(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi, can I join in... mummies? I am also a July mummy. This is my second pregnancy, I am in my 35 weeks but baby is really small. Abt 2kg only.
My first one was 3.3kg when born. Any mummies can share their view? Damn Stress now.
Ya, I have low placenta and Dr said might due to this, the blood flow is not able to go to the baby that y he is small.

Hi ZN,
Welcome =)

Don't stress, your baby petite, but not that tiny lah. Think Jamie, me, twinkle and bestberries all babies on the small side. Mine 35 weeks only 2.18kg, doc predict prob only 2.5kg at birth.

Jamie and me tried all the durian, milk powder diet baby also still not puttting on aa lot of weight... Wait for baby come out then fatten baby up liao

Anyway, doc always tells me that will have some measurement error... so maybe your baby not that tiny

Think sunsweet also has low placenta problem, but baby is average size...

ghees,

looking at Aprisin,

their price is only $99 compared to toys'r'us at $129..

I might get from them instead next week when I drive.

but dun seems like it's contractions lehs..
it's more like cramping....

i'm only in my 34 weeks... i duwan deliver so early... but am pretty worried abt the cramping... i'm feeling v listless as well... =(

ZN (zeng),
Yah, think ur bb of average size.. also already more than 2kg shd be good.. Bb weight has been increasing steadily over the weeks right?
Maybe you should ask your doc more about the blood flow comment.. cos I dun really understand that.. hmn.. Dun think it shd affect lei, i have friends who have low placenta but bb still quite big.. at least bigger than mine la. haha

(winnie_mummy)
Are you resting now at home, maybe just sit down or lie down, dun do anything 1st.. Do u have any medication to help with contractions? If not just time your contractions and make sure your hp is beside you so that you can call the clinic if you need to reach your doc..

Winnie mummy,

Possible to go striaght to delivery ward to get your contraction timed?

last time my gynae at KKH advise me if you suspect its delivery contraction can go to delivery ward straight to get checked..

welcome ZN!

If u would like to be added to the table, pls provide me with the following info:

Nick
Birth Order
Gynae
Hospital
BB Gender
EDD

After your bb deliver, we'll add on the other details.

lamagier, i bought for the little tikes camera for my #1 xmas present when she was 4 years old. she love it very much and took it everywhere wif her. it's like adult camera, can view picture and at the same time if they drop it's ok cos it's kinda shock proof. but the only thing is it's kinda big and quality of pic taken is kinda blurry. for fun it's ok, especially for younger kids. but kids get bored wif toys easily, be prepared for them to be excited for a while and put aside...hehehehe.

Jamie : Am @ work now, have missed work for 3 days oledi... if today still dun come, ltr boss black face...

Sunsweet: Ah? Go str8 ah? Later is false alarm how?

i reallie hope it's nt signs of labour lehs... i'll faint mannn...

Winnie mummy,
If really not having a good feeling about it, best to go delivery ward to check. I already went to delivery ward to CTG twice already cos of the irritable uterus... Already 3 times went to see gynae outside appt time.. My husband thinks I'm kan-cheong spider

No need paisay if false alarm lah... We are paying for the CTG anyway if we choose to go do it.... At least can set your mind to ease...

Winnie-mummy,

false alarm then u can go to doc clinc to check loh.. see if doc can give you some med to stop/ reduce the contraction..

did the nurse says wat time your gynae will return?

I think its better to overact a little then to wait and wait..

winnie mummy

when i was 34 weeks with my #1, i had severe cramping, went hospital and realised i'm really having contractions. Luckily given drip & meds and stopped it in time. The nurses wanted to jab me to mature bb's lungs just in case bb comes out (which luckily i didn't have to) and i had to stay 2nts at the hospital.

I asked my gynae what will happen if i didn't go hospital, she said i would have delivered coz my contractions were very regular.

So, to be safe, go and see your gynae/delivery ward.

fion, i think your #1 will learn sharing from school later, dun worry...you can also buy story books about sharing or let her watch educational vcd of sesame street or dora about sharing too. as wat the other mommies say, i think this is an important time for u to bond wif ur #1 and tell more about the baby in your tummy, sort of a preview. my #1 is 6 years old, although seems like easier to understand, but she still feel jealous when i go shopping and buy baby stuff. but i dun want to make a habit to buy things for her just because she complain. i read to her stories about mommies having babies and watch ch 70 "a baby story" together with her and explain that after baby is born probably mommy need rest and baby need milk, so that she minimise her jealousy of not enough mommy's time.

Kitty, my EDD is on 7 July. But, gynae pushed forth till 5 July. My girl is grabbing whatever I eat. I feel hungri easily. Mbe that explains the increase in weight.

