(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Sunsweet/FOZ
when's the best time to give the gift for #1? Bring along to hosp and when he comes to visit me, say it's from mei mei?

FOZ
i tink my bag is very big also... so prob normal lar haha.. i stuff in 1 jacket(dun take up much space thou) and 2 binder
which i tink is the possible cause of the lack of space hehe

Yen/FOZ,
My bag is almost 90% packed.. its already filled to the brim and its a BIG bag! haha.. Btw, is anyone of you planning to shower at the hospital? I am thinking of doing that but I realised that I have not gotten the herbs to shower to bring it to the hospital yet..

jamie the herbs need to boil one leh so i dun tink can bring to hosp and boil rite? hosp if u shower jus use warm water to bath and dry urself fast dun catch a cold?

for those delivering at KKH,

for my experience with #1. they actually have a physiotherapist going ard to ask if any mummies wants her to teach on strengthening the abs/ tummy muscles after the traumatizing delivery.

I had her for 1 session where she spends abt 1 hr plus go thru the various exercise we can do to help recovery of the over stretched muscles.. it was abt $80 for the session.

I find it quite beneficial at least upon discharged we can tone up ourselves much better.

<font color="aa00aa">Yen</font>
Depends on how essential the miscellaneous items are to you (mostly for 2nd person to look after, cos we probably busy managing our pain):
nipple cream (in case of sore nipples), mobile phone+charger, camera+spare battery, small change for vending machine, jacket/sweater for dh if he's staying over with you.

jamie

don't intend to bathe there in hospital coz likely will be still weak to move a lot. I'll just wash my bottoms at the toilet bowl.

If u wanna bathe there, remember to sit on the stool in case your blood pressure too low and wanna faint...

Jamie,

I think i'm the yucky one .. cos I'm not going to bath.. but just wash my bottom with water and wipe myself down with warm water that's all..

so I'm going to arm myself with powder keke ..

HBB
what kind of binder did u get? Thinking of getting one myself cos not sure if my gynae will give me one. the other time he said i dun need.

HBB,
I also dunno lei, I am thinking maybe ask my mom to boil the herbs at home and bring it over.. Think I will die if I cant shower.. i heard there is another type of herbs that are already pre-boiled and u can just shower with them by putting them in a container.. stg like that.. I have not check it out at the medical shops yet.. Maybe later I will do so and let u know ya.

Bbethan,

I think I will give my gal at the hospital when she 1st meet mei mei...

maybe i'll get her a digital camera.. cos she likes to use my phone to take lots of pics.. keke..

bbethan
i also worry gynae will give mi one(not exactly giv as its gg to b paid for leh haha)
so i took my sis ones.. she got 2.. 1 is by her gynae immediately aft she pop cos gynae say she gt soem torn muscle and the other one is by her massage lady cos the 1st oen seems too big for her 2 weeks aft birth.. it looks like those selling in pharmacy.. come sin a box.. brown in colour velcro kind.

i will jus stand by them.. can save some money if realy need to use =)

if u dun hav any at home then i tink dun need buy 1st? wait tillg ynae say u need it then buy (if he no say then better..save money haha)

that time i had c-sect n my gynae said no need cos he said i'm not those very fat type. but i feel so uncomfortable walking around with all the flabby skin around the tummy. heard from friends that it's easier to mover around in one too. it took me so long to "flatten" back my tummy cos i didnt use any and didnt go for the post natal massage too. maybe will ask him later when i visit him.

the brown velcro kind... think the box is a bit of yellow n black colour ones right?

So scare tat I do d exercise wrong n make d baby turn into wrong position

Jamie,

if you ask you mum to boil for you at home then she'll really have to bring a lot + a pail for you to contain the herbal water for shower?

