(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Jul, I have materity swimwear.

I am praying that this one will be a smooth,easy and fast labour like the 1st one and bb cooperate too.

Jul_luvs

I also got a backache pro before and no matter how I position my tummy, still feel pain. Then i put on the support belt when in bed, and it helps.

You can find in the maternity shop in Suntec can't remember the name. Or you can check out www.coozfashion.com

Pris

I can get it at normal shopping centres, or do I need to get from maternity shops? But do I need to upgrade as tummy gets bigger?

cincin

Thanks. Is that the same support belt that sme women ear when they are bigger & nering delivery to help support tummy as they walk ard?

Pris, i pray i will have easy labour..infact everyday i being walking here n there in opik hahahha..n i sorta walk fast kind de leh..sometimes can forget i am preggie lor.. ya when i feel slightly better i wanna go swimming liao...

Jul, ya this is my 1st bb..very very nervous lor.. this is by far the toughest and most challenging task being assigned to me... 天啊,hope i can overcome tis challenge and the future journey tat comes..

Pegsfur, i will go to my sis place to swim lor..coz public pool too many pple..n kids having swimming lesson at certain timing so can be dangerous for us..

Thks Pris.. ya i have alot to learn from all you 2nd time or more mummies

cheryl,

Dats wat i thot too ... but i dun hv any close frens or relatives living in condo with pool lor. My next alternative is the gym pool but dat one still have to pay membership.

Or anyone knows of any public pools with lesser pple de? Last time i used to go to the bt merah swimming pool .. relatively less people but dat's very far from my home.

Cheryl, you can do it! All of us learn along the way...

Pris, I need to have more faith to pray for an easy labour! My first 2 were 12 hours each.

kikilala

I think those who said the pain is bearable are those with short labours and probably don't even feel the contractions when they're dilating.

Mine was painful like crazy even before i found out I was just 0.5cm dilated. And it was already 5mins apart. I've friends who were still shopping before delivery and only went hospital after waterbag break. They didn't even feel much contractions until at a late stage.

are u ladies going to the congress wif yr hubby? i also thot of going but not sure if DH is keen.

re: swimming
when can we start swimming? can we still wear bikini? or we hv to get maternity swim wear for better support?

all yr description of labour sounds realli scary.... hope tat mine won't take too long...

kikilala, yr fren really said it's bearable ah? i was also thinking of going without epi. i'm curious to know how painful it is.

zen

I've a friend who wore bikini when preg. She looks gorgeous. So depends on whether you're confident enough to show your tummy. As for me, I couldn't fit into my bikini coz of expanding hips, so bought one from overseas website maternity mall. Cheap and nice. Only $36 then including shipping. Those sold in singapore are so ugly and expensive.

mashy, tats a good deal u got!
i agree tat those sold in s'pore are ugly, so 'auntie- looking' and yes, expensive.

most of frends who gave birth recently...all did it without epidural....wondering if i will able to take the pain??

Sharon, i wish to go into labour without epidural too but shall depend if the process is bearable.

Dolcevita, u really not gonna know scan u bb's gender and wait till delivery... when is your next Dr Phua's visit?? btw, r u on msn??

Hi Mummies, i am gg for my 3rd gynae visit on Vday, looking forward and not to sure what to look for actually.. will feel awkward cos hubby is not gg with me this time round. Sigh..
praying hard and eating well, hoping gynae will do u/s so i can c my bb again..

kilala: I agree with mashy. If short labour, it's fine. Imagine stuck there for more than 12 hours feeling the contraction. Gosh. Well, how do I describe the pain??? Hmmm, it's like really really really bad cramps during menses. I bore with them from midnite to 5AM, I could barely sleep. We were funnny. Trying to save money on taxi fare by thinkg let's go after 6AM, cos the contractions were not that near apart yet. But 4 plus AM, I cannot make it already. Quickly pack up go hospital. Then when I reach Glen E, they pushed me in with wheelchair, cos I couldnt walk when the contractions come. Then I heard a woman screaming out really loud. I was terrified. Must be someone who din use epi. Then I decided I am going to take it right away. Haha... but got side effects la, lead to low blood, may feel dizzy, then they hv to lower that input into body, then end up feel contraction again. So it was like that for the whole day for me, until I gave birth at 701PM.

For me, the contraction was bearable and I still took my time at home shower,etc. And walk with dh to car-park, I was even able to walk to delivery suite but the hospital staff refuse to let me walk so wheeled me in instead, those screaming along the way made me really scare. Before my gynae came, I was still walking inside the suite while the midwives getting the machine ready to hook on me to check bb's heartbeat.

Once gynae came check for dilation and told me, I can go without epidural but I still insist of having it after hearing all the screams. I slept till the dr came to give me epidural, then slept again till my gynae came to wake me up, I suppose dh was more anxious and worry that he could not even rest at all.

