(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

naivesg,

I dun like SGH scan techs... they are the ones who can't see anything during my 1st gynea visit last preg. You go private doc lah... they are better and more experienced. And aso, be a good girl, ok? no BD, no shopping and plenty of rest. I also very "gian" but I curb even though no spotting for me. All for baby's sake.

hey gals,
I'm going for my check up later. Hope can see baby and heartbeat. If cannot, then it's such a waste that my hormones are sooo raging. suffer for nothing... update when I come back.

RE: pantang
There are absolutely no scientific proof regarding all those superstitions. I attended whatever celebrations and even 1 funeral, move furniture, and even cut and sew my hubby's trousers on my bed while preg with my 1st.

Baby still safe and sound. My mum is not a christian so very pantang and told me not to do all these but I just told her that my God protects me from such unnecessary fears and left it as that.

This preg, she told me the same things and I told her that I did all those while preg with Joash and look how fine he is. Then she just keep quiet.

Sigh... We already have enough real problems to worry about than to keep track of the superstitions and be fearful of so many things...

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mummies,

sorry to interrupt.

I've a brand new tube of Clarins Stretch Mark Cream to let go. if interested, do PM me. Thanks!</font>

thanks Babys
It means "Given by God" His Chinese name means the same too "Jun1 Ci4" Jun as in jun1wang2, God as our King.

In fact, I already got names for my future kids liao... LOL so KS...

i also have thought of names for my future kids liao... ahaha... mostly starting with S since my husband's name and my name start with S... thats why my nick is babys.. hahah

All girls will follow me: I'm Jaclyn, the first girl will be Jayna Liu Huai2 En1 (God is gracious and she's the bearer of God's grace) Other girl names can be Janice/Jasmine/Jacintha and will be "huai" something too.

My hubby is joshua so my first son is Joash and the next one will be Jonathan/Joel/Jonas and will be "Jun" something also... Got a few choices so dunno which to choose.

I just bought Galenic - Elancyl - Stretch Mark Preventive and Reducing Cream. Currently having 20% off.

Was 47.30 now at 37.84.

I used it for my first pregnancy and no stretch mark on me.

oh, my friend gave that to me for christmas.. haha...but i see the instructions, can only use from 3rd month onwards ah?

er! according to the instruction printed outside the box written from 3 mths. i cannot rmb when i started to use it when i had my #1

Shirley,
Yes my 2nd pregnancy MS is much worse. Thank goodness 3rd pregnancy not so bad liao! Maybe I'm too busy to pay it attention lah working and taking care of two small kids is one mean feat!

Jules,
Nope I'm not in health profession but all my previous recurrent miscarriages prior to my successful birth of my #1 has made me a research freak and I joined lots of discussion groups that shares findings on miscarriages and pregnancy so it has helped me a lot on my understanding of this. so sometimes i can't help it but share my knowledge lah. before some call me kaypoh or talk to much, i wish to apologise first. heehee..

fatbobo,
chemical pregnancy is when your egg and sperm did fertilize but could no longer develop into a proper embryo. the body just reabsorbs back and into your menses. you do miss your period for a while and will get a BFP but sadly one or two weeks after that, if you did the test, you'll find that your BFP gets fainter and your menses returned. i had a chemical pregancy before. my menses returned at 18 DPO. so sad at that time.

pantang,
I'm not a very pantang person but i'd avoid funeral just like i'd avoid pineapples. think of this this way, pple of other cultures are just as pregnant but they do attend weddings and funerals and their pregnancies turn out ok. so just a thought. but of course, since we're asians, i rather we respect the elderly first. that's what differs us from the rest, our sense of respect.

morning sickness,
Violetta, you're right about 8 weeks being the peak period of MS. that is because, if any of you are privileged to take a beta HCG test, our hormone levels are highest at 8 weeks, after that, the placenta formation is complete hence the production of hormones stabilized. by then you start entering your 2nd trimester that's when your MS completely disappears or tapers off. but to some, their MS went all the way to 3rd trimester..hurhurhur...

naivesg,
i'm scared about your condition but i really wish you well. i dowan to say much lah. a bit pantang at this part. anyway it's true what everybody said, if you have spotting, don't BD. yes it could cause uterine contraction and so is breastfeeding. nevertheless i'm still breastfeeding my 2nd. it's ok for me b'cos i don't spot this pregnancy. D&amp;C is not painful. it's a day surgery, u go in, u go to sleep, when u wake up, everything's over. surreal right? i don't know how many times i went through that. there's no pain, only a hole in the heart. but some pple feel some cramping afterwards.

Wow, u gals already started thinking of names already ah? I tried to search for "L" names but quite limited. Both my hubby and my intials are LL so we prefer to have a "L" name for our baby too.

Ladies, actually very pantang...the moment I said dunno if I will have MS during wk 8 which I am now...my MS came and I went to vomit with an empty stomach before lunch juz now(bfast digested fully already)...

Had laksa and feel so gd after that. Spicy food juz perks me up! Hehehe..