Fion, I am the same as you. I cant take MC before my EDD. My co will take it as ML. My gynae was thinking of covering me with MC on my last wk next wk. But, cnt due to co policies.

Mummies, I hope I will pop after tml. Gt to settle some stuff at my #1 new sch. Then, if I pop tomorrow, I wont waste my ML. haha! Got to walk more now so that I can pop pop pop soon.

HBB, you look great with yr pics. So slim.

sunsweet, forgot how many megapixel, think it's 1 or 2 lah, here's some sample of wat my #1 took with her camera of neighbour's baby.

2613294.jpg

coolkero
my hb & I are trying our best to teach #1 to share because our friends around us keep telling us stories about #1 bully #2. We are so afraid that #1 will bully the #2 when no one is around.

re : Induce
I plan to induce my bb at wk37 as my bb is already 2.5kgs now (wk35). scare it become bigger and I can't undergo natural delivery. But I'm afraid my bb will not have enough nutrient as she did not reach full term. does any mummies here has to same experience as my current condition ?

fion

don't assume that #1 will bully #2 and overprotect #2 from #1. Sometimes #1 is 'hao xing' wanna help take care of #2, but coz too young, still dunno how to do it properly. So have to say nicely.

2.5kg at wk 35 is ok wt ah. Don't induce unnecc. Your #1 is natural or c-section? #2 usually easier if #1 is natural.

Mashy/Jamie/lamgie

Thanks for the warm welcome.

Nick : ZN
Birth Order: 2
Gynae : Dr SF Loh
Hospital : KKH
BB Gender : Boy
EDD : 22 July 2009 (but will be on c-section on 10 July)

I know I shouldn’t worry too much, but very scare of small baby, hard to take care. Boy some more.. I hope he can be at least 2.5 kg, keep my fingers cross..

I can’t take durian, very heaty, but they said must take coconut juice? Eat a lot, but my weight was drop.. Dr also feel ????

My first 1 also kena C-section cos not engaged till the day before EDD, so until today I still don’t know what is contraction.

Fion -
My baby is also around the same weight - 2.6kg at the start of week 35. I asked the doc if the baby will be early and he said not yet, the head not engaged yet. I was quite surprised at the weight but doctor said it's a good healthy weight, no point messing with nature and also baby boys are slightly heavier at birth. Why do you think you won't be able to do natural delivery? How heavy was #1 at birth? I am trying to let nature take its course - obviously baby too big also not too good, but having a 3kg+ baby is very normal. Furthermore don't forget, every week that baby stays inside, he/she is absorbing nutrients and developing the brain - v impt in 3rd trimester!

mashy
my #1 is natural delivery. My friends also telling me that the delivery process of #2 will be shorter then #1. I'm feeling so frustated now, both legs are swollen, stomach extremely heavy (feeling breathless due to the weight)...etc.

those who thinks your baby is light weight? well at the moment doc says its estimation..

my colleague had her baby estimated to be 3.3kg.. end up her boy 3.9kg.. oh boy and she went thru natural birth..

so dun worry too much cos end up your baby might be heavier than you think
as long its not too underweight will do.. its easier to naturally deliver a avg size baby then a Sumo size baby

sunnyduck
I'm afraid my bb will be too big for natural delivery.... I heard my friend say if the bb is too big, gynae will cut .... (you know). so scary...

Gina dear,
You are so funny! ahaha, okie, I believe you TOTALLY that you/we have no control over the bb if he/she wants to gain weight..
Hmn.. how come your bb's head is bigger than avg bb? I think she is going to be very smart.. :D
You must be excited cos you can induced by next week.. know that you wanted to see her very soon. BTW, did your doc gave you a VE to check if you are dilated?

fion

since your #1 is natural, then your #2 will likely be a breeze too coz #1 has already helped u stretch it. Just let it be and be patient. I know at this time, everyone wanna get it over and done with. But sometimes it's better to let them in longer to develop better.

sheryl
bet u will also look good if u go for the shoots )
gina
wahh 500g in a week? omg...
so u got urself a date to get bb out liao???

mashy
I'm praying hard it will be a smooth and fast delivery. hahaha....
By the way, I heard contraction is extremely pain and if I didn't go for epi do you know are there any ways to reduce to pain ?

gina
hope ur girl can come out naturally
dun tink too much yea
jia you!
too bad u not delivering in kkh else mayb we can go induce togeher hahahahaaa

gina, my case similar wif urs, my doc measure the head size say it's about 38 week although i'm only 35 week, baby's head is engaged already and cervix is soft, so we might meet in hospital if mine wants to come out earlier, hahahahahaha.

fion, dun worry too much, i've also heard of many bullying stories from friends, such as waking the baby or pinching them regardless of how old #1 is. of course that's the worst scenario lah, but can still be taught. as wat mashy said, give them a chance first and explain to them at their level especially younger kids who also need attention.

