(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

morning ladies

Haven't been feeling well since yesterday ... nauseous, heartburn ...

good morning gals,

been reading this thread but have not posted before as have not seen heart beat, now can confirm got heartbeat and EDD 30 Aug 2008.

for those facing MS - severe vomitting n nausea, what extent is considered severe? at what point does it become hyperemesis gravidarum?

for me the past few days are really bad, out of 5 times i try to eat or even drink, 3 end up in the toilet bowl.

worried that beanie is not getting enough nourishment, also notice that my lips are very dry and pee output is rather dark.

any advice appreciated.

Morning pegsfur, u feeling OK? Maybe can rest after ur work... sorry ah, what does heartburn really means? Got any symptoms?

Hi babymaking,

You could be suffering from hyperemesis gravidarum.
I have admitted to KK twice for excessive vomiting more than 5 times in a day and not able to keep any food or fluid down.

hi babymaking,

I also find tat my lips are very dry and keep to either keep up with lip balm or drink lotsa water...
MS come n go for me, sometimes its so bad but other time feel nothing that i sometime forgot im preg =P

Morning ladies, I just went to the genetic counsellor and also to do my down blood test earlier.

Welcome for those who just join the thread.

Violetta, Heartburn: An uncomfortable feeling of burning and warmth occurring in waves rising up behind the breastbone (sternum) toward the neck. It is usually due to gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD), the rise of stomach acid back up into the esophagus. Heartburn has nothing whatsoever to do with the heart. It is a popular nonmedical term. It is medically called pyrosis.

i have just been found out at work that im preg.
Was at canteen this am to buy breakfast and saw my colleague. And she ask if im preg....
Hve to admit lah, dun wana lie but ask her not to tell anyone yet.
Says she can tell bec she herself has been preg b4 so she more or less knows and can tell...

anyone going to gynae soon can help me ask can eat bird nest as I understand will cause bb to have asmatha . If just one month eat once for good health of mum and bb leh ?

Bean, I only start taking bird nest during 2nd trimester, and my mum will insist on buying to double boil ourselves. Usually need to soak first to check for hair or feather in them, remove them. We usually double boil with red date and rock sugar.

Pris, thanks alot for the explanation!

Re: Birdnest
I asked my gynae last week and she said that the bb is relying on the sac for nutritions now so whatever we eat, it will not go to the bb but of coz, we cant take anything that is not healthy..only after 2nd tri, then the bb will take the nutritions from us.

So right now if we take the birdnest, its juz to "bu" ourselves only. On the asthma, she said that it would be better if we were to eat them "cooked" instead of those bottled types. I heard that only if those not handled properly by not removing the dirt from birdnest, then that can cause the asthma...

I bought the concentrated bottled type from Hock Hua, juz in case too lazy to double boil, then I can eat it every morning... WIll starting having that after 1st tri. But up till now, i have drank 2 times of the double boil birdnests already...

Pris,

You are right, I didnt lie to them.
I admit that but just remind them to keep this for me till its obvious..Thanks...

Re:Birdnest
I was thinking of buying those bottled one to drink, since it so much convenient, but if it might cause asthma, then better not..
But I duno how and lazy to cook it...hmm...
Then i think leave it bah, will heap on other bu food

Bean & Violetta, I am also waiting to start my birdnest. It define give bb good complexion but don't expect them to be fair. Whether bb is fair will depend on gene.

Can also double boiled bird nest with "chong cao" too, which is good for the lungs. All these can be taken during 2nd trimester.

DolceVita, yea, just told them to keep it to themselves till pregnancy is stable, most of them do keep the secret.

Just soak bird nest in hot water for an hour or two till it fully expand, then check for hair, feather or impurity to remove. Put them into those double boiled pot, slow cooker or those porcelin container for double boil purpose, add a bowl of water, 2-3 slices of pao shen (optional), red dates and boiled for like 2 hour. 15 minutes before boiling time is up, add rock sugar.

