(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

PJPJ:
yeah hb took leave to accompany me n bb lor...

congrats that ur MS is gone *cross fingers
i rather heartburn than MS also.. mi oso getting hungry ev other min... heng got new year goodies to eat.. else cham

PJPJ,

i agreed that heartburn is beta than MS.....but my symptoms are ever-changing...with the latest flu-like symptoms which doc commented it is the norm for preggie mommy....

Cindy,
Yeah it is very common,my 1st pregnancy,even thot i was going down with flu & went to GP..but aft tat then realised it is pregnancy.

taslyn: i dun understand what u mean..
u mean private dun usually scan or kkh dun scan everytime?

Does any mtb check with kkh about any package or their route till delivery.

PJPJ,

yah...but i dislike the body ache feeling...its like the entire body being torn apart...

was even upset when my boss commented that i am juz being paranoid due to 1st pregnancy... I guess she is juz lucky for both of her pregnancies, she had the easy way out thus comment in such a manner.

Cindy,
Dun even bother abt her..everybody's body is different wat..jus make sure you are not down with fever (with the body aching part)..we have to keep our temperature cool

Elicia, sorry to hear about ur loss too...my D&C ops also very fast...when i was transferred to the ops bed, i cried and the nurses got to help me wipe my tears...shortly, the jab took effect and I fell azzz. When i woke up, i was already in Day Surgery room with my hubby sitting n waiting for me....take care too...i also have a mini confinement now and still drop by to visit the thread coz really nothing to do at home and was given 18 days hospitalisation leave...

Hi ladies, hope all of u are doing well n fine..
Seeing all ur chats really made me envy...

PJPJ,

Hmz... maybe i should show her this manz... it did upset me when she says that... planning to space out my leave to rest more.. instead of clocking more mc which others will talk behind me even more.....

babyjon:
it was the KKH subsidised clinic which does not scan all the time. i think they only use the dpoler to listen to heartbeat only. v seldom scan unless they think bb is in trouble.

i m not sure abt kkh packages. coz they vary from gynae to gynae and the subsidises involved too. bearing in mind now they do a IRAS check when they decide if u can stay in subsidixsed wards like B2 and C class.

cindy: ur boss v bad. ignore her...

pjpj:
the white thing.. u mean kueh bangkit? i like them too coz they melt in the mouth.. keke.. used to help my aunt bake them when i was in pri sch. haha.. had to fry the flour 1st then make.

Elicia mum and Violetta
take care and I'm sure after the mini confinement your body will be stronger and you can still be a mummy Ox

pinkmama
your first gynae's attitude sounds bad lor...

#2 & #3 mums,
must tell us 1st timers if any of our gynae's from your black list...

cindy:
folic acid is taken to help prevent/minimise birth defects.
i skipped a few doses coz there were days which folic acid made mi nauseous. but Drs advise mi to take the FA nonetheless. the cardiologist even mentioned it help to strengthen mummies heart during pregnancy. so better to take.

from wikipedia:
Folic acid is an important nutrient for women who may become pregnant. Adequate folate intake during the periconceptional period, the time just before and just after a woman becomes pregnant, helps protect against a number of congenital malformations including neural tube defects.[9] Neural tube defects result in malformations of the spine (spina bifida), skull, and brain (anencephaly). The risk of neural tube defects is significantly reduced when supplemental folic acid is consumed in addition to a healthy diet prior to and during the first month following conception. Women who could become pregnant are advised to eat foods fortified with folic acid or take supplements in addition to eating folate-rich foods to reduce the risk of some serious birth defects. The most notable birth defects that occur from folate deficiency are neural tube defects. Taking 400 micrograms of synthetic folic acid daily from fortified foods and/or supplements has been suggested. The Recommended Dietary Allowance (RDA) for folate equivalents for pregnant women is 600-800 micrograms, twice the normal RDA of 400 micrograms for women who are not pregnant.

Recent research has shown that it is also very important for men who are planning on fathering children, reducing chromosomal defects in their sperm.

elicia/violetta:
get well after mini confinement.. then load up on folic.. load ur hbs with folic also. (read above article from wiki)

kikilala:
i am comfortable with my gynae so far.
i dun like this gynae in tampines.. blk 800+ at the market there coz he does abortions above his clinic so i cannot understand a gynae/ob who appears to be cheery when u wanna keep ur child yet so willing n even hv the facilities to take a bb life away.

babyjon:
ref to this webbie:
http://www.kkh.com.sg/NR/exeres/F27D6F72-5CCC-4427-9762-06A9B44684D0,frameless.htm?NRMODE=Published

For more information on our Maternity Packages, you may email to [email protected] or call us at our 24-hr hotline 6394 1881.

you may wan to note that kkh dun allow daddies to be in the OT if u csec hor. only nautral birth then they allow.

i read this on kkh and freaked out.. that y i think i rather choose a pte gynae:
http://www.kkh.com.sg/SharedCMS/Templates/Singhealth%20Generic%20Template.aspx?NRMODE=Published&NRORIGINALURL=%2fPatientHealthLibrary%2fWomensHealth%2fPregnancy%2flabour.htm&NRNODEGUID={E37AEC41-D3DA-4B58-8310-8296193C41C0}&NRCACHEHINT=Guest#6

since u stay hillview area, u can try dr Adrian woodworth. He has a clinic in CCK. his package is $550. my fren just delivered her son by him. He does deliver at TMC or MT A. natural delivery cost ard 3000-4000+ (inc gynae fees, delivery suite n the items used inside, ur hospital stay n bb fees - jabs, nursery charges)

Thanks kikilala and Taslyn, I still hope for a baby ox, dunno if can "make it" on time or not...but still got to wait after 2 cycles of AF before can TTC.

