(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

if im not wrong they mention dong gua tang
meaning is the dry kind? that is sweet already
unless u gt sweet tooth else i tink no need bah

HBB
Good to know baby's engaged. So it's now anytime. DUn worry, cervix will dilate very soon. walk more. did yr gynae says what happens after yr next visit? induce? btw, when's yr revised EDD?

Congrats to all mummies who are Strep B free.

HBB, thanks for the list of ingredients on the confinement tea.

Wah, can feel that you really anxious to see your bb soon
Actually me too, but I only week34 now. Anyway, hope you pop this weekend ok!

Anyone knows the different between Poly Fabric Mattress and Foam Mattress? My cot was delivered last sat and I realized that they gimme foam mattress which I didn't want. In my invoice, it was stated Poly Fabric. So when I called up, the aunty said Foam is better than the Poly Fabric. Had spent 2years of Foam mattress during my school days, always backache that's why I know Foam not very good.

bbethan
the weird thg is hor.. when scanning can see bb head n face.. my friend say if can see means nt engaged.. is it true?

i actualy ask wat happen if cervix dun dilate he say dun worry bout it jus wait.. he mention sth bout inducing and that is dun tink bout inducing yet becos everythg is in good order! and then say nxt visit is last visit... i guess by nxt visit then he will prep mi on wat to do like inducin n etc?

in intial edd was 2nd jul.. then revised to 28th jun on my 2nd or 3rd gynae visit.. and so i guess still consider 28th jun?

peanut
hope the list is of use to u =)
im anxious partly becos my dh always not ard.. (like today!!! last min cannot come home)
its quite nerve wreakign esp if i go into labour he will hav to ask ppl go bk office to take over n etc.. i dun like thg to b done halfway n pass over to other ppl haiz...

i told bb either tis weekend or 1st jul !!! haa

HBB
Ya... if can see face, not engaged leh. that's what happened for #1. During my last scan, dr cannot see the face anymore while the scan before can still see. same thing, engaged but not dilated. I know some gynae will do a membrane sweep to escalate the dilation.

Hmmm.. 28 jun n 1 jul... 3 days apart only. dun think makes much of a difference. Maybe Edna just want to stay a bit longer to taste all the good food. Come out already, only drink BM... hehe

bbethan
weir dlor last 2 visit cant see face then this visit can see yet fully engagaed nxt week i gg to grill him amnz!! last visit somemore hahahahaaa

i ask edna is it scare cannot stick to mi already aft birth tat y refuse come out HAHA

she dun seem to like all the good food i ate leh.. cos i notice now i eat so many durian n sugar stuff she grow slower haaaaa duno wat she wants manz...

so how.. ur girl name? start w E also rite? got any idea liao?

haven't decide yet. Not necessary must be E. If E, will be Emma. Others will be Amanda or Isabella. Still cannot decide. Ask DH, he refused to commit on a name. Think he's just as undecided.

Hi FOZ

So coincidence, my gynae is also KT Tan. Seeing her tmr. I am not on HBB FB. When u gog for your photoshoot?

Re : Confinement Lady

Very upset with the CL I booked. Previously told me she got one assignment in end May so shd end by end Jun. Tdy I called her she told me she just started the assignment today when the EDD was supposed to be 8 Jun. I was shocked and angry, now dunno whether I am able to get another CL in such short time span or get my mum to help but she needs look after my elder son. Sigh....

helo mummies,

Just had my 35th going 36th week check this evening..bb at 2.7kg..think she is gaining avg400gm per 1.5 week.. Doc Ong was asking me if i had durian but told him no durian till date..must be those night supper..get hungry easily now at night.. Had a "tutorial" lesson with the gynae on breast feeding.. he's so funny.. he said he dun want to talk to me if im not going to bf..think he's pro bf.. Told me the 5 obstacle of Bf to mentally prepare me.. and did a check and confirm that i had short/inverted nipple at my right side thus will need to get niplette or else hard to bf on the right side..Jamie/Jes, did Doc Ong mention on bf to u yet?
I got Napisan from unity today..u mean there are two type of napisan? Is it in powder form and blue packing?

lamagier, mashy, and all: tahnks for the info. I think since the durian is aphrodisiac and it's the first durian in the last 3 mths (I was having terrible hartburn after eating that, only this mth can eat) then resulted in sex, then the sperm is the one trigger the contraction. so suprised that the contraction can be really bad hor. my hb also quite surprised when I told him that because for #1 I never had this problem.

Re: hospital admission.
I have just done pre-admission yesterdat at Mt. E. It's $2900 for a single bed package, paid deposit of $500, being told that because of my gynae special package then it's cheaper then the usual $3600 for single bed. It's even cheaper than Mt. A and Gleneagle (under Parkway Group).Anyone have done the pre-admission at Mt. E?

Re: pain, aches.
I feel that this #2 pregnancy has more pain and aches, pressure in the groin, sciatic, etc. Coz the muscle there is loosened up compared to #1 and drop more. Anybody try swimming or prenatal?

