(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

I went for the D/S test which has Nuchal Translucency information using ultrasound and then a blood test measuring βhCG is a hormone and PAPP-A a protein which are produced by the placenta. The levels of these substances give a part assessment of your risk of Down's syndrome and the result forward to the ultrasound provider and both the ultrasound result and blood test result are computed to check for the result by a genetic counsellor.

baby s,

Wah .. sounds yummy huh ... i also had nasi lemak last week
I guess it's ok as long as we dun eat too often.

Now actually i'm craving for Lor Mee ...

Morning Dear All,
Last Sat i went for my appt, here are some update:

Baby : 21mm
Heartbeat : 182
Edd remain : 17/08/09

I want to get the special pillow like a long tube to sleep where tummy can rest on as well.

I had wholemeal bread with peanut butter and nutella for breakfast.

how i envy u ladies talking abt food... my gynae joked at me somemore.. told me my MS gonna to continue for the next 1-2weeks.. and not sure whether the MS would be gone by CNY.. but shld be gone by 15th of CNY

stretchmarks:
i did nothing for 1st pregnancy.. only apply bb oil at 3rd tri... mt stretchmarks only appears 2 weeks prior to delivery.. so now it is pinkish with some lins below my belly.
my fren who started rubbing at 2nd tri daily, she has very thick angry red SM. so i guess it is rather in ur genes than watever products u apply. but i guess it will be good to start early.
i m starting to put bb oil soon coz i maybe b expecting multiples.

BabyS:
lol.. prolly my hips are v big to begin with.. keke.. coz i got big butt..

mrs puff:
mi? 7 weeks only.

Breakfast: sigh... haven;t eat yet.. lol

taslyn, my hips also very wide leh.. backside not big lah, proportional, but hips big... i vely scared expand until very big leh... (did urs go back to ur usual after u deliver?)

yeah, during oscar (week 12) can see baby gender?

smufy:
my ms seems to be starting and i am trying hard to control it. i m terrified of another merlion episode.

BB gender:
wat do u prefer or hope to see? keke just a poll

donkeymami, oscar scan, will be on 21 Jan but I did the blood test first, and will see the Genetic Counsellor straight after the scan to see result. Praying for low risk so do not need more test. If not will have to do CVIS or Amino test.

baby gender: I dont have preference for which comes first,but i hope to have a boy and a girl.. (boy cos chinese mah, somehow elders want boy, girl cos can buy pretty pretty things!)

gd mrng ladies.. been quite a few days..cos of MS.. ya la... got 'attacked' pretty bad last whole wk..was on mc on thur & fri oso.. today..this mrng abit better... -.-

zodiac sign:
im a horse, hb is a monkey.. n hb was saying.. hv a cow bb.. n he will hfta 'zuo niu zuo ma' for us le.. bahaha.. means.. he will hfta slog his life for us liao... lol.

stretchmark cream:
i actually bought a tube of the mustala (duno hw to spell.. this sounds so mamak..haha!) cream.. but din use at all..rather..used once or twice niah.. cos i found dat i can't tahan the smell... makes me sick!

babyS:
mine did go back to normal. but im v big hipped person. that y my gynae ask mi to go for natural without any hesitation.

normally 12 week can more or less know the gender.. esp for gers.. but for boys, if they close their legs, then must wait lor... hehehe... at most wait til 16wks or detailed scan,

I like the detailed scan.. coz it is ard an hour. they will show u ur bb heart, it beating. their fingers n toes, butt.. eyes, ears, everything... it is so interesting.

Pris, I see.
I hvnt make appmt for my OSCAR test yet. it shd b 22nd.

My gynae so far nv measure bb's heartbeat for me..so far last 2 times visit jz see pulsation consider ok liao.

stretchmark cream:
it is said that clarins de is by far the best n most effective... but i never try.

Palmers is supposedly not b good as mums suffered from PPPP (some itchy scratchy rashes)

so i just use bb oil for now coz it helps to moisture the skin and i can share the oil with my ger.. haha

how long was your first dating scan? mine was like we were in there for half an hour and we saw the head, hands, legs, and baby movement, heartbeat. The dr doing the scan show us the hands as well as the feet.

pris:
my 1st scan was like less than 5 min.. coz i went to gyane when 4 mths preg...he was looking ard for the bb.. then finally saw a apeck.. then he enlarged n pointed out to us... but it was FOC.

2nd scan was ard 10mins. he show me bb's head and heart beating, hear bb heartbeat. bb was lying on the side.. so cannot see hands n legs. bb was just floating in midair.. haha

Regg,
i got ask my gynae abt the heartbeat he say not true but shall see lar keke..

Pris,
i opp u hopin for boi but nvm lar.. gal also can healthy can le..

Regg,
hahah actually my gynae told me baby heartbeat suppose to be double of adult so i hope the myth is not true hahah... my nex checkup is ard wk12+ hope can see something by then keke.. when ur nex checkup?

bb's heartbeat..
u girls always talk abt bb's heartbeat.. and i was sooo engrossed searching for that during the scan that i missed seeing bb's moving then hahahaaha..

taslyn
me oso controlling myself... vomit oso no point, will not help much, still feel the same.. and it's always gas, water, bubbles, foam and gastric juices i vomit out.

Taslyn
All the best to u

Piggy,
My next appt also should be 12 weeks, but i told my gynae i need to travel to Msia during CNY(long distant), so she asked me to go for 1 more visit by 10 weeks b4 i travel.

myth? or fact?

Heartbeats

One belief that has been around for some time, and even had some acceptance in the medical community at one point, is that the fetal heartbeat differs for boys and girls. If you're having a girl, then the fetal heart rate will be above 140. A boy will have a heart rate below 140. However, that pesky science has reared its little head again to say that this is complete fiction. A baby's heart rate is not affected by its sex until it is born, when a girl's heart rate will increase considerably compared with boys during labor.

piggy, I know that our heartbeat increases to transport blood to bb.

Smurfy, makes sure you are hydrated if you merlion. I can understand, I was going through all the merlioning and it makes me feel so sick and tired. So I am eating multi-small meals.

Regg, rest well in the car, try to sleep.

I went for a long trip driving from Sydney to Brisbane over 10 days period stopping at a couple of places and then flew back to Sydney. It was tiring. I asked my dr too before travelling.

mummies, can anyone recommend a good tcm practitioner who is experienced in areas of fertility? cos i got a friend, recommended her to take TCM tonics to bu her womb.. anyone got any recommendations?

bb heartbeat:
actually i never bothered to ask gynae wat the heartbeat was.. all i know is it is almost twice as fast as adults... as long as the heart is beating n gynae say it is beating, i m satisfied.

i think i rem seeing bb h/b was 185 at the last scan.

BabyS,
in the TTC thread most of them look for Dr Tan including me & Pink he is famous in infertility... he is located in Clementi is it too far for ur friend?

Piggy & Pris,
Ya i will, last sat i just ask for another pack of FA, doc told me normally she advise to eat till 12 weeks only.

my friend drives.. but i think if this guy is good, then distance should not be a issue for them.....

i thin my baby heartbeat was about 160 when i went 2 weeks ago also..