I didnt know hbs can take folic also...my hb has been taking multi vit to build his resistance. Hope that is sufficient though..

taslyn: will take note,thank u..

my frd recommend tmc, so mayb i find a gynae who works there. most pro will b the Thomson Women’s Clinic (Bt Batok)near bt gmk mrt there.
Any comments?

re:folic acid
seems like man who take folic acid when planning for bb also will help..

~~~~~~~shocked~~~~~~~~~~
Singapore allowed doctors to do abortion in neighbourhood market type of clinic???
I thought only in hosipitals...

kikilala:
below 10weeks they can do it at clinics...
after that must die die go hospital coz bb too big n they worry abt complications.
the clinic dr is a chinese and i felt uncomfi going there coz nurse were telling young gers to pay $$$ b4 they issue med for abortion. ie induce bleeding *scary*.
there is another indian gynae at tampines is said to be good.. but that i dunno. never see b4.

babyjon:
i dunno abt that clinic.. lol
on Dr Wong:http://sggynae.blogspot.com/search/label/Bukit Batok
but DR woody is part of the Thomson Women;s clinic.
http://sggynae.blogspot.com/2008/06/woodworth-adrian-benedict.html

Re: scans
I asked my mum and she says when she was pregnant with me some 32 yrs ago, scans were not so common. I guess that's why older folks are not used to it.

My mum told me that her gynae then was very "sheng", by touching the stomach can tell her the gender and weight of baby. Can also know that my umbilical cord was stuck around my neck and had to go for emergency c-section.Quite difficult to imagine all these can be done without u/s... I guess doctors now cannot work u/s already

Hi Babyjon
my Gynae is Dr Wong the clinic opp bt gombak Mrt..Dr Wong is under TMC also, As for #1 i was with Dr Woody in CCK..Difference between both is Dr woody look more friendy, Dr wong look more quiet but he is not. Reason of changing gynae for #1 and #2 is because i staying with my mum in bt batok after giving birth to #1 b4 that i was staying with mum in law in CCK.

kikilala:
lol... ur mum gynae is v shen
my mum;s gyane is crap. coz she book him to deliver me but he go holiday n never inform my mum. n my mum gong gong book him for my bro;s delivery. n the same thing happen then my mum had to suffer at the hands of some boo-boo newbie gynae n nurses.

i think gynae hv to depend on u/s now coz patients are more demanding and wan to see their lil ones also so cannot blame them.

babyjon
oh yeah. thomson women clinic drs have this affiliation program when u delivery.. ie free upgrade of 4 bedder to 2 bedder (subject to availability)... and their package mostly v competitive with that of KKH
so at the end of the day, pte hospital like TMC and MT A packages rivals that of KKH pte clinic

Mrs Puff, thanks for the welcome.

Pegsfur, I also want to post more here but I need to look after my no.1 so hor...I try lah.

Mummies, can add my info into the list too?
Nick : irene
EDD : 3rd Aug
Gynae : Dr Joycelyn Wong
Hosp : TMC
# of child : 2
Gender of current one : boy

Elicia,
I'm so sorry it wasn't meant to be. It helps to prepare for the worst sometime then we won't be too shocked if it really doesn't go well. Take care yeah. Pls drop by anytime. All our ex-Aug mommies are still welcomed. We wish you well.

updated list:
lemme know if there is anything wrong/updates.
sorted the list by EDD.

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N.</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp</TD><TD># of child</TD><TD>Gender.of Current</TD><TD>Location</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Lin</TD><TD>1-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Tan HK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Mashy</TD><TD>1-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>ML</TD><TD>2-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Karolyn Goh</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Sweet85</TD><TD>2-Aug</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>-</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Lynn</TD><TD>2-Aug</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>irene </TD><TD>3rd Aug</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>PUnggol</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>3-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Daniel Lee KK</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Precious</TD><TD>4-Aug</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F (30 June 06)</TD><TD>Toa Payoh</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Calla Lim (Sugarylily)</TD><TD>5-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Tham</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Jaclyn Low</TD><TD>7-Aug</TD><TD>Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M (08 Nov 07)</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Donkeymami</TD><TD>6-Aug</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>akoyo</TD><TD>7-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Chua Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M( 05 Jan 07)</TD><TD>Duxton</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>BabyS</TD><TD>7-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Queenstown</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>KiKilala (ShanghaiBB)</TD><TD>7-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Shanghai/Tampines</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Lily</TD><TD>9-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Smufy</TD><TD>9-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Phyllis Liauw</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M (Feb 07)</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Yen2008</TD><TD>9-Aug</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Zenith</TD><TD>9-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Pritam Singh</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>kpc</TD><TD>10-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Chan KH</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Balestier</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Dolcevita</TD><TD>11-Aug</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Jac</TD><TD>12-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Wong Mun Tat/Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Regg</TD><TD>17-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Lim YM</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Pegsfur</TD><TD>17-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>weishy</TD><TD>18-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Ben Neo</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Telok