(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

I am getting nervous, the school here looks so open, must teach my boy to be alert and watch out for dangerous. A few cases of kid abductions over in Sydney but not at where we are staying.

Pris,
not all pp managed to lose weight from BFD 1... i tink when have baby not easy to find time to go for exclusive exercise also... for us who r workin need to go back to work after maternity difficult to continue BFD also..

Shirley,
i made an appointment with RH before going but still have to wait so long. I had many questions cos of family history and medical conditions, so hope to get some queries clear. I guess she's really in a rush cos I saw her leave the office with her bag after seeing me.

Pris, same as you I desperately want MS to go away so I can look after my kids, feel like a bad mummy cos always no energy for them. Your DS is starting kindergarten? The bento box sounds good, what kind of food items do you put inside the box?

mich, spree from which website? Me based in US.
your 3rd kid! Congrats! I dont know if i will have the courage to have so many kids,ideal is 2. Haha...

Pris, your ds 1st day in sch? Do many sg kids attend that school? U gonna fetch him or take school bus?

Priscilla

Yah lor. I was working for a while then, that's why couldn't lose the wt. After I quit my job when my boy was 15mths, i slimmed down 5kg in 3mths.
Then slowly reduced another 1-2kg after that.

Priscilla

It's so scary when the place that you're at is not very safe. But at least Sydney is not as bad already right? Singapore is still one of the safest place for children. The most dangerous place is actually the road.

piggy, I was working when I have ds, my mum helps with him and then I finally leave after being back for a month, missed my boy alot, I start jog once my boy was 1 month. And bfd.

Pris,
i envy those pp who can continue BF my co noplace for us to express milk 1 n the pantry closed after 3pm so cant even store the milk...
so i tink i gotta stop after i resume back to work.. some pp can slim down jus by BF some gotta to exercise etc some exercise also cant lose much...

cherrios, wow, based in the US is great cos all the nice maternity clothes are from there! Which part of the US are you at?

Gap Maternity and Old Navy maternity has nice stuff. Heard from other ladies its especially worth to buy during sale time
I love shopping in the States. I will spree from drugstore, lucky vitamin for my cosmetics and vitamins.

Actually, in the beginning I didn't even have the courage to have even 1 kid cos I didn't think I was the motherly kind. But they grew on me
But no 3 will be the last one for certain.

irene,

Ive not start to wear maternity clothes but ive already bought maternity pants. All my current pants I cant fit in. Im still wearing my normal clothes but mainly skirts.
Will start to wear those maternity pants for CNY and after that, as I will be in my 12 week during CNY.

Mich,
The maternity wear selling at bugis shop is not bad, reasonable price for basic stuff like pants, shorts and skirts, even dresses. You can check them out.

My lower tummy is also protruding now, and my auntie was saying im carrying my low. If i wear more fitting tops, the bump is pretty obvious.

I went for facial yday and facial lady was saying, judging from your skin condition which is pretty good compare to others that she has seen, she predict mine would be a gal. Bec usually if its a boy, the breakout on the face would be bad. Not sure if this myth is accurate or not =P

Mich, I spare the same thought as you, my boy called my sleep the sleeping beauty sleep. I could not even do my homeschooling part with him, feel bad that he is doing all the homeschooling part on his own.

Cheerios, Kindy for him, he has been to playschool, but kindy here is in their primary school and they called it infant classes.

Mashy, here is not as scary as we stayed in Vancouver.

piggy, my previous company also has no place to express milk. So one of my colleague discussed with my boss, and the boss allowed her to use the "storeroom" to express. Not very ideal, but at least got a enclosed place. Maybe you can talk to your bosses abt this?

DolceVita, which part of bugis is the shop? Bugis Junction? I will go see see when my MS gets better...

So far I've already put on 2kg after coming back to sg for 1.5 weeks... mostly fats I think, since bb is only few cm in length... at max a few hundred gramms in weight

Been living the rule that pregnant ladies should eat as much as possible. my mum always tell me that now 1 person eat, 2 person "bang sai". Quite funny!!

mich, but i m quite short eh,only 1.58,so the clothes from there are actually quite big/long for me,their maternity wear in stores have limited range also...or mayb i m picky..haha..still prefer shopping in sg..

Dolce, sure or not? But belly is all low the ma? No? My tummy only the bottom more obvious..haha..but i feel is all the fats la..cos still soft soft one...n i aso no breakout eh.. *touch wood* but i hoping for boy wor..haha..

piggy, I used the conference room to express milk. I used ice bag and cooler bag to keep the milk cool and then bring home and transfer into fridge, anyway, ds is not keen on express milk, so he drinks when I am bad haahaa.

cherrios, yup its true that the stuff in US is made for the tall and big built Americans. During the few years I stayed in the US, I used to have to go for the petite sizes. Oh and even the child sizes in XL works fine for me ha ha

Pris, your boy is so matured... he can do his own home schooling. I'm really impressed. Is next week, the 1st time he is going to school?

Cheerios, I have no breakout and ms when I was pregnant with my boy.

This one, only a couple of pimples but ms is quite jialat.

piggy

u can get the 'fridge to go' bag. Can store your milk in the pantry till before it close, then put them in the bag. Should last u till u get home. Or if u don't feel safe enough, throw in 1-2 ice packs.

Some of my friends/ex-colleagues have converted conference rooms, cubicles, store etc into a temp pumping room. Hhee.

Mich, yes, first time he is in a big school where the classes range from Kindy to Grade6. I started homeschooling him from very young so he has a schedule, he is doing lesser than we usually do but a beggar can't be choosy since he is working on his own and it takes alot of effort for a 5 yr old to do it on his own.

