(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

hbb
i see... maybe she's back to her original EDD on 2 Jul? hehe... can really understand how the waiting feels. my boy refused to come out even up to EDD. i even worked until the very last day n ppl around me were so worried i'll give birth in office. and this time my gal so eager to come out.

bear wif all the contractions. it's the womb preparing for the big day n it's coming to jul very soon. n in a mth's time, everyone of us will be talking abt full mth.

Hi lamagier,

Don't think we will bump into each other cause my appt is at 11am and hopefully i don't have to checkin to tmc that day for induce..

Jamie,

so good can cover with mc. for me, i can't do that cause if take mc within 1 mth from EDD, my company will consider that as ML. I am down with running nose, went to see GP today and was given mc but because of this stupid policy, i have to take leave instead

I really envy those mummies who can work till their very last day (EDD). I was been forced to take M/L one mth before EDD which mean I have lesser time to spend with my bb. **sob sob**

<font color="ff0000">Kim</font>

I think I'll go with MommyCozyHeaven for the placenta processing
Can PM me you e-add.
I will send you the mail from them. so we both can enjoy some discount.

<font color="ff0000">Gina / Kim</font>,
I read that some are adding Pao Sheng b4 encapsulising the powdered planceta. Will you do that?

I ask my Gyne on my next visit what KKH can provide for me to "ta pao" my placenta .. hahaha

<font color="ff0000">Re: Early ML</font>

I'm heasitating to take early ML cos want to spend more time with #1 and #2....

<font color="ff0000">Re: Vinger Pig Trotter</font>
Kim, do we have to prep the dish early? why is it so? When can we start consuming this dish?

taringal (covewild),
Good to hear that your bb is fat fat.. i always feel happy to hear that about bbs! haha, ya, thanks, as long as bb's weight is increasing steadily then I wont have anything much to worry about most prob.. Anyways, my husband is really very slim and trim type.. at only 61kg at 1.8m tall.. though he is in the "normal" BMI category, he is almost borderline to underweight la.. so i guess, maybe bb took after daddy's genes.. my husband is telling me that too. haha..

Fion,
Is it your company policy to make you take 1 mth ML before your EDD or is it your doc who advised u on that?

Anyways, my gf is good la, she due on 22 jun (mon), then she took leave on 22nd june but due on 21 Jun (sun).. Best! My doc told me that it all depends on individuals cos some pple dun feel tired so can work till all the way feels good abt the whole pregnancy while some like to rest more, wakes up at their own time, relaxed and get prepared for the D day.. so all depends on the character.. hehe..
For me, I still have not decided what type am I.. haha

mashy

because our mgmt is saying 4 mths m/l are too long (previously 8 weeks only) and since there are nothing much to do now I might as well go on m/l. =(

Mashy,
did you experience the same increase in contractions for your #1? Same here, makes me breatheless and uncomfy, twinges of pain here and there....

Hi Fion,
Your company policy is to begin ML a month early?
Mine states to begin 2 weeks before EDD wor... I thought that is already pretty early.

taringal,
Wah. Your company is pretty particular about the ML/MC thing....

lamagier

no, I took ventolin for my #1, so didn't have much of this. But once i stopped, the contractions came fast and furious within hrs. It started off already at 10mins apart. And very painful until i've to stop moving and break into cold sweat type.

For this #2, it's freq, but not so painful. Just hard rock and breathless. It goes off eventually after a few rounds.

Fion
actually also good lor. NOw the H1N1 is on the loose, it's safer to stay at home than go work and mix with the pp.

jamie,

initially we agreed to base on my gynae suggestion (which is 2 weeks before EDD). however last min mgmt change their decision as they claim that 4 mths m/l are too long =(

mashy

true but I'm afraid I will kanna pre-natal depression because nothing to do at home. hahaha =P
moreover, I wish to spend more time with my newborn.

fion

Nothing to do? There's plenty to do to prepare for bb's arrival.

try washing bb's clothes, wash the bottles, sunning the mattress, wash the bedsheets, clean the floor etc. hahaha. there's plenty to be done.

