(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Sunsweet/winnie mummy,
Me too, I have the same prob, very painful aches at the bottom when need to pee. I think its our bladder.. too full and bb pressing on them i think..

Jes,
The coconuts and be bought from many of the fruit stalls. NTUC do sell but i dun buy from there cos need to open it on my own and its a CHALLENGE! haha!

HBB,
Nice name you got for your little gal. Wanted to ask if u are a Catholic too. :D

winnie..

its so achey feeling that i so scared that my bones will give way when i walk..

i dun remember the last time i felt this way..

Sunsweet & Jamie:

yes... achey feeling mannn...
and the urine is like flowing out anytime...! *faintz*

But dun think it's coz bb has engaged, coz i just went for my checkup last sat, doc din mention anything abt bb's engaged...

KoKo,
Is there any Fisher Price Warehouse/ Showroom in spore!! Oh man, i din know, I just got my bouncer from Fisher Price at Robinsons.. anyways, all their pdts are made in China.. U know right? :D

Winnie,

Mine is not urine flowing out anytiem feeling..

Just that when i get off bed.. i feel the achey feeling to walk to the loo...

last check on the 9th My bb not engaged yet..

Sunsweet...

Mine is achey feeling to walk to the loo too, can't stand straight dat kind.. but also feeling the urine wanna flow out anytime... LOL!!

i'm now on 2 weeks visit already, gynae wanna monitor, coz last check, bb abit big... i'm supposed to be due early aug, but coz gng for c sect, so become july... =D

Jamie: ya..I'm looking for a digital camera from Fisher Price for my niece. She loves to take photos using our handphone..so I thought of buying one for her.

Its quite cool for kids I think.

2569083.jpg

Hi Sunsweet,

I experienced the same achey feeling too at the groin since last week. Had difficulty walking to the toilet most nights. Checked with doctor and he told me it's normal as bb's head in pressing on that area. Try rubbing it to relieve the ache before u get up from bed. It helps.

For your reading... on Chinese herbs during Breastfeeding.....

I've got this from Malaysia Wedding and Brides forum..
http://www.malaysiabrides.com/forum/lofiversion/index.php?t12903.html

"I had written to a certified traditional chinese medicine doc who specialized in gynaecology & paediatric about this issue (he is attached to a famous traditional chinese herbal shop E*koff*S) & here is an excerpt of his reply email :-

"Breastfeeding mothers taking Chinese herbs will cause babies to have jaundice" is an invalid statement or idea. First of all, many people are messed up with physiological jaundice and pathological jaundice. A physiological one is a normal one which usually begins from day 2 to day 3 and will disappear by itself in one or two weeks. As a matter of fact, physiological jaundice can take place anytime within one or two months. Some simple traditional remedies are sunbathing babies in the early morning, taking mild sugar solution, or phototherapy. A pathological one, of course, is more complicated and needs to deal with depending on the type of pathological changes: viral hepatitis, maternal-fetal blood type incompatibility, other infections or a thyroid problem.

The traditional explanations of having physiological jaundice are: Possibility 1) Late bowel motion of newborns. For this type, early or more frequent feedings of breast milk to help infants pass the bilirubin in their stools may be recommended. Possibility 2) Late or lack of breastfeeding by mothers. This jaundice occurs when the baby is not getting enough breast milk, either because of difficulty of breastfeeding or the mother's milk isn't enough yet. For this type, there's nothing wrong with the breast milk itself, it's simply because the baby has not enough to drink. Possibility 3) In 1% to 2% of babies, their jaundice could be caused by substances in the mother's breast milk. Some substances cause bilirubin to rise. This type usually begins from the first 3 to 5 days, and conditions improve over 1 to 3 months. If it's highly suspect case of such, and the bilirubin level rises toward the need of exchange transfusion, a mother can temporarily stop breastfeeding for 2 days, and resume after the jaundice subsides.

