(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

sunnyduck

i throw them all in the step dustbin. For pee ok. But if it's poo, have to throw outside, else will stink up the whole place. I tried bagging the poo diapers but still very smelly. So gave up and decided to be more diligent and throw them outside.

HBB,

With your experience at least u can tell those who are helping you what to do.

I'm not getting any CL either.. My mum's doing the cooking (MIL can't cook) and my MIL is going to bathe and clean the baby.. Laundry will be handled by MIL too.. me just feed baby and look after myself...

Already ask Hub how many days of leave he is going to clear .. keke he's taking 2 weeks off.. i think he'll be bored.. i think i'll get him to entertain my #1 at least haha..

bestberries (bestberry)
Ya, I also bought make-up too. haha, I am vain tats why! I think the same way as you, am glad tat i hit 35 weeks, then now I pray I can hit 37 weeks then I be so happy...
Also i see your pictures at facebook, you dun look haggard at all, infact u look very "qing xiu" la.. so dun worry, am sure with abit of colour/make up u will look fresh and radient!

Hbb,
Agree you are the most amazing girl I have known.. U are just so independent and self sufficient.. I wish I am half as capable as you.. I cant do alot of things that you can do.. eg.. cook, bake etc.. sigh..

Staying with in-laws..
Hi mummies, rem i was telling you that i have moved over to my in-laws place and I think I have not been adapting to the new environment yet.. Last night, miss home quite abit was crying alone in the room when my hb was downstairs eating his supper and watching tv.. sigh.. maybe I am anti-social but I really dun feel like getting out of my room when i am having rashes all over my legs and when the living room is so warm.. I am really contemplating of moving back home yet I dunno how to tell my in-laws and although my husband is supportive, I dun want him to be sandwiched in between..

HBB -
The essential oil idea is pretty good, never thought of that... Wonder if the smell mixed with poo/pee smell will be weird? Ha ha!

Mashy -
Yah, was more concerned with poo diapers. I went into a nursing room at Bugis the other day to kaypoh and the bin was full of dirty diapers - the smell was SO BAD! Think the ventilation was not good, making everything worse. My gf has also recommended sealing the poo diaper in newspaper first, then bagging it before throwing away. Sigh, so many steps... makes us even more busy! :p

RE: poo diapers
Oh yah, forgot to mention that one of the babycare books I read said to use toilet paper to place the poo into toilet and flush, then bag and throw the dirty diaper. Maybe that will help lessen the smell? But then I think of 'explosive' poo and I think I will be more concerned with cleaning up, changing clothes/diapers etc than to be so 'guai' and still use toilet paper to move the poo into the toilet bowl! :p

Jamie/Bestberries,

Wow,u guys bringing make up too.Now i'm thinking,shld i also?(Im vain too)haha..
But wanna ask a stupid qn,although in pain when going to the hospital,can we apply a small portion of bb cream,so that the face wont look so dull upon labour?

mashy
i use essential one in my step bin
it works for mi at least =)
no need to invest in anythg one
jus buy the oil can liao.. drop a few drops inside the plastic bag...

sunnyduck

i don't bother. If i've to do that, i might as well get cloth diapers. The reason for disposables is so that it's easier on us. I only throw the poo in the toilet bowl when my boy is older and his poo is solid type which u can just roll into the toilet bowl.

coolkero/gina: the single bed price of $2900 is based on C-sect, so if natural delivery will be cheaper I guess. My delivery date is set on 17 July, my IL choose the date liao.
I have asked the lady incharge of the preadmission also about the hospital visit policy during this H1N1 outbreak. She said that till this day there is no restriction for Mt. E, so they don't limit the number of visitor. Provided MOH never change the alert to Orange, then only 2 visitor at any time. (so got to take turn to go into your room).
Gina, when you do the preadmission thingy, can you ask about the 1 day park fee? they should have special rate for the inpatient, I guess. the half an hour rate is only for visitor. Otherwise after 7am move the car to lucky plaza lor...

