here's an article on suggestions of healthy "snacks"

http://www.babycenter.com/0_11-fast-foods-a-pregnant-woman-could-love-and-five-to-avoid_1313899.bc

hi tinkabel, thanks for sharing your thoughts on bras.. i guess i am one of those who feel uncomfortable with unwire bras but have to rely on them, otherwise will feel uneasy.

PJPJ, if munching on nuts can be filling then this is definitely something good for you.. i am alllegy to various kinds of nuts so this is a total nono for me...

hi moms, anyone went for D/S test already? can share your experience

Sorry to interrupt mtbs/mummies..

i bought a obuba nursing wrap www.obuba.com
before CNY, but baby dont like to be covered when bf, thus decided to sell it. used only twice in the car...bought at $37 selling at $28 self collect at sembawang...if posting need to top up $2 wait for a week.

then also giving away my confinement warming shampoo and body wash that bought from littledreamers...used less than 5 times, still got alot. self collect at sembawang pls.

Please PM me if interested.

I have been an onlooker since I tested positive... and hasn't posted anyting...

Just went to consult my gynae and was sad to learn that can't detect any heartbeat yet.... and he is not quite happy with what he see... I think I have to mentally prepare for the worst ...

Not to rake the past or if it upset you but I really need some advice now cos I know some mummies have gone thru this.. and I really don't know what to do...

How long does the D & C takes? How many MC? What happen to the foetus...

This is suppose to be a happy thread... so sorry if I didn't bother you..I can start another thread to ask if you think not appropriate to ask here....

Pj, I got the same 'markings' on my breasts too. Husb said bra cup too small, need to upgrade a bigger to a bigger BOWL.

jac, here's the breakdown of my bill.
1) Antenatal Screen 1 - $73.30
2) 1st Trimester Screening - $107
3) NT scan - $85.60

Lawshe, I went for the D/S test last fri, which is also known as OSCAR test. This include a NT scan a blood test. After that, the outcome will be known in few days time, in a certain ratio (e.g. 1:12000, which means 1 person is at risk of having a D/S child out of 12000 pple.). Based on this ratio, and your age, they will classifiy u whether high-risk or low-risk.

Any MTBs went shopping after CNY? Any fantastic buys?

jac:u're one lucky one to hv a greta helper
...mine's good too but i hope she wont change her mind of not continuing for another 2 yrs......

JUL_LUVS_BABYLET:dun worry la....me gained 24kgs and managed to shed 22kgs hahhahahhaha so 2 kgs to make me look like a mommy kekekekkekek self comfort :p

pinkMaMa:actually the hunger cones in durign the 2nd and 3rd trimester.......i wake up during the nite and drink milo and bread.......few times.....sometimes forgot to stock up .....so ate biscuits......after eatign then i can go back to sleep again.....this is my experience for my 1st looooo

Hi, finally managed to detect bb's heartbeat, and gynae has given my EDD as 31/08/09. Was hanging around the sept09 thread coz thought it might be later. Well, august it is!

Now having some worries coz according to LMP, the size of the bb is about 6days slower, so not sure if things are ok. Have 3 more wks to the next appt. But gynae didn't say anything, so trying to think +ve. Becoz of previous mc, also on duphaston 2x a day. bao bao, must jia you

Also have to decide whether to go for triple test or OSCAR test. Hb was saying go for triple test coz of cost ($90 vs $300...), but accuracy of OSCAR is about 15-20%higher. for those mums who've gone for the DS tests, which one did you choose?

Went for my weekly gynae visit today.. Baby is about 4.5cm and i'm 11 weeks plus.. Baby was bouncing today.. Will be taking my normal blood test in 2 weeks time.. Think i'll skip the oscar test..

Sandy, stay positive ok?

I'm a Mar 09 MTB.

Am selling a SIMILAC MUM (700G), totally unopened can. Expiry date: Sept 09, selling it as my hubby bought too many cans and I can't finish it.

- The New Maternal Supplement for Pregnant & Breastfeeding Mums (Low Fat)
- Contacts DHA, folic acid, calcium, vitamin D, zinc, FOS
- Retail price S$21
- Collection at AMK or Bishan MRT
- Interested parties, pls pm me.

GET IT AT ONLY S$15!

yen2008, can i find out how many wks were you when u took the oscar test? apart from blood test, is there any other tests/scan involve?

All Mummies, guess i am one of the late Aug mtb here. seeing all your bbs growing well make me so touch and wanna move forward too.. i am definitely awaiting my next gynae visit. good health to all the mummies here and also the bbs to grow big and healthy.

btw, several mummies mentioned that their bb are bounching during the u/s, it make my kinda worry on my case cos during my last scan, bb was not moving much when my gynae detect his/her heartbeat, is everything normal here?

one more last time, any mummies on msn?