(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

i spent my free time during the cny holidays watching hi 5, barney and sesame street dvds cos shayna insisted on watching! I missed out on free cable!

baby s,

I want to try your steamed marinated chicken today. Which chicken part did u use? Breast or thighs? And was the egg put in last? As in put it when the chicken is almost done?

pegs, any part will do actually.. my mum buys chicken breast meat for shayna. but if i buy, i'll buy thigh (cos i think its softer and i dont like breast meat. haha)

but after the steamning, its still quite tnder.

Yeah i put in the egg when chicken is almost 3/4 done. Just stir the egg, dont beat..

Happy CNY everyone!

Ugh it's not a gd Monday - having migraine, 'poking' feeling in my tummy, a bit nauseous etc. And NO - I am not preggie hahaha

Baby s,
Ooh .. ok, tks! So the garlic and onion just chopped small small pcs? Oh, and how abt ginger juice ... just squeeze from ginger ah?

babys

I tried the Teriyaki udon. Quite nice but I didn't put enough teruyaki sauce. I added, tasted but forgot that the udons will absorb the sauce. So in the end, didn't taste any Teriyaki haha Actually hor, it tastes a bit like my pasta except that there's no cream sauce - coz I use the same ingredients too (broccoli, capsicum, mushrooms, onion, garlic)

sbb,
My boy was the opposite, he was a charmer during cny visits ...haha. He was going round playing with everybody and making people laugh, even with people he met for the 1st time. I dun quite understand cos erm ... i'm quite an introvert when young and not easily warmed up. My sis was saying, in her words "It's such a surprise your kid is so lovable, considering u weren't that lovable when young." Arrrrghhh ... i almost slap her -_-

jul,
Too much good food?

I, on the other hand, am quite happy now cos finally my 'party' has just begun
I was coughing for the past 3 weeks and it worsen during the cny when i'd always cough in the nite. So tired cos can't sleep due to coughin. And i avoided most of the cny goodies. Now i've finally recovered, it's pay back time

pegsfur

Guess it's too much rich food, not enough sleep, too much visiting?

I thought you were munching on Glory pineapple tarts?

Strangely, I feel better now. Migraine & nausea are gone! If I didn't know better, I'd think I was having mild MS!

zen

So's Sam! He refuses to wear his PJs at night until we show him those shirts with cars on them. I thought it was too expensive too, but Hubs loves the mat. Dunno whether we're buying for the kid or the father *rolls eyes*

Actually I bought a Yellow Bear Parklon mat at $175 just 2 weeks ago. Hubs decided it's a gd mat & wanted to buy another one. Who knows the expensive one caught his eye

kiki

I also no mood. Worse.. migraine's back

jul: u never know.. it might be morning sickness wor.. *wink*

nvm about the udon lah, next time just put more.. and add in a bit of water too so u dont need to put in too much sauce. might become too salty..

Master this dish ah, so if we have potluck u can bring this dish along with ur chicken baked rice. hahahahah... pegs, remember to do ur braised mushroom with abalone..hee

pegs, i grated the ginger so flesh and juice, all in..

Happy New Year !

Saw this website for cooking soups, hope it's useful.

http://www.homemade-chinese-soups.com/pumpkin-soup-recipes.html

This pumpkin soup recipe using pork ribs is good for pregnant ladies.

Pumpkin soup with pork ribs
Ingredients
500g pork ribs
1 kg pumpkin
50g red beans
5g honey dates
5g dried tangerine peel (chen pi)
Soup stock (sufficient to cover all the ingredients) Salt and pepper

Directions

1. Wash and parboil the pork ribs

2. Wash the pumpkin and cut into big chunks

3. Wash the red beans, honey dates and tangerine peel

4. Place all ingredients in a soup pot

5. Add enough soup stock to cover all the ingredients

6. Bring the soup stock to a boil before lowering the heat to a simmer

7. Simmer for about 1 to 1.5 hours or until the pumpkin is tender

8. Add salt to taste before serving

jul,
Haha .. u r right .. i got sick right after i finsihed the whole tub.

baby s,
Hahaha .. i stupid lah, literally go & squeeze with my hand.