Jamie -
Poor thing. The contractions and preparing for baby's arrival is already stressful enough, and the move to ILs place gives you even more stress. I think that even if you were not pregnant, moving out would already be stressful already. Is there any way you can work out confinement at home? After all you want to be comfortable and relaxed while waiting for baby's arrival, not stressed out, and confinement may be more comfortable in a familiar place like home.

jamie

u look like you're having PND even before u give birth leh. Just tell them if you're not comfy. Coz if not later u may feel worse when the bb comes.

sunsweet
ehh giving instruction is 1 thg... standard is another... dh n i cant stand it when ppl cook in my kitchen n mess up my thg or dun clean up to our standard.. (we will end up gg sleepless one)... or even misplacing thg on my table or anythg
end up we gotto follow up on arrangin thg bk.. waste time hahaaaa

Jamie/Bestberries/sherryl
I also brought make up when I delivered my #1. but in the end 100% forgot about it, when you see the baby, I think make up is the last thing you can remember. I had lots of visitor that time, but I didn't even think about my face at all. I'm actually plan to bring a paper mask, at least can re-fresh a little bit after delivery, but dunno whether i will remember that or not...heee

Mashy -
Thought babies don't need FM in the early days, because they are not really hungry yet? I thought bfing more will help establish milk supply sooner?

ehh
actualy hor
new born poo are not smelly one leh.. dun tink so much
cos they oni drink EB so the smell is not as bad as those bb who start to take semi solid food!
literaly not much smell one if u wrap it properly hehe...

mashy
so long u like the fragrance its ok liao but i use tea tree cos gt anti bacterial properties.. or i also use eucalyptus =)

if its my kitchen area i will use orange oil (to keep some ants away)

jamie
cos im the kind who wan to break free from my family to b alone so alot of thg i told myself i must learn... hehe

sherryl
ehhh is thr a rule that say no make up in labour ward? i onli knw no jewellry n no contact lens?

mashy i tink its realy up to u if u wan to let ur bb hav the FM anot leh

personaly i wun lar...
even if i got no milk for the 1st 2 to 3 days =)

I am now in my 36wks of pregnancy, I gained a lot of weights during my pregnancy, my gynae advise me to control my diet, and I tried very hard, but still can't achived good result. In my last check up, my weight have increased for another 2.4kg just in 3wks time, it makes me very upset, and I'm quite worry tat I can't lose my weight and keep my shape after delivery, thinking to go for sliming program, a friend of mine recommended an acupuncture sliming program, is there anyone here try it before?

Hi Jamie,
maybe can have a chat with your husband first and explain to him how you are feeling. See if you will feel better or if he he thinks it's better to move back or stay put (but find some ways to make you more comfortable). And easier for him to communicate with his parents if he understands the situation better.

Else may your in-laws may get wrong idea why you just move in with them and want to move out again

HBB/Sunnyduck

yah, i know no need milk first few days, but scared she also get jaundice like her bro lor. Coz jaundice is also caused by little feeding and therefore cannot pass out the bilirubin in time.

oh well.. then it depends on how pro BF u r already
if u dun mind supply might not meet demand.. then FM is prob fine
i would still encourage bf lor

Mashy -
I didn't think about jaundice... but guess we have to just make whatever decision that seems right? Cos I was a very jaundiced baby (went on suntan 'holiday' for 1 wk in hospital) and was never on BF at all from birth, so perhaps even regular feeds with FM might not totally prevent jaundice.

Hi Jamie

My #1 injured her head, she has a deep cut just above her eye brown and bleed a lot when she run and accidentally hit against my bedside drawer.. blood keep coming out and i have to rush her to 24hrs clinic. i think she will have scars cause the cut is quite deep...

hi Gillian,
Really? when is your EDD? mine is on 6th July.

hbb/sunnyduck

I'm definitely pro BF. I kept at it for 8mths even though i couldn't produce enough and i had to hand pump. I'm just worried that she'll be jaundiced like her bro. Her bro had jaundice for more than 1 month.

HBB/Lamagier,
Ya, my husband knows how I feel, he is very sweet, he has been calling me to make sure I am ok. He is supportive of us moving back.. But I just dunno how to tell my in-laws.. and i dun want him to be sandwiched.. we are still trying to work out a good reason/arrangements etc.. also hopefully, the confinement lady can come to my place instead.