Gina,
With the big head, you really have to make sure you are well dilated lei.. if not what happens if you need emergency C-section.. Hmn, I also heard taht the fees for that is atrociously high... Think it also depends on the hospital.. some of them charged double right? I have not check with Mount Alvernia if they do charge double if in the event emergency c-section occurs. Anyone had their 1st one there and did an emergecy c-section can share abt the cost?

Hi ZN,
I didn't take coconut juice, cs too cooling. I have too many old sports injuries, cocnut juice will aggrevate... Hope your bb will jia you and put on more weight in the coming weeks.

Hi fion,
Haha, my colleague was telling me "Lao ma zi gave birth to 3 kids without epi, you can do it too..." haha, so I try to do without epi too. I don't know how painful it'll be...
Usually when I'm in pain like tui-na, injections or kena beaten up during sparring, I will blank out my mind and go into space out mode to block out the pain... Hopefully it will work... main thing is dun anticipate the pain...
The more you wait for the pain to hit, the more accutely you look for the pain and the more you will hurt...

winnie's mum

if u need to go hospital, u need to go hospital. what u mean u have to endure till tom? Your bb won't wait for u to finish your work u know. When having a bb, u'll realise that there are things u can't control. Esp when it concerns your bb. If u suspect you are having contractions, u have to tell your boss. I'm sure your boss will not stop u from leaving unless he wanna see u deliver in your office.

winnie_mummy,
Just time your contractions 1st.. at times it will go away.. So dun panick 1st ok.. :D I know it can seems scary.. and it also puts me in a very lousy mood.. I had that when I was in 34-35 weeks.. Surprisingly, I am alright now from 36 weeks going 37 weeks.

Guess what, doc din do any cervic scan for me at my last visit at week 36, he just kept measuring her head, body, stomach, heartbeat.. I also not sure.. cos tat day I abit blur blur and also very upset when he told me abt my bb's weight gain so in the end, I din hear anything he says while he was scanning.. sigh..

Now I am super curious if i am dilated, as my doc dont do VE, the only thing he use to check is the scan machine... that will have to wait till my next appt on next tues evening.. So long!! hiaz..

winnie mummy,
If really gut feel tells you something is wrong, just head over to labour ward to check after work. Don't wait until tmr. Else you will have sleepless nite thinking about it

i like to check if any1 encounter this b4...

my hubby say that sometimes he will feel that there is many things in his chest, and the feeling gets a bit sour and full to below his throat, feeling is like a bit wan to vomit and is happen frequently..

do any of u noe y and how to cure?

winnie mummy
ya if anythg not right go hosp imm
dun wait
i dun tink u wan to pop when u go toilet or on the way home rite?

mashy
my 1st delivery was hysterical. I induced at wk39 because tire of waiting. My gynae told me to go for epi as I am pain sensitive (hahaha). I was screaming all the way throughout the delivery process because epi injection is painful. Suddenly my labour ward became extremely crowded because all the nurses in the labour ward came into my ward to see which is the crazy woman who is screaming so loudly. hahahaha....... =P

I'm having epi side effect (backache) after delivery therefore this time round I don't intend to go for epi but I heard contraction is painful. So wonder if there any other options to ease the pain ?

lamagier
seem like you hypnotise yourself... hahaha
I heard in western countries, they hypnotise themselves during the delivery process.
Think I'm really pain sensitive. There once I fainted in the massage parlour after the shoulder & back massage because it was so painful. The massue was so afraid that she keep apologizing to me... hahaha

fion

are u still having backpain? Else u can still go for epidural if it's just short term? If not, u can try laughing gas lor. But heard not very effective. Esp since you're pain sensitive...

mashy
I am still having backache since then.... therefore I seeking for other alternative to ease the contraction pain. Is spinal injection the same as epi ?

Do go soonest, winnie_mummy. We waited a long time to see our lil one, so trust your gut feeling and get it checked out.

i am new here .. and i am supposed to be an august mummy but going for c section in late july.. I need advise on how to fatten my baby up. At 33 weeks my baby is only 1.5kg at most and gynae say if i dun put on by 29 June she might need to perform c section on me even earlier! Be going for doppler test on the 29 June. i can't eat durian cos i can't stand the smell... any other methods?

hi jamie,

I need to go C section earlier cos gynae say no point baby in the tummy but not gaining weight.. let him gain the nutrients when he is out..
i wanted a normal birth but due to my slipped discs op a year ago she advised me not to.. pretty sad though.