(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Alamak.... Mashy... I regret so much now after hearing that ACJC ex-students also qualified for Phase 2A... Urgh... I'm planning for a boy, this will definitely be useful... Aiyah...

Sunnyduck,
I think it would be better to use Onemap since it's used by all government sectors to measure travel distance and most importantly, MOE website also publish the Onemap website for parents to measure the Home-School distance... I nvr used the website u mentioned b4 but it was also mentioned by some parents in the KS forum too... But to play safe, better use the one recommended by MOE... I had to use Onemap regularly to claim my mileage and stuff, my dept dun recognize any other mode of measuring travel distance except Onemap coz mine also one of the Ministries...

Jules,
Maha Bodhi School is affiliated to the Singapore Buddhist Federation. But I'm not sure if SBF give out recommendation letter for their members who wanna register at Maha Bodhi under Phase 2B like SHHK does thou. U might wanna ring SBF and check. Btw, to register as SBF member, have to pay $100 membership entrance fees and subsequently $100 annual membership fees.
However, I'm not sure if there is any other criteria to be SBF's member thou. coz SHHK need to get 2 sponsors to endorse on ur application form b4 can become member. http://www.buddhist.org.sg/sbf/about

SBF's details:
59 Lorong 24A Geylang, Singapore 398583
Tel: 6744 4635 Fax: 6747 3618

HBB,
Ic... I thought i saw ur sis's post in the KS forum asking the KS Grandmaster there if Hock Chew is Hokkien. Coz the avatar looks like her boy X... I think the ppl in KS replied that its not thou, same reply as TJE & my MIL...
Rivervale is another popular school but it's over 2km from my home so i'm not considering that at all, sure rejected... so no point trying, at least NCPS and Rosyth still abit of chance coz within 2km for me... and past stats did not rule out chances of those within 2km, and i hope it remains this way till 2016..

Dino mum/Bbethan,
to get into Catholic HIgh must be super duper lucky liao. only 9 seat out of 48 applicants and those are all with the baptism cert, meaning phase 2B and they are within 1km! one of my friend managed to get 1 of the eldest boy into the school by balloting. He's super happy because he got 3 kids! so automatically the other 2 will go in as well.
Yesterday just got another rejectiuon letter from Fairfield PV. so damn sad.
Now, I really think to move to upper bukit timah.

Lamagier. what? got fined for having 3rd kid? hehehe...so funny. also the ligation cert thingy! can't believe it.
Talking about ligation, I was very kiasu already and sign my document plus highlighted in green. kekeke...

Mashy, your #1 is born in 2005 right? meaning next year register?

Etirto

my no 1 is 06 but coz 1 jan so joining the 05 batch if we decide to. Right now he's with 05 but dunno should we continue and register next year or hold him back one year. Altho intectually he can make it, but his other developments like fine motor skills and oral skills are slower so not sure to delay or not. It's a tough choice. Well will decide when it comes next June.

etirto
think u also hv to keep reminding the nurse/gynae to confirm and chop on the day of operation... keke....

i've 1 silly question.
our #2 will be in P1 in 2016 right? so if wants to do PV, how long in advance do we need to apply? heard that must do for a minimum of 2 yrs right?

if my #1 is 2007 kid, then he'll go P1 in 2014 and it means i've to start doing in 2012 and apply next yr?

lamagier
haha... my uncle also kena fined for 4 kids. he refused to pay but not sure if he got away with it... LOL

Etirto,
If I have time, I'll go dig out my Pri Registration deocuments, scan and post here. I also couldn't believe they make parents fill up ligation cert no.

Bbethan,
Haha. Now govt want give money to have baby. Last time must pay them. How times changed

Dino mum

thank u for creating doubts. I called acs pri and junior personally today and found that sec not related. Went into panic. Luckily my hb's pri sch merged and form Anderson pri. I called them and yes he qualify as ex student.
now I gave a new headache. Do I send the 2 kids to the same sch or do I still send my gal to sngs?

bbethan, for your #1, you got to apply for PV in 2012 and start doing the work by 1 July 2012. He will be in P1 in 2014, meaning you will be registering in 2013. Depending on school, usually they take registration for PV beginning of the year or end of the previous year, so you got to double check on your school. Right, Dino-mum?
eh btw, I also graduate in 1994.

Mashy, mine is dec 2005. so he's in k1 also now. so far he's ok in his studies, only smaller in size. hehehe

Shucks, I just spent a bomb buying books online. Think the husband will not be happy if I cart another load of books home =p

hehe... tell him it's for the MR's good so should not complain. They have a very wide range of Usborne books there. i'm going down tmrw lunch to browse n hopefully i can control my pocket.

my kids r not so interested in books now cos they got addicted to dvds! A will shriek when she sees me playing the barney DVD. now i'm so tempted to buy the Wink to Read discs n let them learn something. else i must a way to get them interested back to books.

japa
i know they used to be a chinese school in the past. my neighbour told me they still place a fair bit of emphasis on chinese. u stay around the area?