Mashy,
Yap, hopefully bb takes after Daddy's genes.
Btw, I have also stop the ventolin for now.. and I dun get the contractions anymore.. infact since early this week, I already stop taking ventolin unless I feel that my contractions are coming.. which is usually at night.. so weird..
Yap, i also start getting hard tummy and abit breathless, which at times, I tot it was my bb being naughty cos I can feel her body/limbs (not sure which part of her body) pushing up..finds it hard to breath at times..

Fion,
Understand, sometimes we all have to work accordingly to our Co's plan..needs to compromise. I think I also have certain policy issues on taking MCs.. 1 month before EDD.. need to check on that too.. lucky u reminded me..

jamie
dun worry abt baby's weight now since he's more than 2kg already. after giving birth can beef up one. my #1 was 3.7kg at birth. but now he's very skinny. at 18mths, he's only just 10kg... my colleague's boy was 2.8kg at birth, but now he's so much heavier than my boy. think the after birth weight gain is more impt. i was very worrying abt my #1's weight gain after birth. but since PD says his growth has been little but steady, no worries. So we attribute it to Daddy's genes. Prob i just bu too much during pregnancy. hopefully my gal can take over daddy's genes too. dun want her to be big size like me... hehe

Fion
actually 16 wks is less than 4mths leh. after calculating, it's only less than 3.5mths. think at this time, we also no choice wif company's option. govet has made it clear that last 8 wks are subj to company n employee's agreement.

actually for #1, i'm the type who has the energy to work all the way. Like HBB, wait until no kick alreasy, can still go shopping. for #2, more tiring n feels aches everywhere. had initially wants to go on ML earlier too. luckily gal saved my leave. but will be taking only 12 wks ML n leave the last 8 wks for jabs, emergency use only. the only down side is our company's policy is have to clear the remaining weeks in weeks rather than days. so i only hv 8 blocks of 1 wks to take.

Mummies with #1.
can share what are yr plans to take care of both kids? i'm a bit apprehensive now. currently doing confinement wif baby at mum's place. #1 wif hubby at MIL place. sometimes, he'll bring him over in the evening and sleep over n bring him back in the morning. already experience 1 cry, the other cry in the middle of night. now i wonder how i will cope when i handle both. not too keen to get helper as intending to send #1 to cc before end of ML. it's either maid or cc kind of option. mum's help not an option cos she's working. Staying wif MIL but i've to do most of the things myself, incl cooking n washing for #1.

mashy
my maid had done all the tasks. =)
when i'm pregnant with my #1 I seek into depression because nothing to do at home, hope this time round I won't. keke...

jamie
ya.... kinda disappointed in my co. policy =X

fion
go out n walk walk!
go to somewhr not so crowded...
liek u my stuff more or less done.. so i go out everyday (except today) haaaa
c i can tahan dun goout anot haa

Fion,

ghees, the co. you're with not pro-family kind?

HBB,
As from MommyCozyHeaven, they had clients who delivered from KKH.. this was what they wrote to me "We have quite a few clients from KKH and KKH does not provide the fridge facility for the clients. They keep their placenta in their own icebox packed with ice before passing to us."

Can get ice from 7-11 but u got to see if you deliver in the day, then hubby going home only at night have to prep 1 box small for the placenta and 1 larger box to keep the ice you bought. so you keep replenishing the ice to keep the placenta chilled till he brings home to freeze.(something like that)

best is you could the person to process the placenta to collect ASAP at hospital then nothing much to worry.

Hi Mums,
Haven't been posting/reading much here cos I got sick! Argh! I think it was a children's party I went to over the weekend - some of the kids were sick and I might have caught it from them. At least I don't have a fever, just bad sore throat and a nasty cough that keeps me awake at night.
Furthermore the doc couldn't prescribe any strong medication to help with my symptoms, so no choice, just got to bear with it and hope I get better soon...

Congrats to all the mums who have delivered! I'm always excited to read all the birth stories, hee hee...
Wonder when it will be my turn to write mine - still at least a couple of weeks to go.

