(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

babylet;

heartburn: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heartburn
like ur gastric juice backflow.. then stuck between chest n tummy... v yucdky feeling.. i relieve it by sitting up n stack pillows behind me.

Mrs puff,
seems like we hv the same symptoms for previous pregnancy.. lol...
for me, i dun mind the vomitting.. it is also the nausea that gets to me... n when that hits me, i cannot get anything done...

regg, babys

Now u gals got me tasting my saliva for sour sour taste haha.

I can taste a very little bit of sour taste, but the nausea feeling is at the area below the neck. like just above the breasts.

donkey,
so far i only puke once n hor it was like 3 hr past my last meal n i can see chix pcs not even digested leh i was so shock lor i tot 3hr+ our stomach shd be able to digest the food heng after tt no more...

babylet:
re: Vscan
u mean ur gynae is going V scan on u now? i tot they do it at the last tri to check dilation??

piggy:
digestion take 8 hrs... n if u always sit down, it takes even longer..

babylet, yeah i get the nauseous feeling there too. feel like something is stuck there.. haha..

i now sometimes dont wanna eat leh, cos 2 hours after i eat anything, i feel sick and bloated.

Babylet and BabyS
try eating 50% full? coz i realised that when i finish one full meal, i always get that terrible feel. then if i hungry again, i snack or eat biscuits lor... i stock alot of museli bars n digestive biscuits.
they always emphasize on small meals, more meals for 1st tri.

unless it is really terrible, i take anticids lor.. but i try to avoid medication..

taslyn

At my first appt, the gynae did a V scan to see babylet's heartbeat. And also to do a more accurate measurement of the size & EDD.

U mean not supposed to?

babys

I find this feeling very irritating. I dun feel sick or what, but I am very irritated & angry bcoz I dun feel 100%.

taslyn

I see. Ok I will try to modify my eating pattern. I notice this is an after lunch thing. Even tho I may eat full for dinner, I dun have this prob.

Oh thats mean my heartburn is correct hehe.
babylet, dont eat too full every meal..
i realise something too, if everyone keep mension abt feeling sick, vomit then i will feel bad too... y not let talk abt what to eat for lunch to inspire everyone lunch urge? hehehe..
i am going to have my nasi lemak later.. yum yum

taslyn, but even if i eat one piece of bak kwa, i get it too leh... no matter how small the item is, i get bloated and nauseous 2 hours after..

regg

Haha I think let's talk abt something other than food lah. Coz if I rem correctly, talking abt food makes some of the MTBs feel pukey too.

Let's talk abt... I got it! Anyone has compiled a list of things that we need to get ready for babylet? Example..

Things to Get Ready :
1) Baby cot/sarong/bed
2) Car seat (Is this a specialised one for BB, or just some normal car seat that can be used up to certain age?)
3) Playpen (Is this necessary?)
4) Stroller (Any brands or features to recommend?)
5) Any other baby furniture needed?

babylet:

my gynae never do V scan ley.. i see him at 4wk n 7wks also dun hv. my 1st child he only do it at 3rd tri.
i know that some gynaes will do V scan, if ultrasound cannot detect heartbeat. i believe unless it is absolutely necessary, gynaes wun wanna to put their hands/fingers in..
i dunno if they shld do V scan to check for bb size n edd.. but dun tell me ur gynae is gonna do V scan evtime u see him/her right? keke.. V scan is not exactly v comfortable either
see if other mummies hv similar experience.

LUNCH:
i got craving for RAMEN...

we havent done much research on car seats yet, but got different car seats for different ages. got infant car seat also..

I'm going to buy cot for my home and maybe get a playpen to put at my mum's place cos she'll take care of baby when i am at work..

i read somewhere, that its better for young babies to face the parents when being pushed in the pram.. as in when u are pushing, baby faces u and not facing outside/ seeing what u see.... i think it makes them more secure, and become more secure when they grow up... but i personally feel its important to have that bond and security for baby when young, and also if baby is facing front and u are behind, anything wrong or baby cryt, harder to tell mah..

taslyn

Actually what happened was that when I went to see her at week6, the heartbeat cudn't be detected from tummy scan. Gynae asked me if I want to wait for week 9 appt or to do V scan, & I chose V scan coz I din wanna wait.

She din put her fingers in. She had this V probe which she coveerd with a condom & some lubricant & just eased it in. I din find it uncomfortable at all.

I dun think there will be V scan everytime. I think next time, prob will just stick to tummy scan.

v scan usually done on the early weeks lah b'cos bb is too small hence need stronger ultrasound wave to see. v scan or tummy scan, both got ultrasound wave k. sometimes u see bb sleeping, sometimes awake. but they know they're being "watched" yeah. the ultrasound waves sends very low sound signals to the bb. they can detect this presence, sometimes it bothers them, sometimes it doesn't.

LUNCH:
i'm going for junk food haha. KFC toaster meal. this is something i do a lot for all my pregnancies, have junk food. sometimes proper food doesn't go well with my throat. whatever lah, as long as i can put food into my stomach. if hungry even worse liao.

heartburn,
if it gets too bad, i take antacids like Actal or Gelusil. it's safe for pregnancy. my heartburn and bloating was so bad last time, i took them a lot. no effect on baby yeah. just don't take too much. like my gynae said, if you can TAHAN better TAHAN if you can

talk about things to get :

1) Baby cot- hands-down/sarong/bed-hands-down
2) Car seat-hands-down
3) Playpen -what is this??
4) Stroller -hands-down

hehe..i am a very kiasu mummy-to-be, i already ask ard for hands-down items, once i know the baby gender i will try for baby cloths as well..

babyS;
do try to avoid oily food. they seem to mk MS/heartburn v jialat.

now i only dare take soupy stuff.

