(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

hi all mummies..

yesterday i went for my oscar test.. wah, the ultrasound was so clear!! so much clearer than my usual.. haha..

can see baby playing, opening and closing mouth..

but one thing that got me pretty pissed was that my dr's nurses told me that TMC will give me one day mc, cos it might take whole day, based on baby's position.. even if i am done in 1 hour, also will get mc.

we were done in one hour. When i asked for the MC, TMC says they cannot give mc becos they are not doctors, can only give time chit.. (which was what i was thinking too. how can that centre give mc when they are not drs, but since those nurses say can, and so confident about it, i just accepted it)...

so b4 i went for appt, i already told boss i got med appointment and they say will give mc, so i apply liao. now suddenly no mc, and i didnt go back to work yesterday also.. i tried calling my clinic, but they were closed for CNY! today seems like they are closed also.. so angry leh.. if cannot get mc fom my dr, i'll just apply for AL>...

cheerios/pris

bubblymommy
Dun bother abt her. If she can't behave more like a person instead of a slave driver, why bother what she thinks? There's always another job waiting while there's only this unique little bb in you.

I once had a boss who said that we can only have time to die, cannot have time to be sick. She's one mean boss. Well, after 10yrs, she's still in the same level. Cannot go above that coz offended a lot of pp.

hi mrng all,

congratz to all the good news.. :)

gosh, i so don't feel like getting out of bed today, so don't feel like cmg to work! feel soooo tired, and so 'switched off' about work. i even cried while dressing & preparing myself this mrng! this is no good i know, but, i just couldn't make myself feel any better.

feel like i so can't bland into this work enviornment, like there's so many things which wan me to do, even implementing... im not those sort like brainy person, i tink im not a pro-active person as well.. in fact, very nuah kind.. i feel like i can't fit myself into this new environment leh! but i cant quit..if quit le, don't think can find a job liao!

sighz.. feeling very depressed..... n worse, my mouth (the sour taste..), my stomach.. all making me feel even worse!!!

oh we went on a tour of TMC at the same time yesterday.. they have renovated their maternity wards.. very nice now!!!

compared to when i visited a friend last year, these new suites are very very classy! quite impressive..

but hor, they (hospital staff leading tour) were talking about the availability of beds, and they saying if in event of unavailablilty of beds, they will ask us first b4 upgrading us to next available grade of rooms.

We asked is it chargable, they said yes, chargable, if they upgrade us to another grade of beds if our bed of choice was not available.. which got us wondering a bit.. cos we heard so many pple saying (and on forums) that its free upgrade if no bed available..

BabyS, congratz to you

bubblymommy

Dun be sad liao. Not every boss in this world is understanding. Actually, when I think abt it, it's also not easy on the company if their staff go on MC all the time. But then, we also cannot help it, not that we do it on purpose right?

Dun worry liao. BB more impt.

BabyS, yesterday i went to RH to drew blood, i requested MC too :p my gynae also not in. it is the nurse issue the MC for me.

BabyS

I'm a bit confused.. So u mean the pple doing the detailed scan for u weren't doctors? Then how do they interpret the results for you?

Oh how did u arrange for the hosp tour at TMC? Must make a prior appt or can just pop in & join? Is the reno all done?

I think upgrade must pay one leh. I nvr heard of free upgrade, except on airplanes. So far, I heard from my frens who gave birth at various hosps, that u have to pay for the upgrade.

fatbobo

Oh dear.. sounds like u got a case of pre-natal blues. Take it easy ok? Dun feel so bad or u will send negative vibes to BB.

mashy

My big boss is also v one kind. He can call u up when he feels like it, pushs his work to his subordinates, make u rush things so that he can read at leisure b4 submitting upwards... but when it comes to appraisal, if he doesn't like u, he will grade u poorly.