Beverly, stay strong for your babies, okay? I know you must be feeling v anxious and stressed. Will be keeping you in my thoughts, hope your baby makes a quick recovery soon.

Fion/tarringal,
Realised that my Co policy also state that within 4 weeks to EDD, any MC/HC taken will be considered as ML.. so my doc's recommendation to give me MC to cover me cannot be done. haha..

Dun be upset/diasppointed in ur Co's policy cos u got no control over it lor.. so stay positive.. just make the best out of it ok.. I think if we still got a job and boss/colleauges/co still can allow u to go 4mths ML leave already pretty good. :D

BBethan,
Thanks for sharing of your experience, i think just let my bb grow on her own.. cannot put my epectations to want her to be fat fat.. if she does not wants to.. haha.. dun worry, ur gal will be as pretty as you!

hbb
can't think of any place to go. moreover all my friends are working, so boring to go shopping alone. =P

sunsweet
I think so. maybe all of their kids had grow up

fion
ya same here
most of my friends work full time so i also sian haa
i usualy go to a mall sit down for a drink n jus ppl watch hehe
else i go hunt for fun thg to do liek crafts n etc hehe

Bbethan

This is my plan.

During confinement, my hb will take 2 weeks leave to run errands and take care of my boy who's on half day cc. After that, my boy will go 1 mth full day cc. By the time my boy's 1 mth full day cc is up, i would have completed my confinement, and 2 extra weeks at home with bb without my #1.

After that, my boy will continue with half day cc. When he comes home after cc half day, he will nap for 3hrs. After he wakes up, i will play with him &amp; bb together for them to bond. And if bb is sleeping, i can play with my boy.

If my bb is easy bb, i'll cook dinner. If not, then my hb will tabao dinner back.

At night, my boy will be handed over to my hb.

I've a part time maid who comes in once a week to do the major cleaning like washing toilets, change bedsheets, washing/ironing laundry, mop floor etc.

Looks good on paper, but will mainly depend on my gal's personality.

fion
enjoy your time now with #1. Coz when #2 comes, u prob won't have as much time with #1.

Hi BbEthan,

I will be doing my confinement at my mom's place. Also will be staying at her place till end of my ML. #1 will stay with me cause the childcare is just behind my mom's block. i will be asking my CL to help me to bring her to school in the morning and my mom will fetch her back from school in the evening. As my #1 is oredi 5yrs, so i guess the rest of the nite can ask my mom to look after her. After confinement, i will be looking after both of them myself with a bit of my mom's help as she is working too. i think i will be able to cope cause my #1 will be in childcare during daytime. Are u planning to send ur #1 to cc for whole day or just few hrs? how old is ur #1? if still young, suggest u hire a helper. when i had my #1, i hired a helper and it's actually make life easier. hope this help

Jamie,

Ya, that's why i m trying to stay healthy but end up coming down with running nose. i guess it's because of the hot weather and nite times i have the fan blow directly at me to keep myself cool.. lucky i still have a lot of AL to clear

jamie
thanks for consoling me =)

hbb
hope i can be like you... =)
but I will seek into depression when no one to talk to... =P

mashy
thank you for your advise.
hope I can juggle well between both....
I heard from my friend that #2 will be jealous over the #1 and they will do all sorts of funny thing (eg. slap #1...etc.) just to catch our attention.

fion

in the beginning, it'll be #1 getting jealous but later when #2 is older, #2 will be all out to get attn. So try to spend some time with #1 now. HOw old is your #1 now? Maybe can go shopping with #1 to buy present for #2? And get a present for #1 from #2?

Hi fion,
Don't worry. #1 will get used to #2 soon. My nephew was initially angry that #2 was taking attention away from him. Now he's used to her... just ignore her most of the time as hasn't learnt how to play yet.

One way is to inform family and friends that when they come over to visit, remember to talk to #1 and play with him a bit first before heading over to see #2.... so #1 won't feel slighted....