Dolce,
tt myth abt the pimples is not true... i got many friend havin boi but no outbreak some 1st boi outbreak #2 boi no outbreak so i dun tink it true.....

Mich,
my prob is not only the room to express but also storin.. also i am located in another co not my own co so my boss have no say in lettinme use the conference room n the room is rather expose also

Pris,
will see how it goes cos i scare the cooler bag not able to last for 10 hr...

Mich, I can wear the girls size, though I am 1.72cm in high haahaa. So when in Vancouver, I usually get the girl sizes from Old Navy, Gaps, etc

btw, do any of u experience sudden pain/pull at the sides even when you are not doing anything, etc just lying on bed? Near the abdomen area? Its just prob a sec or 2...

Gosh, i m getting hungry again...

piggy,can express in toilet if the toilet is chean? Or maybe the handicapped toilet? My ex co even have a shower area inside the handicapped toilet n really clean too....

Pink,
ya i agree toilet is a big no no...

Cherrios,
the toilet not v clean 1.. n i usin electric 1 so toilet is out of the question lor.. i miss my ex co they even have a nursin room for woman...

mandarin oranges

i like mandarin oranges. i dun normally eat oranges, but when comes to cny, sure eat lots of kum. my mum bought the small ones & i ate quite a few cos they're so sweet & yummy. then y'day she brought home a carton of mandarin oranges. ate 1 yesterday. now going to eat again. hahahhah!

cny goodies
i've also been eating pineapple tarts. i try not to eat too many though.

undergarments

my boobs seem to grow a little bigger now. hv any of u bought maternity bras? is it true tat we cannot wear those wif underwire? where can i buy maternity bras? can i buy normal bras wif no wire instead? for panties, i've already bought & wore those for maternity. my normal g-strings & panties are too small & uncomfortable to fit in.

there's oso a kind of mini fridge leh..

i dunno how it works.. but i knw some mummies uses this..

Features
Capacity 5L (8 Cola Cans)
Maximum Cooling Performance - 200C Below Ambient Temperature
Warms to 650C by Set-Point Thermostat
Power Consumption 48 Watts
Convenient-Plug Into Any 12 Volt Cigarette Lighter in Car
Product Dimension: 28.5 x 23.3 x 31.6cm
Net/ Gross Weight: 2.3/ 2.7Kg
Available in Blue or White
2098277.jpg

Zen,
cos my boobs expand v soon after i preg so now i wearin nursin bra alr. ther r wired 1 but i find non wired 1 more comfy n some say wired 1 might affect the milk duct for me sometime wired 1 is a bit painful to wear.. u can buy from maternity shop or dept store i buy from maternity counter at OG...

pris, its indeed tough for a 5 yr old to do homework on his own. You've taught him well, I'm sure he'll do just as well when he starts school

cherrios, yup, I do get that once in a while, maybe once every couple of days. I assume its the uertus stretching since its not too sharp a pain.

pinkmama, is it because your colleague doesn't have any other room to pump? Its sad that some companies are still not "family friendly" enough to take care of women staff who are breastfeeding.

some electric breastpumps oso can use rechargable batteries :p.. i think ultimately is just how serious u r in breastfeeding.. the most office use manual pump, house use electric pump :p... i ain't going be serious abt bf-ing this time round though kekkeke..

zen, i m still wearing my old undergarments, but the looser fitting ones..by how many wks shld we be wearing maternity wears n such? Does it depend on individual? I have a friend whose tummy did not even show til the 5th or 6th mth eh...

i'm also not sure when to wear maternity wears. guess it depends on individual. when i was 6th or 7th week, i can't fit into some of my jeans already. by week 8, all jeans can't fit, only left with some shorts. now hv to wear maternity capris & shorts. i've started bringing out all my dresses to wear. more comfy.

i need to buy new bras soon. DH said i'm torturing my breasts by squeezing them. haha!

Pris,
haha thanks for ur suggestion for i dun tink i wan to use tt in office

Mich,
u r rite not all co r pro family plannin...

Smurfy,
the prob is expressin in toilet is really unhygiene...

Mich
Yes our office doesn't have any nursing room. I think I will have the same prob as piggy, prob have to stop bf when go back to work. I have a lot of frens who go by formula milk from birth, & their kids r all healthy so I guess it shouldn't be too much of a prob.

Cherrios,
maternity clothin depend on individual 1 not all need maternity clothin some can jus buy bigger sizin clothing..

Im still wearing my normal bra but some of them need help with the bra extension. Otherwise im still ok with the wired bras.
Im also still wearing normal panties, still can wear and comfy still though my tummy already protruding.

cherrios,

One of my colleagues carry her baby very high during her preg. Her stomach swells just right below her breast and is really high up. Mine is concentrate on my lower tummy now.

So the myth abt breakout is not true..hehehehe...

Hi Mich, Welcome
ya i also hope i wont put on much weight or else very difficult to shed off.. also dun wanna have c-secyion if bb too big though.. i try to nibble on healthy food when hungry and try to curb my craving for spicy and oily food which i seldom take pre-pregnant but very craving now lor...

Re breastfeeding place
My office has a specially allocated nursing room with fridge for breastfeeding staff to use.

Mich, hope so, he is sure playful, mischievous and talkative.

Pink, we used to show our bosses all the benefit about bm and then we was given the go ahead to use conference room for ebm, just put a sign outside so male colleagues will not go in.

zen, me also torturing my boobs..haha..but not much of a choice eh...the maternity bras here like all very big sized one eh..n scared it might grow somemore again? So now i go braless most of the time when i m at home...but will prob need to get them soon...my jeans also cun fit le..living on my dresses now,cun wear shorts cos winter now..cold ah..haha..i wear dress with tights..