Bbethan
try leapfrog DVDs. That's how my son picked up phonics.

etirto
then same year. My boy also k1, also small size. How tall is your son? Mine just hit 96cm.

dino mum
ya i tink she prob ask thr!! LOL
i tot of Rosyth for edna but out of the 2km thingy... duno wanna try anot
machiam go casino leh!!

bbethan
i bought the leapfrog sing along dvd set for edna.. duno if its sth u might like to let ur kids watch?
btw the wink to learn dvd.. be prep that u need to sit in front of the tv and keep pressing NEXT... cos every 5 minutes or so it will stop for the next section... i know..cos i been pressing for Xavier the last round i went to his hse LOL
but i must agree its a very good dvd set!!!! esp for him to learn chinese!

Hbb

maybe u check the balloting history of the school. I'm within 1-2 km of catholic high but they ballot at below 1km. Somemore this year there were more than 40 fighting for 9 vacancies. Sure no hope. So altho I dunno why Anderson is so popular in amk, I'll probably send him there since my blur hb made such a mistake. Really cannot trust men. I kept telling him to check and even before he signed up the alumni, I told him to ask. He insisted that he asked and it's ok. Bow wasted $500.

hi hi hi....

such a long time I didn't check the forum...got shock when I see the recent topic is primary school?!?! Do we need to start planning now? I don't even know how to start searching and how to register!!!

Just wanna share with you this baby swimming survival video. It's amazing! Wonder if we have such swimming lesson in sg...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v0mUPr68x2U

isetan pte sale nxt weds!
tiger jar on offer again @ $49
this time round is the 0.9l one. and free 0.5l tiger mug.
got tiger lunchbox set @ $45 too.

i tink there is a thermos food jar at $19.90.

beverly
i looking for lobang also but no lobang leh!!!!
else i will jus rob my sis of her set next time! LOL
edna lost interest in the 'your baby can read' some times.. haiz.. occasionally she will ask to get off highchair n play instead!

Feels like a life time since I chk the message here...

RE: Hokkien
Hock Chia, Heng Hua and Hock Chew are NOT hokkien. But I think some may have themselve registered as Hokkien during the time when IC was first implemented after WWII.
TJE, I thought mostly ppl here speak Ang-Kway if not Nan An cos they are pretty rough! I am Ang Kway, apparently Kway Beh (end of the Kway). My ma's ancestors are from Or-Tao (I think many be the beginning of Yam).. I think the one that sounds most "polite" is yong chun (Eng Chun).

Sunsweet NYPS is a great school. That's one of the few non Christian schools I don't mind sending K to.

Actually, talk so much, hb & I are no alumni, no old girls or old boys from any school around where we live, so I really have to either join the SHHK for their schools, if not I have to call my American friend to find out how he got his sons into NYPS.

Mashy, I agree with u on the PILs also looking at edu qualification. I used to have someone who told me his mother did not like her former gf bcos she doesnt have degree.. I felt sorry for her (the mom), she eventually got a degree DIL but she did not "enjoy" the "degreed" DIL as she died before he got married. Given a choice, I just want a DIL that has the same "frequency" with my son. I recently met a guy, 22 years old, though very wealthy because of her high profiled parents, he is very humble and child-like (kinda pure, honest and cant find any mean bone in him), if I am the parent, I probably will be quite worried if he got a wife that is too smart.

RE: SAHM
Dino mum, I have also thought I can be SAHM for at least 4 yrs until K goes to preschool before I go out and get a "job" to while the time. I "chickened" out.. I enjoyed being with K but it's very very tiring, so I now take up the offer of p/t PA. I totally understand now why my hb's mentor told me those "can do" moms who chose to go back to work are "cowards" (no offence to working moms here who can afford but chose not to stay home)

Now that govt come out with new housing rules, I think it's going to be more difficult for us to "move w/i 1km" of the desired schools..
Actually I am not very pleased with the part that those with overseas properties has to sell them before acquiring a HDB apt here. Does that mean if my hb has his name in my flat he has to dispose?! Then when we go back where are we going to stay?! Though currently because he is not a PR, he could buy a pte property here, but there is no security for me, unless he die with a will, any other circumstance means I can't touch that property.

When I got my flat, I did not qualify any of the special deals that are given to Singaporean, and I chose not to take the first timer grant so why should I be put under the same ruling?????? I already did not get alot of the benefits as a Singaporean because I marry a foreigner w/o PR status, where is my benefit as a citizen?! GTH!!!

kk
can u can tumpang me cos i am not buying that so u can use my that coupon! u know which one anot?!?!?!? gt a few model leh
this one on offer is LWU-b170

Etirto,
ya lor... I still dun realli understand y Catholic High so super duper high in demand... 9 vacancies only... aiyoh...