Tarigal,
Your gal really very poor thing, I hope she is coping well with all the changing of bandages and washing of wounds ya.. Scars will go away one, nowadays the technology is amazing really, and she is still so young!

Re: Disposing of smelly baby poo diapers
You can invest in the Barbantia bins that are sold at Taka and Robinsons. They are quite expensive, my kitchen has a 12L one, but I used vouchers that people gave me for wedding to buy many household items, the bin was one of them....I think it was between $50-100. Can't remember.
Smaller ones are cheaper....I have a 3L size one for my study.

The awesome thing about this bin is that it is a stepbin that is odourproof! Odours inside bin won't leak out! It was so good that we threw something into the bin and it became bad, AND VERY SMELLY. And because we could not smell it, we didn't realize it!!! Until the day we opened the bin a long long time later *faint*
It comes with a few bags for the bin that fits perfectly, but the refills are expensive, so I line the bin with the barbantia bin bag and then put a 2nd plastic bag inside....so I don't dispose of the barbantia bin bag! 2 years liao....still only used 2 bags for each bin! haha I'm cheapskate!

I will be using that bin as my diaper bin!
And I recommend it!

Hi Jamie,
Your husband sounds really doting =)
Yah, I guess the hard part would be trying o think of a good and politically correct reason to give your in-laws for wanting to move back...

maybe can just say you feel back about causing them inconvenience and having to bring a crying baby and an additional stranger to stay at their place

mashy if that is the case.. jus latch on at nite as well lar =)
and why u still so free no updateshuh? ask the corns lor.. the corns all still not in the oven yet LOL

jamie
ahhur dh is ok huh? then mayb u ask him shld u tell or he tell ur in laws nicely... its no joke if u hav confineent in an environment which u dun enjoy u get more depress when the post natal blues come in
trust mi... i seen alot of ppl go thru this stage where stay w in laws durng confinement end up mummy stress mil also sad cos the mummy throw temper unknowingly n upset the mil n etc...
so i rather u tell them now.. that u wan to go home...
tell them nicely im sure they understand

muffingirl
ya such bin the refill is ex
if i were u i also will line w 2nd plastic bag manz haaaa

i still got 2 step bin in my store room, brand new (not the expensive one thou.. will take out one to use for the diaper soon.... nxt time it will b fun to see my lil one take their own diaper n throw into the dustbin aft i chg her hehe...

mashy/HBB,
yeah i tot i may be going into PND.. cos feeling teary and also feel like crying during this past 2 weeks tat I am staying w my in-laws.. partly its hormonal changes and so many things to adjust.. really looking forward to working something out so that I can move back to my home sweet home!

Mashy, yeah i tot this week gonna be a "hot" period too! haha

Mashy -
Your boy, so poor thing, jaundice for 1 mth. Did the PD say why it lasted so long? Is this what is called BF jaundice? Did you supplement with FM and did it help?

jamie

can't the 'not used to it' be a good excuse already? I thought that's quite common for pp to be not used to certain things, or be homesick?

jamie

maybe u should just suddenly break down and cry in front of them and said u wanna go home. Think they'll get worried and will understand that u wanna go home and won't force u. :p

sunnyduck
PD said likely BM jaundice. I supplemented with a bit FM also not much use. sigh... maybe it's coz my boy wasn't sucking well then too. He got lazy after he was rehospitalised for jaundice. Before that he was drinking very well.

mashy
haa they willt ell jamie slowly will get used!!!! haa

jamie
pls pls pls
pls move bk to ur own home.. i dun wish to seeu get more depress aft delivery!!!!!! is v v scary to b depress.... end up ur relation w ur own dh will also b affected no matter hw sweet or understanding he is

that is the reason why i dunw an a CL.. cos i dunw anto get more depress n quarrel w my dh throw temper at hiim cos of my blues... even thou he might understand that is jus PND... but soem thg r best to avoid hurting...