An he wonders why I dun wanna 'die' for him Pleeeaazzee!

pinkmama: After 5-6 weeks, no need to do V scan anymore. Can do normal scan through tummy. NT scan is no different from a normal ultrasound, except that the focus is to measure the fluid thickness at the baby's neck.

shirley, i dunno if the nurses at my dr's clinic can give me or not, since i wasnt really at the clinic yesterday.. they arent opened today too.. hope can lor..

jul, the pple doing the detailed scan were the sonographers/ radiologist. Its the x ray department. But they wouldnt interprete any results for us there and then, keep telling us to wait for report that will be ready tmrw...

re the free upgrade thing, we didnt read it from anywhere, but rather we heard quite a few pple saying that TMC got free upgrade, etc.. even on the forums got a lot of pple say also.. but i dont really bother lah, cos my heart more set on mt a.. going for mt A tour this sat.. heard they upgraded their wards too..

pinkmama, it was done via tummy for me..

bubblymom, if u feeling bad or anything, can share here.. we're all here for each other...

maybe its just the hormones raging.. there was one week where i was a cry baby.. watch tv comercial also feel like crying.. hee... maybe it will go away soon..

i oso feeling very lousy...
been crying the whole mrng... even in offc.. (den hfta hide).. but eye's cant hide.. cos red n swollen nw!

oh God.. pls help!

tinkabel

Actually do u find that gynae's money v easy to earn? Basically it's the same ultrasound scan, but they just mesure the thickness, then they charge us another inflated fee for it? Sigh.. too bad I buzhengqi, shd have been some gynae or something haha.

bubbly mommy, fat bobo

I hope ur period of 'depression" passes quickly. Last week I also just burst into tears for no reason. Bad hormones lah.

babys

Is ur gynae at TMC itself?

Bcoz my gynae's at TMC, I think if I want her to deliver at Mt A, got extra charge right? Actually, I kinda like Mt A better too. The environment seems better, & I heard a lot of gd review abt the service & confinement food.

jul, my dr is under thomson women's clinic, but can do delivery at Mt A also..

Personally, i feel more comfy at Mt A than TMC.. more.. 'homey'?

anyway, shall update u ladies after my Mt A tour on sat..

oh Jul, i forgot.. re the TMC tour, they have tours (sorry i dunno if weekend have or not), but its at 11am and 5pm. 10 mins b4 the tour starts, go register at the information counter.. u'll get a little goodie bag also..

Jul, sorry missed one part of ur question. my dr has his own private practice also, so he can do delivery at other hospitals too.. of course got charges, but his charges for Mt A and TMC are comparable.. in fact, Mt A charges was cheaper..

Jul04: I think the money is easy if there is no complications. I tink it takes an experienced gynae to handle any complications during the pregnancy and delivery process. I guess of course, as bystanders, we think the money they earn like very easy haha... Cos my gynae also charge me freaking a lot lor. But after hvg experienced a long labour, he was experienced enough to say I dont warrant an emergency C section. Imagine going into that after a long labour, you are already physically (no food for the entire day) and mentally tired...

babys

Oic. Someone was telling me that if the doc is based at TMC, then if I deliver at Mt A, the doc will not be able to pop over so often, but will prob wait till the nurse there inform her that I am near delivery then come over. Whereas if I deliver at TMC, the doc can on & off pop over. Dunno if that's true.

But I really do like Mt A better. Then hubby also Catholic, so he likes the place better too. Plus the parking is more convenient for him. hmm...

Oh how long does the tour last? Foc?

tinkabel

True lah. But I was thinking.. If complicated / high-risk preg, pple will look for expereinced doc. But if the doc nvr gets to practise on complicated preg, then he or she will nvr become experienced hor? What a vicious cycle.

gynae's $$ very easy earned
agreed with tinkabel on this..it seems very easy earned for most of us.. that is provided we have a simple non complicated case... but a good experienced gynae can save a bb's life during an emergency... i rather mine be just a scan and lesss than 5mins consultation during each visit.. :p

those mummies feeling down..
dun take all these symptoms go unnoticed.. talk to ur gynae... could be pre-natal blues...