Etirto & Bbethan,
Btw, all schools' PV application period different leh... For Rosyth, they r accepting PV from feb-apr 2011 for kids born in 2007. Unlike other schools where PV only need to complete 40hrs, Rosyth need to complete 60-70 hrs at least 24mths b4 the kid's admission and are also strongly encouraged to make continuous voluntary contributions to the school thereafter.
Some v popular schools may require u to register v v early for PV, it's best to check in their website or call them personally to avoid missing the application period.

mashy,
actually i dun realli know about ACS affiliation thingy... jus so happened i read it in the forum... seems like the info posted in KS forum r accurate thou... hmmm... the parents there must have done lotsa research... but if i'm in ur shoe, i'll still send my girl to SNG...

Japa,
Kong Hwa is a SAP school... and yes, it is a chinese based school and under Hokkien Huey Kuan... For this year's phase 2B intake, those within 1-2 km have to be subjected to balloting...

HBB,
its a big gamble to try applying for GEP/SAP schools if staying outside 2km... I'm already taking a risk by trying either NCPS/Rosyth even though I'm within 1-2km... Balloting was conducted for phase 2B in 2006 & 2007. Have to take into consideration that in 2016, almost all schools will transit to AM session... Currently, Rosyth is taking in 330 students for P1, the numbers will definitely drop drastically when it becomes a single-session school. but then, hard to say wat will happen in 2015 registration, so u might wanna consider carefully b4 placing ur bets... but monitor the balloting history and no of intakes closely... so u wont have to do any "yuan wang" volunteer work... for me, i'm trying to get phase 2b recommendation for NCPS & Rosyth so i can gamble in 2015 depending on the no of ppl registering then...

KK,
I have to admit that I dun have the courage to become a SAHM... tough job... but then, financially-wise I cant stay at home thou... but if my hubby is rich, i wont stay at home either... working is better for me...

Jules,
Have to add in some info about Maha Bohdi... my friend is teaching at SBF Sunday school, she told me that its v v v v v difficult to get letter for phase 2b unlike churches/clans... it's not their practice either to give out recommendation letter for MBS... so u might wanna think twice about signing up as their member... since the membership fees plus annual fees not v cheap either...

dino mum
u really hv done a lot of research n all well prepared already. unlike me. seems like Kong Hwa is a good choice for me to decide. I didnt even know it's a SAP school. Btw how diff is a SAP primary school from the list that FOZ listed earlier?

KK/Mashy, as you know, I'm a SAHM with my own income. but my hb always asking where did all the money go? cannot even smell it.hehehe...
My own parents are very particular about degree for their kids and in laws. During those days, they think that architects and doctors are definetly going to have good life with better earning. That's y I pursue my degree till master and my two brother are still doing their doctorate degree...sigh...Sometime when I tried to apply for jobs in Singapore, I got to 'hide' my master degree, because the employer will get 'scared' first and thought that I will ask for skyhigh-salary and said that I'm overqualified for them. In a way, I feel that my degree is bit wasted as I become a SAHM now. But with kids and with my freelance job, I think I'm contented now. yeah I think fro you, part-time is good, somemore you can adjust the time. why don't you choose afternoon to work on private sale day then we can go together mah...

HBB, so it's confirmed on wednesday, is it? it will be my last shopping spree before I pop! hehehe...

who's going on wed morning? i'm tempted to take leave n go. i saw the thermal pot n so tempted to get it. also saw the disney trolley... so cute.

bbethan
i wan buy the hello kitty kitchen set!!!! LOL im getting the 0.9 litre tiger food jar for gf too!!!

dino mum
ya big gamble.. haiz duno lar.. many ppl feel i shld move to the new hse when TOP.. so edna can go to the sch thr.. but but but i dun wan to move.. im too comfortable here

etirto
yes weds!!
i need to lug edna along as usual
but this time rnd i MIGHT ask my parents to go with me so tat they can carry her, or sit somewhr makan n etc while i shop!!

hbb
got kitchen set? ok.. tonight go back n take a look again. need to buy more girly stuff for A. Else she's forever playing kor kor's toy n become tomboyish.

if yr new place area is better n hv more choices, why not?

bbethan... down grade to smaller space.. dun wan la... LOL and i hate to move hse.. i prob need 3 lorry to move the thg in the hse!