There are certain Chinese herbs that boost a breastfeeding mother's supply of milk and thus allow young mothers who otherwise aren't able to breastfeed to do so. And if jaundice occurs after such cases should we blame it on late breastfeeding or consumption of Chinese herbs? Bear in mind that the newborn was late or not getting good supply of mother's milk at all initially. Could the physiological jaundice have taken place because of late or the lack of breastfeeding? Or the late bowel motion due to late or lack of breastfeeding (Breastfeeding helps first bowel motion)? Or more conveniently, some people will just blame it on the Chinese herbs.

There are many postnatal illness or symptoms which have been treated with Chinese herbs. For these highly individual cases, the mother's body type or syndrome must be determined properly through face-to-face consultation before an appropriate therapeutic principle can be drawn on and thus the herbal formula prescribed. Herbs common for postnatal women usually possess the effects of nourishing yin fluid, promoting blood growth and circulation. They tend to strengthen the body constituent, encourage uterus contraction and prevent postnatal infections.

Some herbs do get into the breast milk, making milk yellowish in colour, and a few have milk withdrawal effects. Fortunately for us, or as in the wisdom of traditional Chinese medicine, these herbs aren't in the traditional preparation for wellbeings of postnatal women.

Traditional herbal formula for postnatal women's wellbeing are very safe. Many have been used for hundreds of years if not thousands. This is the reason these proven formulas are made into over-the-counters for the ease of availability. For treatments of more specific postnatal illnesses or symptoms, please consult TCM physicians for proper individual prescription."

koko, i bought one for my daughter in dec 2007 for xmas present $100 from toyrus, but quality very very bad...but the cool part is that it act like a real camera, got delete button and flash.

HBB, are u putting chinese or dialect name along with edna faith??? same like u, i'm putting 2 english names plus surname. fil will choose chinese name, but i dun plan to put dialect or hanyupinyine name inside since birth cert and ic next time got chinese character...hehehehe.

Coolkero: oh really..I'm looking for a pink one for her. she's only 2yo I din't go Toys R Us, that's why I wonder if there'a FP Showroom/warehouse. Tks!

gina - you're so funny. hahaha. i read somwhere tat we shld wear cotton panties and no panty liners for ventilation. fyi. just now i watch cooking show on channel 16 and they said durians are aphrodisiac..........ahhhh/......... that explains a lot. i'm having flu cough like you too. must be food and aircon !!!

koko

I bought this camera at the most recent fisherprice warehouse sale for $80!
My boy loves it and he went ard taking photos with it. Very easy to use altho the quality isn't so good.
I don't think their warehouse is open for walkin customers leh. IN anycase, it's at 1, lok yang way. U can get this at toys r us...

Hi Winnie muumy,
Wow, your baby is big =) You must be feeling a lot of weight in your tummy!

Hi Jes,
Glad you have decided to switch job. Hope you'll find a happier work environment =. Wah, your baby also growing fast.... Mine still growing at a steady 300g every 2 weeks... I guess steady weight gain is better than no weight gain....

Hi bestberries,
Your're not the only one with high libido here... Haha, me too... But durian as aprodisiac?!? I can only think of how to get rid of smelly breathe and fingers after durian session... no mood to think about anything else =p

Hi beverly,
Were you the one who went for steriod jab sometime back? Could I check if you had any side effect after the jab? I'm getting even worse case of 'tight' tummy after the jab... And baby's movement seems to have gotten larger... Took leave today and stayed home cos hard to walk with a rock hard tummy And now having a very bad case of leaky boobs... so bad that wetted a large patch of my t-shirt (*sorry to gross you guys*)

koko

i'm also not sure what's the original retail price. Maybe can call up toys r us, give them the model no, they can look for u in their computer system.

anyone knows how to prepare Sheng Hua Tang - 生化湯?

I was told to buy this at the medical shop to be taken on the 2nd or 3 day after delivery..

but boil with wat? pork ribs?