Ok, i'm gonna ask a silly question - how do u eat a peach? I just bought 1 from cold storage and it cost $3+!

So i just peel the skin and cut the flesh? Is there seed in it? And how to store the leftovers? Can just cut in slices and keep in container in fridge? Ok, i realised it's a string of silly questions.

Jul : haha.. the way you said it hor.. my first instinct is r u preggy?? Than I saw further down. No you are not preggy. Haha..
Eat too much heaty stuff liao is it?

==================================

RE : ANG BAO

Yo… your hubby got give you all YA SUI QIAN and Red packet for new year?
My hubby didn’t only give me for KAI GONG.

==================================

Pegsfur : Your boy good la.. u know last year when he was a bb not like that. Don kw why this year like that.
But he went to other ppl house not like that only my in law and their relatives house. Aiyo…
Else, he will be a boy with his hands tuck behind his back looking like an officer. Haha…
When he go out meet other strangers he also smile and laugh and say bye bye.

Your sister cannot said like that la.. when I was young I was lovable leh. Haha…

Sbb, maybe he was just tired?

Pegs: hee.. Did u manage to squeeze out any juice then? Alternatively u can cut a slice of ginger and smash it with ur knife. But i find grating it gets more juice out.

harlo all...

SBB,
maybe becos ur boi seldom go others house??
my boi i thot he will be paiseh but he surprises me go ard with no fear luffin n playin ...

y Hb mus gave kai gong/ang bao?? we dun have such practise wor..

BTW any1 heard of YWCA Childcare?

Sbb,
i thot ya shui qian is to be given by parents?

and kai gong ang bao(nowadays it is been replace by mandrain orange or dinner) is to be given by co?

we, dun have such practise too...

Drypers: nowadays shayna wakes up at 4am plus everyday and her diaper is usually fully soaked and sometimes wet the bed.

Previously, we'll change her diaper at 10plus b4 she sleeps then can last till next morning 7plus. No change in routine but diapers still soak thru. Anyone experiencing any problems with drypers too?

BabyS,
hmm tt day i let my boi wear the dry pants n he poo the poo leak wor.. so far i dun encounter such issue with pet pet n fitti premium wor..

babys,
that time my boi and gal also got this problem with drypers...
for my boi's case it's the position he sleep in lor...
even with mamy poko, fitti or petpet also will leak thru if he sleep with his backside up...

oh and they are older i suppose they have more urine?

cloudme: i dunno leh.. it only happened recently, but no change in the amount of water i give her b4 bed time leh..

and i so heart pain, i realise the ink from shayna's "One- derful" shirt is fading!

babyS,
the ink is fading?
mine still ok...hmmm, maybe cos i seldom let him wear, only let hime wear the other piece "little bro" while his sis wear the "gorgeous sis" one...

recently only?
heard that dryper quality drop abit...which i also feel so true as only 2hrs the gel will expand like dunno what lor...
that's why i also change him to petpet(day) and fitti premium(night)
but fitti is pulling out from our market so i change him to mamy poko (so siong on the pockets)...
so far only mamy poko leak 1 or 2 times thru night...

BabyS : Ya maybe tired liao le. Hehe..cos its his nap time wor.
Try mamy poko pants. I used that one. But use the pull up one ya.
They have pink for lady and blue for boy (more suitable for night)
Than yellow colour one for I think more suitable for day use.

Piggytoh : he got go other ppl hse before leh and he always go my in law hse. I guess ppl is a lot and the hse is very small. All cramp there so looks like a lot of ppl.
Than the next day we bring him to another ppl hse no problem also. Aiyo..