Mashy/sunnyduck.
I also pro BF, but when I told the nurse that i wanted 100% BF for my #1, my pediatrician told me not to. Because for the first few days, the milk won't be enough for your newborn and it will make them loose weight. So supplement with FM. It didn't confused the baby at all and in fact my BM supply also naturally increase by the 3rd day.

Jamie -
Tell your ILs you're having problems sleeping in an unfamiliar place and it's making you overly tired and unwell - which is the truth! And that you may be at risk of having PND so it might be better for everyone's well-being if you move home first. After all, you've already tried staying with them for 2wks, I think that's a good try already.

<font color="aa00aa">Jamie,</font>
I'm leaning to agree with Mashy and other mummies too. With your rash problem, better to be more relaxed to look after it properly than be frustrated. I don't know how your relationship with your in-laws are, but being honest with them is probably easier on your nerves at least.

Sam,
My relationship with my in-laws are good, now also not bad, just tat I am really very unhappy to stay there with them cos I am not use to the place at all.. really.. and they have been so so nice, they are going to pay for my 2 mths confinement package, they got new bed/furniture for my husband, me and bb.. Thats why its so hard to tell them i want to go home and do confinement too.. My BIGGEST regret is to even want to try out, really, I should have said 'No to them and tell them i want to stay at my own place or do confinement in my own place" (initally confinement is suppose to be in my own house one) cos now they have gotten everything I feel so darn bad..

HBB,
Now I realy know, i also hear my friends who told me how miserable they are when they stay with their in-law or their in-laws go and stay with them during confinment, I cant understand and dun think its a problem but now I am facing it straight in my face..

Sunnyduck,
U are so right, i cant sleep well in the new bed at all, I kept turning and tossing till its disturbing my husband and my bb.. haha

Mashy
Your suggestion is my last resort, not ruling it out at this moment. :p

jamie
well u can always make up to ur in laws nxt time aft ur confinement
since the relation have always been good i will tink maintainin it properly will be also v impt..
tell them nicely.. apologise if needed and tell them hope they undertand..
aft confinement, all will b fine and u can bring the folks out or bring bb bk often to visit them to make up for all these... or perhaps stay over durign the weekend aft confinement to make up for it?
a gd relation is easier to maintain than to repair a spoil one =)

Anyways, to all mummies here who have been listening to my sorrows, really appreciate it lots, I can feel the genuine support, care and concern from all the mummies here and that really makes me feel very much better which is so intrinisic no $$ can buy. Am so glad I am in this forum, with you gals! I hope I can update you with good news in a few days time. Big HUGS to everyone!

<font color="aa00aa">Jamie,</font>
ic, in that case, I hope things work out for you. I'm sure they will be fine with you moving back home, just reciprocate them in the future. I think it's great to have in-laws that are liberal and can understand how their children want to go about their lives when they start their own families.

I only realise recently that dh didn't tell his mum that I'm doing the confinement at my mum's, so when I popped the topic, I got the sudden revelation that she didn't know, but she sounded okay about it. Shall see if time reveals the truth whether not being able to see the baby daily bothers them, but since I live near my in-laws, I think it'll blow over soon when I move back home after the confinement. hehe, actually I only trust my own mum standing up to my temperment, I can be quite terrible at articulating what I want when I'm feeling miserable, so only she can stand me.

Jamie,

My In-laws actully stay with us.

from your post they have done quite a bit to accomdate your family for the confinement month.. i guess it might not be nice to want to move home suddenly..

I suggest if u do not want to hurt the relationship btw u, your hubby and them.. maybe u change your mindset a bit..

Cheer up.. as u say your relationship with them ain't really bad.. so look at the positive side of things..

At least someone keeps an eye on the CL cos i know some CL steals , smokes (yes smoking) or very lazy.. the old folks can help keep any eye...

bascially I just kinda do my own things and come to taking care of baby.. i use "The Doc. says we should... the nurse says we should..." then the old folks will listen to our way of taking care of the kid...

I dun know but i just feel staying with in-laws isn't such a bad thing actually... as long both learn to close 1-eye.

Erm i'm just giving the another view to this matter.