Sunsweet,
is that the one that helps to expel all the blood clots in our womb? my mother went to the medical hall and was advised to take something to expel all the excessive tissue linings in the womb. Can't remember the exact name... but seems to be similar to the one u mentioned. Only difference is it's not in soup form but in pills form. More convenient.

RE: BB VERY ACTIVE TODAY
I wonder why BB is so active today??? He has been moving about my tummy since this morning.

RE: JOINT PAINS
I'm having bad joint pains in all my ten fingers and I'm also getting an exceptional painful one on my right thumb, seems like something to do with the veins pressing...

Anyone get this type of pain????

koko,

Me back fr PC, bb jaundice sb level rises fr 165 to 177. Now is Day 11 old, dr said it's ok as long as not to the danger level 300 mark.
Got to recheck again next mon/tues again!
I told the dr like no ending, cos keep repeating.
She said BF bb's jaundice more prone to prolong jaundice unlike formula bb. But still BM is the best, shd continue feed. Don't worry on the prolong jaundice, it will go away aft sometime.

Plus my gal small appetite, can't force her to drink longer/more to excrete out more stools/urine. Guess I jus hv to wait and see lor.

Hello....
Just back from my 36th wk check up. Baby weight 2.5kg, three weeks ago only 1.85kg.. Growing so fast...I want to keep her below 3kg, so more easy for natural birth. I think I have to stop taking durian n high cabro food. Gynae also did the cervix check, not yet dilate n baby not engaged. Gynae said baby is facing forward, not a good position for labor. Any idea how to make baby facing back?

Sheryn,
Dr Ang gave me med to relax the womb. I think he is trying to
prevent early labor when he is not around.

poshicon

Your gal sounds just like my boy when he was a bb. He had prolonged jaundice (lasted more than 1 mth) coz of BM jaundice. He was also very lazy and didn't drink much.

Latch her more often. Pump after that to sustain/increase the milk supply. Coz if not your milk will dwindle after a while...

Poshicon
Good to know baby's jaundice is not at the more danger level. Continue to bf and give her morning sun since yr dr has given the go-ahead. Must be tiring to travel to and fro. Do take care.

Did yr dr say bb's jaundice is due to baby-mother blood compatibility or? Cos that's the case for my #1 and there's nothing much that can be done except to wait for their body to slowly adjust.

BbEthan,

yup, that's what the lady told me.. Shen hua tnag helps to clear the blood after delivery..

But i forgot to ask her..how to make the soup? any idea boil with meat or just boil the herbs with water??

I did not see any in pills form..

lamagier,
bestberries is the one who went for the steroid jab. I'm the one going for c-sect this Thursday :p
Your condition sounds serious to me leh. Perhaps you shouldn't go back to work. Take hosp leave, MC or start your ML to rest at home until you deliver. Baby is most important.

Sunsweet,
Yup, M'sia has the confinement center for mommies. It's great, isn't it? You can go to library to borrow the book written by PeiLing about confinement care. It's quite useful and the confinement recipe is nice too! Last time my mom used to cook confinement food for me following the recipe and I really love the food.

Re: Confinement Food
I've ordered for 2 weeks x 7 days of confinement food from Newbaby as I don't think my mom can cook for me and taking care of my twins at the same time. I checked their menu and noticed that they serve "ba zhen", "dang gui", "ten herbal soup" which we not supposed to take during the first 2 weeks. I wonder any mommies have ordered confinement food and whether you have the same problem? I know we can ask them to change a few dishes but don't think they will entertain if we ask them to change most of the soups rite?

Yen i think it's call pelvic rock..

see can google some info.

Poshies,
My #1 also has BF jaundice.. so got to go PC every week.. take it as a break from home bah

Sunsweet
Not too sure leh. Cos that time my mum went to medical hall to ask and & the lady recommend that. It's like those po chai wan pills type. Take continuously for 1 wk.

In my confinement menu, i also see that included. Can't remember how it looks like already. But remembered there's always pork in all the soup. So maybe it taste better with that.