I also realized being preggy has made me very emo. Was hearing my results this morning and was so stressed my tears were on the verge of falling and that day was bickering with hubby till I cried truckloads and told him if I know I don't want be preggy liaoz...hehe..I guess its all the hormones acting up. We will pass through this, ya? Stay strong! =)

I got gynae appt this pm. First check up after last week's spotting scare. Wish me luck! *cross fingers, cross toes*

Cheerios, cheers for the good news.

Jul, good luck to you!! Keep us update.

Pink, NT scan is done via tummy, they can tell you the measurement straight. Anything below 2 is good news.

Bubblymommy, fat bobo, watch out for emotional outbursts and very emotional, do talk to doc, it might be prenatal blue and not treated, it can become post-natal depression. I have a friend who went through that. Please take care of yourself. It would be good to talk to a close friend too, someone who has given birth before, they will understand better than those haven't given birth. And hang in there.

I am going to prepare more food for my boy, he is really hungry after orientation in school today. Eating twice his usual amount.

pink, just continue to pray, talk to bb, tell bb to hang in there. You have come a long way, if you have to and finances is not a problem, then stay home through your pregnancy. I have a friend here is doing that.

jul, yes, tour is FOC, about half an hour. They showed us the delivery suite and the maternity wards..

About drs being able to pop in often, i dunno leh.. cos my dr has his own private practice, so he should have patients all over in hospitals, so i guess he will give equal time bah..

pris
I intend to go back to work after 1st trimester. I have been with my company for more than 10 years & the pay & perks are too attractive to give up. The other reason that I am not quitting is cos with the current economy, it may be difficult for me to get another job. Sigh....really wish I can be a SAHM but with a housing loan to service, financial burden on dh can be taxing.
On the other hand, as I have been on the job for such a long time, it's really not too bad. It's basically 9 to 6.30pm, Mon to fri only and comes with 2 hours lunch.

Happy "Niu" Yr to all of you and may we be blessed with healthy, cute and adorable little niu niu

Congrats Priscilla & Cherrios on their test results!!!

Re: MT A maternity facilities tour, I have booked the tour tis sat at 10am, its Foc and will take 45mins..

Anyone sign up for antenatal program liao? KKH will be holding classes in Feb on weekdays and weekend.. I have registered liao and its fully booked on sat ler...

i also very emotional..nowadays watched tv see babies i will be so touched that i will drop tears...

by the way, anyone experience toe cramp??? i had the worst cramp last nite and i cried lor.. and it happened twice, once after dinner and once when i abt to sleep...

Pink, in that case, try to get colleagues to help pack food for you for lunch. Let them know you are pregnant and they will be more helpful. I went through that with my ex-company, those senior colleagues really took good care of me throughout my 1st pregnancy.

Cheryl,
u so early take the antenatal program by then u will forget 1 leh most of the pp i known took at later stage nearer to due date...

Hello ladies

Just came back from my gynae's ... I'm in 10w6d (only ...) I thot i shld be in 11w+ le .. Anyway, bb measured 4.42cm and is growing well. Another milestone

Hi pegsfur, great to hear ur baby is growing well

Piggytoh, the antenatal got break into 3 parts lor and not all conducted continously, got break de..as in from week 16 to 20 pt 1, then dunno week 20 something etc pt 2 and pt 3 usually at 3rd trim where the focus more on delivery part and spouse support..

Pegsfur,
wow... 4.42cm!!! dunno if my baby also same as urs this time round anot... i still got 1 more wk to go be4 seein my baby cant wait manz..

pegsfur
happy to hear that everything's smooth during the gynae's checkup

jul
good luck to ur gynae's visit this afternoon..

every gynae's visit is worse than taking an exam.. u r sooo scared of what the gynae's going tell u.. until u see the heartbeat and she/he says bb growing well/normal.. ..

cheryl,
haha, my company now got headcount freeze...no lah the 2 hour lunch is not official, just that cos I work that very long already, boss just close one eye.

pris,

pegsfur,
congrats

smurfy,
ya men, I agree, every gynae visit is worse thatn taking exam....me have to face it again tomorrow.