I cannot imagine the logistic...

bbethan
i tink not a matter of fat or skinny one
my sis is skinnier than me haa and hers was a natural delivery
but cos of the muscle tearing.. so her gynae wanted her to wear tat to hold the muscle together else she feel the pain

Mashy/sunsweet,
Seriously, am also not sure what is the situation that will going to be like.. Am also not sure if I be too weak to shower too.. Cos my friends did managed to shower but they may be stronger.. So tot of just opening up some of the options in case I badly need to shower. :D

ETirto, i'm going to do my pre-admin to mt e next week when i go gynae appt. btw $2900 package is for how many days ahh?

jamie, mashy, koko, sunnyduck and sunsweet, thanks for info on swaddle blanket. i tried using the big cloth to swaddle #1 last time, but somehow her hands always escaped, guess i didn't do a good job, so was thinking of the easier swaddle blanket that just have the velcro, hehehehe...but see so many dun know which one to get. will check out mothercare and robinson.

bathing baby:
izit true that we can only bathe baby only after their umbilical cord come out? before that just wipe body will do?? i didn't attend the prenatal class, but remember reading it somewhere before.

sunsweet
I bought 'du zhong' soup pack instead for e waist
cos duno I like e bu yao jin anot.
e red dates tea aso cn add du zhong if u wan.

coolkero
all e babies I took care during confinment all bath even w e cord attached one leh... no issue I guess jus gotta dry it properly n apply e cord spirit n powder after tat

tink if they dn bath they nt v comfy aso...

Hi Jes &amp; lamagier

Bring my #1 to GP to change the wound dressing and her eye a bit swollen.. luckily no infection. dr said swollen will go off in 1 to 2 weeks time..

did anyone try yeo's coconut drink? can replace this with the actual coconut? quite difficult to
get coconut from my place so dh actually bought this for me to drink..

MrsC,

I've booked ida for my post-natal massage. just tell her when is ur EDD and ur address. then just need to inform her when ur bb is out. anyway, her sister will be the one doing the massage for me as she will not be available in early july..

no name for my bb yet and i oredi 37wks.. so difficult to decide the name.. i keep pushing it to dh to select the name but he will push it back to me... really headache..

coolkero,

For my #1, the CL still bath her with her umbilical cord. So i think should be ok to bath ur bb even with the umbilical cord.

hi taringal,
Glad your #1 is ok =)

Don't think packet/can coconut drink can replace the actual one bah. Gut feel is that those are probably artificial flavourings or have additional preservatives.

taringal (covewild)
What happened to your little gal, oops sorry, din see the earlier thread. I hope she is feeling better.. and no scars hopefully cos young kids recovery rate is excellent on.

Hi Gina,
Yeah, sounds like you are ready to pop too.. do update us ya!

muffingal
i help out w friends cofnienemnt when we were staying overseas cos ang moh country no such thg as confinement lady leh... once i did 2 confinement concurrently as 2 wives gave birth within a mth.. quite shiong as i play driver too to send bb to hosp for test n such due to jaundice as the hubbies are not ard either..

but my confinement is minimum herbs stuff one cos overseas as usual no herbs.. so its consider modern one

so when I did for my sis last yr.. she is v happy w it haa... get to eat yummy yet no herbal stuff as her gynae is against herbs too

HBB, taringal, thanks...yah singapore hot hot, think will bathe baby lah. and i think i'll also shower like gina in hospital, scared cannot tahan.

gina, my edd around 23 july, still long cos next week then go see doc for my 35th week appt. wondering if mt e has the limited 2 visitors or not ahh. thanks for the carpark rates tips, wah after 6pm entry sounds ok, but next morning start 7am hourly again ahh, dun think hubby can get up to move car...hehehe

going to kidzloft today, wanna buy the baby cot mattress, hehehe....hope to use the $50 discount voucher, thanks to the mommy who posted it in this forum....yippee!!!

hi hbb,
No wonder you are so confident of making through your own confinement without CL. Lots of accumulated experience liao =)

lamagier - wah... i didnt think of it as implying infidelity... i think he just meant me and dh must have been working very hard during the short space of time that he's back. but now that you say it, it can be interpreted as infidelity. if he say that again i'll just call him FATSO in his face. he is very fat, abt 150 kg, and he's only in late 20s.