BbEthan,

Ya dr said can sun bb morning for 15 mins only. I haven do tat yet.

Wat? Blood compatibility got to do wif jaundice ah? I'm B+, my bb O+. Just wait for bb body to slowly adjust lor.

mashy,

After I latch her both sides, I usu don't pump. Cos if pump straight away also only little milk pump out so like don wan to waste time. I only pump when aft baby last feed or in the nite so I don't need to latch her my nanny can help me feed her EBM at nite. Cos latch at nite I tend to doze off and can't concentrate v long. Pump jus takes 15-20 mins then I can sleep liao:p

Sheng hua tang
------------------
Can get it from d Chinese herb shop. The soup shld be taken once or twice only after the child birth. Preparation..... One packet of sheng hua tang herbals mix with 4 bowls of water(1000ml). Reserve the saffron (hong hua) from d herbals. Place it in the serving bowl, ready to use. Cook the rest of d herbal with water, bring to boil, then reduce to low heat. Cook till remain 1 bowl of soup. Strain well n pour over to the retained saffron immediately. Cover n soak for 15 min. Through sieve n serve hot....

I copied from d confinement food book... Hope it is clear

poshicon - so the doc says the level is ok ? if the levels are below then shld be fine right ?

lamagier - yah i think it is really the durians... i never suddenly think of sex out of nowhere. but like what gina said, best to avoid any activity until you pop.

koko - hand cramp cld be carpal tunnel syndrome, quite common during pregnancy

sunsweet,
u r rite. In fact I'm pretty happy to be out to PC than stay at home hot like oven!Tis 2 mth do confinement really not a good time!

Cos my #1 jaundice v fast resolved. #2 kind of prolong this time so more worried.

Hi koko,
Eh, I usually don't wear bra at home cos hot=p I started leaking a bit close to 7 months, but typically it's a few drops type, so still ok.... but today is damn weird. Not sure why leaky so bad

Hi Mashy,
I wish I could go give birth soon too... Now jjust past 34 weeks only...

Hi beverly,
haha, I keep getting the 2 of you mixed up. I'm considering taking ML earlier than what I had planned, but hesitant as would rather use the time to accompany my girl when she pops rather than stay at home now...

Hi poshicon,
Glad your bb girl getting better. Must be very tiring and worrying for you

I think my baby not in right position.. will practice the pelvic rock from tonight..

then will sit leaning forward insted of backwards.. so to encourage baby's to fall in to anterior position.

poshicon

Same, i'm also B+ while my boy is O+.

U still need to pump no matter how little. I learnt my lesson the hard way. Coz my boy wasn't very keen on feeding, eventually my milk dwindle and all the more he goes on a starvation strike. Realised that he didn't drink much only when i went to TMC and weighed him before and after bf. But by then, my milk supply has already gone down so low that i could not bf him exclusively anymore.

Yen thanks for your info.

i just found on the web too..

Source:http://firsttimemamapapa.blogspot.com/search/label/Herbs%20for%20Confinement%20and%20Delivery

Go to any Chinese medicine shop to pack 2 packets of 生化汤. The Chinese herbalist will know what to do.

Boil it with 4 bowls of water. Once it is boil, switch to small fire.

Brew it with small fire for 1 hour. Then turn off fire.

Put the red flower herb in a bowl.

Once the soup is ready, pour it into the bowl with red flower herb inside.

Cover it for 10 mins and it is ready to drink.
--------------------

Quite interesting blog from a 1st time dad.

Poshicon
Mine is O+, hubby AB, Boy came out B+. Last time my PD told me, such combination, bb's chances of getting jaundice is very high n usually last longer.

Lamagier,
ya, i agree with u.. steady wt gain better than no weight gain.. =D
like u, i oso wanna gif birth soon.. i think my bb like no space to grow inside.. my tummy always feel so tight n sometimes like blocking my gastric..=\ im 35wks today!.. u so fast have leaky boobs alrdy eh?.. me haven yet..=D

HBB mus be busy shopping..haha