MrsC: ya same as Gina - u need to tell them ahead ur expected EDD and area u stay at ... cuz they will check their schedule and see if packed or not ...

HBB: hheh baby growth will taper off towards the end one lah ... so maybe ur baby growth spurt over liao ... i doubt my baby has gained much since the last appt 2 weeks ago at 2.7kg ... so as long as he hits 3kg i'm happy liao.

Bestberries,
Wah, your colleague is really "talk without thinking type"... Infidelity is no joke.By the way, did you encounter any side effects when you took steriod jab?

Hi HBB,
I also have no dialect name... Like what mashy says, people always mangle the pronounciation of my name, especially my surname.... Else thinks I'm from China and talk to me in funny accented chinese...

Mrs Wong said during her class that raspberry tea can cause blood not to be able to clot properly and could lead to excess blood loss during labour (hope I remembered correctly). I think it may be good to check first before tkaing the raspberry tea...

Taringal,
Hope both you and yr #1 atre feeling better today. Only after becoming pregger then I can understand why people always say mummy feels more pain than the child when child gets hurt.

Mrs C,
Good for you, bb growing really well, I am only going for my 36 weeks visit next tues. So far, Dr Ong has not mentioned anything abt BF to me yet, heehee, OOpps is it weird having a man to explain all these to you? Cant imagine lei.. BTWS, what are the 5 obstacle of BF?

Hopper,
I think your CL is so irresponsible.. Giving u unnecessary stress now. Maybe you can quickly check with friends if they still have any good confinement ladies to recommened and not taken up.. am sure u do not want to use her again if she can do this to you..

BBethan/HBB,
Is it really true that when bb engage cannot see face? The last time, my gynea scanned, I can see the side view of her face and doc was telling me that the bb is putting on fats etc.. My bb was deem to be engaged then.

HBB

u can try stimulating your breasts to bring on labour.

Hopper
So irresponsible of your CL! How abt asking your CL to cut short her stay at the other side since the other gal gave birth late anyway? Hope u didn't pay a deposit to her. If not, can engage one from the agency.

Cooklero
I got 3 swaddle me blankets.. One from Mothercare that cost like S$37.00 (personally finds it very expensive), 2 from Kidsloft at ($49.90 before 50% discount). The two from kids loft are those plain ones and of stretchable material so you can use them when your bb gets bigger. i had already wash them and finds the material pretty good.. Of cos the mothercare swaddle me blanket quality is even better and it has also some nice prints on it.

The other brand I initally tot of getting was "swaddle me" but since I had gotten 3, i din get it. I heard its not too bad too.

Jes/Mrs C,
I cant wait to check out on BB next tues, I hope she has also grown bigger this time round just like the both of you! Everyone is telling me that my tummy seems to have grown bigger this week! i hope its bb growing!! hee

coolkero

i got my swaddle blankets from the Robinsons/JL/Metro expo sale. Less than $10 per pc but very nice and soft material with cute pink prints.

Jamie,
That's what the gynae told me for #1. First time i see him, he even showed me my boy's face. 2nd time, he said cannot see already. so it's engaged.

Coolkeron: thanks for the link. Will check that out too. I'm actually looking for a pink one for my niece.

RE: Swaddle blanket
I've gotten 2. one is the stretchable type and the other is just a normal one. Only intend to use for 1st mth.

HBB: you must be excited and counting down now...

Hopper: think u better look for another CL soon, its unnecessary stress now...

RE: Massage Lady
I haven't really decide on a massage lady yet. today I'm trying one at Chinatown, she's called Rose from Golden Wellness. Anyone heard of her??? Will let u guys know how she is, she has a website that lists her servcies.

RE:Egg Tarts
I love egg tarts too, I'm geting them later, such a sinful treat for myself :p

Good morning mums,
Where can we buy sterilised cotton wool balls? The antenatal classes said to use them when wiping baby's face and eyes. I've seen the packs of 100 by Pigeon but it doesn't specify that it's sterilised.

re: swaddle blanket

Hee hee i learn to swaddle my baby from the hospital nurses using only Nappy cloth..

i feel its cooling and comfy for the lil one..

Cheap too

Sunnyduck,

you can use any cottonwool pads/ balls. dun worry..

Just that when cleaning face good to use boiled water instead of water from heater.. in case baby somehow got to consume the water..

I think I'll need to refresh how to bathe for infant.. haha last learnt was 2.5 yrs back..
Hope KKH still has the free demo every morning..

sunnyduck, the cottonwool balls from pigeon and the other baby brands are not sterilized, but it should not be a problem...imagine when we were kids, our parents definitely did not use sterile cottonwool balls. We also turned out ok!
Pharmacies do sell sterilized cottonwool balls in sealed bags of like 20....more for first aid and dressings of wounds. But take note that once you open the package, the cottonwool balls are not guaranteed to be sterilized if you don't use them up ;)
I will just use the normal cottonwool balls with boiled water lor.