I will still go with epidural for #2 as I am not sure of my pain tolerance as I have heard of friends going without epidural screamed at their husbands, bite their husbands' hands and use foul languages on the gynae.

MOrning mommies...
Jus curious how many of u goin to take up the cord blood bank program????

Pris,
hahah i tink i will opt for it as well esp my HB not goin to be ard when i deliver..

morning piggytoh, ya abt the cord blood bank thingy.. me and dh had some thoughts over it and ya we will be taking up the program but have not really done more research on that yet.

re the contraction.. my menses cramp at certain mth is really painful lor until cold sweat so does that means that during labour will be 100 plus times more painful hah??? any idea??

Cheryl,
i tink the contraction will be worse esp towards the end... actually they will gave u luffin gas to release the pain temporary but of cos not as powerful as epi..

hmmm... think i will just take epi from beginning coz i have very low threshold for pain de... i fear i might be those biting hubby hand de..wahahhah....

pink, haahaa, caesarian, heard the pain is the aftermath and the healing takes a longer time compare to natural birth. Don't let us scare you, I heard alot more of the more scary stories but still decide on natural birth with epidural and I would walk around in the late afternoon through the hospital and on 2nd day, I went down to look for snacks in the hospital on my own after informing the nurse where I will be.

pink

actually i find the pain from the c-section bearable lah. And less bleeding coz the gynae cleaned up the womb before stitching up.

Don't opt for c-section just yet. It's still better to go natural if possible coz c-section is still after all an operation. Do some light exercises and it'll prob help u have an easier delivery. Who knows u might be one of the lucky ones to have a swift delivery?

pink,
actually be it c-sect or natural the pain tolerant level is diff for individual. i got a kolig who opt for c-sect when i visit her a little movement she is feelin v pain.. like wat Pris say dun let all this stories scared u.. opt for whichever u feel comfy..

pink, I agreed with piggy and mashy, c-sect is an operation and each of us have different pain tolerant level. Do some exercise, stretching, yoga, swimming when your gynae approves, it helps in level.

I was still out shopping and dining with some friends and who knows the next day I have delivered my boy and all my friends who were out with me were in shock when I called to inform them.

question
My gynae pkg is diff pricing for natural vs c-section. Wonder if I opt for either one of it now & decide to change my mind later, would they refund me the diff ?

Re: Labour pain..

hmmm mine was ok half day labour w/o epi...as i was using laughing gas...but bear in mind that laughing gas will make u feel weak...

i used it and gosh i didn't have enough strength to push due to the laughing gas effect...end up my ger have to be assisted to be vacuum out...

overall, my labour pain is bearable...

pink, I am not sure about the refund, as you book for c-section, they will have to book operation theatre for you and instead of delivery suite, you will go to operation theatre, so you have to check with gynae.

My gynae also advises to go for natural unless she forsees problem then she will let me know to go for c-sect.

pink

the normal thing is to opt for natural, then if there's complications, they'll change to c-section. But once u decide on c-section, there's no turning back unless u deliver at home or in the car before u reach the hospital.

So just opt for natural first. U can always change your mind later.

Dolcevita,
u sure u wanna be kept in suspense?

Pink,
C-sect is an operation and sometimes could lead to other problems...
i encourage ppl to go for natural as all the women in the past has being going thru these and we ladies have a higher threshold of pain endurance compare to the guys...

my sis wanted to go natural like me but end up the bb pass motion inside her so no choice but to go for emerg-c-sect and gosh she was saying that she was in so much pain after the c-sect...

cloudme, you are brave to go for natural without epidural that what my gynae suggested, I dare not as I am not as brave.

pris,
that's bcos i was like looking at wat other ppl wrote in other threads and some who took epi got side-effects from epi...so in my mind ..i was like hmmm in the past like my mum gen...they also do it w/o epi..so can i ...
my other friends who gave birth also advise me not to take epi as they also have friends who suffer form the side-effects of epi...
the only thing they warn me is the long hours while waiting to give birth...one of my gf stay in the delivery room for almost 14hrs b4 her prince is born...and with no food and drinks...

while i was in delivery room i was asked to order my breakfast and eat in the delivery room so that i will have enough energy to push...
diff hosp diff practice

wah.. all the labour stories.. heee..
all along.. i wana go for natural..n prolly without epi unless i really cant take it de. but nw..with 2..hopefully the position is ok..n i can still do it that why.. but perhaps need epi nw la. n oh, i wana try the laughing guess tingy..hahaha..i wonder still will laugh de mah. prolly not la hor..by then already so painful, cant rmbr hw to laugh le. else, guess no choice, gota 'cut' me le.

btw, i read on another forum, very cute.. this hb accompany the wife into labour, then he wanted to test the power of laughing gas, so he went to sniff it. end up.. he was laughing to himself non-stop..n fell into deep sleep aft 10mins. bahaha..i tink in the end did not witness his bb's birth or wat arh!?!

LOL..