Re : Red Packet
Actually Ya shui jian is given by parents. But since married lao gong must give as what I know.
Than when new year time, lao gong have to give us ang bao too.
When first day starting of job, either boss or lao gong to give us for heng heng.
This is what I know after I went to fengshui talk few years back. Haha..

I didn know can be replace by mandarin orange or dinner. Haha.. my lao gong and boss got give me red packet for kai gong. Heng heng.

i used to used drypers. i bought 1 packet and don like it cos like can leak. so i use mamy poko which i think a lot better. but pricey also

yeah i find the gel expands pretty fast recently too!

this current pack, i bought from shop and save... only from this packet onwards that i had this trouble..

I haev a packet of mamypoko pull up pants for girls. Shall let her try tonight.. but agree, very shiong ah.. hahaha..

hihi all... Gong Xi Fa Cai.. HUAT ARH!!!

re: ang bao frm hubby
duh..i nvr heard of.. ahhaha.. nah..we dun prac this too!

re: drypers
ever since we were in XL for drypers..oso found the quality is not good..oso owas leak de. nw im using fiti le.

plus..nw their pee is even more liao... my colleague said shld try pampers active or smting liao.....even if one is toilet trained..smtimes will still hv 'accident' de. any of u using those waterproof mattress protector tingy? worth to invest in one mah? if i were to get..it will be queen size.. they hv in queen oso rite?

cloudme:: fiti pulling out frm market? oh no.. we juz chg'd to that..n love it. the fiti basic & premium de. haiyo. sianz!

SBB,
hahah got such thing ah.. anyway i dun believe la... i alr sway to the max liao...

fatbobo,
i may withdraw Kyler from LV wor.. found another CC near my IL place so may let him go ther instead...

babyS : ya let yr bb try the mamypoko tonight ba. Hehe…
very siong lor the costing. So day time can buy the yellow colour one.. different design one.

fatbobo : never heard ah? Haha… u kw my mother was asking your lao gong got give u or not? Must give one huh bla bla bla. Than my friend also ask me to take. Alamak..

I almost forgot they getting bigger and peeing more..

Piggytoh : earn extra cash for new year ma.. everytime give so I wan lao gong to give me heng heng also. But I also got give him kai gong $$.
I guess sekali only me in this forum have such practice. Its from my family pass down one and also after hearing the fengshui talk.

Alamak.. u lost your health booklet ah?

piggy:: haiyo.. dun say such tings la.. *choy choy* hw can u b s**y to m*x..whn u hv a lovely son..loving hb..n another darling boy on the way? hehe. *wink*

can withdraw arh? then the deposit all can take back mah? im juz lazy to go source for any other le..heheh.. so juz stick to it. anyways..ya, like said..u mng to find another..near your IL's....but ard our plc..dun hv de.. so no need to tink. hahaha.

u lost the healthbooklet? muz b smwhr de.. slowly find la. the other day i oso lost one of the girls' de..den ya, found it behind the drawers! hahaha.

my girls still hvnt taken the 12mths pnuemococcal jab lor! is there smting for 18mths oso? oh no.....

fatbobo,
that time me and angie also looking for fitti premium,
ntuc all dun have liao...giant tampines also dun have...
only carrefour have..

and jagiebaby recently went to carrefour and she ask and was being informed that they might be pulling fitti out from spore market and focus on "petpet".

if u google u will see that they have a fitti site for china market...

http://cn.fitti.com/

Diapers
BabyS,I m not sure abt Drypers but even when using Huggies Dry Comfort (red) for nite,there is leakage at times.So we switched to Fitti premium n it works. You may also wan to try Huggies Ultra-works well too.

Waterproof mattress protector
There is a type sold at GIANT-cheap n good n easy to wash n dry,woven material.I bought a few sizes,each costs less than $10. For cot size,I just cut to size and sew the seams.

babys,
may not be same company,
even if same co also got different sister labels rite?

