(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

lynn, dunno if it helps, but that day when i had my migraine, i went into my counselling room (near my office), it was air conditioned and i turned off the lights and closed the curtains... so i remained in that dark cold room for about 45 mins and napped... helped get rid of most of the migraine...

peg, i ovulated on CD18 of a 30 tp 35 day cycle (usually is around 31 days, occasionally 35).. so in the end, that cycle became a 37 day cycle instead of my usual 30- 35 day cycle. thats considered late right?

lynn, i read that headaches/ migraine during pregnancy can be caused by hormones.... my headache last week was terrible, feels like my neck muscles very tight, and then my scalp muscles became tight, like being pulled like that..

haio ladies,

firstly..congratz to all MTBs..first-timer..or 2nd..3rd time le.. hee~

i juz tried clearblue, the 2nd line abit faint.. don't izit striked le!
prolly shld c a doc huh? any doc will do? or shld c a gynae?

my LMP was 16 Nov, im usually very chun de.. or say 1-2 days earlier.. but this time.....

actually..if really striked.... errh..though my HB & i kind of started trying since sep, i wasn't really prepared for it leh. just last week, i had been drinking quite abit of wine leh (festive seasion mah).. how arh? (i dun normally like to drink de (i dun touch alcohol at all when ou with HB or frens), but these few days, like kind of crave for alcohol when 'they' r ard me!!!) hope it doesn't affect anything!

anyways.. ya.. c doc first la hor.. maybe false alarm oso rite?

Fat bobo,
no need see doc 1 cos u see doc also test with urine... faint line is consider strike liao congrats
if u not sure can test again tml

hey fatbobo (cute nick), when i used my 1st hpt, also faint line.. i thought manufacturing fault, then dr says now the HPT very accurate, and i read on the instructions, both lines do not need to have the same intensity.. (as in one can be fainter than the other)..

but if un r not sure, how about taking another test in a few days time? Use the clear blue one with the + sign one.. i used that for my 2nd confirmation...

but just in case, avoid alcohol for now..

Finished my carona chicken ..... and trying to put off eating dat yucky pink prenatal vitamins ... yucks! It always makes me wanna vomit after eating dat pill .. gggrrrr .....

bahaha.. thanks piggytoh, BabyS & naivesg..

but.. ya....i oso duno why.. really, i usually don't drink at all de.. but last few days.. like quite crave for red wine. den hw.. i had quite a few glasses..especially last fri... (if really striked le).. hope everything will be orite!

so ok.. i shld juz do another test (myself) in couple of days.. then if +ve agn.. go c a doc in couple of weeks..

i used to see Dr Gordon Tan (joy clinic for women @ GlenE).. he's quite good but at this moment of credit crunch, he's abit too pricey for me though..trying to contain my expenses actually.. haha. any good recommendation pls?

yawnz.. im fallying asleep le!

welcome fatbobo,

For HPT "a line is a line" so you are pregnant
congratzzzzzzz

As for wine that u already consumed just forget abt it, and from now on you have to treat yourself as a MTB and you are having a baby with you, so just stop drinking, bcoz alcohol will cause brain damage to bb.

As to when to visit gynae, you can go around week 6 to week 8, since you LMP is 16th Nov, you are about week 5 now. (http://www.babycenter.com/pregnancy-due-date-calculator)

Also, you can go to pharmacy purchase the Folic Acid tablet; this is good for baby development.

I didn't eat my Sarawak pineapple after all coz I'm all stuffed up with Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup and spring rolls for lunch with colleagues. Am too full to go buy my pineapple but am thinking of having it later leh. Now that I see all the posts, dunno if I should really curb since I'm still worried as I cannot see sac nor heartbeat at my last gynae visit. My next visit is next Mon and am praying for the best.

Fatbobo, welcome!

fatbobo,
congrats. just to let you know Clearblue Compact always give faint second line. my first BFP is from Clearblue. So I bought the Guardian house brand type and the result is much much darker it's unmistakenly positive. hubby see oso want to faint. hahaaaa..

Fatbobo, no worries la. The last time I was pregnant with my 1st, I had lots of wine as well as lots of sashimi too. However, once I know it, I stopped all alchohol and raw food.

*sob sob*
oh no..i'm feeling so guilty n scared now le!!!

btw..i'm really not too prepared for this. i'm just 1mth 3wks into my new job...(on 6mths probatiion).. i scared.. my new boss wun like it...

Hi Fat Bobo,

U are just like me..

I am 2 mths plus into my new job and i have just taken 1 week plus leave... I thought my boss will be very angry but i'm glad he understood... Dont worry too much ok...

yeah early feb would be good time, cos (hopefully) most of the CNY celebrations and events are over liao..

fatbobo, nvm lah.. its not like u did it on purpose.. maybe ur baby will grow up to be a wine gourmet!! hee..

Today feel pretty bad...have been like wanting to throw up since after lunch..
The smell of food really irk me off but as im with my fren, have to control really hard to suppress that throwing up urge....
Dont feel good at all

oh.... hope u feel better soon dolce..

i dunno if it helps, but my indian colleague always had a piece of orange peel in her bag which she will smell whenever she gets nauseaous or if whatever she is smelling makes her feel nauseous...

