(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Swollen Feet:

HBB,I heard drinking homemade barley drink will help sooth swollen feet..try that...my feet staring to swell too and my mum mentioned she will prepare the drink for me...

SUNSWEET (sunsweet),
Thanks for the info but no more cream liao!! aiyo!! Stock sure ran fast! haha

coolkero (coolkero)
Yeah, will go down to bb kingdom and hypermart maybe this fri to take a look. Cos I am thinking of getting some cabinets for my bb's room. So if they have a cabinet cum changing table, and it looks good I may get it. I let u know. I saw some really nice stick on wall papers which I think makes bb room so nice.. heee.. I am also looking at those.

Re: swollen feet

That's water retention mah. The reason why barley water works is coz it's a duretic. Drink some soup/drink that makes u pee all the time. Lift your legs up too.

koko

Re; epidural

U only do it once, but they'll hook u up to a bag of the epidural anaesthetic. i used up abt 5-6 tubes for 18hr labour. It depends on how long u take to dilate and deliver.

Hi Mums who are hiring confinement ladies:

Do we need to prepare anything in particular for their arrival? Towels, toiletries etc, I can definitely provide for her, but what else is needed? Normally, someone from the family will go with her to the market to buy ingredients for meals, and will pay for the marketing right? Or do they go on their own with money you give them for marketing?

My CL was hired through an agency, I was told only to prepare an angpao for her when she first arrives and another one for when she leaves. Is there a market rate for these angpaos, especially for the one given when she first arrives? Cos I guess the 2nd angpao will depend on how happy we were with her work right?

Sorry to disturb

I'm from STiX grAFFix...and we having a sale of 15% off all our wall decals, suitable for room decorations.

Please visit this thread from the business threads, <u>http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2369869.html?1244614409</u> to view my products. Thanks!

FOZ
No intention to start ML early cos I dun want to go back early too. Mainly becos my #1 is turning 18mths n i'm sending him to childcare in Aug. Need more time to help him adapt then. So cannot afford to take too early. But most prob will start on 22 Jun cos likely to choose my csect date in that wk.

Mashy -
If the CL brings her own towels and toiletries also good. If not, she can use the ones I keep for house guests who stay overnight. I don't mind providing this kind of stuff lah...

Angpao is $28? Sounds okay I guess!

HBB

huh? What u mean tummy moving? like bb moving? I only feel tummy very hard and very painful. Cannot walk properly, break out in cold sweat. The timing between contractions are very distinct. So u know when the contractions start and end.

Thanks coolkero &amp; FOZ...
Sigh... no rest tonite... last minute gotta meet an old buddy who's leaving Spore. Hopefully he'll chase all the pergnancy woes away =)

Came back to work after 2 days MC today. I can't believe how much of swelling my feet are. I can't even squeeze into my work shoe just after the weekend.. Thank goodness, my colleague gave me a new pair of bigger size shoe. Everybody commented that I look so swollen and heavy suddenly..

Tummy suddenly tightened throughout the whole night yday, and today morning had the worst menses cramp that I experienced. Haiz... Tomolo must tell my gynae during check-up. But given him being too over-confident, dun think he will do much also.

hi mummies, wah I am getting more and more tired at work, and aching more...backache.
Very envious of the mummies who are starting ML soon...I chose to take my ML from EDD onwards or when baby is born (whichever earlier), so that I can spend as much time with the baby as possible....wonder if it is the right choice. =/

Hi Muffingirl,

I'm taking ML starting 1 week before EDD coz I don't wanna go into labour in the office. hahaa... but i have a feeling i'm going to deliver earlier than that. oh well..

HBB,

I went to hosp only when my contraction was about 10 mins apart..

but for some its not show 1st then contraction. some ppl will have water bag burst, or spotting then have to go to hospital as soon...

as for moving tummy.. my lil "chor lor" princess moves a lot in the morning &amp; evening so can see my tummy moves in waves... i think sometimes commuters on MRT will see it too.. i can see them smile at me when they sees my tummy moves..

sunsweet

10 mins apart? sigh, I went hospital when it was 5mins apart! My contractions were fast &amp; furious. And i was only 0.5cm dilated then.

sunsweet
ya my tummy forever marching mode one. super chor lo bb
tt y I wonder during contraction will tummy move anot lol
curious lol

cecelia,
your contractions sounds bad lei.. u see if it get worse, and rem to time it.. if it is too frequent or get worse, then u better go and see the doc tonight.. Cos my doc told me that usually at night, contractions gets worse..

sunsweet, i also would like to experience the way u describe how your bb moved - "moves in waves". i ever saw my pregnant friend also hv that. izzit nice? :D
my *shy* boy always move so gentle that even his daddy cant feel much of his movement when he touched my tummy.