Shirley,
i think stretch mark is big part genetics. my first pregnancy i was kiasu, everyday put on Palmer's cocoa butter cream twice a day till it ran out. no stretchmarks. 2nd pregnancy, NEVER PUT anything and still no stretchmark. so i think it's genetics, b'cos my mom oso got no stretchmark and she has had four children. i'm just lucky on that part lah. this time, i don't think i'm gonna apply b'cos my stomach stretched oredi haha..

mrs puff
I also had 2 mc before. In both previous preggies, I never had any ms. Similarly with this preggie, I only had occasional bout of feeling nauseous but never vomit. I am concern over the lack of ms..... Very worried abt another mc....

i heard before that with MS.. the pregnancy is 'stronger'..more 'diao tai' (in hokkien)...

izit arh?

me..errrh... oso no MS yet.

-.-"

fatbobo, pinkmama,
yes there's a strong link between MS and healthy pregnancy. higher levels of hormones always means that your body will react stronger to it. i understand your concern pinkmama. but there's also some people who never really have MS and went on to have healthy pregnancies. truthfully we wouldn't know until we get to see the heartbeat. meanwhile, there's just nothing we can control. so must sit and wait. when anxious, just yak away at this forum. hehe. i only have my first ultrasound next friday!! so damn late compared to all of you here. pinkmama, i'm also having occasional bouts of nausea now. no vomitting unless i don't eat, then can dry heave.

mrs puff,
erm...about the heartbeat thingy, not true for my case. In my previous cases, heartbeat was actually detected but stopped 1 to 2 weeks later.

Mrs Puff,

The reason i am asking bcoz my MIL keep saying, whether my current MS sympton is diff as compared to the previous one, mean i am having opposit sex baby.

My MIL hope to have a girl bcoz my #1 is boy...

But i told her is is individual de... (actually i dun wish to talk much, bcoz my MS already very 辛苦 le...

Mrs. Puff,

Yes, i do heard some said stretch mark is big part genetics and another thing is you exercise a lots also help..

shirley,
that's such a bad indicator lor. my MS levels is not the same for both but i still get girls. it's really luck lor. if u got another boy, blame it on her son, it's the men's chromosomes that determines if you're going the a girl or boy. so don't blame the gender on us.

pinkmama,
orrr i see, in that case the miscarriage is just suay lor
i've had that, i've had a chemical pregnancy and i've a blighted ovum. so many types!

pinkmama

my friend also had bb's heartbeat but it stopped suddenly at 7 weeks. So really heng suay. But just a few mths after her D&amp;C, she conceived again and is now a happy mother.

shirley

my MIL so diff. I already have a son. She still hope i have another son coz she say son better. Gals no good.

pinkmama,
usually symptoms not that much for blighted ovum. in fact now that i remember, with it, i have no symptoms, not even nausea. in fact i almost don't feel pregnant. if scan, can only see waterbag, no yolk sac, no fetal pole. haizz. waterbag shape is not even rounded. and there's spottings throughout. with red blood. means no hope already.

mrs puff.. hee hee.. yeah yeah, whatever the gender of the baby, ask the MILs to ask the husband why baby is that gender.. hee...

shirley,
good answer. which reminds me, my SIL has a baby with a gender of MIL's choice, BUT he got downs syndrome. i dunno whether to be sad or happy but sometimes MIL gave the funniest excuses. so sometimes i think God just played a practical joke on her. haha.

hi, can join you all? just got a call from my gynae who confirmed that i'm preggie for about 4-5 weeks gestation. anyone knows whether this means from LMP or from conception? i forgot to ask him and to call him up just to check with him seems so kiasu...

also having the problem of spotting. dried brown old blood. my gynae diagnose me as threatened miscarriage and gave me medication and a jab... told me to rest more. which i guess is kindof true cos i find i bleed more when i am up and about. but if i'm sleeping / lying down, i dun get much bleeding.

so i guess his best advice is just to rest more, and take it easy... and dun stress. que sera sera.

Mrs. Puff, sorry to hear abt your SIL issue.

But i thot these days doc will do all kind of testing to ensure the baby is not DS?

Yeah, Mrs Puff, did ur SIL go for any Oscar or Amino test to check on the DS? I also worried about this coz my hubby's uncle is one. Heard his granny gave birth when she was pretty old already...Even though doc said slim chance coz not really related but still got possibility. Thats y kinda worried about this when the time comes..

hiaz....we all mothers to be got some many things to worry, first we worry about making it through 1st trismester, than we have to worry about all the genetic abnormalities....Being a mum is really a greatest feat in any woman's life.

Down syndrome cannot avoid or prevent hor. i think the tests are only done to give you a choice of life or death. it's wrong to abort a healthy baby according to my religion therefore i'm thinking of avoiding the Oscar test this time around. also cut cost lah. quite ex yeah Oscar test. besides, if we know that we're gonna have one, *touch wood*, do you really dare to abort it? after you celebrated the BFP, build hopes and dreams about it and went through the misery of MS with it? some babies with DS don't even look like they have DS. there's a differing level of severities that comes with it. i think motherhood not only bring out the strength and sacrifice in us, it brings out an incredible power of selflessness and empathy for mankind. that's why i'm very pro-family and very against gays and people who choose to live a single life. what makes a human is a mother.

i hope none of us will ever bring up a child like this into the world. dun know if it's a he or a she but it's an asshole for sure. i read this article, my blood boiled already!

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=41059