Fresh orange peel, not dried one..

I guess cos the citrus oils are quite refreshing.. but i havent tried this, cos so far thank God, i havent had nausea yet.. mummies feeling nauseous or turned off by certain smells can try and share if its effective.

babys,
i just rub some axe oil into a piece of tissue paper and smell it. that helps to combat my MS last time. or i drink juice, sour juice.

ok, maybe will try that...
I think its bec I had fish for lunch today, had citrus salmon.
I had not had fish since I know im preg, not sure if it could be of the fish or not...but today is the worse MS i ever had...
Wish the day would end soon...

Mrs Puff,

Axe oil provide relieve for me too but today its so temporary, once the effect wears off, the nauseous come again.........ooh man
Baby, must guai guai

dolcevita,
on my first pregnancy i totally hated chicken. i see chicken i wanna vomit. i smell chicken i wanna vomit. second pregnancy, i hated fish. anything about fish i hate! now i haven't hated anything yet hehehe. started to feel queasy but that's it. nothing that a strong tasting juice can't fix (for me) hehe. oh when i was smelling axe oil, i am smelling it WHOLE day. it's the only cure i have.

yeah.....i have the axe oil as my life safer...
also rubbing it on my nose directly every 5-10min, once the smell wear off...

Didnt know i would hate fish, i see fish or smell fish still alright.
But ever since i had salmon for lunch, now when i think of fish, already start to throw up...
hmmm...so the hate for me this time is FISH!!

urrgh.. terrible headache the whole aftnn!

can i juz ask.. can we still wear heals arh?

haha.. sorry..i owas hv wierd n kuku qtns de!

HI mummies, I took extra panadols and now fine already. Thanks so much for your helps gals.

Wow..looks like many of us having same problem with headache. But today really feeling bad, not only the headache, kept feeling like throwing up (same here, fish irks me), and even my own son's poo smell.

But worse still is the gassy feeling and the squashing sound in the stomach..(drank ginger tea and didn't feel any relief at all this time round). Wonder if there is any over the counter medicine suitable for preggie women to splurge the gas? Gosh..tried taking a nap just now after son has turned in but the stomach was like going to explode like that. Previous pregnancy didn't have such problem at all. Wonder anyone having same problem with gassy stomach?

I didn't eat the pineapple afterall but I took my yogurt late afternoon! Am now looking forward to another 45 mins to knock off from work.

looks like quite of few of you are catching up on the MS.... the headaches, the nausea and adversion to smells... sayang sayang...

I'm also hoping that my MS will end by Feb. Would love to meet up and my son is super bored at home.

Today, I went to buy some grocery and my heel hurt like mad. It's still quite painful leh...

Panadol,
can take normal panadol but try not to take the panadol extra cos of the caffeine in it.

i just puked my dinner out. feels so good after i did it. now i'm eating sour grapes to curb my nausea. luckily my MS is just occasionally

Jaclyn, me too burping like nobody business

Good morning girls..

Finally at work

Just now a colleague asked me if i am expecting.. Hahaha! I deny it straight away.. lol!!

fatbobo, i think why they say cannot wear heels is cos scared u trip and fall... but if u feel u are super zai with heels, then wear bah? (but not too high lah..) hee... i in flats also no zai, so no heels for me at all.. hahaha

Blessed Christmas all mummies! imagine, this time next year we'll have a bouncy 4 month old baby with us..... hahha

good mrng ladies... didn't feel like cmg to work today.. yawnz..half-day today, boss not ard, rain rain some more.... sianz!

errh.. i heard some ppl say... try not to announce during 1st tri.. till 2nd..more stable le.. den tell ppl..
really ah?

haha.. i like yur last statement BabyS. cheers~

actually.. im quite a clumpsy de.. big fat clumpsy..like elephant.. oso part of reason why jumbo mah.. haha.

k.. i will go find n buy some lower comfy shoes soon. thnx all.

but anyways.. i bought the guardian HPT.. but hvnt tried.. tot latr this aftnn den go hm try...
so ya.. i shld try agn first...... haha!

today my hubby's bday.. heee... ya.. i tink he's looking forward to a good 'birthday pressie' news....

i bought the clear blue one (the on with the plus), bio testx2, and predictor (this one they say can keep the results by just breaking off one part... chey the part u break off is just the handle, the part where u pee is still there and the urine collection part, though can be covered, can still be opened! imagine at my kid's 21st bday i present him with this and "here son/ girl, here is mummy's 21 year old urine sample.."

hehehhee....

fatbobo, u havent told him ah? news of baby is my bday pressie for this year too, and a 2nd wedding anniversary present for us..

how u planning to tell him..

Actually, lets share, how did u mummies share the news with ur husbands?

Morning ladies

Talking abt announcing the news to hubby, i sms him to come back early cos i want to celebrate. He replied 'ok'. I was puzzled how come he din ask me celebrate wat, so i sms him again and ask him 'u know wat i'm going to celebrate meh?'

Then he called me and said he saw the msg wrongly, he thot i ask him to come back early to exercise. Then he ask so what r u celebrating? Then i told him, next year aug u gonna have a little pegsfur le. Immediately he laughed and ask 'Huh? Ni you le?' Funny siah ...