RE: things to get ready:
1)baby cot: aviod those with holes. bb hands/leg can get stuck.
2) got specific car seats for bb.. coz 1st few mths they can only lie down.. after that then upgrade to those which are suitable for older kids
3) i use playpen.. not bb cot.. n playpen has this bassinet. so can remove the bassinet portion n use playpen when bb is older
4) stroller: choose one which u can carry up n down the car with ease. go ard n choose. Prices differs alot.. eg Capella 200-300.. Peg apego.quinny is 1000+
5) toys: wait for pple to give u when u give birth.. haha.. slowly accumulate when time comes...
6) u need to prepare bb diapers, 5-6sets of NB clothes, bb bottles, booties/mitten. breast pump, bottles to store milk/ wet wipes. but these can be bought later during 3rd tri...

i used to hv a list.. lemme dig it up.. haha

car seat - no need to get too fast, most of the time, when baby is her early newborn days, she's not likely to go out. so can slowly shop for it. i think they need to be rear-facing.

stroller - for those active moms, i suggest the sling or baby carrier instead of stroller. my stroller is underused b'cos i love to wear my baby around. so convenient especially in a crowded mall where you're likely to shop for baby items. it's difficult to bring the stroller up and down the escalator and elevator is always full of able-bodied pple!!!!

Regg,
u so lucky i only got hand down clothes n baby car seat.. there is a baby fair comin up in Feb in expo i goin to go there see see look look...

Taslyn,
i tink most of us go thru v scan in the early stage i tink at least we manage to see the sac can rule out the possibility of etopic preg.

my mum bought me this pretty cool baby carrier from america. INside there is this strap where u can strap baby in and stop baby from sliding down.. when i can i take pic and share with u ladies...

my 1st two visits i also needed to do v scan,cos too small to be detected by normal scan (1st visit, v scan also cannot see)... then from 3rd visit (8 weeks) onwards can use normal scan liao

infant car seat:
yup.. it is rear facing. if u dun see urself bring bb out often, then get slowly as wat Mrs Puff says. but u r crazy like me, going out evday after confinement, then it will be good to buy one.

stroller:
good if u r going for meals, can place bb in it.. or when u r tired.

sling: when i went bkk, it was v useful, esp thru crowded area.
the funny thing is... alot of people look at me weirdly when i use sling.. in fact alot of people think it was a v BIG bag even in SG... faintz.

Taslyn,
Thanks! think playpen still too early.

Piggy,
cos i dont mind hands-down items, baby grow too fast...

Regg,
i had tom yum yee mee... but still hungry haha...
i also dun mind hand down but baby cot etc my relative mostly still need it so no 1 i can get from lor.. but got clothes i am happi enough.

1. Maclaren/Peg Perego/Maxi Cosi Strollers/Car Seats

2. Babymallonline, 2nd batch, still taking orders

3. Cot mobile / Play mats

4. Desitin creamy, california calendular cream still few pieces left. Also, drugstore spree closing Jan.

Pls PM me for info. Thanks

Piggy,
OK then u may need to get those big items first, small one can get later.

Babylet,
enjoy ur lunch ya.

I had fish soup with rice.
Wonder if it's my imagination but I dun feel as hungry compared to the last few days.... Worried siah...

pink,
ya it like tt 1 we tend to worry this n tt.. i tell myself no gd for baby.. so now i learn to let go dun pay so much attention to all this if i can eat i eat if cant i eat less....

babyS,
My baby is using desitin since nb. V good!
Normally i buy fr BP thread. Singapore normally only sell 2oz and it is ex.

hi babys
i have tried desitin but i dun really like it cos its too creamy, i find it hard to wipe off. But many mummies here like it. They often organise sprees which are much cheaper than buying from sg

Do you all sometime feel hard to breath ? Sometime I need to breath hard to get more air and like my heart pump very fast like that . Must breath in and out

i swear by Desitin. its' supposed to be thick b'cos it acts as a barrier so that baby's urine won't touch the skin. the milder and cheaper one like Drapolene don't work at all for my babies.

pink,
don't think too much, just live one day at a time like me. it was good while it lasted ;)

Re: Car seat

Actually i think it's better to get early than later. Coz you'll still need the car seat when bring bb home. Don't tell me that you're going to carry on the arms. Do u know that a lot of bb die on their way home becoz of car accidents without car seats? So, play safe. Get a car seat.

Also, the reason why I say get a car seat early is so that your bb will get used to sitting in one early. When they sit in one from birth, they won't question why they should and won't cry as much to get out. Now that my boy is 3 yrs old, he had never given me any prob that he refused to be buckled down. He will even remind us to wear our seat belts when we go out.

Yes, bb will need rear facing car seats. U can either get a convertible (from birth till 4yrs & above type) or an infant carrier car seat.

Convertible may be a bit uncomfy coz it's not totally flat down. But bb won't complain, it's just the parents who will find it an eye sore.

Or u can put your bb in an infant carrier car seat. This type u can carry your bb in the car seat wherever u go, and don't have to wake your bb up.

Always buckle your children. Never compromise their safety. I've seen so many parents & grandparents just hand carry the babies and young children jumping ard in the car. It's so dangerous. U never know when an accident will occur. You may be careful, but others won't. So don't do things that you will regret later. I've known other pp's ILs & parents pressure them to carry their kids instead of putting them in a car seat. I will never allow that to happen. If anything happens, who's going to return the child back to you. It's your own child and you're ultimately responsible for their safety.

I used drapolene for my boy and I loved it. So does my boy. He didn't get any nappy rash when he was a bb. Guess it depends on indiv kids and their butts. hahaha.