Blangah</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Piggy</TD><TD>20-Aug</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Joyful</TD><TD>20-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Michele Lee</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Serangoon</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Mrs Puff</TD><TD>20-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Brenda Low</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>F( Sept 06, Feb 08)</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Bean</TD><TD>21-Aug</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Taslyn</TD><TD>26-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>tmc/mt a</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F (11 Sept 08)</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Loh</TD><TD>27-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Pe@nut</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Redhill</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Prisneo</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Sydney</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sydney</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Candice</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>-</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Jules</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Prof M Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Redhill</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Strawberryz</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Kek</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Luvbabe</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chistopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M (Jul 06)</TD><TD>Redhill</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Shirley</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M (04 Sep 07)</TD><TD>Pasir Ris</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Coolqoo</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Janice (mystifiedjan)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Simei</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>NICI</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Commonwealth</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Jermaine Liang</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Juliet Nicole</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>powergal</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M (03 Oct 07)</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>babelee</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>A/P Tay SK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Pasir Panjang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>michele absolut_vodka</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F(09 Apr 07)</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>PJPJ</TD><TD>End Aug</TD><TD>Dr Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi puffs,

i am already some how how prepare thatthis might happen to me already...
hi violette,

i also hope that i will be in time for ox year... so might be trying again say feb or mar.. i think lateest if we can conceive by april we are still in time or ox.. cos by april we conceive iit will be jan baby le...

dn worry abt me..
i am currently doing a mini confinement.. with that i think my body will build up soon..... losting it = not fated to be mine... will hope that the next one will be mine...

morning all...

Elicia,
sorry to hear abt ur lost...
u r right watever tt does not belong to u will still go... jiayou.. i believe u can still be able to make it in time for an ox baby

morning! went for gynea appt today, chop chop less than 10mins. Did urine test and heard the heartbeat @ 160!! hehe....

btw, can add my details too?

Nick : cherrios
EDD : 1st Aug
Gynae : Dr Walter
Hosp : US
# of child : 1
Gender of current one : -

jac: u already sign e package with Dr wong,can share more abt the package n yr visit.

wow, last time use hand can dected so much..

Babyjon

I sign the package with DR wong on my 2nd visit and i tell him i pay in 2 instalment cause pay everything one time very heartpain. His package is $650 and every visit u have to pay $10 for the folic acid. I bought my folic acid at guardian for $3.25 for 50 pills. I decide to sign with him after i ask my friend's opinion as he was her gynae abt 1 yr back. In one way i felt he is better then Dr adrian is when u ask question he will give u a very convince answer as Dr adrian always say "ya it like that one, dont worry".

In my opinion, if you see the gynae for the 1st time and u feel confortable with him then go for the package which save alot of $.

Elicia, take good care of yourself

I just came back from the gynae visit.. This time i can see my baby move.. =)
Listened to the heartbeat for the first time.. Really amazing.. Heartbeat is at 182 and size is now 2.73cm... I complained of being breatheless and gynae did a hemoglobin test. Result turned out to be on the low side and i had a B12 jab (Dont know if i remembered correctly). He told me to take more liver, kidney and veg. I told him about the Vit A issue but he said eat in moderate is ok...

Taslyn, can u help me to update my EDD? It's on 18 aug 2009.. Thanks so much dear!

hi everyone! i saw my OB y'day again as the 1st visit, he did a v-scan and couldn't really see anything (and cost me almost $300!) due to interference with the signal - but this time round, we saw clearly the head and limbs - he even gave me a copy of the 3D scan that was done. saw my bb actively kicking legs and swimming around.

pls update for me as well - 18 Aug 09 (same as jermaine!)...

heartbeat was 167bpm and size is 4.09cm! OB said bb is growing well (even though I lost some weight due to no appetite!) and in an excellent position.

also decided to stick with this OB although he increased his fees again! paid $1,200+ y'day (another $1,200+ to be paid on admission)! big hole in my finance minister's pocket now! :p

Hi Michele,
Argh!! U gals are making me very excited now! cos my last scan only can see BB is 2.1cm ... I am sooooooo looking forward to see my bb moving too *bite finger nail*

michele, congrats worx! Very happy for u.. How many weeks is your baby now?

Huh? The heartbeat very fast ah? I'm 9 weeks plus Anything wrong with that? =(

Regg, u can see your baby move during the next visit.. Start to count down! Heehee!

thanks regg! i was worried for the past 2 weeks coz couldn't see anything during my 1st visit and couldn't detect the heart beat!

jermaine - accordingly 9w3d! no lah, i dun think anything wrong with fast heart beat - its common.

yeah, 4cm is quite big i think!