Bbethan,
Special Assistance Plan (SAP) schools is a programme in Singapore which caters to academically strong students who excel in both their mother tongue as well as English. Currently, SAP schools only cater to those studying the Mandarin mother tongue.
These schools are offering SAP:
Ai Tong School
Catholic High
CHIJ St. Nicholas Girl's School
Holy Innocents' Primary School
Hong Wen School
Kong Hwa School
Maha Bohdi School
Maris Stella High School
Nan Hua Primary School
Nanyang Primary School
Pei Chun Public School
Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary School
Poi Ching School
Red Swastika School
Tao Nan School

As for Gifted Education Programme (GEP). The term “gifted” is used to include many kinds of strengths. However, there are a few broad areas in which giftedness can show itself. They are intellectual ability, leadership ability, talent in art and music, and psychomotor ability. The GEP, as well as School-Based Gifted Education programmes offered by Integrated Programmes (IP) schools at the secondary level, cater for the intellectually gifted.

Gifted education is offered in the following schools:

Primary Gifted Education Programme (GEP) (Primary 4 to 6)
School Nature of School
Anglo-Chinese School (Primary) Boys
Catholic High School (Primary)* Boys
Henry Park Primary School Co-ed
Nan Hua Primary School* Co-ed
Nanyang Primary School* Co-ed
Raffles Girls' Primary School Girls
Rosyth School Co-ed
St Hilda's Primary School Co-ed
Tao Nan School* Co-ed

* Special Assistance Plan (SAP) Schools which offer only Chinese Language as Mother Tongue.

Meaning those in SAP schools will have to work on their chinese language since the kids have to handle higher chinese unless they opt out/not selected/etc. Thus, it'll be good if the kids show an interest in chinese, but it's torturous for those kids who grew up speaking only English, read English and show absolute no interest in Chinese. I've seen quite a number of such students. To them, chinese lesson is a waste of time and they speak chinese like foreigners learning to speak the language... During chinese lessons, they dun speak chinese but english and expect the teacher to translate each chinese character to english... Personally, I couldn't get used to such chinese lesson esp when in my sec school, majority excel in chinese language and obtaining As even though mine is jus a normal neighbourhood schools. but it seems like those in neighbourhood schools have no problem in chinese language and big problem in English during my era coz many fail their EL and got to re-take. It'll be good to place them in SAP if the parents also place such importance in the mother tongue language... I think KK will be v interested in SAP...

Btw, is Kong Hwa within 1km from ur home? Coz for this year Phase 2B, balloting is required for those within 1-2km. For schools under SHHK, many of them facing balloting for those within 1 km or within 1-2km coz too many applicants due to the SHHK affiliation thingy. While other schools' phase 2B only consider churches/grassroot/PV, schools under SHHK consider clan/grassroot/PV of which many ppl sign up as SHHK, it doesn't help that majority of our population r Hokkien so many r eligible to sign up for SHHK.

HBB,
Have u checked out what r the schools within 1km from ur new residence? If there is more good schools for you to choose from, u might wanna consider schools there rather than place ur bet in schools that r outside the 2km radar... U mentioned that ur current home v v near to Rivervale Pri? then u can also consider Mee Toh, i think its within 1km from Rivervale Pri.

dino mum
mee toh is 1 min walk fr my hse!! rivervale is within 1km!
the new residence... i think MGS, chij and bt panjang pri if im not wrong.. i duno my postal code yet so a bit hard to check LOL

Oh yah... For those who r thinking of registering in the following schools, better call the school and check if they accept PV or not coz apparrently these schools doesnt accept any parents volunteer.

Schools that do NOT accept PV at the moment:

1 ) De La Salle Primary (CCK)
2 ) Fuhua Primary (JE)
3 ) Jurong Primary (JE)
4) SAPS (Bukit Batok)
5 ) Princess Elizabeth Primary (Bukit Batok)
6 ) Maha Bodhi (Geylang)
7 ) CHIJ TP (Toa Payoh)
8 ) CHIJ Kellock (Bukit Merah)
9 ) ACS (Novena)
10) ACS Junior (Central)
11) MGS
12) SJIJ

Alternatively is to consider grassroot if wanna register for phase 2B.

HBB,
U can use the onemap and click on the nearest residence/block from ur new residence. then get a rough estimation from there. But since u not considering girl's school for Edna. then better stay put at SK and consider either rivervale or Mee Toh. Else u can only place ur bet at Bukit Panjang Pri. BPPS seems to be the most popular school in Bukit Panjang area as compared to CHIJ.

dino mum
ya i tink bt panjang is the onli sch left hahaaa if i move! i heard its super popular!!!!!
I wanted to put her in Mee toh but recently a friend told mi of how the teacher in sch use buddha to threaten the kids... i a bit hesitant! Mee toh 1km also must ballot leh!!!!

HBB,
If u registering under Phase 2b for Mee Toh, then no need balloting based on the past 4 yrs history. But if under phase 2c, then balloting for even those within 1km.