Ya Pris, the bb's complexion will be good. My SIL bought the bottled concentrated birdnest n took a spoonful every morning. Even though most said those having bb boy will have hormone change n cause breakouts but both my nephew and SIL still look so gd. I cant help but to touch my nephew's face everytime I c him...

I think it's the genes lah ... last time my 2 cousins also have very nice, fair & supple skin when they were young. But once reached puberty, and till now, still has alot of pimples.

I dread to think that my child will take after me cos i've always have pimples & acnes even till now. I hope he/she takes after my hubby instead, at least hubby's skin is pimple free

hi pegsfur, i tink we both hv the same skin type...veri oily and hv pimples & acnes now & then...

may i knw wat skincare regnime r u currently using during ur pregancy now?

jeslyn,

Ya lor!! So sickening rite? I dun really have a skincare regime ... i just wash my face 3x a day, and apply sunblock in the morning. I'm currently using TDF AHA Facial Wash for Oily & Acne Prone skin. Works quite well for me.

How abt u?

thks for the welcome

bludderball,
how far along are you? and did your doctor expect HG to reoccur again?

dolce,
as long as you can drink water, it's fine. the problem is i can't take any fluids without feeling nauseous or vomitting.

re: birdnest
it's best to start from 2nd trimester onwards as that's when the baby benefit from it, however for those prone to asthma or hubby has asthma, better to skip birdnest esp in 3rd trimester when baby's lungs are developing. ditto for fruits that cause plemgn such as too much oranges.

bb how many wks then can see heartbeat?

i feel veri uncomfortable wif bb inside, little stomach pain i start to worry liao. dunno is real stomach pain or bb inside problem. =(

bean, are you vomitting as well? what's the frequency like?

myfavchoco
i saw my beanie sac at week 4 & a faint heart beat at week5day6 (counting from ovulation)

babymaking,

doctor did not mentioned that HG will reoccur again. But i read from a Jan issue motherhood & baby magazine, there is an article about HG. The lady was admitted hospitals 8 times & only stopped vomitting by 23 weeks.

I was told to have light meals, avoid smells or food that can make you nausea. And to sit instead of lying on bed after meals.

i will usually take plain crackers when i feel my 'form' - vomitting is coming.

babymaking,

i onli know mine is 4-5wks..
will have an appointment next wk to see whether it got grow bigger.. too small till, doc cant find it in my stomach.. haha

These few days I have been down-ing alot of plain water. Dunno y been feeling so so thirsty. Previously dread drinking water but now back to normal already.

Since last nite, I also getting very emo after touching my tummy, suddenly called my parents and said I miss home, then cried already. These morning called my mum again to chat n cant help but to feel very sad again. Wonder y...mood swing?

Yesterday I can see my tummy pulsating more significanting liao...so excited... =)

Violetta,

Same here.. I will get annoyed very easily nowadays.. Just now i apologized to my poor hubby for being so cranky..

Hi Puffs,

the wait is making me very impatience so instead of waiting till next week... intend to go to my gynae tml for a scan... and really hope that my baby is fine.. is ok that i am being push to sep as i am also born in the mth of sep...
(but mil told me if baby realli not growing then ask to wash instead of keeping) will keep u gals updated tml after my check up tml... if every thing is ok then u wll see me posting else today might be the last post le.. .

So puff, u know ur edd liao ar?? Sep??
but ur bbay is more or less stable liao right?? as u mention u heard ur baby heart beat le...

jermaine,
u know, everytime I lie down on the checkup bed, I could actually feel myself trembling in fear....maybe because of my past experiences, but every visit to the gynae is like very scary..

the Sept MTB thread is up already. For those MTBs who have EDD in Sept, you can join us here: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2052338/2052627.html?1231391796

elicia_mum: Is this your 2nd opinion already? I'd strongly suggest for a 2nd opinion if it doesn't. Maybe it's a case of miscalculation of dates like you guessed? Sometimes, you could've O-ed late. Really hope you can pass this and join us in Sept MTB thread ...