mashy,
my contraction was like what you said,... hard like rock.. its so scary.. cos I was like having menses cramps then tried to sleep, woke up, its like rock tummy...I cant feel the bb moves.. only when the hardness goes off, then can feel bb moves... tat is why i rushed to see the doc on that day... just worried u know.. 1st time like tat

twinkle

it's no fun feeling bb moves in waves. It's fun to watch for outsiders. but not so fun if you're feeling it.

jamie
yah, that's contractions. scary right? And can't move a bit hor. Just relax and remember your breathing exercise.

mashy
i tink its quite fun leh...
i can feel the happines when bb moves in waves..
its like she is trying to tok to me like tat and i will smile n ask her wat she wants.. hehe... the tummy literaly shakes like wat sunsweet describe haha

now i always ask bb to continue to move more.. else i will miss it when she is out hehe

HBB

good for u lor. Guess it's #2 syndrome for me. I prefer the bb to be out than in. Even though it's more tiring when the bb is out, i feel more joyful watching the bb.

mashy,

10 mins apart cos I still went for bfast then head to hospital.. keke

I'm scared labour will be long then hungry + pain 2x the pain!! keke

mashy
i wan her out also lar
but thr is always sth we will miss aft bb is out

in fact all my gf miss the baby movement even years aft delivery

sunsweet

yah lor, they don't let u eat in case need to go c-section. I was starving away.

HBB
I don't miss a thing abt my 1st preg. I wish i can just plop and the bb is out. Maybe adoption is a better way for me. hehe.

mashy
weird huh then u still can wan to hav #2 haaaa

i puke like hell all the way till end 2nd tri... gt spotting n etc.. alot of scare n so on.. but i tink i enjoy the pregnancy v much hehe...

HBB,

Its kinda painful when baby tries to strech left and right the same time.. like going to rip the tummy keke.

i too have the contraction feeling too but when that happens can only feel the pain of the tummy muscles tightening, can't really feel the baby..
i have to do a gentle massage in circular motion + taking deep breathe slowly to calm myself down...

sunsweet ya can b quite painful.. so i will ask bb what she is not happy about haha.. then like u .. i rub a bit to ask her relax haaa... (as if she understand)

anyone office giving u girls hampers for the delivery or they giv u cash or voucher?
i just choose my hamper... hehe
too many to choose from.. see till eye blur

HBB

haha, that's why it took me so long to have #2. I didn't really fancy going thru another preg. The reason why i wanted #2 was coz i saw how lonely my boy was playing alone. SO thought it's good to give him some company and of course then i don't need to spend so much time playing with him.

Do they give hampers to men whose wives are delivering? Or just female staff?

HBB,

I intially ask for bedding set instead of hamper cos last time i receive a few hampers from office and friends and many of the things not useful to me..

but since i got my Aussino bedding set maybe i should ask for NTUC Voucher . cannot be cash.. and the amt only $100..

I also dun know what gifts to suggest to them to buy cos many of the things i already have..

<font color="ff0000">HBB</font>
My office HR said I can choose a hamper else she will choose one for me, usually one that contains all diapers. Budget only $80 (including GST!)

<font color="ff0000">Baby movements</font>
My baby's movements are certainly very visible so we can all see/feel it. Kinda fun but not when I am trying to zzz...

I wonder if the baby is the one deciding when he or she should be coming out, or if my body is deciding...

mashy
mine is by dh office.. they giv to male staff as well =) like FOZ say.. budget onli $80 but ok lar its the tot that counts... i heard the will giv cash bonus to his salary like 200 or 300 bucks also duno true anot.

sunsweet if can choose to hav voucher i dun mind manz but dun hav.. haha

FOZ.. ALL diaper? wow.. hee.. then must b a big hamper of a few pack of diapers liao
nt bad also

Re: hampers.

wonder if I should suggest to them some hamper to pamper myself instead would be better then a baby hamper.. kekeke

FOZ,

If i didn't remember wrongly its the baby. Watched on discovery channel, that the baby's lungs will produce a substance that triggers the labour process.

sunsweet
haa
quick go suggest wat u wan!!!

bbethan
thr is a doraemon shop at chinatown point.
if u wan that spiral walk way u will see it.. i tink level 2 or sth

Jamie,

Yar, today morning was busy like anything. Literally can feel menses cramp every 10-15mins, but given my work, I simply can't stop to rest. Nearly broke down a few times..

Think can still wait till tomorrow bah, will talk to baby ask her to be cooperative tonight.

Btw, yr contraction seems scary as well. We both pray pray that everything be fine for us k..

Dunnoe how's Lamagier feeling now..