PetPet is one of the major brands of baby disposable diapers manufactured and marketed by Disposable Soft Goods Ltd., a subsidiary of DSG International.

and from fitti site it also mention DSG internation...

so should be under the same company lor...

Fatbobo,
i tink since eve of yr 2011 sway until now..
n yesterday my maid like sick until v jialiat keep cryin wan go home.. den we quickly go to agency no suit trf maid so gotta chose another 1 n take 3 wks.. now my IL takin care of my boi n my niece lo dunno if they can cope so all along she nv even help to bath him n change diaper for him be4... ya ard our area no vacancy v sian...
since can find a cheaper 1 will jus try lo.. i call them they say jus fil in the withdrawal form they will refund heng no registration fee if not the fee not refundable...
ya cannot find the health booklet v fed up cos my HB took it n bring my son go see Dr be4 CNY mah den he cant remember where n i am tryin to enrol my son to CC next wk so mus quickly bring him for his MMR jab..

Babys
u wanna try one size bigger? Sometimes they just outgrow their diapers and going one size up helps. My gal is using the L size drypers but I find it a bit small. She uses petpet L for nights but the cutting much bigger.

BabyS : the yellow color one only suitable for day time use la.. the blue and pink colour one is more suitable for night time and it is more expensive lor. 
And if you didn wear it properly or you wear opposite hor.. leak one. My mum front wear to back and back wear to front.

Piggytoh : I tot u already bring yr son for mmr jab liao? Haven ah?
Ops.. the one who always misplaced is me not my hubby. Cos im the one who is more forgetful. But I try to put back the same place at the shelves whenever we came back or put it at the bag until I keep it. Else later don kw where I put sure gone.
if have 2 pax than take care should be no problem one.

SBB,
no i haven bring him for the jab...
if 2 pax take care 1 toddler not so bad but now is 2 toddler leh.. not so easy... usu my MIL only feed n play with him other things like bath n change diaper both of them nv try be4 wor..
n my MIL is not 1 tt can take care of children of them age v well 1..

piggytoh
than jialat liao le.. luckily my IL they used to take care of kids. but than.. alamak.. if they take care of my son my son will have a lot of bad habits. and not been taught well. cos they everything okie to bb. cannot da

piggy:: aiyo.. yr maid still not getting better? so nw take the temp..is for 3wks until u find a suitable de lar? u taking another indo? so nw is higher salary? or u going to take fili?

Kyler is gg to start CC next wk le arh? tot in march? or cos nw since 'no suitable' caregiver..so start him off sooner? but oso gd la i tink..

dun worry la.. tings will get into plc soon de.

SBB,
tt y i headache lo... cos since the day i bring over my son to their house the maid was the 1 who handle all the bathing, clean poopoo etc.. my IL jus look after them n play with them nia..
so was quite worried if they can cope...
so tryin to enrol my boi to CC nex wk if possible at least not too bad on them... not to forgot my maid not ard my MIL mus do some cleanin also leh..

Fatbobo,
no temp maid so now i maidless so no choice gotta enrol Kyler earlier if not my MIL cant cope... ya takin another Indo.. now increase to $450/mth liao but heng they still got some maid sign under old salary system 1 but if we not happy with the maid wan change will be $450 liao now everything increase lo..

piggy:: oops i read wrongly.. tot u took one till 3wks. hehe. oh..yr new maid cmg in in 3wks' time. so u'll still plc her at your IL's? but is Kyler gg for full-day CC or half?

re: maid's salary
wah lao.. i really cant handle if my maid's salary gona suddenly increase to $450/mth! my salary oso no increase..n every mth spend to last cent le...if still need to increase her salary..... i really duno hw to cope!!!

Fatbobo,
ya lo v siong n the maid agency fee also increase liao
everythign increase but our pay no increase.... ya still put her at my IL place hope she is ok if not if i wan to change will have to pay $450

he goin for full day but for the 1st wk the teacher advice us to go for half day first...