Kimberly,
I think you are right, I just had glutinous rice (lor mai kai) for breakfast and now I am suffering from acid reflux.. Infact, i think I am planning to cut down even white rice cos at times it also gives me that.. Its definitely a horrid feeling.. cos my throat feels burn.. and I have to take sour sweet, to take the burning sensation away. For me, it helps.

taringal,
Agree that having the fan blowing at you directly on your face can cause running nose.. haha, cos every morning when I reach office, I will switched on my mini fan and I will get running nose right after that. After switching off after I cool down, no more running nose. I think its bad for our health but no choice, cos I am so darn hot and sweaty after walking up and down my office..

Re: Mum w #1

I enrol my girl in CC since May 09 to get her adapt to cc &amp; prepare her&amp; myself for #2.

tt time I tot my MIL, who did my 1st confinement (2 weeks only cos' she could only take 2 weeks leave, last 2 weeks done my my mum @ tampines) will help me to do confinement or I will employ CL, ended up again she can't take 4 weeks of leave &amp; she suggested I go to my mum place (jurong)to do confinement.
My #1 will also be staying at my mum place w me. She will not be going to CC due to the distance. She is quite close to my family members so this 1 mth I don't have to worry. But after the 1 mth of confinement when I am back home at Tampines, I am afraid my girl will not be willing to go to CC after stopping for 4 weeks.

babyethan,
How old is ur #1? She is separated from you &amp; the NB? I guess she is not feeling good. Should let her stay w u &amp; the NB so that they can have some bonding. &amp; he will not be jealous

Is ur MIL always at home? If she is not always at home then I suggest you put ur #1 in CC instead of getting a maid. Who is taking care of ur #2 when u r back to work?

fion

3 yr old is a good time to teach abt sharing. Mine can't either and coz he's so used to having everything for himself, he can't give them up. He won't even share with us, his parents.

U should prepare 2 presents for them to give each other. It's to help ease the tension abit...

Fion,

My #1 (2yo) also dun know how to share.. so when goes to playgp, she will snatch toys .. its us adults who now is drilling her to share and be polite to her friends.

I always asked her if she like her toys be snatched away.. often she will say no.. but of cos she will forget and do it again.. and we ahve to remind her.

I am planning to buy her the Little Tikes digital camrea.. haven't went to toy'r'us to view it yet.. i just hope its shocked-proofed cos kids will tends to drop or knock things around.

cost its $120+ if its not shcoked proof then I must well let her use my old digital camera? keke

mashy
I will heed your advice. Hope my #1 won't snatch back the present from #2.

sunsweet
can we take photo with the camera ? or is it for viewing of slides ?

Bbethan

Re : Mum w #1

I have enrolled my son (2yo) in half day cc since may. luckily he has adapted to it after a mth's crying. Tis time, I have engaged a CL as my mum needs to take care of my son after he comes back fr CC. My plan is tat my son will stay overnight @ my mum's place during the 1st 2 wks after i delivered so tat we can cope with our #2, but we will bring him over in the day and send him back in the night to my mum place after dinner. After the 1st 2 wks, we shall see how it goes, depends on whether #2 is easy bb. If so, hubby will bring him home everyday and send him over in the morning as his cc is near my mum place. we do not wish to totally neglect him as i think he will feel jealousy. tats my plan for now. Hopefully it works

after confinement, i wd need to decide whether to get a maid to help my mum as she will be looking after my #2 as well. But she is rather resistant to having a maid. My MIL is, on the other hand, not able to help as she is not the hands-on type as I had experienced it when she came over during my ML with #1. Anyway i dun really intend to ask her to help to avoid any conflict cos we dun really agree with her style of handling kids.

Afernoon all mummies...

Haven been feeling good since morning... experiencing some menstrual like cramps... =(

Threw my temper @ hubby too... =(

winnie_mummy,
Your cramping got lessen already?

Try to tolerate the hubby lah. I also sometimes get annoyed at him for no reason. Just pregnancy hormones flying all over the place. Wait for a while will cool off liao

re: Little tykes camera
Mummies who bought the camera for their kid, if is fun?

Cos tempted to get one for my nephew too.... Then he can take photos of his 8-month old sister =) my sister always lamenting she didn't take as much photos of her #2 compared to #1. Can send my nephew to help take photos =)