Re: forward positioning of baby
From the antenatal classes I attended: If baby is facing forward but head downwards, can do pelvic tilts on all fours.
Do not lower your shoulders in relation to your butt (do not have raised butt!) otherwise the baby can flip back head up (breech position), instead of head down.

Also the antenatal class said that we should try to sit leaning forwards, instead of lounging backwards (eg in cinema, a lot of people slouch backwards in the seats)....cos slouching backwards the baby will tend to turn and face forwards.
But do not lower

Hi Sunsweet and Mashy,
Thanks for letting me know about the cotton wool balls. Now I remember we were told to use boiled water for wiping the face - thanks for the reminder!
I probably will have to go for the bathing 'refresher' course in hospital also, hee hee...

I'm also planning to swaddle baby in the nappy cloth. It's too hot these days! I have a slightly thicker swaddle cloth (bought during TMC antenatal class), guess I will use that if we go to aircon places or if it gets colder.

your shoulders in relation to your butt (butt up baby will turn head up - breech position)

Sitting and leaning forwards also helps to turn baby to face backwards, do not slouch backwards like most people at the cinema watching movie do, otherwise baby can turn to face forwards again.

Gggrr dunno why my post got cut

Yesterday I also started experiencing some aches like menstrual cramps kinda aching at the lower part of my pregnant belly. Started while I was parking the car (going shopping haha) and then again when I was walking around later. The belly did not harden, just the achey menstrual cramp.
I hope it is just braxton hicks!

Koko
maybe it's the position of the head. That time it's totally cannot see almost half the head. not too sure too. think gynaes have their way of determining whether engaged. afterall they r professionals

MuffinGirl (muffingirl)
I have the stupid mentstrual cramp last night too.. Am not sure why, I am getting so much of that for this pregnancy.. Its making me so irritated as well as worried. I think its partly becos I am stress at work. I realised that when I had a tight timeline to do stg quickly, I will start to have these cramps. This is the 3rd time I am getting it at my 3rd trimester.. My belly did harden abit but it was not as bad as the last one which I went to see my doc.

I hope you are not stress? Perhaps just tired.. :D

Oh I often sit leaning forward.. i think its more of a habit for me than a conscious effort.. haha, okie, good, at least i know its not a bad position. hee

Morning...
On "planned" mc today...hehe.
Packing my hospital bag now. Bag still got a lot space, like not much things to pack le.
2xsleepwear, 3xnursing bra, breastpads,panties,1xbaby cloth,blanket,towel,documents,...whatelse le?

BBethan,
I also have the same concept as you. Have a few names of the BB then later when i see her, i see which name suits her most.. However, we have only think of 1 now only.. so dunno if that serves any purpose. Like you, my husband cannot decide what is a good name for the bb.

Urg... going crazy here... Stomache tight and baby jabbing me whenever she moves. Can't walk properly with a rock hard tummy. Making me pukey and light-headed. Deadlines to meet and got full day training course tmr.....

Muffin gal,

I think when we do the pelvic rock.. better do in front of a mirror / have hubby by side to ensure our position is correct.

I read from the web at home when we watch tv better not to sit on sofa but on a chair with the backrest infront of us which make us lean forward.

morning all

ahh pelvic rock/rotation
i tink i better do it more religiously now since i realy duno whether bb is engaged anot
tsk tsk

koko
the excitement to count down died down already cos im a v impatient person haaa.. now i hack care liao..

Good morning mommies, hope you guys slept well. Going into the office later this afternoon, feel especially tired today, perhaps this is what happens once one officially stepped into 36th week.

<font color="ff0000">Hopper</font>
Think a no. of us here go to Dr K T Tan. I know for a fact <font color="ff0000">Sunsweet</font> is using her too. As did her #1. Anyway, I am going to take my photo on 25 June (Thursday) at 5p.m. Hope it will turn out fabulous! Have you sorted out the confinement lady issue?

<font color="ff0000">Lamagier</font>
Hang in there, we are almost 'there'. You are giving training or going for training 'morrow?

<font color="ff0000">Yen</font>
I am in the opposite situation, I have not finish packing but my bag seem to be already very full. Perhaps my hospital bag is too tiny!

last night felt pukey and having cramps on and off.. hubby working late as well thus was so worried i might get into early labour..

Hi FOZ,
Going for training... but it's for system migration, so die die the whole of this week have to be around to do laptop switch etc

Hi sunsweet, feeling better today?

Mums, remember to do your Kegel (pelvic floor) exercises too! They're as important as the pelvic rock, and will be particularly useful after delivery.

FOZ,

er its my 1st time with Dr. KT Tan.. my 1st gyne was Dr. Judy Wong but she moved to TMC so i didn't want to follow her loh..

a few of my colleagues were under Dr. KT Tan + my dad's cousin who was a Nurse at KKH also recommended her. That's why I'm with her for my #2.

Hee hee I still have not pack my hospital bag.. i think i got to start some packing this weekend..

FOZ what u bring? so many things? I think KKH provides most of the stuffs in their package.. unless u have a big gift for #1.

I have not tot of a gift to buy for #1.. what u suggest?? keke