BATHING
i bought this NO RINSE SHOWER GEL thing that i think i will use after popping. and also KLORANE DRY SHAMPOO. anybody use the shower gel before ? its liquid, and you're supposed to apply to your body, lather and wipe off, no need touch water. i havnt tried out yet, but if we're not supposed to touch water, can we touch the liquid gel ??

are you going to turn on air con after coming back from hospital ? weather so hot i think i'll melt.

lamagier
yes partly so too... tat y i more or less can expect wat to expect liao... the onli problem is now im the one havign the confinement so my body will be more tired/weak than when i help others =)but i tell myself mind over body (as usual) hehe

HBB - you never fail to amaze me, bake cakes and stuff and now also do confinment before ? amazing....

oh yes, dont forget to bring makeup in your hospital bag. i very heow, scared my photos look very haggard and aunty. and bring nice looking pjs. for photos of cos

i'm gg for checkup again tomoro. hope bbies can wait till end of june/early july. now 34.5 weeks. quite pleased that hit 34 weeks, now hoping for 36 weeks.

bestberries
i duno if i am gg to use aircon anot as my usual days do not involved aircon
even at such weather.. my aircon is onli on before i sleep jus to cool downt he room for 3 hours)
so i hope can dun use during confinement
not for my own sake thou
more liek i dun wan let my girl use too much aircon as it is potentially a allergen factor as they grow.. dun wan her to end up w sinus nxt time..

bestberries... i dun work full time so i gotto find thg to do to 'learn' more thg mah haha else i lugi in knowledge leh haa

ya i pack my blusher in my bag too a tiny weeny one jus in case i look like vampire haha

i tink u shld b able to wait till 36 week! jia you!! 1.5 week left!!!

will u b delivering at kkh or at tmc since i rem u got 2 gynae rite?

wow.. this thread is moving so fast. Didn't log in for just 3 days &amp; I missed so many things..

taringal, I also booked ida's sis for my post-natal massage. She asked me to call her after I gave birth.

RE: Aircon
Will most prob. sleep in aircon room. the heat is unbearable.

HBB, you doing confinement yourself!!
But remember don't stress yourself okie?(physically, mentally). If you really can't take it pls ask someone for help. Confinement period is for you to rest well. (hope u dun mind me saying all these)

Tomorrow will be my week 35th checkup, will ask gynae if able to induce baby on the 38th week. wanted my baby to have the same birthday as me if possible.

gillian
not doing myself more like dh will b doing lar haha...
got ppl standby to help mi liao if i need help hehe

ya confinement is fo rmi to rest haa so if ppl coem to my hse and hep end up i gotto do more thg end up lesser rest haha

Coolkero.

Mt.E should have per day rate pass. check with the concierge / management.

For KKH i think they offer a 3 day pass.. so can enter unlimited time per day.

Hi mums,
Think my nesting instinct is finally beginning to kick in at week 34! I keep thinking about how to organise baby's stuff, want to mop the floor, want to clear up the entire house, etc. But am stuck at work... only have this one more big project to clear then I'm free!

Anyway silly question but I wanted to ask - how do ppl usually dispose of dirty diapers, esp if you live in the new HDB flats where you have to go out into the lobby to throw your trash? Can't be all put individually into plastic bags and one by one throw right... I don't even think I have that many plastic bags! Right now I only have a plastic trash bin with a step-cover, but I think the smell will still seep out? :S I know in Western countries they have a 'diaper genie' which locks each diaper in a sealed bag, so you can accumulate more dirty diapers before throwing them all at once. Ha ha, such a silly question!

HBB, Great! at least you got help

Ur dh will be on leave for 1 full month? So envy.. for my #1 dh went back to work after staying home for 3 days.

sunnyduck
wat i will do is roll up the diaper and stick them up w that sticker on diaper n throw into the plastic bag.. end of the day will throw away the whole palstic bag of diaper
so long as u roll it up the smell is no so prominent

gillian
he is tryin to take 3 weeks of leave see can anot... i hope can.. but i expect him to sneak bk to office every few days thou... hehe